LibGuides: Collection Management Services: Who We Are and What We Do

Who We Are and What We Do

Introduction
Directory

The Metadata Unit provides standardized descriptions for resources acquired by UVic Libraries and works on associated collection management services-related projects and work. This includes cataloguing of material in all formats in the library catalogue (Alma), metadata description for locally digitized and hosted material (Vault, UVic Space, Archive It,etc.), serial cataloguing and management, description of entities in the form of authority records, assistance with various aspects of archival description, and working on a variety of other workflows and projects that are associated with this core work. In addition, the Metadata Unit handles gifts and donations for UVic Libraries.

Cataloguing Code of Ethics
The Cataloguing Code of Ethics was created by the Cataloging Ethics Steering Committee, consisting of members from cataloguing communities in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom, with the assistance of Working Group members from the international cataloguing community.

METADATA UNIT

Dean Seeman	Head, Collection Management Services	250-721-8242	LIB 244	dseeman@uvic.ca
Laura Doublet	Metadata Librarian	250-721-6088	LIB 238	lauradoublet@uvic.ca
Glenda Lee-Jury	Supervisor (Cataloguing)	250-721-8256	LIB 260	gleejury@uvic.ca
Susan Fraser	Supervisor (Serials)	250-721-7507	LIB 260	sfmosky@uvic.ca
Karen Dykes	Supervisor (Digital Collections Metadata)	250-721-7898	LIB 260	kareenaw@uvic.ca
Shelley Coulombe	Gifts Coordinator	250-721-8244	LIB 260	coulombe@uvic.ca
Alexandra (Alix) Gullen	Library Assistant	250-472-4968	LIB 260	agullen@uvic.ca
Min He	Library Assistant	250-721-8237	LIB 260	minhe@uvic.ca
Rhea Scott	Library Assistant	250-472-4969	LIB 260	rheascott@uvic.ca
Danice Szabo	Library Assistant		LIB 260	danicesz@uvic.ca
Maggie Tan	Library Assistant	250-472-4967	LIB 260	mtan@uvic.ca
Laurie Whyte	Library Assistant	250-721-7623	LIB 260	lwhyte@uvic.ca

History of the Unit

The Metadata Unit was brought together as currently constructed in January 2017 when the Cataloguing and Serials Units were merged. Prior to that, monographic cataloguing and serials cataloguing were carried out in different units. Digital collections metadata work was always under the Cataloguing Unit (now the Metadata Unit).