LibGuides: Metadata Unit: Procedures

Curriculum Collection Cataloguing

Overview
General Information: breakdown of grades/levels (often depends on school districts/locations)

Grades 1-3 (Primary)
Grades 4-6 or 7 (Elementary)
Grades 6-8 or 7-9 (Middle School)
Grades 9-12 or 10-12 (Secondary)

Procedures

Books
(includes graphic novels, levelled readers, picture books)

Received and barcoded by Acquisitions staff (placement of barcodes: try whenever possible to not cover up the title). Barcode affixed to cover, not dust jacket. Keep dust jacket with the item for Cataloguing staff. Curriculum flag inserted.
Material moves to Cataloguing
Location:

Material	Location	Item Type
All Curric books except levelled readers	curr	book
Levelled readers	curr,er	book

Dust jackets are recycled/discarded
Call number label affixed by cataloguer
Material put on truck for tattle-taping and stamping at Main Loan Desk. Curriculum material will be noticeable by both the presence of a Curriculum flag and the presence of “CURRIC” on the call number label
Material shelved in Curriculum section at McPherson

Quick Ref

Receive, catalogue and process as normal (except that the item will be given a blue flag indicating it’s a priority)
Give the resource a location of curr,ref and item type of book ; these will be adjusted at Main Loan Desk
Send material to Main Loan Desk for tattle taping and stamping
The blue priority flag will indicate that the item should be routed to the Main Loan Desk. They will stay in Reserve for 3 day loan

Big Books and Oversize Kits

If Big Books or kits arrive, catalogue as normal
The resource is given a location of curr and item type of book or kit, as appropriate
The rubric on the call number label should be “BIG BOOK” for books and “OVERSIZE” for kits
Send material to Music and Media for tattle taping and stamping.
The Big Books and Oversize kits will be routed to the appropriate location by stacks staff. The Big Books will the located in the Curriculum Oversize section.
Add ‘650 – 0 $a Big book

See 2642899 for an example

Holdings for Big Books should be

852 – 1 $b curr $k BIG $h --- $i ---

Verso t.p. should be

BIG BOOK

CURRIC

Call #

Books with CDs/DVDs/CD-ROM

These will be grouped together (as Main material is), not separated.
They will be barcoded by Acquisitions (performance flag put in saying no rights necessary)
Catalogued as normal. Cataloguer puts “check for” flag in the item.
Resource is given a location of “curr” and item type of “book”
Processed as other Main material : “check for” sticker, sometimes will have to make a pocket
Other processing completed and item sent to the shelf
Don’t fill in 007 field for accompanying material, but if it’s already there, leave it
If library’s copy is supposed to have an accompanying item but we never received it, make a note as follows: (or similar – CD-ROM is example)

590 \\ $a Library’s copy lacks CD-ROM.

Kits and Realia

(real life objects: flash cards, playing cards, blocks, stackable objects, etc.)

Material received in Acquisitions (barcoding decisions made on a case by case basis)
Catalogued as they are currently
Location of “curr,kit” and item type of “kit” to be used
Due to the unpredictable nature of these, we will determine on case by case basis how material is to be barcoded, tattle taped, stamped, call number printed, etc.
Generally speaking, the processor will print out all necessary labels and send to the Music & Media desk for final processing
Music & Media will decide how it should be housed based on its judgement
samples of kits– 2289524, 2289527

CDs/DVDs /Videos

Received and barcoded by Acquisitions and treated exactly like other Music & Media material.
For DVDs, we need to know the performance rights associated with the object. This is investigated in Acquisitions and treated like other Music & Media resources
Material goes to Marilyn for cataloguing
Catalogue as normally would : use Dewey and use Curric. locations

FORMAT	LOCATION	ITEM TYPE
CD	curr,cd	cd
DVD	curr,video	video
Videocassettes	curr,video	video

Cataloguer adds performance rights notes to the bibliographic record
After it is catalogued, pass it on to music or visual resources cataloguer to ensure the special format aspect has been catalogued correctly
It will be processed similar to other Music & Media material (including spine labels and performance rights labels)

Serials

Treated like other serials in McPherson

MARC Fields

MARC Fields

008/22	Target Audience	a - Preschool. intended for preschool children, approximate ages 0-5 years b - Primary, intended for children, approximate ages 6-8 years; Kindergarten through third grade c - Pre-adolescent, intended for young people, approximate ages 9-13 years; elementary and junior high (grades 4 through 8) d - Adolescent, intended for young people, approximate ages 14-17 year; secondary (senior high or grades 9 through 12) e - Adult j - Juvenile, intended for use by children and young people, approximate ages 0-15. Used when one does not want to more specifically code for the juvenile target audience If an accurate Target Audience encoding is already present, leave as is Do not add to teacher’s guides
082	Dewey Decimal Classification Number	082 04 $a 510 $2 23 Only include base DDC number Add $2 to indicate Dewey edition number
385	Audience Characteristics	385 00 $m Educational level group: $n edu $a Fourth grade students $2 lcdgt Do not add 385. Do not delete from copy.
505	Formatted Contents Note	Do not add 505 if there is a 520 summary note containing most of the information. Do not delete from copy.
520	Summary	As per LC-PCC PS 7.10, summarization of content is a CORE element for LC for fiction intended for children. 520 ## $a When Eugenides' bragging lands him in prison, Gen's only hope for freedom lies in joining a quest to steal a legendary object.
521	Intended Audience	Information about the intended audience and/or intellectual level of the material is given in a note in the 521 field (target audience note) provided this information is available from the work itself. First Indicator values: blank - audience (generates display constant "Audience:") 0 - reading grade level 1 - interest age level 2 - interest grade level 521 1# $a Ages 7 and up. 521 2# Grade level: 1.7.
586	Awards Note	Add 586 field for information on awards associated with item. Field is repeated for each occurrence of an award. 586 ## $a Newbery Honor Book, 1980. 586 ## $a Caldecott Honor Book, 1979. 586 ## $a John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children, 1951.
650	Subject Headings	Do not use second indicator 1 (LC subject headings for children's literature). Instead, check if heading is valid in LCSH. If equivalent is found, switch second indicator to 0 (Library of Congress Subject Headings)
655	Genre Headings	Add the following genre heading for books geared to encourage reading, specifically reluctant readers: 655 #0 $a High interest-low vocabulary books.
856	Electronic Location and Access	Retain 856s for lesson plans and for resources that supplement the item. Do not retain 856s for table of contents, summaries, etc.

Holdings Records

Holdings Records

Construct the 852 in the holdings record using locations and notes indicated in the overview above:

852 1 - $b [location] $h __ $i ___

see the Call Number section below for more information on classification/shelflisting decision

DDC Call Numbers

DDC Call Numbers

Common Subject Areas and Dewey Call Number

292	Classical religion (Greek and Roman religion)
324.971 or 971	Canadian politics
372.4	Phonics (elementary) (primary and elementary readers)
372.6	Literature related, teaching through drama
394.2	Christmas, celebrations … (factual the holiday itself. Stories go to 823)
398.2	Folk tales, fairy tales and modernized versions of folk tales and fairy tales (adaptations and retelling of tales in comic book/graphic form go in 823)
423	Dictionaries, thesaurus
423.2	Alphabet books (823 if there is a story with it)
428.6	Secondary readers
428.62	Remedial readers/hi-lo materials for both adult and secondary
438	German
440-448.6	French call numbers - evaluate on a case by case basis (updated LD 2022-02-11) In the past, the French books were classed in a separate section On a case by case basis, determine if the item should be classed correctly or classed in the previously determined separate section. French translations of English books should be classed with the English version and cuttered for translation.
468	Spanish
468.6	Spanish fiction and poetry
513.2	Counting books (elementary) (823 if book tells a story)
634.9	Forests, rainforests, rainforest ecology, etc. (NOTE: continue placing them here for now, even though not technically always correct – ie: rainforest ecology should be 577.34 - ignore that for now – Pia consulted – May 2015)
709.24	Bios of artists (painters, etc., Emily Carr for example)
792 …	Performing drama, activities
792.07	Education, research in drama
822	Plays
821	Poetry
823	English fiction, picture books, graphic novels If the graphic novel is an adaptation of another’s work, , class under the adaptor’s name. Example: bib 4026194
823.008	Collections of short stories by multiple authors *(including aboriginal collections)

Biographies (individual, but not authors or poets) go under context (ex. Hitler goes into German history).

