Metadata Unit

Two or more bibliographic items are sometimes physically bound together after publication. Each item usually has a distinctive title page and the whole physical piece lacks a collective title. In these cases each bibliographic item gets a bibliographic record, but only one Voyager holding and item record is created. Follow the procedure below:

1. Create a bibliographic record for the host (first) title
   1. Add a 501 field listing the constituent title(s)
      1. 501 // ‡a Bound with: [Title of the second constituent] [/ author] -- [Title of third constituent] [/ author]., etc.  (Attn SCUA cataloguer: Add ‡5 CaBViV as appropriate)
      2. Field 501 is an unstructured description field. Cataloguer's judgement is used to determine when and how to enter the statement of responsibility. For example, the authorized form of the name is not used; rather the statement of responsibility is based on the item.
      3. 501 // ‡a Bound with: Piron avec ses amis ... / par J.M. Deschamps -- L'Opera de province ... / [libretto by Piis, Barré, Desprès, and Resnier] -- La métempsycose ... / par M. Fréderic Bourguignon -- Bérenger, ou, L'anneau de mariage / par MM. Lafortelle et Victor -- Les trois tantes ... / par M. Théodore -- Hortense, ou, L'école des inconstans / par MM. de Saint-Félix et de Montherot -- Le Cachemire ... / par M. Henri Dupin -- La marchande des modes ... / par M. E. Jouy -- La coutume écossaise, ou, Le mariage sur la frontiére ... / par MM. Leblanc et Charles -- Les Lauriers-rose, ou, Le Tribut du village ... / par J.B. Dubois -- M. Giraffe, ou, La mort de l'ours blanc / par M. Bernard de la Rue-aux-ours. ‡5 CaBViV
   2. Create a holdings and item record for the host (first) title.  (Attn SCUA cataloguer: Do NOT add a barcode to the item record)
   3. Create a call number corresponding to the host (first) title. (This will be the common call number for all titles.)
2.  Create a bibliographic record for the second constituent title
   1. Add a 501 field identifying the host (first) title
      1. 501 // ‡a Bound with: Title of the host (first) / author.
      2. 501 // ‡a Bound with: Roger-Bontems, ou, La fête des fous : comédie en un acte et en prose, mêlée de vaudevilles / par MM. Henri Dupin et Favart. ‡5 CaBViV  
      3. Attn SCUA cataloguer: Add ‡5 CaBViV as appropriate
   2. Note: For SCUA records: do not include field 563 containing binding description for constituent titles. This field is only added to the host title.
   3. If helpful, include a 246 that is common to all titles.
      1. 246 1/ ‡i Bound with other titles in volume with spine title: ‡a Théatre 160 ‡5 CaBViV
3. Link item record of host (first) title to bibliographic record of second constituent title
   1. With item record of host (first) title active on the screen:
      1. Select Record > Link to Bibliographic record
      2. Enter bib # of second constituent title. Press Enter.
      3. A holdings record and item record are automatically created for the second constituent title's bib record.
      4. Save to DB > OK
      5. Check by selecting: Record > Show associated records
4. Repeat steps 2-3 for additional constituent titles
5. Go to Hierarchy to view and confirm that all of the "Bound with" titles are linked as you intended.

RBMS Vocabulary for SCUA Bound Withs:

655 /7 Sammelbands (Provenance) ‡2 rbprov ‡5 CaBViV

Sammelbands are composite volumes created after publication by a former owner.

655 /7 Nonce collections. ‡2 rbgenr

Nonce collections are volumes made up of separately published pamphlets that have been gathered up for reissue by a publisher, usually with a collective title page. Different copies of nonce collections usually contain the same works, but may vary in issue or edition between copies. ("Nonce collection" and "nonce volume" are synonymous.) -- Source: Folgerpedia

Examples: