[**Glenda and Min to vet** : Nov.7, 2018]
General
Public lectures are delivered periodically at U.Vic covering a range of general interest topics. With the permission of the lecturer, U.Vic Television Services records each lecture. One copy is burned to a DVD ard sent to cataloguing in batches. If there is more than one format, we get a hard copy (disc) of each format. When the videos arrive in Cataloguing, they are arranged by date and given the next accession number for that year. Each years number sequence begins at no. 001. AS OF JUNE 2018, Music & Media no longer wants a copy of the lectures (confirmed by e-mail from Marthese Cassar, July 11, 2018) . From then on one copy of each format (disc) goes to Archives. A brief record for each video tape/DVD title is made. No subject headings are assigned; they are classed as a set with the appropriate call number as shown in the table below. If the format of the disc is other than DVD, then the format becomes part of the call number (after the accession number (for example: AS42 ‡i V5L3 ‡i 2018 ‡i no. 001d ‡i MP4 (‘other” formats so far have been MP4, M4V)
(NOTE THAT there is some talk about loading video files into UVicSpace, and allowing patrons to access the lectures there. But this has not happened so far (July 2018))
| Title of Lecture Series | Call number |
| David and Dorothy Lam lectures (DL) | AS42 V5D3 [date] no. |
| Distinguished professor lectures (DP) | AS42 V5D5 [date] no. |
| Humanities Centre lectures (HU) | AS42 V5H8 [date] no. |
| John Albert Hall lectures (JA) | AS42 V5J6 [date] no. |
| Lansdowne lectures (LL) | AS42 V5L3 [date] no. |
| President's distinguished lectures (PD) | AS42 V5P7 [date] no. |
| Provost's lectures (PL) | AS42 V5P72 [date] no. |
| Public lecture (University of Victoria (B.C.)) (OT) | AS42 V5P8 [date] no. |
| Women scholars lectures (WS) | AS42 V5W6 [date] no. |
|
|
Bibliographic Record
1. Create bib record
The easiest way to create a bibliographic record is to Make a copy from an existing lecture of the same series of the same year. Find an appropriate record by doing a call number search. When you have a bibliographic record on the screen hit Alt RY or Record > Make a copy. Tile the two windows to ensure the original and the copy are both on your screen. Close the original . Then edit the copy to fit the new video.
**Note: If you are starting a new series, copy your first record from another series. Before editing the record you need to set your session preferences to make the heading validation box appear on Save. Go into Options > Preferences > Validation and tick as in the example below
2. Check the following fields
| LDR |
Type of record = g (projected medium) Encoding Level = 7 (minimal) |
| 007 |
f | n b a h o n as appropriate. See examples below for videocassette and DVD |
| 008 |
s [date] _ bcc [running time] [type of material = v] eng _ d as appropriate. See example below. |
| 100 | Enter the name of the person delivering the lecture from the video tape. |
| 245 | Enter the title from the video tape. Remember subtitles come after the |h [videorecording] |
| 300 | Change the running time. If no running time is written on the video, omit this section |
| 500 |
Change the date of the lecture. Note the department if available/applicable. |
| 700 | Note: if there are two or more authors, make an added entry for the other author's name. Otherwise there is normally not a 700 field. |
| 710 | Add the department associated with the individual lecture if applicable/available. |
| 830 |
There should be two 830s, one with just the [Name of the lecture series] (see table above) and the other [Name of the lecture series] |f [date] Note: there is not a 490 field in these records. |
| 910 | Add this field |
Select OK to export
3. Save the edited record to the database (Ctrl B).
On Save, the Heading Validation box appears. In the heading validation box (see example below) check the 100 field for names to be sure you are using the correct form of the name. Do this by clicking the Search button. Check to see if we have any other records by this author, or a similar form of the author's name, ie. with a date.
Once you have verified the name, click the Continue button, or Alt N to save the record to the database. The blue title bar now has a bibliographic number.
Holdings Records
1. Make two holdings records
Include the year and no. Remember that the number should have 3 digits in it, ie. 001. For DVD recordings, add a lowercase d to the number, (e.g. no. 001d). On the arc,sto holdings add a public note ‡z Room 007. See example below.
Make a second holdings record with location film,vid. No public note. See example below.
2. 866
If there are two or more video tapes for one bibliographic record, make an 866 field on the holdings record and code v=multipart item holdings in the Leader. Some lectures are given in one day on two or more tapes, and others may be in two parts, given on two different days. (See Bib record 1135121). Remember to change the 300 field of the bib record to 2 videocassettes. The most common is the lecture given on one day on two tapes (one continuous running time) and the 866 field is shown below where call number might look like AS42 V5L3 1998 no. 023
|
866 : - 0 : |
‡8 0 ‡a tape 1-2 |
The other situation where the lecture is given in two parts on two different days has one bib record but the videos are numbered sequentially so the call number would look like AS42 V5L3 2000 no. 020-021
|
866 : - 0 : |
‡8 0 ‡a no. 020-021 |
3. Accompanying notes
Some videos have photocopied notes accompanying them. On the holdings record make an 866 field
|
866 : - 0 : |
‡8 0 ‡a video; notes |
4. Statistics
Record titles and volumes done and add to the Weekly statistics sheet under "Special videos catalogued" (per CP15).
Processing Procedures
1. The arc, sto copy of the DVD, is processed by writing the call number in pencil on the upper right hand corner of the envelope supplied by Archives and stored in the supply cupboard. No barcode. No item record.
2. Some videos/DVDs have photocopied notes accompanying them. Print a call number label for both locations and attach to the upper right hand corner of the photocopied notes. Examples:
Arc Video sto AS42 AS42 V5L3 V5L3 2000 2000 no.016 no. 016 notes notes
3. The arc, sto copy of the video or DVD is processed by the cataloguer.
4. The film,vid copy of the video or DVD is processed as per instructions for Music & Media materials
Ask us