Include general instructions for all vendors:
- Course Reserves
- includes Databases - post-activation -> need to make sure Database of Databases are updated
Electronic Standing Orders (Monographic Series)
July 15, 2022
UVic DocStore and Misc. Links E-journal collection in Alma. PDF's sent to firstname.lastname@example.org and uploaded to Docstore by Metadata staff.
Suppressed DAR's for each "emailed PDF subscription" migrated to Alma.
A local collection - UVic DocStore and Misc. Links. - was created and activated in the CZ for these subscribed titles. All but one title. Monkey: new writing from Japan, was linked to a CZ record. The DAR for Monkey: new writing from Japan was unsuppressed.
Follow up: Create a local e-journal record for Monkey and suppress the DAR?? Or submit a case and ask that the record be added to CZ?
Activating Collections and Packages in the Community Zone
The instructions for activation of GOBI e-books has been included as part of the Ordering procedure. Please see the Ordering GOBI E-Books for the Ordering through Activation process for this material.
Rough outline of Rush/Notify process:
Include general instructions for all vendors:
- Course Reserves
FYI: GOBI subaccounts -09,-10, -60, and -69 are non-approval accounts that have been set up for shelf ready services. All will have been ordered and initial records (Bibs and POLs) will have been brought into Alma via API. For these subaccounts, an Update Inventory profile has been set up (one for each account) that will update the bib record with an updated OCLC record, populate the call number in the holdings record, and add a barcode to the item record. NOTE: As of January 26, 2023 these import profiles bring call numbers in from the 090 field - whatever call number (050 or 055) has been assigned to the item by GOBI and on the spine label.
What do I do with the physical item?
When receiving "ref" material, whether for the main stacks or "ref" location, current best practice is to barcode the item in hand and add a FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY label to the item. The item policy should be noted as "nocirc". The section on Ordering Law Material provides background and order details
Import profiles have been set up in Alma to retrieve files from GOBI's ftp server and add information to GOBI.
As of January 26th, 2023 all ordering is done via GOBI API (material will no longer be sent automatically via GOBI Approval Plans).It should be noted that this process is spelled out in the technical specifications and does not require an Import Profile into Alma.
When you order in GOBI via API, a brief bibliographic record, holding, item, and purchase order line will be automatically created in Alma.
Update Inventory Profiles replace the initial brief bibliographic record brought into Alma via API, overlays the holdings with shelf-ready call number assigned by GOBI, and adds a barcode to the item record.
The only option for matching with Update Inventory profiles is the POL No.
As of January 26, 2023, whatever call number has been assigned by GOBI (050 or 055) will be placed in the 090 of the incoming record and that will be the source of the call number in the import profile.
|GOBI sub-acc. Ordered On||P or E||Alma Vendor Code||Setup for GOBI API Ordering||Alma Import Profile Type||Import Profile Name||OCLC Silver Plus record||Digital Content||
|8031-02||N||none defined||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-03||P||MYBPCURRUS||Y||Update Inventory||GOBI API Import Profile - Update Inventory - Print - 8031-03||Y||N||N|
|8031-08||P||Y||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-09||P||MYBPUS||Y||Update Inventory||GOBI API Import Profile - Update Inventory - Print - 8031-09||Y||N||Y|
|8031-10||P||MYBPUSSF||Y||Update Inventory||GOBI API Import Profile - Update Inventory - Print - 8031-10||Y||N||Y|
|8031-11||P||MYBPAHSUS||N||New Order||GOBI - New Order Approval Plan Fund Print - 8031-11||Y||N||Y||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-12||P||MYBPASTUS||N||none defined||Y||N||Y||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-14||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-17||P||MYBPACAUS||N||New Order||GOBI - New Order Approval Plan Fund Print - 8031-17||Do Not Order On This Subaccount|
|8031-69||P||MYBPUK||Y||Update Inventory||GOBI API Import Profile - Update Inventory - Print - 8031-69||Y||N||Y|
Draft - (PROCESSES TO BE CONFIRMED) In process/Susan/October 13, 2022-
Always set location to Mearns-McPherson Library - MAIN Acquisitions Department.
Receive purchased items via Acquisitions > Receive > Receive New Material > "Continuous" tab.
Procedures apply to both Law and Main locations.
Set aside all material ordered and located in Special Collections and Archives (SCUA). Follow separate SCUA procedures for receipt of all SCUA material.
Call Numbers: Call number format for active orders may be updated within the holdings to reflect new best practice established with migration to Alma.
Barcodes: Apply Priestly barcodes to law material; and McPherson barcodes to main material. Affix barcodes top center on item cover, regardless of library or location.
Mail: Separate main and law material. Further separate loose leaf materials from serial material. Set aside any monographic standing orders (AU S/O's).
Unsolicited material: See spreadsheet on W-drive > LTEC > Serials
Series Authorities: Local notes (field 667 with |5 CaBViV) / Local authorities no longer present in Alma. For series received as gifts or on deposit: Series titles with local processing note will be added to the Unsolicited folder. (Spreadsheet of Voyager AR's created and filed for reference if necessary.) [Follow up: For S/O's received on DAR: Can info in 667 field be added here for cataloguer?]
Instruction notes for Law Staff: Items will be flagged; Standardized notes (uppercase) will be recorded in the holdings field 852 |x
Shelving: For items without item records, stacks staff will watch for non receipt of issues and/or duplicate issues and advise orders@uvic as necessary. Duplicate issues may be returned to Acquisitions and/or discarded as appropriate.
Holdings: Rely on the summarized holdings statement - not the presence or absence of item records - and check stacks as necessary to confirm holdings.
Items: In general, item records are not created for each periodical item, but may be created for annuals and less frequently published material. Note both Enumeration and Chronology in item records. These will now both print on the call number label. (This is a change from Voyager practice.) Some bound journals may also have item records attached (and coded item type "nocirc" or "law-ncirc"). Migrated item records attached to periodicals were assigned the material type of "issue" [to be confirmed].
Alma's predictive functionality will not be implemented.
On "Receive New Material" page:
On "Continuous" tab, with item in hand, search and select title:
*NOTE: When "Keep in department" is not ticked, no process type is applied and the item will will have a status of "Item in place".
Route any questions to Metadata supervisor (Serials)
To edit [or view] holdings in MDE via POL Details page:
Loose Leaf - Introduction
These items must be filed in order received and according to filing instructions noted on each loose leaf issue. Careful attention to filing instructions must be followed. Staff responsible for filing this material must advise email@example.com when an issue is skipped or missing. Skipped or missing issues must be claimed.
Status: Recurring Renewal or;
PO line type: Print Journal - Subscription or;
PO line owner: Mearns-McPherson Library
PO sent / Physical Continous
Loose Leaf - Procedure
On the Continous Tab, search for the title.
Click on the POL number to view the POL Details. Click on the "Description" tab. Confirm the title in hand matches the bibliographic record (Alternatively, click on the hyperlinked title to view the bibliographic record.) Watch for changes of title, author, editor, etc. Route any cataloguing questions to Metadata supervisor.
Return to the "Summary" tab. Read and follow any "Receiving note" instructions.
Note call number on item, add property stamp and route as appropriate.
Item records are created only for the binders that hold the loose leaf. Item records are not created for each loose leaf release or issue. Filing staff must advise Acquisitions at firstname.lastname@example.org if issues are missing and require claiming.
POL type = Standing Order - non monograph
Added volumes (A/V) (multi-volume set): A bibliographic record with holdings exists within the repository for the item in hand. The record is NOT suppressed. A/V's must be routed to cataloguing where the bibliographic record and summarized holding (as necessary) are updated to include the latest volume.
Receive > Receive New Material > Continuous Tab
Notes: Update POL type to Physical Standing Order - Non monograph???; Dean toggled on this option October 20022
Law Continuations - General Notes:
Formatting Law "Receiving note":
Reserves: TBD 11/22
See DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDS for details on receiving material ordered on a DAR.
DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDS (DAR's) are created for order and payment purposes only. The bibliographic records is suppressed.
Separate bibliographic, holdings, and item records are created for items received on DAR's. The item is linked to the DAR via the POL field in the item record.
Items received on DAR's include monographic Series, MEMBERSHIPS, COMBINED SUBSCRIPTIONS, All publications, etc. DAR's may have a purchase type of one time; continuous or standing order.
1. Search for item title and/or DAR in Alma repository. (Mono series: Watch for volumes added (A/V) to a title already catalogued AND part of a monograph series. e.g. Eneados.) View POL.
2. Determine POL type.
3. As necessary: Quick cataloguing: Resources > Create Inventory > Add Physical Item. BARCODE and link item to POL. Flag and send to cataloguing
4. As necessary: Flag and route to Metadata (Flag to be updated: No more A/R; POL, no. PO noted on slip?)
SCUA material received on DARs: Do not create brief bib records, holdings or items. Do not barcode or label or stamp. But do:
1. Ensure 561 Provenance note is present in DAR
A normalization rule has been added to the Metadata Editor (MDE): UVic Add 561 Purchased Note for SC. Note that field 561 notes are not added to material purchased for arc locations.
To add this note to a DAR:
Open the bib record in the MDE
Under Editing Actions > "Enhance the Record" > UVic Add 561 Purchased Note for SC
Update the 561 field with relevant information for item in hand > SAVE
See also Metadata Unit > Libraries and Locations > Special Collections and University Archives > Field 561 - Gifts, Purchased or Transferred Note
2. Flag material for SC. Note POL on appropriate slip/flag
3. Place inside Metadata's locked cabinet
Metadata: Refer to the Metadata Special Collections - Purchases section
Series (POL Type = Print Book Standing order) - all formats - ordered on a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD (DAR).
Each title within the series is catalogued separately. (May or may not be classed together.) POL's are associated at the item level (not the holdings level). Both the bibliographic and holdings records are suppressed.
Receive > Receive New Material > Continuous Tab>
Search for title here first. Items with a POL type of Standing Order are not received via "Receive New Material". If search of continuous titles tab brings up DAR record, route item to supervisor to review/update POL type as necessary. If not:
In the persistent search bar: Search for the title of the item in hand to confirm item is not an A/V, then:
1. In the persistent bar: Search for DAR via series title, PO, or POL or other
2. Click "Orders" to view orders > Open POL Details. Review and confirm.
3. Copy POL number
4. Go to "Add Physical Item" via Quick Cataloguing (Resources > Create Inventory > Add Physical Item)
5. FIll-in Quick Cataloguing form:
6. Select "Items". Click ellipses > Edit > Physical Item Editor (Notice some fields autopopulate). Fill in the following fields:
7. Search for DAR > Click "Orders" to view POL > Open POL Details; or Hover over "Physical Standing Order" to confirm:
8. *Flag (with green slip) and route to appropriate shelf in Metadata
9. Cataloguer will collect material from mono series shelf, find brief bibliographic "Quick Cataloging" record and update bibliographic, holdings and item records, etc. as appropriate
Discoverable in Primo? YES
*Is a green Acq PO Fund slip still necessary? No, but insert for now. No need to fill out
Continuing Legal Education Society of British Columbia
Frog Hollow Press
Mother Tongue (except UABC)
Rebel Mountain Press
Unheralded artists of BC. (via Mother Tongue)
Can't find an item in the repository? See the Unsolicited Folder on the W-drive (LTEC > Serials)
Unsolicited serial material we've decided to retain will have a record in the repository. The Method of Acquisition in holdings field 008 is coded g= Gift
Gifts and Deposit material with open holdings:
Current receipt will be reflected in the summarized holdings statement via open holdings as well as coding in field 008: "Receipt, acquisition or access status" = 4 Currently received. Process and route material as appropriate. BARCODE as indicated. (Via "List of Items" > + item. Add barcode and update fields as necessary. i.e. Material type; Recieving date; Enum. & Chron.; Copy ID) See appropriate Item Field Guide.
Gifts and Deposit material with closed holdings:
Closed holdings will be reflected in the summarized holdings statement as well as the coding in field 008: "Receipt, acquisition or access status" = 5 Not currently received. This material should only be added if it has been flagged by the GIK coordinator and placed on the appropriate "Add to holdings" shelf. A serials cataloguer will then update the holdings and bibliographic record as necessary before routing the material to its appropriate location.
Gifts for SCUA locations: Gifts with open holdings located in SCUA: DO NOT MARK OR STAMP. Fill in PROCESSING FORM 1 and place on appropriate shelf for pick up by SCUA staff.
Gifts with an arc location, open holdings and received via the GIK coordinator(e.g. The Martlet and The Ring): Processed at point of receipt by the GIK coordinator and placed on the appropriate shelf for pick up by SCUA staff.
Missing issues of serials coded as gifts and located in SCUA are claimed by SCUA staff as appropriate.
In the holdings record:
In the holdings record: