Two new title reports will be emailed automatically from Alma Analytics once a month. Each report, one for eBooks and one for physical books, will be emailed separately. The reports are sorted in descending order of portfolio activation / receiving date and inlcude:
i) eBooks: details of new eBooks (known as portfolios in Alma) that have been added to the eCollections in the last 30 days and sorted in descending order of the portfolio activation date (i.e. the date we gained access to the resource)
ii) Books (physical): details of new physical titles that have been received by the library in the last 30 days and sorted in descending order of the receiving date (i.e. the date received at UVic Libs).
New is defined as new to UVic Libraries collections and not necessarily published in 2023. Also, in the case of the eBooks, UVic Libraries has not necessarily acquired these titles but have gained access to these titles.
One email will be sent for each report - one for physical items and one for eBooks - so you'll receive two emails every 30 days.
If you would prefer not to receive these reports or if you have any suggestions for tweaks then please email: libstats@uvic.ca.
For eBooks, this is based on the portfolio activation date, and denotes the date that access to the electronic portfolios (titles) has been given. The eBook report inlcudes the titles that have been activated within the last 30 days.
For physical titles, this is based on the receiving date and includes titles that have been received in the 30 days.
1 Open the emailed spreadsheet, in some cases if the file is too big you may b eprmpted to download a zip file.
2. Once the spreadsheet is open, click the header row (usually #7) to select the row or highlight one of the cells in the header row
4. Click the Data menu at the top of the screen and under the green menu (highlighted below)
5. Select the Filter icon that is shaped like a funnel :
6. Once the filters have been applied, it is possible to filter the contents as you choose and exclude eCollections, publications years etc that are not of interest. It is possible to apply multiple filters at one time.
7. For additional help with Filters in Excel, check out Microsoft Quick start - autofilters
The reports are built by selecting fields from differrent subject areas within Alma Analytics.
Portfolio: eBook Title
Portfolio activation date: This date is the date UVic Libraries activated access to this eBook title (aka portfolio)
Title: Title of the eBook/portfolio - taken from 245 field
Electronic Collection: eCollection name displayed in Primo results and of which the portfolio is part.
Publication Date: Date of eBook publication - this does not always refer to the date the title was first published so should be taken with a grain of salt.
Publisher: Name of Publisher
Material type: MARC control LDR Material Type
LC Top Line: Taken from the Bibliiographic details, shows the combined LC code and classifcation numbers up until the first period which is followed by a letter. Not all records have associated LC call number.
Subjects: Taken from the Bibliiographic details, subject names. Not all records have associated LC subject heading.
Subject Level1: Taken from the LC Classificatons table - first level of the subject name. Not all records have an associated subject name.
Subject Level2: Taken from the LC Classificatons table - second level of the subject name. Not all records have an associated subject name.
Link to Primo: There is a known issue with the inlcuded link to Primo in that the cell has to be activated in order to link out. Once activated, the link will link to the item in Primo.
This report has been scoped as follows:
In an effort to limit the number of records retrieved, Open Access eCollections have not been included'
The following material types were excluded: AV materials, conference, data set, documents, government document, journal, master thesis, newspaper, series, transcript, website, wire.
eCollections included - where possible the eCollections been limited to 2023 collections only (i.e. may not inlcude titles added to older collections)
The report is built by selecting fields from different subject areas within Alma Analytics.
Receiving date: The date te material was actually recieved for the first time
Title: Taken from Bilbiographic Details area - 245 a,b
Publisher: Taken from Bilbiographic Details area - publisher names - MARC 260 b / 264 b
Publication Date: Taken from Bilbiographic Details area - date of publication - 264 c
Availability: Taken from Physical Item Details area - availability status of the item in its permanent location e.g. Item in place
Material type: Taken from Physical Item Details area - type of material e.g. Book or Issue
Call Number: Taken from Holding Details area - call number of item
Library: Library name - i.e. Mearns-McPherson Library or Priestly Law Library
Location: Location within library - i.e. Main Collection; Law - Digests; Special Collections
Subjects: Taken from Bilbiographic Details area - subject names - MARC 600
Subject Level1: Taken from the LC Classificatons table - first level of the subject name. Not all records have an associated subject name.
Subject Level2: Taken from the LC Classificatons table - second level of the subject name. Not all records have an associated subject name.
Link to Primo: There is a known issue with the inlcuded link to Primo in that the cell has to be activated in order to link out. Once activated, the link will link to the item in Primo.
Ask us