Collection Management Services

Last revised: 2024-01-25 (GLJ/SF)

Added copies may be received as purchased or as gift material.

NOTE:  Since Alma, Added copies for the same location are added at the Item record level only.

Purchased:

• Ordered & received by Acquisitions; item record created & barcode affixed; flagged & sent to Metadata.
• Metadata cataloguer confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib/Holdings/Item as necessary.
  • If bibliographic information does not match item in hand, create new Bib record.  After new Bib record is saved, edit Item -> Relink Bibliographic  [*insert link to relinking section] & POL.

Gifts:

• Received via Gifts Coordinator; no POL; no item record or barcode yet; Gifts flag inserted.
• Metadata cataloguer follows Gifts flag instructions (if any); confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib/Holdings if necessary, then -> Add Item

Last revised: 2024-01-25 (GLJ/SF)

Items for added locations may be received as purchased or as gift material.

Purchased:

• Ordered & received by Acquisitions; item record created & barcode affixed; flagged & sent to Metadata.
• Metadata cataloguer confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib/Holdings*/Item as necessary.
  • *Holdings may or may not have call number auto-populated in 852 field - Cataloguer checks/confirms correct classification & assigns call number based on location (i.e. Curric, Law)
  • If bibliographic information does not match item in hand, create new Bib record.  After new Bib record is saved, edit Item -> Relink Bibliographic  [*insert link to relinking section] & POL.

Gifts:

• Received via Gifts Coordinator; no POL; no holdings, item record or barcode yet; Gifts flag inserted.
• Metadata cataloguer follows Gifts flag instructions (if any); confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib, then -> Add Inventory (Add MARC21 Holdings), then -> Add Item
  • Cataloguer assigns correct classification & call number based on location (i.e. Curric, Law)
  • If bibliographic information does not match item in hand, create new Bib record, then Add Inventory to add Holdings & Item record.

Cancellations General:

Acquisitions will notify serials@uvic.ca when a subscription or standing order has been cancelled. Acquisitions will add appropriate notes and close the POL. Metadata staff will update the holdings record based on the last issue received. Ideally, following receiving notes added to the POL, the last issue will be routed to the Metadata Supervisor (Serials) upon receipt.

Serials:

-Update field 008/6: Receipt, acquisition, or access status  > 5 - Not currently received.

-Update the summarized holdings statement (field 866 # 0) > Update law holdings to main standards when it makes sense to do so

-JSTOR: Watch for this note in holdings record and advise Metadata supervisor if present. If a serial backfile has already been withdrawn because of online access via JSTOR this note will be present and all current issues may be withdrawn and the records deleted

-Delete processing (and other) notes that are no longer necessary

Loose-leaf:

-Update field 008/6: Receipt, acquisition, or access status  > 5 - Not currently received.

-Update the summarized holdings statement (field 866 # 0) > Update law holdings to main standards when it makes sense to do so

-Add to field 866  the |z public display note, "Updated to [release no. year]"

- For clarification if necessary: add to field 852 the |z public display note, "Subscription cancelled"

-Delete processing (and other) notes and fields that are no longer necessary

-For law material: Cancelled law loose-leaf material with location of law-rmA116 > Update the location to law; update the item policy to nocirc (or book-ncir). Notify law@libanswers.com of the cancellation and location change

Other continuing formats and complex law material: See Metadata supervisor as necessary

Are you creating a new bibliographic record because of a title (or other) change?

Update the bibliographic and holdings records for the ceased title as appropriate. Create a new bibliographic record for the new title with holdings and inventory as appropriate

Advise orders@uvic.ca to close the PO/POL for the ceased title; and that a new PO/POL is required for the new title.

Draft Nov.2/22/sfm - Process to be confirmed
 

When a new record is required due to a change of title (but NOT a format change) Draft sf/1/24

1. Create a new bibliographic & holdings record for the new title ; Update bib and holdings for previous title

2. If purchased,:

• Change POL Bib Reference from the previous title, to the new title: (Serial cataloguers do this.) Find/Select correct POL > Click "Change Bib Reference" tab > [Message will pop up > Confirm] > Search/Select correct/new bib record
• Associate the PO Line to the holdings of the new title: Search for new title. From the search results list > Holdings > List of Holdings > ellipses (more actions) > Associate a PO Line > Search/Select POL> Click UPDATE (Confirm POL now appears in the List of Holdings PO Line column)
• Update POL receiving note as necessary (e.g. new call number): Within PO Line > "Receiving information" > EDIT > Save
• Confirm order is now associated with correct record: Within the PO Line > "Holdings for Ordered Items" should now note both the previous and current title.

3. Advise orders@uvic.ca of new title (bib reference) and MMS ID associated with the POL. Acquisitions will update their records as necessary

For announcements about significant forthcoming changes: i.e. title change, format change, cessation:

1. In the bibliographic record, add a field 588 regarding the forthcoming change. Include |5 CaBViV.

Example:  588 ## Beginning with v. 58 (2023) publication will change title to Australian Journal of English Education. ‡5 CaBViV

The note will be deleted when the record is later updated with issue in hand.

2. In the POL Receiving Note, add: Beginning with [enumeration (chronology)] publication will change title to [New serial title]. Route last issue of v. [ ] to Metadata Supervisor (Serials)

From CONSER Editing Guide 2016 (2020 update):

Notes containing other administrative information about the record.

CONSER may also use field 588 in records for the following:

1. To record information from publishers about significant forthcoming changes.
2. To record information about the bibliographic description considered useful to other catalogers.

1. 1. Recording information received from publishers about significant forthcoming changes.

Occasionally, a participant receives information from publishers about future changes such as changes in country of publication, resumption of suspended publications, or the fact that the serial will be discontinued.  The participant may use the 588 to convey this information to other users of the record.  The OCLC symbol for the institution is given at the end of the note.  At the time that the inputting institution or any other CONSER participant receives the issue reflecting the change, the record is updated and the note is removed.

Replacements may be received as purchased or as gift material.

Also consider the type of replacement:

• Replacement Damaged - Damaged item is in hand and needs to be withdrawn.  Withdraw damaged item.  Add new item.
• Replacement Missing - If just missing from stacks & toggled as Missing, then add replacement item as Added Copy (see Added Copies tab)
• Replacement Lost - If lost by patron, then add replacement item as Added Copy (see Added Copies tab)

NOTE:  In all instances, Metadata cataloguer confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib/Holdings/Item as necessary.

• If bibliographic information does not match item in hand, create new Bib record.  If purchased, then after new Bib record is saved, edit Item -> Relink Bibliographic  [*insert link to relinking section] & POL.

Standing Orders (Monograph): POL type = Print Book - Standing Order.

Background: Standing orders for monograph series (and similar) are ordered and paid on a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD (DAR). Separate bibliographic, holdings and item records are created for each item received on the standing order. The DAR purchase order line (POL) number is added to the item record, linking the item record to the DAR POL.

Acquisitions: On receipt of the item, Acquisitions staff create brief bibliographic, holdings and item records via quick cataloguing. The item record is edited to include a barcode, the POL number and the receiving date. The item is then scanned in, updating the item status to "Item not in place" and the process type/status to "Acquisitions technical services (CATALOG)". A green Acquisitions flag is inserted into the item and the item is then placed on a designated shelf in Cataloguing. Occasionally an item received on a Print Book - Standing Order DAR will be added to an existing holdings record as part of a multi-volume set. The item will be flagged accordingly.

Metadata: Follow established best practices and procedures for cataloguing the item, but also remember:

• To confirm the item is not already held
• If it is an added volume, confirm the item is attached to the correct bib and holdings; if not, move item to correct bib, then delete brief bib and holdings record. Update bib, holdings and item as necessary.
• When merging/overlaying records, see Searching for Bibliographic Records > Copy Cataloguing in Alma as necessary
• Before assigning a call number, check for classification information (i.e. classed together or classed separately) in the receiving note of the POL. To view the POL receiving note:  in the item record, next to the "PO Line" field, click the grocery cart icon > Click "Receiving Information" from the menu list and look for the ATTENTION CATALOGUER note. (Route items that lack this note to Metadata supervisor, Serials.)

Quick Cataloguing 

• Use "Scan In Items" in Alma
• Click "Create Item"
• Choose Holdings Type: New
• Citation Type: Book
• Click "Choose"
• Fill out template, including the following:
  • Resource Information
    • Title
    • Author (last name, first name or initial)
    • Call Number
    • Un-tick "Suppress from Discovery"
  • Item Information
    • Location  (Library + Location)
    • Barcode (Note: this barcode field is not the barcode field located above in the resource information)
• Save

• Scanning the barcode will save the template and display the holdings and item information
• Click ellipsis
• Choose "Edit Item"

• Click "Notes" tab
• Add "Fulfillment Note": Route to Metadata Supervisor for cat review 
• Save

• The book is now ready to be signed out
• When returned, the Fulfillment note will pop up to indicate that the book should now be routed to a Metadata Supervisor for cataloguing review
• It is no longer necessary to use duplicate barcodes or the green "Action Slip"

When the book is received in cataloguing,  the Fulfillment note "Route to Metadata Supervisor for cat review" will need to be removed.

Whether changing item to another holding on the same bib or; changing item to another holding on a different bib:

From within the List of Items:

• "Select" (by "ticking the box" ) the item to be "changed" to another holding
• Under "Manage Selected" > choose "Change Holdings"
• "List of Holdings" / Search box will appear. Search (if changing to another holding on a different bib) and/or Select  holding to change item to. (If you do not see the "radio button" to select, expand the second column.)
• Confirm the item is now linked to correct holdings.

Replacements - for example when it's a new edition

Transfers Between Locations

B.C. Historical Textbooks transferred to Special Collections - Refer to the Curriculum section of the Libguide.

Withdrawing a single physical item  (Thesis Digitization Project)

1. Search for the item: Physical items > Barcode. Scan Barcode

2. Click title to view the MARC record. Look for field 583 containing a COPPUL SPAN retention note.

If 583 note is present, set item aside and do not withdraw; if 583 note is not present, click BACK button and proceed.

3. Confirm record information matches item in hand. Confirm location and call number.

4. Under Row Actions > Select "Edit Item" to open the Physical Item Editor.

5. CHECK FOR COPPUL SPAN RETENTION NOTES: On the "General" Tab > Inventory Information > Inventory number

If retention note is present, set item aside and do not withdraw; if retention note is not present, click CANCEL button and proceed.

6. Under Row Actions > Select "Withdraw". A "Confirmation Message" will pop up. Click CONFIRM.

7. A "Last Item of this Holdings Deleted" message will pop up. Four options will be presented. Select the second option in the list: "Delete the holdings record" > Click GO.

See "Delete Bibliographic Records" job ; Withdraw Physical Items job

including 

stamps/blacking out

privacy concerns / redaction (i.e. theses)

Draft/TBD/Susan/July 2023

Introduction

Several projects to withdraw print serials based on JSTOR access and years of coverage have been carried out over the past 15-20 years. Historical documentation related to these past projects is located here:  W:\LTEC\Serials\Weeding & Transfer Projects\JSTOR

As titles continue to be added to the various JSTOR collections, as of 2023, the libraries' current policy is to withdraw print serials when online access via JSTOR is confirmed, EXCEPT when the print serial has been marked for retention. Always check the bibliographic record for a 583 retention note before withdrawing serial items.