Individual biographies (authors, poets) – place with author number with Z as second cutter
Example: Sendak, Maurice 823/S43Z__

Translations

Books written in English and translated into other languages are classed with the English edition. Cutter for the translation.

For Main Stacks

PZ – is for children’s books that children would read

PN – books about children’s books (criticisms, etc.)

B.C. Historical Textbooks, Series, Textbooks, Fiction

B.C. Historical Textbooks (Curriculum Collection)

[Last revised: July 29, 2019 - MW/GLJ]

The Curriculum Library has a collection of old textbooks that were used in the province of British Columbia in the early 20th century. These textbooks are in the process of being digitized and added to the University of Victoria’s Internet Archive collection. A catalogue record will also be added to our Voyager database.
The Digitization Unit scans each book and sends the file into the Internet Archive. The title of the book and the Internet Archive URL are entered into an Excel spreadsheet.
The book is then sent to Cataloguing.
**Exceptions to the workflow: (May 2018) - Pia will sometimes request that existing items in our collection be changed to “Historical Texts.” There is already an existing bibliographic record but books are not yet digitized or on the spreadsheet. In this case, follow steps 3 – 8 of workflow, amending as needed. Change call number as needed. If item has existing barcode on cover or in book, scratch it out. Give item new barcode on p-slip inserted in book.

Workflow (cataloguing scanned book)

Open Excel spreadsheet at W: > LTEC > Cataloguing > Internet Archive > IA urls.xlsx
Choose Historical Texts from the tabs along the bottom. Choose book from spreadsheet list, and open link.
Check for a bibliographic record in Voyager and usual sources. There is no need to change the record to RDA if an existing bibliographic record already exists in Voyager. Make a copy and use this copy to catalogue Historical Text. If none exist, create original.
Catalogue book.

*reminder note: Older texts often say, for example, on verso of title page, a variation of the following: “Entered according to Act of the Parliament of Canada, in the year one thousand eight hundred and eighty-seven, by THE COPP, CLARK COMPANY, LIMITED, Toronto, Ontario, in the Office of the Minister of Agriculture.” This statement is the copyright date. They will often have a different date on the title page (for example, 1890) – this is the publication date (1890), and the date which is entered on the holdings record.

Add notes:

590 ‡a BC Historical School Textbooks.

If there is a bookplate add a second 590 note. If it is a UVIC bookplate, don’t add.

590 ‡a Bookplate: Provincial Library & Archives, Victoria, B.C.

Create a holdings record:

852 ‡b curr,hist ‡h … ‡i … (include date)

Holdings 008: code “g” in 008 “method of acquisition” if item was a gift or was discarded from another library.
- Do not code “g” in holdings of electronic digitized version of holdings record.
Write call number on upper left of acid-free paper slip. Rubric is CURRIC. All call numbers should include date. Attach barcode vertically to the upper right of the slip, as pictured here:

Create an item record. The permanent location code in the holdings record = curr,hist which corresponds to the permanent location in the item record:

Perm. Loc. = Curric, historical

Item type = nocirc

**If book is a Historical Text that has not yet been digitized, end procedure here. Attach note to indicate book is not yet digitized. Give book to Shelley to put in Gifts room on appropriate shelf. (Nov. 18, 2018 – Pia)

**If book has been digitized and is listed on spreadsheet, continue with the following steps:

Add barcode number to Excel spreadsheet.
Highlight the appropriate line on the Excel spreadsheet in yellow to indicate that the title has been done.
Construct a second bibliographic record for the digital e-book, following the steps below:

Cataloguing the digital e-book

Once the print book has been catalogued, any digitized BC Historical School Textbook needs a second (e-book) bibliographic record. An appropriate OCLC record can be used, if one exists. Otherwise, make a copy of our bibliographic record, and amend the record to indicate an e-resource as follows:

LDR	Cataloging form = i: ISBD punctuation included
006	Computer File Form of Item = o: Online Type of File = d: Document
007	Electronic Resource Specific Material Designation = r: Remote Color = m: Mixed Dimension = n: Not applicable Sound on Medium = _ : No sound (silent) Image Bit Depth = ---: Unknown All other 007 fields can be coded as the last element on the dropdown list: : No attempt to code
008	Form of item = o: Online
035	Remove 035 fields
040	Add ‡b eng and ‡e rda (if not present already) If an electronic version from OCLC is brought in to Voyager, leave 040 as is. If copying from existing print version in Voyager, replace 040 with ‡a CaBViV ‡b eng and ‡e rda ‡c CaBViV
300	‡a 1 online resource (158 pages) : ‡b illustrations (do not add dimensions)
336	‡a text ‡2 rdacontent
337	‡a computer ‡2 rdamedia
338	‡a online resource ‡2 rdacarrier
590	Add, as appropriate: 590 ‡a BC Historical School Textbooks. (add to every electronic historical text bibliographic record) 590 ‡a Bookplate: Provincial Library & Archives, Victoria, B.C. (only if appropriate) 590 ‡a Contributed to the Internet Archive by the University of Victoria Libraries. (Only add to digital record)
6XX	Take out FAST fields, as they normally wouldn’t be kept in an original record.
856	Add the URL (from the spreadsheet) to an 856 field. Test link to be certain it directs to the correct item on Internet Archive. 856 4 0 ‡u (copy and paste URL from spreadsheet)

Create a Holdings record:

852 8 ‡b inre ‡h ELECTRONIC

Do not code 008 “g”

Reading series and teacher’s guides

Checklist for Readings Series for Curriculum Library

If the reading series is designated “Levelled Readers” then the location code is curr,er
See examples bib: 2622168 and auth: 491199

Check 372.4 for various general reading series
008/22 - Code "j" (Juvenile) for readers (do not code "j" for teacher's guides)
Add 520 if available.
Add a 521 for grade level.
When the book clearly states it has activities for teachers to do (teaching their class), add “650 - 0 $a Activity programs in education.” AND 650 _0 $a Creative activities and seat work. (these should always be applied in tandem)

Call Numbers - Reading Series

For large reading series where there is one author for many books, double Cutter:

Example: 428.62 / F47M26 (F47 for Ferris, M26 for Mailbox)

If need to catalogue by numbers (as in double cutter) use A__ (see bib 2852912 for reference). Can also go lower than A2 if fits better (like A15, A16, A17, etc.)
“12” applied at end of call number (ex. 372.4/R43512) indicates accompanying material to set, as in teacher’s information texts
“.07” applied at end of call number generally means material is educational

Textbooks, Teacher’s Editions, Workbooks

*check 513.J__ for examples
Text comes first in holdings, then teacher’s edition is __12 then other materials after (worksheets, etc.).
Teacher key is often ending in __14
Student workbook often ends in __13 (check samples)
Helpful tip: 245$p should be used for part ; 245 $n should be used for number

English Fiction, Picture books

All English fiction is classified in 823. Double cutter the number with the author first, title second.
Include 520 (telling what story is about)
Include 650 (subject headings)
Add “juvenile fiction” or “juvenile literature” to subject headings unless the item is obviously for adult readers.

Are you cataloguing multiple copies on the same bibliographic record when the pagings are different?

Add a 590 indicating that the copies differ.
590 $a Library’s copy 2 has larger font size and thus has 119 pages.

Is the material related to Indigenous Education?

Treat it as a rush.

Is the item an atlas?

See Bib 3248505 as an example of how the record differs. Leader ‘type of record’ changes to ‘e’ – printed cartographic material. Ensure that the 007 and 008 are appropriately encoded.

[ Legacy policy: Is the item you’re cataloguing a binder that has been split up into its constituent pieces?

Add the following note:
590 // $a Library's copies have been disassembled and rebound as separate units.
Any material not listed as a “chapter” in the contents becomes chapter 0.’
See examples 1812380 and 2496284.]