Information about UVic will often be required in order to subscribe to or license vendor-provided resources.
If FTE information is required, UVic Libraries relies on the FTE numbers provided by BC ELN (as provided by the Ministry of Education). this information can be found on the BC ELN site of Partner Libraries' FTE.
Use for any problem related to an ExLibris product
Use if the problem is with a CZ record
In Alma, there is an option to Report to ExLibris if you are looking at a Community Zone Collection, Database, or Portfolio. Submissions through this method automatically includes the information
Right click and drag to move around the diagram
Change of Title / Platform
The following procedure is suggested for incorporating the Community Zone Updates Task List into your workflow.
To incorporate the Community Zone Updates Task List into your workflow:
Access the Community Zone Updates Task List once per week.
Review the updates made to your Institution Zone records from the Community Zone updates.
Apply the Community Zone Updates Task List filters that are useful for your particular institutional workflow. You may find it more useful to apply the filters and check the electronic collection-level changes before applying the filters and checking the portfolio-level changes.
As you filter and view the entries, look for:
Deleted portfolios - These are portfolios that were deleted in the Community Zone and have become local portfolios. You will need to decide whether the portfolio should be deleted. This decision will most likely be determined by whether there is still access to the resource.
Portfolios that were added to the aggregator collection but were not automatically activated - The portfolio is not automatically activated if it was initially chosen on the collection level. You need to decide if the portfolio should be activated.
Portfolios where the global coverage was updated and the library has local coverage - You will need to determine if you want to remove the local coverage.
Dismiss the records for which you have accepted the update using Dismiss Selected or Dismiss All. Note that you need to specify a date range when using the Dismiss All option.
The expectation is that the vast majority, if not all, of the entries will be dismissed.
NA Sept 2022
NOTE: some collections have an additional screen regarding CDI
We Subscribe to Only Some Titles in this Collection
This is a misleading phrase. This does not necessarily mean how you subscribe to the collection with the vendor. This setting determines the availability statement in Primo VE.
As we've discussed: when collections have content that have standard identifiers (e.g. books, journals), you may select YES. This tells CDI to perform match on standard identifier. When match is found using standard identifier, this produces accurate availability statement.
When collections have content that does not have standard identifiers (e.g. videos, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc), you may select NO. In this case, there is no match on standard identifier to produce the availability statement; when selecting NO there is a blanket availability statement applied to all content in the collection.
If you are not sure what is in the collection, use the defaults, which are explained in the documentation:
If a Community Zone Electronic Collection (and its constituent Portfolios) has been activated but now has to be deactivated (because we no longer subscribe or want to replace with a Local Electronic Collection) do the following:
1. Search for the Electronic Collection in the Institution Zone - this should surface the Electronic Collection you want to delete (it will have the Community Zone icon but this merely means it has been activated at UVic)
2. When you've found the correct collection, click on the ellipses and click on Delete - NOTE : this will only delete our attachment to the Community Zone collection (NOT delete the Community Zone Collection for all Alma Users). W
You will then be prompted to choose how to handle bibliographic records (that will be without inventory because of deletion) that were linked to this collection. Your options are:
Delete Bibliographic Records
Suppress Bibliographic Records
You will want to choose "Delete Bibliographic Records" as you are interested in removing the collection entirely.
A job will be run to delete the collection from UVic's system along with its constituent title-level records.
See the following documentation from Ex Libris:
Dean - Aug.23/2022
Years of access
Social Sciences Collection 2010 2011 2012 2013
Religion & Philosophy Collection 2003-2009 2010 2011 2012 2013, backlist supplement, extended backlist
Media & Culture Collection 2010 2011 2012 2013
Literature Collection 2010 2011 2012 2013
Political & International Studies Collection 2011 2012 2013
History Collection 2001-2009, 2010 2011 2012 2013, Backlist Supplement,, Extended Backlist
Language & Linguistics Collection 2003-2009 2010 2011 2012 2013, Backlist Supplement
Education 2010 2011 2012 2013
Business & Management 2002-2009 2010 2011 2012 2013, 2006 Archive, Backlist Supplement, Extended Backlist
Theatre & Performance 2010 2011 2012 2013
Economics & Finance 2001-2009 2010 2011 2012 2013, Backlist Supplement, Extended Backlist
Political & International Studies 2001-2009 2010, backlist supplement, extended backlist
Literature & Performing Arts 2003-2009, backlist supplement, extended backlist
Social and Cultural Studies 2002-2009, backlist supplement, extended backlist
|Edward Elgar Publishing||
|Edward Elgar Publishing||
Law 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
Business 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
Economics 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022
Social & Political Science 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Sociology, Social Policy & Education 2021, 2022
Geography, Planning and Tourism 2022
Political Science & Public Policy 2022
Indigenous Studies (Subject Specific Collection)
|Hart Publishing eBook Frontlist||106461||Bloomsbury Publishing||2020, 2021, 2022|
|E-Duke books scholarly collection||57990||COPPUL|
|Harvard University Press||82800||De Gruyter||2000-2013, 2020, 2021, 2022|
|Columbia University Press||De Gruyter||2000-2013, 2020, 2021, 2022|
|Princeton University Press||De Gruyter||2000-2013, 2020, 2021. 2022|
|Stanford University Press||De Gruyter||2000-2013, 2020, 2021, 2022|
|University of Toronto Press||De Gruyter||
2000-2013, 2020, 2021, 2022
DRAFT - working with Emma.
Some eBook turnaway reports now come into esource unit email
When report is received, please send to firstname.lastname@example.org identifying the current access level, i.e. single or 3 user
Reserves staff will look to see if title is listed for a course and will respond back either advising it is not on Course Reserves or that it is and identifying the course, number of students etc.
If you can't find a Community Zone Electronic Collection for the Collection (Database or Package) UVic Libraries is activating, there is a formal process in place to ask that Ex Libris add it. This also applies to requests to enrich existing CZ collections.
The documentation from Ex Libris provides more details on the process and these instructions should be followed. Broadly, though, here is the process:
If the issue is that there is an error in the existing collection or portfolio, create a Support Case.
dean - july 7, 2023
Look at the URL. CDI records will start with https://search.library.uvic.ca/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=cdi and Alma records will start with https://search.library.uvic.ca/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma[MMSID}
Make a bookmark and edit the address to:
When you are on a Primo search results page, click the bookmark and the collection name will appear at the bottom of each box
CTO = context object : this shows context services offered by OpenURL link resolver
CTO = ACCESS: use when you want to understand why a full text link is or is not appearing in the view it section; use when you are having issues accessing the full text
Make a bookmark and edit the address to:
PNX = raw Primo record : this shows what is indexed by Primo VE and why information appears in the results
PNX = METADATA: use when you want to understand why something is appearing in the results (e.g. why it appeared in a certain query, why it appears under a certain facet, etc)
Make a bookmark and edit the address to:
Also called stable links, persistent URL, permalink, stable URL, durable link. Copying the URL on the browser is a dynamic link, so it changes and may not work for another person. Permalinks should still lead to the desired page even if the dynamic link changes.
Then copy and paste this link.
It won’t work and will lead to a log in page.
Now copy and paste this link which has our library-specific ID
and then go to the above link again. It should work now, even though it was the same link you just used that didn’t work.
Proxy Problem Related to Zotero
Some proxy problems have been caused by a feature in the citation manager Zotero.
Zotero helps by adding the proxy to all links from a site, but sometimes that proxy is incorrect or just doesn't resolve correctly.
If you are able to access the content but the user is not, ask them to try their browser in incognito or private mode. (See: Troubleshooting - Useful Tools)
If that solves the problem, clearing the cache and cookies should fix it. (See: Troubleshooting - Useful Tools)
Here are instructions from Zotero https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/proxy_troubleshooting
Another solution is to make sure the user has the latest version of Zotero installed.
Updated IP ranges (current as of Aug 30 2023
CIDR Notation Range Notation
18.104.22.168/16 22.214.171.124 - 126.96.36.199* (188.8.131.52-29 is also Environment Canada's range, as they have a lab on campus)
184.108.40.206/18 220.127.116.11 - 18.104.22.168*
22.214.171.124/19 126.96.36.199 - 188.8.131.52
184.108.40.206/20 220.127.116.11 - 18.104.22.168
22.214.171.124/19 126.96.36.199 - 188.8.131.52
184.108.40.206/19 220.127.116.11 - 18.104.22.168 (currently allocated to student wireless connections)
22.214.171.124/24 126.96.36.199 - 188.8.131.52 (VPN subnet for students)
184.108.40.206/24 220.127.116.11 - 18.104.22.168
22.214.171.124/21 126.96.36.199 - 188.8.131.52
* these are our largest and have the most traffic so if we are limited in # of IP ranges, those these two
Our proxy IPs are
184.108.40.206 and 220.127.116.11 so if we are limited to a single IP address, chose one of these two.
UVic IPs can be found on this site, but only the above listed need to be given to vendors.
PSI and IPRegistry.org
We are registered with the IPRegistry
They hold our IP information so different publishers can retrieve it. Any changes to our IP ranges must be updated in the IPRegistry using our username/password. https://app.theipregistry.org/
A publisher may ask for our organization's PSI Org ID in order to process a renewal or new subscription.
Our PSI registry information is available in the following document:
E-Resources Information - IP PSI Base URL etc.docx - link to connect not working
More information available here https://www.psiregistry.org/
When new IP ranges are added, please also supply to:
Harrassowitz via FOKUS (ask Manager or Supervisor to do this)
Instructions for UVic VPN can be found here: https://www.uvic.ca/systems/support/internettelephone/remoteaccess/index.php
VPN is not necessary to access library resources, and students using VPN will still need to log in using the proxy server.
Vendors will need to be notified of UVic LIbraries' Base URL and other related information available here:
Link resolver information will need to be updated at the Vendor admin site. This should be done during setup at initial purchase but should also be verified annually.
Where can I get this?
If you have the Voyager bib number, at it to the end of this URL and it MIGHT redirect to the Primo record
Background: Migrated online only purchase orders are attached to DAR's in the institution zone.
Our goal in Alma is to associate the ongoing order for the online version with the title from the Community Zone (when available) rather than the Dummy Acquisitions Record from Voyager. This is most important for open, ongoing orders and less important for closed, one-time orders.
Make note of the POL number and MSS ID you need to relink (active order) and then the MMS ID of the preferred CZ bib record. Record it on Notepad or similar device external to Alma. Other option is to have 2 instances of ALMA open.
Search for the portfolio that corresponds with the order using your preferred search method. If you're not sure which portfolio is associated with the order, ask an eResource staff member or if vendor is Harrassowitz check FOKUS
Edit the portfolio, either by clicking View then Edit, or just Edit
Click on the Acquisitions tab, copy and paste the POL number in the PO Line box. NOTE: If the order has a status of Open, it will appear. If it is Closed (e.g. for an e-book), you will need to click through to an expanded search and deselect the Active filter, so All orders (from this material supplier) will be searched.
Select the order by clicking on it
Save the portfolio
Change the Bib Reference for the Migrated Order
This does not happen automatically; there are often multiple portfolios for a given title, or multiple orders for a title, so they must be linked manually.
Search for the migrated order using the order number.
Click on the PO Line number and click on EDIT
Select Change bib reference from the row action item list
You will be prompted with a question, Click Confirm when prompted.
Alma executes a title/ISSN search. Select the CZ version (confirm with MSS ID) from the results screen (it may be the only option) or edit the search if necessary.
The acquisitions profile does not have permissions to delete portfolios so for now note the MMS ID and POL in the Excel spreadsheet that is in the eResource Training Teams
These instructions were borrowed heavily from the Harvard Wiki
Created by: PP Aug 8, 2022
Approved by: SH
Effective Date: Aug 2022
Last Editorial Change: Sept 29, 2022
Once a new resource has been acquired and the content provider has confirmed that access is available and active, it’s time to activate the resource in Alma so it’s discoverable in Primo.
1. Search the title in the Institution Zone to see if there is already a portfolio activated. Test access.
2. If there is no existing record, search the Community Zone by Electronic Title to get a list of Collections
3. Determine the correct Collection and change the search to Electronic Portfolio
Be sure to select the correct vendor and interface that matches the vendor and interface from which you have full text access. We most likely have other single titles activated in the vendors aggregator package (all their titles) so you will see a house icon next to the package name.
This means UVic has at least one title activated from this collection. It does not mean this particular book was activated already.
4. Click on “Activate” on the top right
Now there will be a house icon under the portfolio image, meaning this title is activated and available in our institution
5. Click … and “Test Access” to verify users can access full-text content
6. Click “Display in Discovery and make sure it looks correct in Primo
Created by: PP Feb 14, 2023
Approved by: DRAFT
Effective Date: Feb 2023
Last Editorial Change: n/a
Sometimes a book is too new to appear in the CZ. If you know which collection the title will eventually appear in, you can make a local portfolio for that book in the correct CZ collection and link it when the CZ portfolio is available.
