Collection Management Services

What is an art book?

Art books include listings of artwork by one or more artists, usually with lots of pictures.

Art books also include catalogues of art exhibitions.

Art books do not include auction catalogues, sales catalogues, books about art, or artists' books*.

*Artists books are books made or conceived by artists and are considered works of art in themselves. 

Refer to the following chart to determine the main entry for an art book:

MARC Fields

008/24-27 Nature of contents - For catalogs, assign code c-Catalogs

240 Preferred title for compilations of works by one artist - Field 240 is added when the main access point would conflict with that of a different resource, for example, a book with the exact same title for the same artist. Often the institution that has hosted the exhibition is chosen to break this conflict. For further details, refer to  PCC Policy on Compilations of Works by One Agent page 10, example 3-2.

Example: 240 10 $a Picasso (Capucins (Landerneau, France))   

336 Content type - Add field 336 $a still image $2 rdacontent  (in addition to the usual 336 $a text $2 rdacontent)

500 General note - Add field 500 note if there is a statement evident within the resource regarding the resource having been published in relation to an exhibition, such as "This book was published on the occasion of the exhibition... [exhibition name / place / date range]"

*Note: Do not use a 585 Exhibitions note for this purpose.  The 585 is a copy-specific field that cites exhibitions where the material described has been shown. i.e. If the actual material in hand was, in itself, on exhibition, then we would add a 585 field.

6xx Headings - When to add free-floating subdivision $v Catalogs versus $v Exhibitions:

• $v Exhibitions - Assign $v Exhibitions when the work is an exhibition catalog or is directly related to an exhibition. For more information, see SHM - Exhibitions H 1593.
• $v Catalogs - Assign $v Catalogs when the work is not about an exhibition but rather is about or is a listing of a collection of an artist(s) work at a particular institution or place. For more information, see SHM - Catalogs H 1360.

Other helpful resources for cataloguing art books: 

Last revised: 2023-11-24 (GLJ)

Translations

How do you know if the item in hand is a translation? Refer also to CSM Translations F177

• Does the book say "translation of ..." anywhere on it? Yes, this is a translation.
• Does the book list a translator? Yes, this is a translation.
• Does the book have text in parallel languages? This is not a translation. 
• Do you suspect the book in hand was published in multiple languages at the same time? Follow CSM F175 3. - "Treatment of editions published simultaneously in different countries or languages. When two or more editions have been published simultaneously in different countries or in different languages, treat the first edition received as the “original” edition and the others as “subsequent” editions or translations."

Add the following fields to your bibliographic record if the item you have in hand is a translation:

For translation shelflisting, refer to the Classification section of the LibGuide.

For SCUA items: Always follow procedures found in "Libraries and Locations" section of the LibGuide.

General:

Mono series received via a standing order will have a  POL type of Print Book - Standing Order. They are ordered by series title on a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD (DAR).  Via "Quick Cataloging",  a brief bibliographic, holding and item record are created for each monograph item received on the DAR POL. The item record is updated to include the POL and the receiving date, etc.

Mono series received via a membership subscription will have POL type of Print Journal - Subscription. Memberships are also ordered on DAR's. Via "Quick Cataloging",  a brief bibliographic, holding and item record are created for each monograph item received on the DAR POL. The POL is associated at the holdings level (not the item level). The POL is updated to include the receiving date, etc.

Acquisitions:

• Search for title in Alma. If record not found: Receive via:
• Resources > Create inventory > Add Physical Item (See standard receiving note in POL)
• Choose Holdings Type New; Citation Type Book to open "Quick Cataloging".
• Resource Information Box: Take information from title page and update: starred fields; Series title number (add here series title and number); ISBN for item in hand; Note (as necessary); other fields if necessary; Do not tick "Suppress from Discovery"
• Item Information Box: update starred fields; Barcode ; Material Type and Item policy (if known) > SAVE
• For items received on a mono series standing order: Open item record > Edit > Add PO Line number (DAR POL); Add receiving date > SAVE
• For items received on a membership subscription: Associate POL at the holdings level: Search All titles > Keyword; Click holdings > via row action > Associate POL
• Return to DAR POL > Ordered Items; or Holdings for Ordered Items. Confirm your barcoded item is now noted here
• Update Item Status/Process type > Scan in Items > Set Status to Cataloging ; Done    NO > Confirm Request /Process Type = Acquisitions technical services
• Place item on monographs series Standing order shelf in Metadata area

Metadata Cataloguer:

• Open DAR POL: Search Physical titles > Barcode > Click Items > Edit > PO Line > click blue grocery cart icon; or blue POL number. (Note: this will depend on the POL type.) POL DAR should match series title or membership name. Confirm. (POL can also be accessed via the bibliographic record in the MDE > View Related Data > View Orders)
• Within POL > Receiving Information > Receiving Note > ATTENTION CATALOGUER > Read and follow this note
• Search OCLC for record > import/overlay
• As per usual practice/procedures: Catalogue item; Update holdings ; Update item: Scan in Done > Yes

Other Information:

• "ATTENTION CATALOGUER" and other standardized receiving notes may be added to the the receiving note field of the POL (POL > PO Line Summary > Receiving Information > green note field). These ATTENTION CATALOGUER notes may be found in old Voyager Authority Records and may be useful when assigning call numbers to this standing order material (i.e. classed together or separately). Locate the POL either via the bibliographic record in the MDE : View Related Data > View orders; or via Search results list > "Orders" (green grocery shop icon> click on number).

