Metadata Unit

CREATING NEW E-JOURNAL BIB TEMPLATE RECORDS

SJ/Jan. 15, 2009

In the Cataloging module, at the top left corner of the screen, click on:

• File, Template, New
  • Record Type=Bibliographic
  • Click on OK
• Click on Leader button
  • Select from the drop down menus or Type the first letter of the word specified below for the following lines:
    • Bibliographic level=s
    • Encoding level=3
    • Cataloging form=u
  • Click on OK
• In the next Window you will see a message beginning with “Changing the record format … Proceed anyway?”
  • Click on Yes
• Click on 006 button and Select from the drop-down menu for each line:
  • Target audience=l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
  • Type of file=d: Document
  • Govt. publication=:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
• Click on 007 button and Select from the drop-down menu for each line or Type the first letter of the word specified for the following lines:
  • Specific material designation=r: Remote
  • All of the rest of the line will be coded as: l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
• Click on 008 button and Select from the drop-down menu for each line or Type the characters specified for the following lines:
  • Publication status=c
  • Date 1-uuuu
  • Date 2=9999
  • Place of publication=xx
  • Frequency=l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
  • Regularity= l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
  • ISSN Center= l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
  • Type of continuing resource=p
  • Original item=s
  • Form of item=s
  • All of the rest of the lines except for the last line will be coded as: l:no attempt to code (the last line in the drop-down menu) or type Shift/|
  • Cataloging source=d :Other
  • Click on OK
• Add the variable fields (i.e. 022, 245, etc.) shown in the print screen provided by Sharon for the collection you are working on
• Click on the Save icon
• Save in: [select your H drive icon and then double click, double click on your Voyager templates folder icon]
• In the next window, File name field, replace the * with the name of your template (i.e. replace *.tem with sjobib.tem)
• Click on Save

In Cataloging, close your template record

• To select your new template record as your default template for new bib records:
• In Cataloging, click on Options, Preferences, Folders
• In the Templates selection area, beside Bib:
  • replace the part of the template name already in the text area with the part of the template name you want to use (i.e. if you have h:\voyager\aftbib.tem already selected, and you want to use your SAGE journals online template record, replace aft with sjo (i.e. h:\voyager\sjobib.tem)
  • Click on OK

Screen shots of typical template record:

Overlay with Better Bib Records From OCLC

GLJ Rev.Jan.17, 2017; PD Apr.16, 2015

Procedure: 

• Search for/bring in/download a better Bib record from OCLC by pressing F5
• Import the Bib record into Voyager Cataloging: 
  • Under the Record drop-down menu, select Import – From new file (Alt RPN)  (or Import – From previous file (Alt RPV) if already imported records from OCLC that day); 
  • Select/double-click/open the OCLC.dat file that will have appeared on your Desktop, select the target OCLC record to view & click OK
• Tile & compare the two Bib records (old/existing Bib and new/imported OCLC Bib)
• Copy and paste any fields/info you wish to retain from the old/existing Bib into the new/imported Bib  (you may also want to print a copy of the old/existing Bib before you complete the overlay, just in case and to double-check after the overlay that everything you wished to retain was indeed retained)

• Maximize & bring new/imported Bib record to the forefront; edit/tidy/verify all fields and content now appears as you wish
• Save new record to database (Ctrl B)
• At this point, before the system actually saves the new record, ideally & in most cases, a Bibliographic Dedupe Detection box should pop up identifying the duplicate old/existing Bib record.  Ideally, this will identify just the one, same, old/existing Bib record that you were already intending to replace.  However, in some instances, there may be more than one record on the list.  Verify & select the correct old/existing Bib record that you wish to replace.
• At the bottom of the Dedupe Detection box, where it says “Replace/Merge using profile:”, change the default profile to “Serials/Replace” from the drop-down menu first, THEN click the “Replace/Merge using profile:” button:

Change the default profile to “Serials/Replace” from the drop-down menu first…

THEN click the “Replace/Merge using profile:” button.

• You will get a confirmation message saying that you’ve replaced the old/existing Bib record.  Note that the old/existing Bib ID# itself remains the same, and any Holdings records and Item records that were attached to the old/existing record remain intact and unchanged.  
• Click the “OK” button.
• Do one final review to ensure that everything now appears as you wish & that everything you wished to retain was indeed retained (referring to the printout copy of the old/existing Bib, if you printed one)
• Save new record to database (Ctrl B)

Field 561 – Ownership and Custodial History

Policy and Procedures

1. Format/wording of the 561 note for purchased materials:

• 561 1^st ind.=1  2^nd ind.=blank 
• |a Purchased from [dealer (i.e.  seller, not the aggregator)] on the [fund spelled out, not as fund code], [year of purchase]. |5 CaBViV
• *If dealer is a 3^rd party aggregator (e.g. AbeBooks), then we will use the actual bookseller name whenever possible. If dealer is something like Amazon, then we will use dealer name.

        2.  Format/wording of the note for gift materials:

• 561 1^st ind.=1  2^nd ind.=blank  |a Gift of [name of the donor], [year of donation]. |5 CaBViV
• *Serial titles may also require:
  • Basic example:
    • Open-ended date if regular, ongoing gifts by same donor 
    • Multiple 561 fields if multiple donors (in which case subfield |3 Materials specified)
      • (Past practice: date of donation was not included)
      • More than one date if same donor but materials donated years apart
      • Add second 561 with year designation as appropriate.
    • Example of multiple locations:   Note location in ‡3  
    •  Example of multiple copies for gifts or puchases:
    •  Example of Anonymous gift:

        3. Format/wording of the note for transferred materials: 

• 561 1^st ind.=1  2^nd ind.=blank  |a Transferred from general collection, [year of transfer]. |5 CaBViV
  • ​​​​​​​Always add subfield |5 CaBViV to end of field 561. i.e. The NUC code of the institution to which the field applies, indicating that the 561 note applies only to our (UVic) holdings.  *This subfield|5 CaBViV will also be added to any of the Bib records affected in the bulk conversion discussed above.

        4. Workflows for the use of field 561 for gifts versus purchases: 

• Gifts:
  • The Subject Selector, sometimes with Donor, decides when a 561 should be added for a gift title. The Donor name/wording is agreed upon at that time, therefore, “Donor consent” is also obtained at that same time.
  • Cataloguer notification: Cataloguers will add a 561 field ONLY when instructed to do so, by way of a white “Gift Note” flag or a gift plate, each of which will specify the wording of the 561 note to be added to the Bib record.

• Purchases:
  • Proposal to have field 561 added by an Acquisitions staff member at the point of ordering. *Elena communicated to Lisa following the meeting, via email sent same day: “It was agreed at the meeting that having the 561 note added by Acquisitions staff at the time of ordering would be very helpful and would streamline the workflow. If you are agreeable, the 561 field would be added manually at the point of ordering and record download, or record creation, once the information is known to the Acquisitions staff member. We all felt this was a logical point at which the note should be added as the Acquisitions staff member would have all of the relevant information at hand. If Acquisitions were not adding the note at the time of ordering, then someone in Acquisitions would still have to transmit the same information (using a flag, perhaps?) to the cataloguer to be added to the record later. 
  • Dean did suggest, however, that we ought to discuss and investigate, presumably with Sandy Gordon, whether the note could be automatically constructed and batch-loaded after extracting the relevant data from the Acquisitions module.
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Backlog of special collections cataloguing for which we have no relevant information.

Coding Field 776 in Print Records

776 ind 1=0 (value 0 means “display note” which should control whether the 776 displays at allin the OPAC version of the record. If our current system displays the 776 fields regardless of how this indicator is coded, we should still code it correctly, i.e., with 0 to display the note) 

Below, the information in italics is quoted from the MARC format.

“First Indicator - Note controller

Whether or not a display note is to be generated from the field. 

0 - Display note

Note is to be generated from the data in the linking entry field (or from the related record identified in the field). 

1 - Do not display note

Note is not to be generated from the data in the linking entry field (or from the related record). Value 1 is used when the display constant associated with the linking field does not adequately describe the relationship. In this case, a note for display is recorded in field 580. The 760-787 field is recorded to provide the machine linkage and field 580 is used for display.”

776 ind 2=8 (We code this value as 8 if we use |i instead of a system generated display constant)

“Second Indicator - Display constant controller [all except 780 and 785]

Controls display constants preceding the data in linking entry fields 760-777 and 786-787. For the print constants, see the description of the second indicator in the sections for each linking entry field. 

# - [Field-related phrase]

0 - Parent [772 only]

8 - No display constant generated”

So:

776 08 |i Online version:  |t title from field 245 of the online version record |x ISSN of online version if available (do not use linking ISSN here)

Issued in Other Form:Online version: ECS electrochemistry letters

History of Holdings Statements

Summary of an exchange between Elena Romaniuk (UVic Serials Librarian ) and Mandi Schwarz (Library Technical Assitant, UNBC) in 2018

                                                           Creating c.2 Holdings Records                                                                                  

Oct. 2012/ED                  

• In the holdings record, go to menu bar, click on Record, select Make a Copy. 
• Edit the record to describe the holdings which will be cataloged as c.2:
  • In the 852 field, after the |b location code, add |t 2
  • In the 866 summarized holdings field, indicator 1 is blank, indicator 2 is 0
  • Update the holdings.

The c.2 holdings record links to the original bib record.

• For example:

                                                                   Interpreting Serials Holdings                                                                   

SJ/08/07; Updated SFM/5/20

Interpreting MARC holdings:

important distinction: in the OPAC, the label “Published” refers to the enumeration & chronology of the serial itself (ie. the volumes & dates that the serial began and/or ceased being published). The labels “Recent issues” & “Library has” refer to our actual holdings (ie. the issues our library has).

In the Holdings record in the Cataloging module, current receipts for individual issues are coded in field 866 (second indicator=blank); summarized holdings and public display notes are coded in field 866 (second indicator=0). Field 868 is used to record our holdings of cumulative indexes. Field 867 is used to record our holdings of supplements

Most current receipts are recorded in the Acquisitions predictive check-in module. To indicate this, the last receipt line in the Cataloging module’s holdings record will be followed by field 866 subfield x PREDICTIVE.  Note that the punctuation supplied by predictive check-in is slightly different than that coded in the holdings record.

Punctuation conventions used in the Holdings record:

NOTE: no “double punctuation” should be used in the summarized holdings statement except when needed before a semicolon separating the enumeration from the chronology .For example:

            do not code:       1-5,<7-9,12-13>,15-<16>; 1978-1998

            rather, code as: 1-5<7-9,12-13>15<16>; 1978-1998

This statement tells us that we have all of volumes 1,2,3,4 & 5, part of volumes 7,8, 9,12 & 13, all of volume 15 and part of volume 16, with the first issue dated 1978 & the last issue dated 1998.

Examples of summarized holdings statements:

Holdings and predictive check-in records may include all or some of the following information: location code, classification and cutter numbers, routing information, processing notes, retention statements, binding information, some acquisition details (gifts, deposit, cancellations, claiming), urls, relationships to related publications, and checkin instructions.

Summary Holdings Statements for UVic Serials

Punctuation and Abbreviation Conventions

Enumeration and/or Chronology Coding

Definitions:

Enumeration Practices

Chronology Practices

Barcoding for InterLibrary Loan

Procedure

• Search for the item by call number.
  • Verify bibliographic and holdings details against the item in hand.
• Review Hierarchy or Get Items. An item record may already exist.
• Examine the bibliographic record. How often is the serial issued?
  • If the serial is issued annually or less frequently:
    • BARCODE as usual.
  • If the serial is issued more frequently than annually (Periodically):
    • Create new item record.
• Affix barcode label and FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY label to item.

• Scan in barcode.
• Code item type as “nocirc” (ILL staff will override)
• ENSURE THE “Perm. Loc” matches the holdings location.
  • e.g. “main,sto” holdings location = “Basement Compact Shelving” Perm. Loc in the item record
• Add “Enum” and “Chron” as details as appropriate.

• Add |x note to end of 852 field in holdings:  |x Vol. [x] barcoded for ILL/[date]/[initials]

Changing Location Codes in Item Records using Pick and Scan

ED April 2018

In the Holdings record to which the Items are attached:

• Click on the Hierarchy icon. Check that Item Status is “Not Charged”
• Click File in the Menu bar and select Pick and Scan.  You may see the following message:
• Click OK
• The Pick And Scan window will appear:
• Click on the Changes to Make tab.
  • In the Locations box, click on the drop down menus of Permanent and/or Temporary to select the Location change to be made:
    • e.g.  Permanent:   Basement Compact Shelving
• Click on the Records to Change tab.
  • In the Record Identifier box click on Holdings ID. 
    • It defaults to: All items on this holdings record in the Perform changes against box.
  • Below is the Identifier location.  Enter the Holdings record number to which the items are attached.
    • Confirm the Holdings Record Number
  • In the What to do box, select Preview to view the changes to be made.
  • Click on the red check mark next to the Identifier location.
    • A window will appear with the selected changes to be made:

• Verify the information displayed, then click on Update Database. 
  • This activates the changes to be made.
  • The new location changes will be made to all the item records attached to the holdings record.
• Close the window.  In the menu bar click on Hierarchy to view the holdings and items.  The items will display with the new location.

DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDS

SJ/Jan. 7, 2013

At the point of ordering, Acquisitions staff will ask Serials to create a dummy acquisitions bib. & holdings record. The record should be just a brief provisional record that provides enough searchable information in the record to enable retrieval by title, publisher, corporate body, etc. 

The following should be included in the record:

• Bib record:
  • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
  • Field 245 as applicable to the type of order (i.e. combined subscriptions, memberships, separates, etc. – see examples below)
  • Field 590:  |a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD.
  • Do not add any 856 fields 
• Holdings record:
  • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
  • Field 008 Receipt status = 3: On Order
  • Field 008 Method of Acquisition = p: Purchase
  • Field 852: 0 : |b main |x DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD
  • Once the first item is received, the Holdings record should be updated by changing the field 008 Receipt status to “4 – Currently received”

In some membership or separates records, a field 500 will be created for each serial title that is included in the order. The title will be followed by its bib record number in parentheses.

EXAMPLES:

Combined subscription:

Memberships:

Separates:

DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDS FOR E-JOURNALS ACTIVATED IN SERIALS SOLUTIONS 

SJ/Jan. 11, 2013; Rev.GLJ/Oct.11, 2013

Because we do not want to have two records displaying in the OPAC the following procedure applies:

• At the point of ordering, the Electronic Resources Specialist (ERS) will ask Serials to create a bib record & holdings record. This can be either a record that was downloaded from OCLC or a brief provisional record if no copy is found.
• In the Holdings record, code:
  • Field 008 Receipt status = 3: On Order
  • Field 008 Method of Acquisition = p: Purchase
  • Field 007 = Electronic Resource Specific Material Designation= r: Remote 
  • Field 007 = Electronic Resource Dimension=n: Not applicable
  • Field 852: 0  : |a CaBViV |b inre  (|b lawinre2  for Law records)
  • The Electronic Resources Specialist will attach a purchase order to the bib record 

• If our full-text access is already available:
  • Bib record: ERS will add the url to the bib record in field 856
  • Holdings record: ERS will code 
    • Field 008 Receipt status = 1: Other receipt or acquisition status
    • Field 852‡x DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD maintained for Acquisitions order and payment purposes
  • ERS will activate the title in Serials Solutions
  • Bib record will not be suppressed at this point because we want the record to display in the OPAC & full text access provided to the users while we are waiting for the WaSeSS record to be added in the next MARC record load
  • ERS will keep track of the title until the next Serials Solutions record update

• Once the WaSeSS record appears in our catalog, our local record must be revised as follows:
  • Bib record:
    • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
    • Add field 590:  |a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD.
    • Remove any 856 fields 
  • Holdings record:
    • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
    • Add field 852‡x DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD maintained for Acquisitions order and payment purposes

• If online access is not yet available:
  • Holdings record: ERS will add:
    • Field 852|x Notify Serials once access is confirmed
  • Bib record will not be suppressed because we want the record to display in the OPAC as “on order” 

• Once Serials is notified (by ERS) that full-text access is available:
  • Serials will add the url to the bib record in field 856
  • Serials will code Holdings field 008 Receipt status = 1: Other receipt or acquisition status
  • Serials will activate the title in Serials Solutions
  • Bib record will not be suppressed at this point because we want the record to display in the OPAC & full text access provided to the users while we are waiting for the WaSeSS record to be added in the next MARC record load
  • Serials will keep track of the title until the next Serials Solutions record update

• Once the WaSeSS record appears in our catalog, our local record must be revised as follows:
  • Bib record:
    • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
    • Add field 590:  |a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD.
    • Remove any 856 fields 
  • Holdings record:
    • Click on the System tab and check “Suppress from OPAC”
    • Add field 852|xDUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD maintained for Acquisitions order and payment purposes

PURCHASED MATERIAL

Field 561 is added by an Acquisitions staff member at the point of ordering.

• Format/wording of the 561 note for purchased materials:
  • 561 1^st ind.=1 2^nd ind.=blank |a Purchased from [dealer (i.e.  seller, not the aggregator)] on the [fund spelled out, not as fund code], [year of purchase]. |5 CaBViV
  • *If dealer is a 3^rd party aggregator (e.g. AbeBooks), then use the actual bookseller name whenever possible.

• Example of multiple copies for gifts or puchases:

GIFTS

• The Subject Selector, sometimes with Donor, decides when a 561 should be added for a gift title. The Donor name/wording is agreed upon at that time, therefore, “Donor consent” is also obtained at that same time.
• Cataloguer notification:
  • Cataloguers will add a 561 field ONLY when instructed to do so, by way of a white “Gift Note” flag or a gift plate, each of which will specify the wording of the 561 note to be added to the Bib record.

*NOTE: A purple “GIFT” flag with “Gift of … “ note is strictly for internal use only! (typically Shelley)i.e.For serials, field 852 |x (Nonpublic note) indicates donor information in Holdings record only; field 561 will NOT be added to Bib record unless also accompanied by a white “Gift Note” flag or a gift plate.

*When a gift plate accompanies a run of serial material, the single gift plate will be affixed inside the front cover of the first volume of that run only. It is not expected that every issue will receive a gift plate. NOTE: A gift plate is an exception to the standard “DO NOT MARK OR STAMP” rule for serials destined for SC.

• Format/wording of the note for gift materials:
  • 561 1^st ind.=1 2^nd ind.=blank |a Gift of [name of the donor], [year of donation]. |5 CaBViV
    • Basic example:

• Serial titles may also require open-ended date if regular, ongoing gifts by same donor 
• Example of Anonymous gift:

TRANSFERS FROM MAIN

• Format/wording of the note for transferred materials:
  • 561 1^st ind.=1 2^nd ind.=blank |a Transferred from general collection, [year of transfer]. |5 CaBViV​​​​​​​

MULTIPLE DONORS (561 Fields)

• Multiple donors: add subfield |3 Materials specified
  • (Note: Example shows "past practice" when date of donation was not included.)                           

• Same donor, but donation made years apart: add second 561 with year designation as appropriate

• Multiple locations: note location and volumes in ‡3