1. Catalogue the title in the institution and create a local portfolio in the electronic collection
[need to verify do we use provisional record instructions here]
IMPORTANT: add the ISBN of ISSN because that will be used later to link the record to a CZ record
2. Find the CZ electronic collection you want and click "Edit Service"
a. Click the Portfolios tab
b. choose Add Local Portfolio
c. check Use Existing title and choose the title just catalogued
d. under General Information, check Part of an electronic collection for the portfolio type and make sure the listed collection is the one you want
The local portfolio is now in the electronic collection
3. Order the resource
a. create an order (POL)
b. activate the resource
The title is now discoverable in Primo
This is used when the CZ portfolio is available and can replace the local portfolio.
1. Edit service of Electronic Collections
a. go to Portfolios tab
b. click Link Local Portfolios to Community
c. make sure Use the community bibliographic records is checked to Yes
d.click Link on top right corner
e. confirm job will run
When our coverage for a online resource is different than the default coverage supplied by the CZ record, we need to modify this information so it displays correct coverage in Primo
In Alma, search within the Institution Zone, using 'All Titles-Keywords' or 'All Titles-Titles' search parameters, to find the portfolio that needs to be modified.
Find the Portfolio that needs to be updated and click on 'Edit Portfolio' which will open up the 'Electronic Portfolio Editor.'
On the portfolio’s ‘Coverage’ tab:
Confirm your change within Primo. This should display our local coverage instead of the "global coverage" present in the CZ record.
When activating a resource, make sure the proxy is activated at the Service and Portfolio level. See this chart for more information
To make a local collection
1. Create a local collection through Resources > Create Inventory > Add Local Electronic Collection
2. Public name: Choose something descriptive but not confusing to those outside the library as this will display in Primo
Electronic Service Editor
Electronic Collection Editor
If you want to search by locally loaded collection, look at the Index Labels and what field it is called. Then you can do an advanced search for the collection
For example where (c.search.index_names.local_field_960 contains keywords "Eighteenth Century Collections Online") will bring up our locally loaded ECCO records.
To direct link to an item, search for it in Primo and use the Primo record. That has the correct parser parameters to log in to the platform.
The log in URL is important, and items cannot be directly linked by just copying the URL. Best way to find a stable URL for these is to search Primo. The parser parameters have been updated to include the log in information in the direct links.
Ingenta is a hosting platform. Journals may move to a different hosting service, resulting in a Page Not Found error.
Check with Harrassowitz where access should be and our entitlements
If there was a publisher change, update the existing publisher info with this standardized PO note:
P: old publisher (old publisher URL) from the start of 20XX / Until the end of 20XX, this journal was published by new publisher (new publisher URL);
Make sure to use the same wording for the publisher so the phrase can be searched.
Find the portfolio in CZ and activate, changing the entitlements as necessary
Delete the old portfolio, including the bibliographic details when prompted
We have purchased all of the ebook archives, extended backfiles, and all collections.
Canadian Electronic Library (CEL) hosted some government documents, policy documents, ebooks, Irwin Law collection. Their platform was called desLibris.
Canadian Electronic Library was sold (see https://my.canadianelectroniclibrary.ca/news), and titles are now available to libraries on the new Canada Commons platform. The desLibris platform was closed on June 30, 2022.
The developers of Canada Commons are planning to set up metadata deliveries to linking and discovery services, but they're not ready to do that yet. Each desLibris URL now redirects to the same title on Canada Commons.
- Canada Commons only offers subscription access, but libraries that previously purchased perpetual access licenses to CEL books can still access those titles on Canada Commons.
- The Ulysses Travel Guides collection was merged with the main subscription books collection in January 2022. (The subscribers to the Ulysses collection also subscribe to the main collection, so this did not cause a problem for anyone.)
- The Irwin Law collection has been discontinued because CEL no longer have distribution rights for those titles.
PP Oct 2022
The site to download a KBART file for the Irwin Law eLibrary (Current and Archive):
You can use the download function in the top right so select both the Irwin Law and Archive collections and it will download a KBART file for you.
Use this to check for an Irwin Law title not yet in Alma.
Proquest Academic Complete is a subscription, with titles removed from the collection every June and December. A title list of removals is sent to Acquisitions a few weeks prior to removal for an opportunity to purchase and own the titles perpetually.
Alma does not use a separate collection for Proquest Academic Complete so the best way to tell if a book is owned or subscription is to look in the Acquisitions tab of the portfolio for the Purchase Model.