Collection Management Services

Descriptive Cataloguing

Traditionallly, cataloguing has been broken down into two major areas: descriptive cataloguing and subject cataloguing. Descriptive cataloguing refers to recording details of the resource (title, author, publisher, identifiers like ISBN, etc.). Subject cataloguing involves trying to ascertain what a resource is "about" and choose appropriate terms from subject heading vocabularies or thesauri. An extension of subject cataloguing is classification (assigning a classification number based on topic or authorship from a classification schedule like LCC) and shelflisting (assigning a unique call number to the item in your collection).

Standards for Descriptive Cataloguing

Instructions for how to perform descriptive cataloguing have been given in various content standards throughout the history of cataloguing. Anglo American Cataloguing Rules (AACR) led to a 2nd revision (AACR2) and now RDA is the primary content standard used by libraries (accessed through the RDA Toolkit).

Also useful is the Library of Congress' Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) - accessed through Cataloger's Desktop. The CONSER Cataloging Manual (CCM) is used for Serials. For Special Collections and University Archives material, the Descriptive Cataloguing of Rare Materials offers more specific instruction for rare material in various formats.

Introduction

Subject cataloguing is the second major activity associated with cataloguing (the first is Descriptive Cataloguing). Deciding what a resource is "about" and expressing it in terms present in a controlled vocabulary list is one of the most challenging parts of cataloguing work.

Subject Headings: A practical guide offers overall instruction for how to apply subject headings from Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).

Subject Vocabularies - Names, Titles, and Places

UVic uses the LC Name Authority File exclusively for personal names, corporate bodies, conferences/meetings, uniform titles or name-titles, series titles, and geographic headings. When they function as subjects they appear in the following MARC Bibliographic Fields:

600 - Personal Names as Subjects (with subfield "t" - name.titles as subjects)

610 - Organizations/Corporate Bodies as Subjects

611 - Meetings/Conferences as Subjects

630 - Titles as Subjects

651 - Places as Subject 

Topical Subject Vocabularies

Last revised: 2024-03-08 (GLJ)

UVic Libraries (like most academic libraries in the English speaking world) uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as its primary topical subject vocabulary. 

Indigenous Subject Headings

[revised 2022-04-14 LD]

Background - January 12, 2022

The current Library of Congress Subject Heading “Indians of North America” is present in over 5000 subject headings in Voyager. This heading will be replaced with alternative language but will be retained in the 690 field for historical purposes. The 690 field will only be added for bulk updates / shelf-ready.

Bulk Updates

The following bulk updates will be made to current records in the catalogue and to future batch loaded and shelf-ready records:

1. Indians of North America WITHOUT geographic subdivisions

Replace Indians of North America with Indigenous peoples $z North America

                    i.  Retain other subdivisions as is

2. Indians of North America WITH geographic subdivisions

Replace Indians of North America with Indigenous peoples

1. Retain existing geographic subdivisions as is
2. Retain other subdivisions as is

Example: Replace Indians of North America $z British Columbia with Indigenous peoples $z British Columbia

3. Move Indians of North America heading to field 690

690 ## $i Heading retained by UVic Libraries for historical purposes:$a Indians of North America $z British Columbia. $5 CaBViV

Procedure for Cataloguers

For LCSH headings:

1. Indians of North America WITHOUT geographic subdivisions

Replace Indians of North America with Indigenous peoples $z North America

               i.  Retain other subdivisions as is

2. Indians of North America WITH geographic subdivisions

Replace Indians of North America with Indigenous peoples

1. Retain existing geographic subdivisions as is
2. Retain other subdivisions as is

For FAST headings:

Replace Indians of North America with Indigenous peoples

Do NOT add field 690 for the historical heading.

Examples:

Introduction

As opposed to what resources are "about" (subject headings) genre headings indicate what resources "are." For example, a biography about Winston Churchill is "about" Winston Churchill and (likely) World War II and so would have those topics as subject headings. The genre headings describe what it "is" and so could be something like "book" or "biography." 

Within MARC, Genre headings are placed in a 655 field.

The relationship between genre and subject headings has traditionally been quite muddled. For many years there was no specific genre vocabulary in use and Library of Congress Subject Headings doubled as a genre vocabulary. Many cataloguers still use Subject Headings in this way. Active Subject Cataloguing practice also applies  "genre subdivisions" for subject headings - marked by subfield v in 600,610,611,630,650, and 651 MARC fields.

Genre Vocabularies
Last revised: 2023-06-30 (GLJ)

Introduction  

Classification usually occurs after subject headings have been chosen and is an important aspect of subject cataloguing. A classification number will be assigned from an existing classification system.

The LC Classification and Shelflisting at UVic Library : A Practical Guide provides further detail on how to construct classification numbers.

Classification and Shelflisting

Classification and Shelfisting are distinct processes. Classification is a pure representation of the Classification standard you are working with. Shelflisting is then the process of filing your classified resource into your local collection. 

Usually the Classification number exists in the 050, 055 (Library of Congress Classification) and/or 082 (Dewey Decimal Classification) of the Bibliographic record.

UVic Libraries generally follows the Library of Congress Shelflisting Manual available here (also searchable via ClassWebPlus)

Shelflisting is discussed further in the Holdings section.

Translations

Books written in English and translated into other languages are classed with the English edition. Cutter for the translation as per the translation table found in the Library of Congress Classification and Shelflisting Manual - G150.

Note that not all languages are represented on this table. In these cases,  follow the instructions found on CSM G150, page 5, section 3. Languages not listed. 

• Inuktituk - use x158

Classification Schemes Used at UVic

As referenced in the Practical Guide, UVic uses several classification schemes.

LCC - Library of Congress Classification. Used for the Mearns-McPherson and Law Collections. Accessed through ClassWebPlus

DDC - Dewey Decimal Classification. Used for the Curriculum Collection and accessed through WebDewey

FC Classification - a Canadian History classification created by Library and Archives Canada. This is used for any material relating specifically to Canadian history in the Mearns-McPherson and Law Collections. The most recent edition (the Third Edition) can be accessed through LAC.

PS8000 - The PS8000 classification is used for Canadian Literature in the Mearns-McPherson and Law Collections. 

Local Schema and Policies

HA743 has been used for Statistics Canada material - see the UVic Holdings Exceptions section for more details. 

LE3 (Historical Archival Call Numbers) - See the UVic Publications section under Special Collections and University Archives. 

Law - Susan and Glenda

• Law Periodicals 
• Law Reports
• Law Digests
• Law Statues

Sound Recordings have traditionally been given Accession Numbers - see the Accession Numbers vs. Call Numbers section for more details.

Airphotos and other cartographic resources classification details are included in the Cartographic Resources Section.

Last revised: 2023-08-31 (LD)

Introduction

The MARC standard for holdings records indicates what specifically the library owns and where to find it. UVic Libraries creates holdings records according to the MARC21 Format for Holdings Data

The following offers specific guidance for holdings record encoding at UVic.

[Glenda and Susan to speak with Acquisitions to see if other/more values should be added to 008]

583

- COPPUL Span notes - for serials

- Law notes : current and historical

852

First Indicator = Shelving scheme

Second Indicator = blank

852 $b = Library in Alma (MAIN or LAW)

852 $c = Location in Alma - open form editor and select value from drop down

852 $h = Classification Part - what is dictated in the classification schedules

852 $i = Item Part - repeatable but DO NOT repeat. Separate the different $i elements with a space only.  (repeated use of "$i" delimiters in Alma has been found to cause errors/omissions of $i data later, when using the 852 form editor)

852 $k = "Call Number Prefix" : used in Law and SC ; we will also use this for certain locations - OVERSIZE among them

