Hello,
We’d be happy to help populate the publications section of your ORCID profile. CouId you please send us your current CV or a list of publications to add?
Next, if you haven’t done so already, the first step would be to create an ORCID profile. Then, please add scholcom@uvic.ca as a trusted user so our team can make changes to your profile:
Once that’s done, one of our team members will get to work on this and be in touch if they have any questions.
We’ll also upload your publications to UVicSpace, our institutional repository, as allowed by publishers’ policies. Sometimes we’re allowed to upload the accepted manuscript rather than the published version, so if that’s the case we’ll reach out to ask about that as well.
Note: We now let faculty know that we'll upload publications to UVicSpace if we can, rather than asking if they'd like us to at the end of the ORCID update process.
Faculty ORCID Profile Updates are tracked in Outlook and in Teams.
When updating a faculty member's ORCID profile, you will need a complete list of their publications to work from. Some sources of this information we have used in the past are:
To get a faculty member's profile and begin your updates:
There is certain information that needs to be inputted in a researcher's profile before we add their works.
To add information, click on the pencil icon within each individual section.
The information that we must add is:
This information may also be changed to public. To change information to public, click on the icon that looks like an eye, and change the eye setting to "everyone". The eye icon should be green to indicate that the public can see it.
If the professor has an email attached to this account that is not UVic, select the UVic email to the primary email for the account.
Do not change the visibility setting of any other email attached to the account.
Do not add, remove, or edit information in the following sections of a researcher's account:
We only add works that have tangible outputs. Therefore, we add:
Do not add
Check with a CSCO Supervisor if you are unsure whether you should add a work or not.
Combine the preprint and/or postprint record of a published journal article with the version of record, making the final version the preferred source. Consult Cleaning & Checking Records for more information.
Use this table when adding scholarly outputs to an ORCID record. Find the output type in the middle column and assign the ORCID work type from the left column, e.g., to add a book review from someone’s CV, locate Book review under Output type and assign Review in the ORCID form.
The table includes all the available categories and work types in the ORCID form, and example output types can be added as we come across them. See a full list with descriptions from ORCID. Most ORCID work types are based on the COAR vocabulary.
| ORCID work type | Output type | Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Book |
Book |
Use instead of Edited book |
| Book chapter |
Book chapter |
|
|
Conference output |
Conference abstracts |
Use instead of Conference abstract |
|
Conference paper |
Conference paper (published, e.g., in proceedings) |
|
|
Conference poster |
Poster |
|
|
Conference presentation |
Presentation slide decks |
|
|
Conference proceedings |
Conference proceedings |
Official publications, often with ISSNs |
|
Dissertation or thesis |
Thesis |
|
|
Journal article |
Journal article |
|
|
Preprint |
Preprint |
|
|
Working paper |
Working paper |
Some working/discussion papers are published in a series |
|
Other academic publication |
Other |
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Annotation |
|
|
|
Journal issue or edition |
Journal issue |
E.g., a special issue |
|
Review |
Book review |
|
|
Transcription |
Transcriptions (of interviews, speeches, sound recordings) |
|
|
Other review or editing output |
Other |
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Blog post |
Blog post |
|
|
Dictionary entry |
|
|
|
Encyclopedia entry |
Encyclopedia entry |
|
|
Magazine article |
Magazine article |
|
|
Newspaper article |
Newspaper article |
|
|
Report |
Report |
Defined broadly. Could have report/grant number. Published or unpublished. |
|
Talk, interview, podcast or speech |
Public talk |
Not a term from COAR |
|
Website |
Websites |
|
|
Other dissemination output |
Other |
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Artistic output or performance |
Art installation |
Add note in Description field to specify the role, e.g, Curator, Artist and curator, Commissioned by … (for commissioned works), Conductor |
|
Design |
Costume design |
|
|
Image |
Photo |
|
|
Interactive resource |
AR/VR environments |
|
|
Moving image or video |
Film/movie |
|
|
Musical composition |
Original composition |
|
|
Sound |
Music recording |
|
|
Other creative output |
Other |
|
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Cartographic material |
Maps (print, digital, physical) |
|
|
Clinical study |
|
|
|
Dataset |
|
|
|
Data management plan |
|
|
|
Physical object |
|
E.g., a physical sample or specimen for study |
|
Research protocol or technique |
Protocols (e.g., Nursing, Health Info Science) |
|
|
Research tool |
|
|
|
Software |
|
|
|
Other data or process output |
Other |
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Invention |
|
|
|
License |
|
|
|
Patent |
Patent |
Must have a patent #. See Aditi’s libguide for engineering for reference |
|
Registered copyright |
|
|
|
Standards or policy |
|
|
|
Trademark |
|
|
|
Other legal or IP output |
Other |
|
ORCID work type |
Output type |
Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Lecture |
Lecture |
|
|
Teaching material |
Assignment |
|
|
Supervised student publication |
|
|
|
Other teaching or supervision output |
Other |
Using Search & link is the preferred method of adding publications to researchers' ORCID profiles.
To access, select the + Add button on the top of the section titled Works.
Select Search & link from the drop down menu. This will prompt a pop-up titled Link Works which contains all available databases to search for the researchers' publications to then link to their page.
Select the database that you believe would best suit your search.
Ex. Select MLA International Bibliography if they primarily publish in the humanities.
The three ways of search & link (+ Crossref/DataCite) listed here are not the only options and you are free to utilize the other methods if you choose.
After selecting Scopus - Elsevier you will be redirected to a page prompting you to select a Scopus profile to link to the ORCID account.
1. Select the profile(s) that match the researcher of the ORCID profile you are working on.
Make sure to pay attention to:
...and that these match the information about the researcher.
2. Select the preferred name for the profile.
3. Review publications.
Scopus will automatically select all publications in the account to link to the ORCID profile. Go through the publications and make sure only the ones that are missing from the profile are selected. *be sure to select ones where the title is formatted correctly*.
To deselect publications click on the 'X' in the red circle.
4. Review profile.
Take this step as a chance to review that the information that is displayed by Scopus matches the information given by the researcher (i.e. what is in their CV). If it does not, go back and deselect the publication.
5. Send author ID
In the box prompting an email, input the researcher's UVic email. If Scopus asks if you would like to update the Scopus ID, select No.
6. Send publications
After selecting MLA International Bibliography, you will be redirected to a screen that prompts you to authorize MLA International Bibliography's access to the ORCID account.
1. Select Authorize Access
2. Search MLA by the researcher's name.
Use this field to add every known variant of the researchers name in published works. For example, if they have included their middle initials in some works but not others, this is a great way to ensure you are covering all bases.
3. Select the Find works icon to begin your search.
This will redirect you to the results page.
4. Select the icon Add to ORCID for all the works you want to pull over.
Works that have been added will display an Added to ORCID button.
5. Select Done once all relevant works have been added.
The researcher's works from MLA should now be populated into their ORCID account.
After selecting Crossref Metadata Search you will be redirected to a search bar.
1. Input into the search either:
2. Select the work(s) you would like to add to the researcher's ORCID account by clicking add to ORCID
It will then confirm that you are sure that you would like to add this work into the ORCID profile. Select Yes
The researcher's works should then be populated into their ORCID account.
Crossref has a second, separate system that interacts with ORCID. This is an auto-update system activated by invitation from your ORCID inbox. When a publisher submits a researcher's work (with their ORCID iD associated) to Crossref, Crossref will send a notification to the researcher's ORCID inbox asking for authorization to add that work to their profile. If authorization is granted, going forward Crossref will automatically add all new works registered with them to the researcher's profile.
After you have pulled in as many works as possible using Search & link, add the rest of the works using one of the other options.
Feel free to use the Add PubMed ID feature if you would like, though it is not explained in this guide.
Utilize this option if the published work has a DOI.
1. Select the Add DOI option from the dropdown menu.
2. Paste the DOI or full URL into the search bar and select Retrieve work details from DOI.
This will direct you to a form with information that ORCID pulled in about the title.
3. Fill in necessary information
Ensure that information like the Work type, Work title, Journal title, publication date, citation type, citation, and contributors are filled in and correctly formatted.
4. Select add this work to your ORCID record.
The work should be added into the ORCID account. If it is not present, try refreshing the page.
This method requires you to have access to the researcher's work to some degree. This is in order to:
1. Download BibTex citation from the source.
Recommended sources to get BibTex citations from:
After downloading the BibTex citation, on the ORCID profile, select the Add BibTeX option from the drop-down menu.
2. Select 'Choose BibTeX file to import' and choose the BibTeX of the work.
This will prompt a list to appear with the works linked to the BibTeX citation.
3. Select the correct work(s).
ORCID will then populate the list with the newly added works.
4. Edit the work's citation so that all of the information is correct and up to standard.
Note: The citation style may stay as BibTeX, as that is how it was imported.
1. Select +Add and then Add Manually from the drop down menu.
This will prompt a form to fill out with all information about the work.
2. Input all known information about the work into the correlating fields.
Be sure to add any identifier that you have access to into the Work Identifiers Section.
Ex. ISSN, DOI, ISBN.
3. Select 'Save Changes'.
The work should be populated into ORCID from there.
When Works are added into ORCID profiles, sometimes the information can be incorrect or formatted incorrectly. It is our job to ensure that the works are formatted accordingly. Here are some particular problem areas we've encountered:
Titles of Book Reviews
When ORCID populates reviews into the 'Works' section, it sometimes brings over a title that includes too much information. For example, it would bring over information about the book, the publisher, and the price of the book and input that into the title field.
To remedy this, change the title of the work to "Review of title of reviewed work by Reviewed work author".
HTML
Delete any HTML that was added into the title when being pulled into ORCID.
Capitalization
All titles of works should follow sentence casing.
Language
When a title is originally printed in another language, add the translated to English title in the field by selecting "show translated title" and filling out the necessary information.
Citations
All citations, except for when it is pulled in from BibTeX, should be APA.
Note: If a citation has been imported with information from a source that you are unable to edit, (e.g. Scopus) and it is formatted incorrectly, you will need to import that work's information from another source OR add it manually, and then combine works.
If there are two or more of the same work, you will need to combine these files so that they share the same item spot.
To do this you will need to:
1. Check the boxes of the identical works
2. Select the Actions drop-down menu, located on the top of the Works section
3. Select combine works.
This will prompt the system to confirm you would like to combine the works. Select combine selected works.
When two or more works have been combined, you will also need to select which work is the preferred source, meaning that it will be the public facing version of the citation.
To change over the preferred source, select the text labeled Preferred source (of __).
This will prompt an extended list of the other citations of the same work. Select Make preferred source on the version you would like as the public-facing citation.
You will need to contact the faculty member and let them know that you have finished updating their ORCID profile. If they have not already asked you to do so, this email is also when you will ask them if they would like us to upload any publications to UVicSpace on their behalf.
Here's a modifiable email template you can send to them:
"Hello ______,
My name is _______. I am a member of UVic Libraries' Copyright and Scholarly Communications team assisting with ORCID.
I am getting back in touch to let you know that I have finished updating your ORCID profile with the relevant journal articles, books, book chapters [if you made the decision to add other types of publications, include them here].
I have also added some of your publications to UVicSpace, our institutional repository <link>. [Ask about postprints if necessary].
Please let me know if you have any questions.
Thank you very much,
[Your name and email signature]"
Ask us