LibGuides: Metadata Unit: Flags and Workslips

Flags and Workslips

Flags are coloured slips of paper inserted into books or attached to videos, cds, etc. which alert the cataloguer to specials instructions regarding the item.
Flags are used in the McPherson Library Acquisitions, Serials and Cataloguing Departments to mark certain items for particular treatment.
The following table lists the various flags in use.

Flag From Acquisitions	Definition	Action
Green PO=	Monograph standing order. PO doesn't have individual line item. Items collectively on one line item.	Cataloguer puts the PO number on the holdings record in \|x Eg. 852 : 0 : \|b main \|h HT127 \|i F45 \|x po 10728
White Curriculum Laboratory	Item to go to the Curric Lab	Cataloguer assigns location as \|b curr
Yellow Special Collections/Archives	Item to go to Spec Coll or Archives	Selector will indicate exact location on the slip. Cataloguer assigns location as \|b sc or \|b sc,ref or \|b arc, etc.
Red Reference	Item goes to Ref	Cataloguer assigns location as \|b ref
Bright Green Not for Reference	Reference selector decides it is not for Ref	Cataloguer assigns location as \|b main
Flag From Cataloguing	Definition	Action
Orange	Downloaded bibliographic record exists for this item.	Cataloguer edits existing bibliographic record.
Sky Blue No Bibliographic Record Downloaded for This Title	No bibliographic record downloaded for this item.	Item goes on shelves for researching. Indicates to cataloguer that there is no bibliographic record in the database. Needs original cataloguing.
Pink Gifts	This item is a general gift or a gift of a named collection. Eg. Shastri, Tsuruta, etc.	Cataloguer checks the gift procedure for specific instructions on the type of gift.
Bright Blue Bind/Mend	Item is to be bound or mended.	Cataloguer decides if it should be bound or mended.
White [Reading Room]	Item goes to a Reading Room. The name of the Reading Room is hand printed at the top of the slip.	Indicates to the cataloguer that the item is likely an added copy for the Reading Room.
Flag From Serials	Definition	Action
Green OD=	Serial combined subscription. Individual items catalogued separately.	Cataloguer puts the PO [OD] number on the holdings record in \|x Eg. 852 : 0 : \|b main \|h HT127 \|i F45 \|x po 10728
Green MONO. SERIES NO.	Item received and checked in on dummy acq record for the series. Items catalogued separately.	Cataloguer puts the PO number on the holdings record in \|x Eg. 852 : 0 : \|b main \|h HT127 \|i F45 \|x po 10728 and checks series authority.