• Note that some items received on a monograph standing order may also be added A/Vs, so always check the catalogue for the title before creating a brief “Quick cataloguing” record. For A/V procedure: see "Record Maintenance" of LibGuide.

• Always go back to the DAR POL to confirm item is associated to the POL; always add receiving date to POL
• DAR's for standing orders do not require holdings, though migrated records likely still have a holdings record. (For membership subscriptions which also migrated with holdings; these holdings will appear as 0 of 0 Items Received with the POL.)

Standard note added to POL receiving note:

CREATE INVENTORY > ADD PHYSICAL ITEM; KEEP IN DEPARTMENT; BARCODE; ASSOCIATE POL NO.; ROUTE TO METADATA SUPERVISOR (Serials)

Monograph cataloguer: catalogue as appropriate ensuring item includes POL number (either at holdings or item level) and date received has been entered.

ANALYZED SERIALS: General policy is to analyze only as necessary those titles which also have a distinctive title. There is no point sending a title to Cataloguing for analysis if there is no distinctive title or an easily discernible special theme to the issue. Serials to be analyzed will have the non public display note "ANALYZED " added to field 852 of the serial holdings record.

Acquisitions: Serial issues are received and processed in Acquisitions; item records are created as necessary. Issues are then sent to Cataloguing.

Cataloguing: The cataloguer creates a separate bibliographic description and holdings for the issue as a monograph. Issues are assigned the serial call number (already noted on the item by Acquisitions staff in most instances). Item records do not need to be created (already created by Acquisitions staff and linked to the serial record as necessary).

NOTES TO CATALOGUER:

• Assign serial call number and volume number to item (i.e. do not add year of publication; add volume number)
• Add: |x analyzed serial to the 852 field
• Do not create item records (done by receiving staff as necessary)
• If Acquisitions created an item and affixed a barcode; scan-in the item as "Done" (process/status type should now be noted as in transit)
• If no further processing is necessary, place item on shelf for stack maintenance pick up
• Examples: Archives des lettres modernes (PN3 A7); Studies in philosophy and the history of philosophy (B21 S78); Text + Kritik (PN4 T4); Études rabelaisiennes (PQ1694 E8); Aperture (TR1 A62)

Notes: Serial titles analyzed retrospectively by monograph cataloguers may have had the item record attached to the monograph record. In Alma, an item record may also occasionally be attached to the monograph record.

When to Add a Preferred Title (240)

6.2.2 Preferred Title for Work

A preferred title is a title or form of title chosen to identify a work. The preferred title is also the basis for an authorized access point representing that work. A preferred title might also be called a conventional collective title or a uniform title. (Note that "uniform title" is used in MARC21 and AACR2R.)

6.2.2.3 General Guidelines on Choosing a Preferred Title

6.2.2.10 Recording the Preferred Title for a Compilation of Works by One Agent

For incomplete collections created after 1500 by one author, do NOT apply the Alternative in 6.2.2.10.3: When identifying two or more works in a compilation, identify the parts collectively by recording a conventional collective title. 

INSTEAD apply 6.2.2.4: choose the title proper as the "commonly identified" title and do not add a conventional collection title (240).

• Optionally, add an appropriate Library of Congress Genre/Form (LCGFT) Term, such as "Poetry", "Short stories", "Novels", "Speeches", etc. 
  • For example, when cataloguing a compilation of selected poems by one author, do not add 240 10 $a Poems. $k Selections. Instead add the LCGFT term: 655 #7 $a Poetry.
• An analytical access point is added for the first work in the compilation (LC-PCC PS 25.1)
  • Optionally, add access points for works other than the predominant or first work, if considered important.
• Example:
  • 050 00 $a PS3552.R4174 $b W67 2020  
  • 100 1# $a Brewer, Gaylord, $d 1965- $e author.  
  • 245 10 $a Worship the pig : $b poems / $c Gaylord Brewer.  
  • 655 #7 $a Poetry. $2 lcgft   
  • 700 12 $i Container of (work): $a Brewer, Gaylord, $d 1965- $t Dark hello.   ["Dark hello" is the title of the first poem listed in the table of contents]

For more information, see LC-PCC-PS 6.2.2.10.3 Alternative.

Note that this exception does not apply to compilations of musical works (6.14.2.8) or Laws,etc. (6.19.2.5.1).

For serial receipt, see

Physical Material Handling and Processing > Processing Information > Serials

Original  document: Classification & cuttering of serials located on W-drive > LTEC > Serials > Cataloging Serials

See also the Classification tab under General Cataloguing, Bibliographic

Classification:

Refer to one or all of the following to determine the correct classification: LC classification schedules, database (OCLC) copy, McPherson Library records and to determine where other serials similar in subject coverage are classified. Checking where other titles by the same corporate body are classified can also be useful. Due to the evolution of the LC classification tables, some titles on the same subject may be classified in different class numbers. This can occur if new classification numbers have been added for subject areas and can also occur if a publication is multidisciplinary in scope

Under no circumstances will a serial be assigned a call number which is identical to one already assigned to a monograph (analyzed serials do not fall into this category). However, with shelf-ready books now arriving with call numbers already assigned, it may occasionally happen that a monograph is received and accepted with a call number that duplicates a serial’s call number. The barcode assigned to the monograph will provide the unique identity for the item. Do not reclassify the serial.

When classifying material that should be in a “K” classification: see Law section of this LibGuide [link to section]

Canadian history is classified in FC [add link to section]

Canadian literature is classified in PS8000 [add link to section]

CURRIC serials are classified using the Dewey Decimal system. See WebDewey and/or consult Curriculum CoIlection cataloguer or Metadata supervisor. 

[Add as a link to SCUA section: UVic Archives material – in the past, all UVic publications were classified in LE3 Vxxx. This often created long cutter numbers, particularly with the second cutter, since they were cuttered by main entry (which was usually University of Victoria …). Since around 2002, the policy was changed so that publications are now being classified in the subject area rather than in LE3 (i.e. Centre on Aging bulletin classified in the “Aging” classification range]

-Link to [Newspapers" tab]

Special, select and standing committees of the Canadian parliament are classified in a special classification scheme designed for this material (see Appendix I).

Avoid using the “Z” classification for Reference material. Classify in the subject area instead.

The relationship of one serial to another must be considered when classifying serials. For example:

If a new serial title continues a previous one, including a continuation in volume numbering, then both titles should have the same call number. Exceptions to this rule include titles published in two different formats, i.e. letterpress versus CD-ROM. The CD may need to be cuttered to file next to the print material if both formats are to be shelved in the same location.

If a serial changes title and the volume numbering does not continue, consider whether the scope or subject coverage of the new publication has changed sufficiently to warrant a new class number.  If yes, classify in the new number.  Exceptions to this rule include those serials for which it is useful to have the old title and the new filed on the shelf next to each other in the order of publication history.

If a new serial title is a supplement to another title already in the collection, consider whether it should be classified to sit right next to the parent title. Classify the new title accordingly (i.e. if the parent publication’s cutter number is “A5” cutter the supplement as “A52”).

If a serial has split into two or more titles, one of which continues the volume numbering of the parent title, then that title will be given the same call number as the parent title and the other title may be cuttered to sit next to the original title or, if the scope of the serial has changed substantially, assigned a new classification number.

Consult Metadata supervisor regarding classification and cuttering of personal names.

Cuttering: [Add link to cutter table]

Cutters are not simply taken from database copy; they are based on the best fit for the library’s shelflist. Always consider the following when cuttering serials:

If you have a run of a serial that includes several title changes, cutter based on the latest title in hand.

The numeral “1” is not used in Cutter numbers on its own, nor is it used as the last digit.

Numbers in titles are cuttered as words

A hyphenated word files as two words unless the part preceding the hyphen cannot stand on its own

Words containing an apostrophe file as one word

A colon in main entry (i.e. separating title from subtitle) is ignored in cuttering

If an initialism can be pronounced as a word, then it is cuttered as a word, otherwise it is cuttered to file at the beginning of the sequence. When in doubt, consult Elena

In general, use the least number of digits required. However, it is often useful to use two numerals in the cutter in order to allow easier cuttering of any new titles received in future

The letters “a”, “b” and “c” are no longer added to Cutter numbers to indicate changes of title

APPENDIX I [Create gov docs tab somewhere? Move to different section in LibGuide? With HA743 or local schema section?]

CLASSIFYING & CUTTERING CANADIAN PARLIAMENTARY SPECIAL, SELECT & STANDING COMMITTEE PUBLICATIONS

Classify as follows:

J103/H6  -  Joint Committees

J103/J6  -  Senate Committees

J103/K6  -  Commons Committees

Cutter to allow for further subdivision:

J103/K6  -  Standing Committee

J103/K62  -  Select Committee

J103/K63  -  Special Committee

Second cutter is based on the first noun in the name of the Committee, which will also provide a subject arrangement – i.e.:

B3  -  Banking

P8  -  Public Works

T3  -  Taxation

Only if a conflict exists, add a date as the final element of the call number – i.e.:

Minutes of proceedings of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Banking

J103

K6B3

Minutes of proceedings of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Banking and Finance (a new committee; publication began in 1967)

J103

K6B3

1967

Bills – add to the call number the Parliament (P) and Session (S) the bill relates to, followed by the bill number – i.e.

J103

K64

P36S2

no.C-

UVic Libraries' holding conventions for serials were established by Miss Jean Whiffin, the first Head of Serials in the McPherson Library and author of Union catalogues of serials: guidelines for creation and maintenance, with recommended standards for bibliographic and holdings control. This convention, unique to UVic Libraries, is still in use today.

Different conventions have been used for coding holdings of monographic sets and for coding of Law Library holdings. Both of these conventions may still be found in holdings records.

 More information on UVic's holdings best practices and procedure is found here: Inventory - Holdings

Interpreting Serial Holdings:

Note: The label ["published"] refers to the enumeration & chronology of the serial itself, (i.e. the volumes & dates when the serial began and/or ceased publishing). The label ["Library has"] refers to our actual holdings (i.e. the issue our library owns). 

Summarized holdings are coded in field 866 (second indicator=0). Field 867 is used to record summarized holdings of supplements; field 868 is used to record summarized holdings of cumulative indexes; (also with second indicator=0. Current receipt for individual issues may be coded in field 866 (second indicator=blank).

Punctuation conventions used in the Holdings record:

NOTE: no “double punctuation” should be used in the summarized holdings statement except when needed before a semicolon separating the enumeration from the chronology .For example:

            do not code:       1-5,<7-9,12-13>,15-<16>; 1978-1998

            rather, code as: 1-5<7-9,12-13>15<16>; 1978-1998

This statement tells us that we have all of volumes 1,2,3,4 & 5, part of volumes 7,8, 9,12 & 13, all of volume 15 and part of volume 16, with the first issue dated 1978 & the last issue dated 1998.