• The following are examples of how we will record 852 fields in Alma:
  ***Note the following changes: a period will precede the first cutter number (not applicable to Dewey call numbers), and a space will be inserted between cutter numbers (applicable to both LC and Dewey call numbers)
  • 852  0\  ‡b MAIN ‡c main ‡h PS3505.H3224 ‡i P66 1989
  • 852  0\  ‡b MAIN ‡c main ‡h HF1359 ‡i .M672 2020
  • 852  0\  ‡b MAIN ‡c ma-scor ‡h M22 ‡i .C23 H395 1999   [Note: the double cutter in this instance is our own convention, not dictated by ClassWeb, and therefore all goes after ‡i ; however, a period is still used to precede the first cutter number.]
  • 852  1\  ‡b MAIN ‡c curr ‡h 823 ‡i M9645 A537 2014   [Note: there is no period preceding the cutter in the case of Dewey call numbers for Curric material.]
  • 852  0\  ‡b LAW ‡c law ‡h KE230.D68 ‡i V47 2021
  • 852  0\  ‡b MAIN ‡c main ‡h GT4883.A2 ‡i D84 2018 v.1   [Note: add volume # to 852 $i only when each volume is on a separate bib record. When multiple volumes/issues are on one bib record, volume # goes in the item. (except for SC material, which have no item records) See Inventory - Items section.]   [Also note: there should always be an added 866 summarized holdings statement for a multi-volume monograph or serial record. See 866 section below.]
• This is recording the call number according to the MARC21 standard. It also aligns with how our shelf-ready vendors create call numbers and how ClassWeb is searched
• Old Voyager way: 852 0\  ‡b main ‡h PS3505 ‡i H3224P66 ‡i 1989
• This method of entering the call number will no longer be used at UVic but 852 fields created in this way will still exist in our catalogue.
• NOTE: If there is a double cutter, it is no longer necessary to insert a space after the letters O or I.
• See also: Call Number Labelling Printing 

Update from Bibliographic (Alma)

The 852 $h and 852 $i can be updated from the call number in the bibliographic record.

Active window = Holdings

Records Actions > Update from Bibliographic

Alternatively, when saving a new holdings, the 852 $h and 852 $i will be automatically updated from the call number in the bibliographic record.

866 for Multi-Volume Monographs

866 \0 $8 0 $a v.1-4

For Serial Holdings, refer to the Formats > Serials > Holdings section.

Shelflisting

As mentioned in the Classification section, Shelflisting is the process of taking your assigned classification number and fitting it into your local shelflist. This process is only for physical material.

UVic Libraries follows the Library of Congress Classification and Shelflisting Manual - available directly or through Catalogers' Desktop.

The Classification : A Practical Guide document discusses this process in context and gives instruction for what to do and how to create unique call numbers that fit the shelf list. 

LC Cutter Table (CSM G63)

Note that since we are transitioning to a different method of inputting data into the 852 of the item record as of June 28, 2022 and the move to Alma, you will have to conduct two call number browse searches  - one that picks up the previous way of entering the 852 in Voyager and one that shows the shelflist as constructed according to the MARC standard.

Note the differences in the spacing and the addition of the period in front of the first cutter. These two changes will affect the shelf list and the way you will need to conduct searches when conducting a call number browse.

HA 743

• HA743 looks like a Library of Congress call number, but it is really a number used by McPherson Library to keep all the Statistics Canada material together by its publication number. Eg. HA743 88-243.
• In the holdings record the 852 field should be coded as follows:

e.g. 852 : 0 - : ‡b main ‡h HA743 ‡i 88-243

Historically, the first indicator used to be coded 8 for “Other scheme”. Going forward, assign the first indicator as 0. 

NOTE: this discrepancy causes an issue as the call number sort has two separate runs. There is no shelflisting process as the item number reflects the publication number. Therefore all you need to do is to search or browse the catalogue to make sure the number you have in hand isn’t already there. You should search or browse in two different ways: one with no Heading Types filter (to capture LC call numbers in the holding record), another with a Heading Types filter of “Other” to capture holdings records with second indicators of “8.” 

• To do a Call number search in OPAC, the whole call number must be entered as the search term, e.g. HA743 73-345 (with a space between the HA743 and the 73-345) which returns the Stats Can browse list by call number. Entering only HA743 will return no Stats Can publications because it defaults to the LC call number browse list.

Music Scores 

Abbreviations, Words and Phrases for Use in Call Numbers

Oversize material has been handled in various ways. 

In Voyager most typically we would add a $i to the end of the 852 of the Holdings record to indicate OVERSIZE. 

Going forward we will add this information to $k of the 852 so it shows as a call number prefix on the spine label.

Over time we will transition to using Oversized locations instead of expressing Oversize in the 852.

Call Number Labelling

Spine labels in Alma will be printed using the Spine-O-Matic software (installed on everyone's machines that have a spine label printer).

More information can be found here. 

Rubrics

Some Locations have associated text that get printed on the call number labels.

For a full listing of all location codes and rubrics - as well as how the locations mapped from Voyager to Alma - see the Libraries and Locations section of this LibGuide.

Item Fields in Alma

Not all information will be filled in at the Item level in Alma. The following provides instruction on what fields can/should have values and how to format the information.

From the Physical Item Editor in Alma - instruction provided for certain fields only. For others leave the data as-is or leave blank.

Music & Media Item Fields in Alma

For Music & Media call numbers, see also the following LibGuide sections:

Music Scores

Sound Recordings

Draft July 22/Susan

Background and History:

• Material type: For serials and continuations, follow established Material type.
• Item policy: For serials and continuations, follow established Item policy. (Review of law item policy required.) Align with main best practices whenever possible.
• Bound issues of serials: Item records were created and barcodes added to bound issues of serials and indexes. The enumeration/chronology added to the item record did not always reflect what was on the bound issues, but rather matched the enumeration/chronology assigned by bindery staff and added by the binder to the spine of the bound issues. Serial issues are no longer sent for binding.
• "Place holder" item records: Item records were created to communicate a location or other information in Voyager OPAC. This is no longer current best practice. Item records should only be created for physical items.
• As in main, Call number formats for continuations will be updated to reflect current best practice

Special Collections and University Archives Item Fields in Alma

Refer also to SCUA Item Records, Processing and Locations section

Not all information will be filled in at the Item level in Alma. The following provides instruction on what fields can/should have values and how to format the information.

Last revised: 2022-07-25 (GLJ)

Scan In Items

When all cataloguing is complete and the barcoded item is ready for processing, the last step will be to scan in the item in order to change the process type to "Transit For Reshelving"

This last step must be done for all barcoded items, whether monographs, serials, purchases or gifts.

Procedure:

• Ensure Location is: Mearns-McPherson Library - MAIN Acquisitions Department
• Fulfillment > Resource Request > Scan In Items   (or access "Scan In Items" via your quick link bar at the top of the screen.)
• Set Status to: Cataloguing
• Click Done - Yes
• Scan item barcode

Item will now have the Process Type: Transit For Reshelving*
*Note: If the first scan in does not set it to Transit for Reshelving, simply scan it in again. Let a supervisor know if the problem persists.

Last revised: 2022-10-25 (LD)

FOR SCUA ITEMS ONLY

Items for Special Collections and University Archives will be scanned in again by Metadata to remove the "Transit for Reshelving" status

NOTE: The "Circulation Desk Operator, Mearns-McPherson Desk" Fulfillment user role is required to update the status.

Follow these steps:

1. Change your physical location to: Mearns-McPherson Library - Mearns-McPherson Desk

2. Use: Fulfillment > Scan In Items > Scan item barcode

Scan item barcode to update the destination to "Reshelve to Special Collections"

To add an item to holdings from Search Result:

1. From List of Items:

• Confirm item in hand matches record. View bibliographic record if necessary (click on title).
• Click "Items" (or select from ellipsis/drop down) to bring up "List of Items"
• Click "+Add Item" to open Physical Item Editor
• Skip Barcode field. Update all other fields as appropriate (see Field Guide tabs)
• Save and Edit. 
• Scan in Barcode. Editor will automatically close

2. From List of Holdings:

• Confirm item in hand matches record. View bibliographic record if necessary (click on title).
• Click "Holdings" (or select from ellipsis/drop down) to bring up "List of Holdings"
• Click Row Items List ellipsis > Select "View Items" from dropdown > List of items
• Click "+Add Item" to open Physical Item Editor
• Skip Barcode field. Update all other fields as appropriate (see Field Guide tabs)
• Save and Edit. 
• Scan in Barcode. Editor will automatically close

Adding or Editing a Portfolio in Alma

The Metadata Unit will ignore the following sections of the Portfolio as these are managed by E-Resources Staff:

- Decriptive Information

- General Information

- Coverage Information

Inventory and Linking Information section

Notes

Revising LC Name Authority File Records

UVic Libraries is a member of the NACO Canada Funnel and NACO CJK Funnel : we have completed NACO training and review and continue to contribute new and revised authority records to LCNAF.

If you notice that an LCNAF record needs to be revised or you think a new LCNAF authority record should be created when there isn't one, report it through the UVic Library Authority Form.

How Headings and Authority Records Work in Alma

As of June 28, 2022, UVic Libraries will be relying on Alma's Community Zone (CZ) for authority records. Headings in Bibliographic Records in the Institution Zone will be linked to these CZ authority records.When the authority records in the CZ update, the linked headings in the bibliographic records will be updated.

From headings in the Bibliographic Record in Alma you will validate each heading. You can do this by pressing F3 and an authority heading browse for that field will open up.

Choosing an Appropriate Authority Record for your Heading

For 100 fields, for example, you will be taken to the LCNAMES authority file (as maintained by Ex Libris in the Community Zone). You will also see "Headings from Bibliographic Records" to see other bibliographic records that use the terms in your heading.

From within the heading selection screen you will notice some icons:

• a star means that it is the authorized term - View to see the Authority record, Select to select that authority record for your heading
• no star means it is a cross-reference/non-preferred term - View to see the Authority record (and the authorized term), Select will select that authority record and its corresponding authorized term
• a link means that the heading in your bibliographic record is already linked to that authority record

When you are happy with the authority select it and you will be taken back to your bibliographic record.

Headings in Your Bibliographic Record

Icons should be present in your heading for the authority record:

indicates that your heading is linked to a Community Zone Authority Record

 indicates that your heading is partially linked to a Community Zone Authority Record. This would be the case if you had a valid subject heading but had added additional subdivisions that were not directly in LCSH

What If I Don't Find an Appropriate Authority Record in the Community Zone?

For name, title, meeting headings, you will want to ensure that the form of name in your bibliographic record is differentiated from any LCNAF headings. You should also search the Alma Institution Zone for other Bibliographic Records that use that heading and use the form of name that already exists in the catalogue. 

For topical subjects, you will need to find an appropriate value in LCSH that can be applied.

Local Authorities

Local authorities have not been migrated from Voyager to Alma. As of June 28th, 2022, local authority records will no longer be created. The fuctionality exists to create local authority records in Alma, however, so we may wish to revisit this decision if the need arises.

Instead of creating local authorities we are going to count on people doing a thorough search for their headings within Alma to see if they exist. If they do, that existing form should be used. If they don't, create a unique heading that is differentiated from what's in the catalogue and the LCNAF. 

The decision as to whether a heading requires an authority record (and therefore trigger a request through the Authority Form) will rely on a couple of factors:

1. Is it of local significance? In other words, is it an entity that is locally relevant or important for which you think an authority record would constitute a unique entry to the global authority landscape? Or perhaps it is a heading you expect will need to be used in many bibliographic records at UVic now or in the future

2. You think it would otherwise be of signficance to other institutions who may wish to use that heading

Voyager Series authority records can be viewed as follows:

• Search Voyager Series Authorities spreadsheet for series title
• Copy Authority ID for series from spreadsheet
• Paste Authority ID into the "Auth ID" box on the Voyager Legacy Data Tool
  • Ensure you are on the "Cataloguing" page

See the Searching Alma section of the LibGuide.

Duplicate Copies

Policy Change: One holding for duplicate copies with exact call number, library and location 

1. Do not add multiple holdings for the same location and call number – instead multiple copies will be added to one holdings for the same location and same call number 

2. Continue to create multiple holdings for duplicate SCUA items and periodicals

Recommended Copy Cataloguing Workflow

View below for further detail about general Copy Cataloguing options in Alma:

1.  Search for your record in OCLC Connexion (the searching is much more powerful)

2. Copy the OCLC number of the record you want to bring into Alma

3. Do a Search Resources search in Alma -> target of Worldcat -> paste in the OCLC number : this will give you an exact search

4. View / Import / Merge Record into Alma – usually View then Merge Preview

Copy Cataloguing in Alma

When cataloguing in Alma you may wish to use bibliographic records from other institutions to either enhance your bibliographic record or to start with a record from elsewhere (instead of original cataloguing).

There are a few different ways to bring in bibliographic records from other places.

Search External Resources Within Alma

If you want to search other libraries for copy or search Worldcat directly you can do so within Alma through "Search Resources." This is available in Alma from the Resources menu on the left hand side of your screen.

Alternatively, if you are starting from within the Metadata Editor you can go to the Search and Browse menu --> Search Resources. 

Once you select Search Resources you will be given a drop down of Sources (Search Cataloguing Profile) you can search. These are essentially Z39.50 or SRU targets. The available list of external resources can be configured and other available libraries can be added - please speak to your supervisor if there are any other sources you'd like added (the full list of available institutions is available in the Ex Libris documentation).

Enter your search terms and carry out a search on your preferred source of record (we suggest you start with Worldcat since that has the highest likelihood of finding a matching record). Note that if you begin from the Metadata Editor and Search and Browse menu --> Search Resources the next steps will behave differently depending on whether you are actively editing a record or not.

If you are currently editing a bibliographic record and it is in the editing pane in the Metadata Editor ...

... and you click on Search Resources you will notice that many of the fields are already filled out (taken from your active record you are currently editing). It is likely that this will result in an unsuccessful search as it is often too specific. You can clear some of the search fields or to clear all of them you can click on Clear at the bottom of the Search Resources screen.

Important to note, also, that if you include "System Number" in your search it overrides all other fields. If you are not completely positive about the system number (i.e. it is not from OCLC or LC) it is best to delete this value from your search.

Once you carry out your search, you will wind up wth some search results. Note that this will result in your record being minimized and pushed all the way to the left (marked below with a red line highlighted in yellow). 

You will be presented with five options:

View means that you can View the record from the external system to see if it's a good candidate to bring into the database. It will bring the MARC record from the external source up on the right. Note: Often this is all you want and may only need to bring some data in (i.e. subject headings, edition statements, authors, contents or other notes, etc.). From this screen you can "Ctrl + C" any data to copy it and then paste it in the record in our database your are currently editing (Ctrl + V).

Import means that you are ready to bring in the record from the external source and will be imported into our database as a draft [you can tell this since the 001 is still from an external source, not one of our MMS IDs] . The system will try to find a match for your record in our database (based on pre-existing criteria) so it knows what record needs to be overlaid.

If the external record matches more than one record in UVic's database it will ask if you'd like to view them (that is the matching UVic records). Once you've selected the appropriate record, click on Copy & Overlay, Copy & Merge, Merge Preview (explained below). If you click on Save it will save this record to the database.

Copy & Overlay Copies the record from the external system and completely overlays the record from UVic’s database that is active in the Metadata Editor. No local fields are retained.

Copy & Merge copies the record from the external system and “Merges” it with the record from UVic’s database that is active in the Metadata Editor. It does this, though, without a chance for you to look at it first. Note that the Merge Rules (which records are kept in the local record vs. the incoming external record) are customizable.

Merge Preview copies the record from the external system and “merges” it with the record from UVic’s database that is active in the Metadata Editor. It first gives you a chance for you to look at it.

Merge Preview is the preferred choice if you are bringing a record in and overlaying so you can see before you replace the record exactly what 

If you are NOT currently editing a bibliographic record in the editing pane in the Metadata Editor ...

... you would Search Resources from either the Resources menu or the Metadata Editor --> Search & Browse. No fields will be auto filled in the search screen (since there is no active record to draw from). 

From the Search Results you will also likely notice that there are fewer options (since you are not making reference to an existing record). You will only see View and Import.

If you just want to look at the record (or copy and paste some fields) you can click on View.

If you click on Import it will bring the record in as a Draft into your Metadata Editor. When you Save it, it will attempt to match against existing records in our database. If it matches to one or more records in UVic's database, it will show you the matches (if you wish) where you can take further action - either choose the correct record and choose whether to Edit the existing record in our database, Copy & Overlay, Copy & Merge, Merge Preview, or Push the record to the MDE.

Search in Connexion and Export Directly to Alma [coming soon]

Alma has the capability to connect directly with OCLC Connexion so that once you press Export   the bib record arrives in Alma directly.

The record coming in from Connexion saves and overlays records automatically (without your intervention). This behaviour is governed in Alma via the Match and Merge Rules specified in the OCLC Connexion Integration Profile.

This also requires some setup on your local workstation / version of Connexion software.

It is not currently recommended as we are not sure we trust the automatic match between Connexion and Alma.

Copy Cataloguing - What's a Good Record?

If you are looking for copy in OCLC Connexion/Worldcat or other institutions: what should you look for? The following offers some guidance.

1. Find copy that matches what you have in hand

The most important thing is to try to match the copy to what you have in hand: format, publication details, and identifiers.

Format

Connexion/Worldcat is full of every imaginable record for all types of formats but you will want to make sure that you are honing in (whenever possible) to the format for the record you have in hand. Connexion may pre-filter your search according to format if there are a large amount of search results. 

If there are fewer search results you will not see this screen. In that case you will be faced with search results for all different formats.When examining the MARC record there are indications of what format the MARC record represents. 

RDA Content, Media, and Carrier Fields

These fields replaced the 245 subfield h (General Material Designation) prevalent in AACR2 cataloguing.

• the 336 MARC indicates the Content Type.
  • the list of values in 336 subfield a is available here: https://www.loc.gov/standards/valuelist/rdacontent.html
  • indicates the "type" of content
  • some common values are:
    • text - for textual material (most material we deal with)
    • notated music - for scores
    • performed music - cd/dvd/streaming music
• the 337 MARC field indicates the Media Type
  • the list of values in 337 subfield a is available here: https://www.loc.gov/standards/valuelist/rdamedia.html
  • indicates values that may require mediation (or not) to interact with
  • some common values are:
    • unmediated - would be present for the vast majority of our material - including physical books and serials
    • computer - for ebooks since you need equipment to interact with it
    • audio - recordings that require a playback device of some kind
• the 338 MARC field indicates the Carrier Type
  • the list of values in 338 subfield a is available here: https://www.loc.gov/standards/valuelist/rdacarrier.html
  • indicates the carrier of the media that is represented by the resource
  • some common values are:
    • volume - for physical books and serials
    • online resource - for ebooks and other e-resources
    • videodisc - for DVDs
    • audiodisc - for CDs

Other Fields that Indicate Format

You can also look to make sure you are bringing in a record for the correct format by looking at the following fields:

• LDR - characters 06 and 07 - this one is kind of hard to read but super useful. Note that if you are counting characters in the LDR field you start counting from "0".
  • Character 06 will tell you if it is "language material" : code a - the default for textual material. 
  • Character 07 will tell you if it's a monograph or serial (or integrating resource)
• 008 - especially the Form of Item after clicking on the appropriate format (i.e. character 23 for Books) - it will tell you if it is electronic (code s) or Online (code o)
• The presence of an 007 field also tells you that the record is for a non-textual resource (either in whole or part)
• The 300 MARC field (especially subfield a) is another good place to check to see the format of the record you are bringing in. If you see a value in subfield a of "online resource" then the record is for an electronic version. If it just indicates "volume or pages" the record is for a print resource.

Publication Details

In addition to checking the format of the record, also confirm that you are bringing in a record for the exact publication. Examine the following fields:

• Title (MARC 245) and Author (1XX or 7XX) - should both match
• 264 - make sure the Publisher (subfield b) and Publication date (subfield c) match what you have in hand. The "Place of Publication" (subfield a) should also match but this data point may not be as reliable
• 260 - if a record was catalogued according to AACR2 instead of RDA the publication details may be present in a 260 field instead of 264
• 250 - Edition Statement. This should match the record you have in hand
• 300- Physical Details. Check the pagination [subfield b] if you are not confident of a match

Identifiers

Identifiers also sometimes give you a solid match point to determine whether you have the correct record.

• 020 - the ISBN can be used to indicate a match BUT since ISBNs for many types of formats are on the same record this may not be reliable
• 022 - the ISSN for serials is a reliable match point
• 010 - the Library of Congress control number is usually very reliable - to make sure you have the correct record for the item in hand

2. Bring in a Good MARC Record

Besides ensuring you are brining in a record that matches format and publication details, you will next want to ensure you are bringing in a MARC record of good quality (whenever possible) and that is catalogued according to RDA and in English . The following are general markers of quality in a MARC record:

• Language of Cataloguing. The 040 subfield b will indicate the language of Cataloguing (NOT the language of the resource). Check to make sure this is "eng" for English. UVic Libraries only adds English-catalogued MARC records to its catalogue.
• Make Sure the Record is catalogued according to RDA. This will be clear from a few MARC fields:
  • 040 subfield e should have a value of "rda"
  • LDR character 18 will have a value of "i"
  • There will be RDA-specific MARC fields: 264, 336, 337, 338 etc.
• See if Library of Congress Catalogued it. If the 040 subfield a, c, and/or d say DLC that means the record was created by the Library of Congress. These are usually high-quality records.
• Does it have a 050 or 082 field? For Curriculum material, try to bring in a record that already has a Dewey Classification Number (082 MARC field). For all other locations, ensure that the record has a 050 - preferably second indicator 0 (for Library of Congress Classification Number)
• Does it have Subject Headings? Try to bring in a record that already has valid subject headings in it. Check the 600, 610, 611, 660, 651 for headings that have second indicator of 0. This means that the Library of Congress Name Authority File or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are already present in the record.

Normalization rules are used to update or change metadata within a single bibliographic or holdings record in the Metadata Editor or to a group of records using an import profile. These rules can be used to update/add/delete a specific field(s), update incorrect metadata, etc. The rule is written following a syntax called DROOLS. The easiest way to create a new normalization rule is to duplicate an existing rule and edit it. Yoel Kortick from Ex Libris has created this comprehensive list of examples: Yoel's Alma Normalization Rule Examples

Within the Metadata Editor, the "Enhance the Record" Editing Action is used to apply a pre-defined normalization rule to a record.

For more information see Working with Normalization Rules.

When you are unable to find copy, rather than starting with a blank record, you can use a template that has predefined fields and subfields  Templates can be shared or private.

Add templates to Metadata Editor:

• New > Templates display configuration > [Toggle on desired templates] > Save

Use a template 

• New > MARC21 Bibliographic (or MARC21 Holdings) > [template] 

Currently there are the following UVic bibliographic templates set up: 

1. UVic Books (Default) 
2. UVic Music Scores 
3. UVic Serials 
4. UVic Streaming Video 
5. UVic Maps 
6. UVic Video Recording