Examples of summarized holdings statements:

Holdings records may include all or some of the following information: location code, classification and cutter numbers, routing information, processing notes, retention statements, binding information, acquisition details (gifts, deposit, cancellations, claiming), urls, relationships to related publications, and check-in instructions.

Summary Holdings Statements for UVic Serials

Punctuation and Abbreviation Conventions

Enumeration and/or Chronology Coding

Definitions:

Enumeration Practices

Chronology Practices

Circulation

In general, serial publications issued annually or less frequently may circulate and will have item records, barcodes and an item type of "book." Periodicals do not typically circulate and do not generally have item records. Exceptions may be made for analyzed serials, or for Inter Library Loans. (Note that, in general, serials held in the law library will have an item record and barcode, but may not circulate.)

When a serial's publication pattern switches from an annual to a periodical; or a periodical switches to an annual, the barcoding policy may also change. In general, use cataloguer's judgement to determine whether or not a serial should circulate based on the above policy. Do not retrospectively barcode annuals, or remove barcodes if an annual begins to publish more frequently.

Always add enumeration or chronology to a serial item record.

Serials may be received on a standing order and are often abbreviated as S/O. Monographs may also be received on standing order and are often abbreviated as AU S/O. Both types of standing orders are received by Acquisitions staff, but are processed slightly different upon receipt. Typically all S/O's are processed with the item and invoice in hand.

A serial standing order should be attached to a serial record and the attached holdings and items updated accordingly. No further cataloguing is required after receipt, unless the standing order is marked as an, ANALYZED serial.

See Record Maintenance tab.

Acquisitions staff will route the last issue to Metadata supervisor (Serials) via the serials "Questions" tray. Metadata (serials) staff will update/close the summarized holding statement with last issue in hand; and update the holdings 008 "Receipt, acquisition, or access status" to 5 - Not currently received; or 2 - Received and complete or ceased, as appropriate; and bib (i.e. fields 008, 362, 588 as appropriate)

(See CMS LibGuide > Acquisitions > Order Updates and Maintenance as necessary.)

Draft 11/23/sf

JSTOR: Unless otherwise indicated, the print backfile will be completely discarded at the time of cessaation/cancellation even if the library does not have full archival coverage via JSTOR. Do not delete |x JSTOR note from the holdings record if the print holdings are to be retained. “Orphan volumes” - volumes that would be left in the main stacks because they are not covered via the online archive – will also be withdrawn if only 5 or fewer volumes would remain. Consult the Metadata Supervisor, Serials, if questions regarding retention arise.

Cancellations, Cessation and Changes of title: See new procedures; consult supervisor as appropriate

Acquisition Standing Orders (AU S/O) cancellations: See new procedures; consult supervisor as appropriate

Of Note: Cancelled Law loose-leaf titles, DUMMY ACQUISITION RECORDS (DARs), print titles covered by the JSTOR archive, split sets (i.e. holdings in both main & main,sto or main and Ref) may require further follow-up. 

For all Law location material: advise lawlib@uvic.ca of cancellation. Check for and delete "current issue" item record if applicable.

Cessations:

Cessations that will happen in the future: Add to Receiving note in POL:  WILL CEASE WITH v.49, no.4 (2023); ROUTE LAST ISSUE TO METADATA SUPERVISOR (SERIALS). Metadata (serials) will update bibliographic and holdings records as appropriate

Changes of title:

Changes of title that will happen in the future: Add to Receiving note in POL: WATCH FOR TITLE CHANGE TO:[name of new publication] BEGINNING WITH  [enumeration/chronology/date]; ROUTE LAST ISSUE TO METADATA SUPERVISOR (Serials)

Add a field 588 note to the bibliographic record (per CONSER: use this field to record information from publishers about significant forthcoming changes. Always add |5 CaBVIV. Always remove note when the issue reflecting the change is received. (Example:588 ##  Per email from publisher, title will change to [title of new publication] beginning with issue [ ] |5 CaBViV)

With the final issue of the ceased title in hand:

Update bibliographic record:

• 008 - Publication status = d - Continuing resource ceased publication
• 008 - Date 2 (yyyy) = the year of the final issue
• 362 - Update with the final issue’s enumeration/chronology
• 785 - Add new title

Update Holdings record: update field 008 and field 866 accordingly (close holdings)

With the first issue of the new title in hand:

Catalogue new title. Ensure 780 field with old title is added to bibliographic record

In the POL:

• Alma best practice: do no create new POL > within POL "Change Bib Reference" (search and select new title)
• "Associate a PO Line" to new title: search "All titles" > "Keywords" for new title: click "Holdings" > "Associate a PO Line" to update receiving note. Confirm update. POL bib reference should now be new title; In POL "Holdings for ordered items" box should now note both titles

Advise orders@uvic.ca of title change

Withdrawing or "weeding" print serials one title at a time (August 2024/draft/sf):

Notes:

• Always exclude from any withdrawal list serial titles with a field 583 COPPUL SPAN retention note in the bibliographic record. The note may also be found in field 583 of the holdings record, but unlike monograph records will NOT be found in serial item records.
• Always check for a field 583 COPPUL SPAN retention note in the bibliographic record as the first step before weeding a serial title.
• Some serials may have item records attached; some serials may be ANALYZED with the items attached to the serial record; other ANALYZED serials may have the item attached to the monograph record. This latter type of ANALYZED serial may have a COPPUL SPAN monograph retention note added at the item and bibliographic levels.
• Bound journals at law will typically be barcoded and have item records attached (past practice).
• If no item records exist, permission to delete records via the MDE is necessary.

The Process: Note: it may be preferable to have Alma open in two windows.

1. Search by ISSN (or title if necessary) to retrieve both the CZ record and the local IZ print record. Edit or push to MDE.
2. View the bibliographic records side by side within the MDE. Does the local record contain a 583 COPPUL SPAN note? If yes, do not weed and proceed to the next title. If no, go to next step.
3. Compare ISSNs (022; or 776), titles (245), dates of publication (362). Are they the same? If yes, then Release CZ record (select CZ record > Record Actions > Release record > YES) and return to Search
4. Find correct portfolio (or portfolios if access is covered in two separate portfolios): compare print holdings against the online coverage in the portfolio
5. Test Access: check for access to the full text from an issue at the start and end of the sequence
6. Search Physical title > Permanent call number search to find any monographic (analyzed serial) records to be deleted or any related titles. If the call number ends in a lower case letter, leave out the letter when you do the search of the database. If you find related titles, then repeat this procedure for each title. If you find monographic titles, be sure to delete only the records that fall in the span of holdings that we will be discarding. Check the bibliographic record for any linking entries that might not be caught with a call number search. If found, repeat this procedure for each title.
7. Compose a message to head of Access Services (currently Nicole Herron, nherron@uvic.ca). In the subject line add "Print serial withdrawal"; in the body of the message, include (copy and paste) the location, call number, title and range of holdings to be discarded. If you have more than one title with the same call number, compose one message including all of the titles to be discarded. Example:

   Hi Nicole-

   Can you please arrange for these volumes to be withdrawn? Print records for this title have been deleted.

   law-per

   K2 I537

   Bioethics

   v.1(1987)-v.28(2014)

8. If all physical format holdings are to be deleted withdraw item(s); deleted holdings and bibliographic records.
9. Search > Physical titles > Permanent call number to confirm deletion
10. If some inventory is to be maintained:

• In the holdings record: update the summarized holdings statement accordingly; delete any unnecessary extraneous notes from the holdings record (e.g., ‡x nmr ‡x Order cancelled ‡x BOUND and any other processing notes that are no longer relevant)In the bibliographic record: delete all fields related to online access (856), including the 530 field, from the print record.
• If a portion of our holdings is not covered by the archival backfile, consult with Metadata  supervisor (Serials) or Acquisitions supervisor regarding retention or withdrawal of "orphan" issues. (Note: current best practice is NOT to retain "orphan" issues and to rely on ILL for articles as needed).

March 2020- All newspaper subscriptions have been cancelled or indefinitely suspended and the records suppressed.

Newspapers at UVic are classed in AN2-AN95

AN2-AN95 does not exist in the LC Classification schedule. UVic has devised its own scheme using AN to classify newspapers and special editions of newspapers cataloged as monographs. Use as a guide the numbers from AN2-9 for newspapers in English by country and AN14-95 for foreign language newspapers. Where necessary, double cutter by main entry and title.

Newspapers received on subscription are checked in manually (852 |x MANUAL CHECK-IN). Most are limited retention (866 |z Current [x] weeks only retained).

Print serials received as gifts:

If a print serial is currently received as a gift:

1. It will (most likely) not have a POL associated

2. In the holdings record: field 008 look for "4g" : Receipt status = currently received (4) ; method of acquisition = gift (g)

3. The summarized holdings statement (field 866 with a second indicator of 0) will be open (indicted via a dash)

Receipt of gift material is no longer recorded in the holdings record and records should be updated accordingly. Route questions to Metadata supervisor (serials).

DUMMY ACQUISITION RECORDS (DAR's): What they are and how they relate to serials

Bibliographic & holdings records created for order and payment purposes only. The records are suppressed and contain the note, 'DUMMY ACQUISTIONS RECORD" in field 590 (current practice) or 500 (past practice). Generally created for: combined subscriptions, memberships, monographic series, packaged and individually subscribed e-journals (pre-Alma), "all publications" issued by a publishing house and "separates". Check-in staff should look for these records when handling what may appear to be "unsolicited" material. Titles received on DAR's may be noted in 500 fields of the bibliographic record. Within ALMA, use the DAR template to create new records and edit as necessary.

Examples:

245 1 0 |a Combined Subscription (Royal United Services Institute for Defence Studies).

245 1 0 |a Memberships (Vancouver Historical Society).

245 1 0 |a Separates (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives. BC Office).

ANALYZED SERIALS: General policy is to keep analysis of serials to a minimum. Issues held are noted in the holdings of the serial record with item records attached here as applicable. A separate monograph record is also created by a monograph cataloguer. Serials analyzed retrospectively by monograph cataloguers may have the item record attached to the monograph record. This is not current best practice. Analyzed serials will have the non public display note "ANALYZED SERIAL" added to field 852.

UNSOLICITED FOLDER: What this is, where it is located and how to use it

W-drive > LTEC > Serials > Unsolicited Folder

A list of serial titles received in the library but NOT added to the collection. Enter last issue received, date received, etc. and follow disposition direction (e.g. Discard). Unsolicited titles not on the list should be routed to the Gift Coordinator for follow up and added to the list by check-in staff once a disposition/retention decision has been made. 

SERIALIZING MONOGRAPH RECORDS:

On occasion, an issue of a serial is cataloged as a monograph. This most often happens because the issue has a monographic title in addition to the serial title.  If the library holds only one issue, a cataloger may decide to catalog the one issue as a monograph. However, if another issue is added to the library’s holdings, the decision may be revisited and the monograph item recataloged as a serial record. This is called “serializing”.

• Retrieve the monograph from the stacks
  • EXAMINE THE ASSOCIATED BIB. and ITEM RECORDS:  Is there a COPPUL SPAN retention note in field 583 of the bib record? The free text field of the item record?? If yes, route material to Metadata supervisor for follow up.
• Catalog the serial 
• Complete the serial’s Holdings record, including the enumeration/chronology for the new issue as well as the issue previously cataloged as a monograph. [Confirm best practice in Alma for the rest of the steps below.]
• Add a field 852 |x note with the purchase order information for the monograph issue (e.g. 1985 PO=XXXX).
  • Alternatively, you can choose to relink the monograph purchase order to the serial’s Holdings record
  • If a purchase order is not attached to the monograph record, skip this step.
• Note the serial’s Holdings record number 
• Retrieve the Bib record for the monograph, display the Holdings record, then display the Item record
• Update the Item record by adding the enumeration and/or chronology as applicable.
  • Save the record
• Relink the Item record to the Holdings record for the serial
• Delete the monograph’s Holdings record. If you can not completely get rid of the record, add field
  • 852 |x RECORD DELETED – SERIALIZED – SEE HOLDINGS [serial holdings #]. Code 008 Record Status = d : Deleted  and Suppress the record
• Delete the monograph’s Bib record. If you can not completely get rid of the record, add field 
  • 590 :  : |a RECORD DELETED. Code 008 Record Status = d : Deleted and Suppress the record
• Reprocess the monograph issue as needed

Description is based on the current iteration. Move information about earlier iterations to notes and/or access points if considered to be important.

Print integrating resources RDA MARC record cheat sheet  > Cataloger's Desktop > Conser Cataloging Manual (CCM) > Part 3: Special Types of Continuing Resources > Module 35: Integrating resources, a cataloging manual > Appendix A

Notes:

• See Classification and Shelflisting Manual (G140) Updating loose-leaf materials > "Do not add a date to call numbers..." (Loose-leaf materials with a date added to the call number are still present in the catalogue, reflecting past practice.)
• See Cataloging Legal Literature (available via HeinOnline) for guidance when cataloguing complex law loose-leaf material (e.g.. loose-leaf service material)
• Updating loose-leaf material may be assigned class number for  "Serials" as appropriate (e.g. Crankshaw's criminal code of Canada, KE8803.9 .C73)

From Integrating Resources : A Cataloging Manual (2011; rev. 2015)

An updating loose-leaf is “an integrating resource that consists of one or more base volumes updated by separate pages that are inserted, removed, and/or substituted.”  (RDA Glossary).

The loose-leaf service is a more complex bibliographic resource.  The loose-leaf service is issued in several component parts, including updating loose-leaf materials, bound volumes, and newsletters, etc., containing both primary and secondary source material.  This type of loose-leaf service may be called a “reporter.”  Create a single bibliographic record for the service as a whole, with a note describing component parts (see LC-PCC PS 0.0). (p.13-14)

For an updating loose-leaf, identification of changes in the current iteration requires that staff checking in the updates notice and act upon such changes.  Unless check-in staff can view the bibliographic information easily during the check-in process and are trained to identify such changes, the changes may pass unnoticed until retrieval is affected or there is a new edition.  Publishers may provide full replacement volumes in order to reflect a change of publisher name.  These replacement volumes may or may not be considered a new edition.  See IR.9 for guidance in determining if a new record is required. (p.17)

The preferred source of information for updating loose-leafs is the latest title page or title page substitute (RDA 2.2.2.2).  Specify the source used as a title page substitute in a note (RDA 2.17.2.3). (See also: IR 2.6.2.) (p.18)

The preferred sources of information for updating loose-leafs are given below. (p.23)

If information is added, deleted, or changed on a subsequent iteration of an integrating resource, change the title and statement of responsibility area to reflect the current iteration.  Make a note for a change in title proper and make a note for other changes if considered important (see separate data elements below and IR.2.6). (p.24)

If the title proper changes on a subsequent iteration, change the title proper to reflect the current iteration, and give the earlier title in a 247 field (RDA 2.3.2.12). (p.28)

Transcribe a statement of responsibility appearing prominently on the current iteration in 245 $c.  If the statement of responsibility is already transcribed as part of the title proper or other title information, don’t include an additional statement of responsibility unless such a statement also appears separately on the chief source of information.

For print integrating resources, the editor is generally considered to be important for access, and if information about an editor appears on the source or sources of information, transcribe it. (p.30-31)

Some updating loose-leafs are published as gradual replacement editions.  At some point the author or publisher considers the work to constitute a new edition, although a new base volume is not issued.  Instead, a replacement title page carrying the new edition statement is received with a shipment of updates.  Do not create a new bibliographic record.  Instead, update the edition statement in the existing record and add a note to explain the change in the edition statement (RDA/LC-PCC PS 2.17.4.5.3).

When a change in an edition statement indicates a significant change to the scope or coverage of an integrating resource, create a new description (RDA 1.6.3.3).  See IR.11 for situations when the issuance of a new edition requires creation of a new description. (p.32)

Give notes for:

• Source of title (Core, LC-PCC PS 2.17.2)
• Issue, part, or iteration used as the basis for identification of the resource, where applicable (Core, LC-PCC PS 2. 17.13)
• Gradual replacements for updating loose-leafs (LC-PCC PS 2. 17.4.5.3)
• Publication statements (date of release or transmittal) (LC-PCC PS 2. 17.7)
• Information on changes in the bibliographic details of the integrating resource over time
• Other information related to the content of the integrating resource (e.g., data relevant to the content aspect of the integrating resource as opposed to its physical carrier)
• Information on the physical carrier or physical medium of the resource
• Information about relationships to other resources (see IR.5) (p.41)

Revise the statement of responsibility to reflect the current iteration of an integrating resource if a statement of responsibility is added or changed on a subsequent iteration.  Make notes on statements of responsibility no longer present on the current iteration of an integrating resource or that appeared in a different form on earlier iterations, if considered important for identification or access (RDA 2.17.3.6.3).( p.46)

Extent (RDA 3.4) is a RDA core element only if the resource is complete or if the total extent is known.  Extent describes the number and type of units and/or subunits making up a resource.  Record subunits only if readily ascertainable and considered important for identification or selection.

For updating loose-leafs, record the number of volumes followed by loose-leaf, in parentheses.  If the loose-leaf is incomplete, or the total number of units issued is unknown, record the term indicating the type of unit without the number (RDA 3.4.1.10). (p.54)

Recording changes in access points

When there are changes in the persons or bodies responsible for the same integrating resource or to the title proper of the same integrating resource, do not make a new record; instead, change the description to reflect the current iteration and give the earlier information in a note if considered to be important.  If there are changes in other data elements, also change the description to reflect the current iteration and give the earlier information in a note if considered important.  Give additional access points if appropriate. (p.60)

A new bibliographic record is required in the following situations:

A new base volume or volumes is issued for an updating loose-leaf (RDA 1.6.3.3).  Note: There is an extensive LC-PCC PS for 1.6.3.3 with guidelines for when to consider a reissue a new resource. Although the instructions conclude with the statement, “In case of doubt, do not make a new description."

Last revised: 2023-12-07 (GLJ)

NOTE:  The procedures below were written primarily with serial material in mind. The procedure for monographs is essentially the same, but simpler - i.e. not every step will be needed for monographs.

For policy and best practice history, see folder: LTEC > Serials > Docstore

Adding files to Docstore:

Ensure file transfer software FileZilla has been installed on your computer. FileZilla is used to copy files from the W-drive to a dedicated space on a remote server called, “docstore”.

1. Download & save each individual PDF volume/issue file to the appropriate folder on the W-drive:

W:  >  LTEC  >  Serials  >  Docstore  >  PDF files for Docstore  >  [Serial title level folder]*

(Monograph files are stored separately under:   W:  >  LTEC  >  Acquisitions  >  PDF files for Cataloguing)

Ensure each PDF is named with the following elements as applicable:

year of issue / volume / number / month (or season) of issue / serial title proper if short or abbreviation if long

AND IN THE FOLLOWING FORMAT*:  YYYY_v###_no###_Month_Title or abbreviation

Examples:      

Alla breve PDF filename:  2015_v039_June_Alla_breve

Track & field news PDF filename:  2018_v071_no001_Jan_TFN

*Formatting in this way will prevent the alphanumerical order from becoming out of sequence later!  (e.g.  v.100 or no.10 won’t insert themselves in between v.1-v.2 or no.1-no.2, so long as we use the above 3-digit format)  Plus, file management best practice says:  NO periods or spaces (or many other special characters such as:  !@#$%&*”.’;:<>?/+\  ).  Make sure all PDF filenames follow the same format as above, use underscores (_) instead of spaces, and replace any ampersand (&) with the full word “and” instead.

2. Open the FileZilla software (depending on your computer, it should be either pinned near the top of your Start Menu or navigate to it under ‘F’ – FileZilla FTP Client -> FileZilla) 

In Local Site window: navigate to folder where PDF has been has been saved. (Drill down, starting with W: drive)

i.e.  W:  >  LTEC  >  Serials  >  Docstore  >  PDF files for Docstore  >  [Serial title level folder]

You will see the files within the folder displayed in the “Filename” window immediately below the “Local site:” window.

Open the Serial title level folder. 

Access Remote site (Docstore): Under the main/top Menu Bar, click on the downward pointing triangle (down arrow) next to the icon of networked computer towers and choose "docstore".

In Remote Site window: navigate to the title level folder counterpart in the “Remote site:” window column:  htdocs-docstore > Serials > Titles > [Serial title level folder]

Open the Serial title level folder. 

You will see six windows within FileZilla.  Look at the middle four windows that will function like 2 columns:  Local site:, Filename ;  Remote site:, Filename.

3. Transfer File from Local Site (Left Window) to Remote Site (Right Window):

Once you have the correct title level folder open in both window columns, click & drag the specific PDF file from the left “Local site:, Filename” window to the right “Remote site:, Filename” window.  A green progress bar should appear in bottom “Server/Local file” window, and then the PDF file should appear in the “Remote site:, Filename” window as you’d intended.

NOTE: The title level folder names in the “Remote site:” window column may differ in that they have hyphens (-)separating each word instead of underscores (_)  Do not change this, as it forms part of the actual URL name recorded in the record/Serials Solutions and hyphens (-) are recommended practice for URL names.

4. Verify Link: View/verify the title level folder URL to ensure all looks well and the latest issue PDF link you just added indeed works as it should. 

EXTRA NOTES/INSTRUCTIONS:

Creating a new directory:

If a serial title level folder directory does not yet exist in the “Remote site:” window column, then you will need to create one.  (Again, this should only happen in the case of a new decision/new title being added)  Double-click to open:  Serials > Titles in the “Remote site:” window.  While in the Titles folder, right-click the top folder in the “Remote site:, Filename” window and select “Create directory” from the menu that appears.

Replace the highlighted “New directory” end of the filename with the name of the serial title proper.  Use hyphens (-) instead of underscores (_) or spaces between words, and replace any ampersand (&) with the full word “and” instead.  (Generally, do not use special characters such as:  !@#$%&*”.’;:<>?/+\  in the URL name)

For Streaming Video: See Formats > Video Recordings

Metadata to create portfolio and add local collection

Example: Open Access Ebooks (Open Access Ebooks for when UVic local IZ records are necessary)

Collection ID: 61390583330007291

Databases

See also Acquisitions section

Websites

Creating Call Numbers for Music Scores

Call numbers for music provide a unique shelf location, reflecting such aspects as instrumentation, authorship, musical form, title, numerical elements, publishers, editors, and date of publication. Music is well-known for being issued in various closely-related editions, and all of the elements mentioned above can contribute to the creation of useful call numbers.

Keep in mind:

• Using the classification schedules and appendices, determine correct class based on instrumentation and form of composition.
• Pay special attention in classifying collections (two or more works by one or more composers) and arrangements of various sorts.
• Often a composer is represented by many works within a classification, and pattern and cutter consistency is very important.

Creating Call Numbers for Generic Works

• Determine whether the preferred title of the composition is generic (see Types of compositions). Typically a generic work is represented in the bibliographic record with a constructed heading in the 240 field or title portion of a 700 field.
• Select the appropriate classification and add the following elements to the call number in the pattern: composer cutter/numerical or key signature identifier/publisher cutter/date. 

• The numerical identifier can represent an opus number, a sequential number (“no. 2”), a thematic index number (“BWV 1016”, “K. 467”), or even a date of composition included in the controlled heading (“(1825)”).
• Generally follow patterns established in our catalogue. If an opus or thematic index number is available, generally prefer over sequential number.
• As a rule, apply publisher cutters to individual compositions with generic titles.
• The date of publication is always included.
• When cataloguing a study score (formerly known as a miniature score) and “format of music” is coded “b”, add an “a” to the date (“1968a”).
• When cataloguing an independently issued set of parts, typically for chamber music combinations, add a “b” to the date (“1968b”). These provide a quick identifier to the format of the score and help to distinguish when multiple formats of the same composition are published simultaneously.
• More elements may be added as needed.
• Sometimes an additional title is required when a single classification is used for various types of compositions or includes both generic and distinctive titles.

• In this example, M25 includes many compositions by Charles Ives, generally with distinctive titles. Since there is no separate classification for piano studies, we have to include a title cutter and also add a number to represent the work’s place in a numerical sequence.

Single Works with Distinctive Titles

• Select correct classification and apply composer cutter.
• Add a cutter representing the initial word of the preferred title.
• Add the date as instructed in "generic works"
• Add other identifying elements if required to make the call number distinctive. In some circumstances it may be useful to add numerical designators.

Collections

• A collection consists of two or more works.
• Determine the type of collection and apply as appropriate.

Types of Collections:

1. Collection of Works by a Single Composer

• A collection may include works by a single composer.
• Determine the correct class, add a cutter for the composer and add an additional cutter for title of the collection, editor, or publisher (most commonly used).

2. Collection of Works by Various Composers

• A collection may include works by various composers.
• These should have a title main entry and are cuttered by title.

Resources for Creating Call Numbers for Music

Refer to the Subject Headings Manual for guidelines on establishing subject access points for musical works.

General guidelines:

Establishing access points:

Free-Floating Subdivisions:

Location Codes for Music Scores:

For processing of music scores, refer to the Music and Media processing section.

Useful Resources for Cataloguing Music Scores

MARC Fields for musical Sound Recording

MARC Fields for Non-musical Sound Recording

Accession Numbers vs. Call Numbers

Use accession numbers for musical sound recordings that are CDs and LPs.

Use call numbers for both musical and nonmusical cassettes. Use also for nonmusical CDs.

Refer to the Music Scores Subjects section

Locations for Sound Recordings

For processing of sound recordings, refer to the Music and Media processing section.

RDA Workflow - Cataloguing Maps

• Workflow is located in the Original RDA Toolkit

RDA Toolkit > Tools > Workflows > Local Workflows > UVic Cartographic Workflow 1.1

Classification for Maps

In addition to the G schedule, refer to: Special instructions and tables of subdivisions for cartographic materials

In particular, for instructions on adding a date to the call number, see Section I: Call number construction, example 4:

Special Collections Maps Located in Map Drawers

• Maps will be catalogued using the G Classification schedule
• One map and one barcode per folder unless the maps are a set on one record
  • If the maps are a set (that is, all on one record and all in one folder), add only one item record and one barcode
• Affix barcode and call number on left hand side of folded edge of map folder
• Using a pencil, write call number under the barcode
• SC will add map title and map drawer number to folder
• Maps will be in the "sc" location and will also require a $z public note added to the 852 in the holdings record to indicate which map drawer it is located in:
  • 852 0/ $b MAIN $c sc $h Gxxx $i xxxx $z Located in: Map Drawer [x]
  • SC will provide the $z information for each map, for example: Location: Map Drawer 27
  • SC will add folder number to 852 $z 
• Scan in item as "Done - Yes", then place on a truck by Maggie's cubicle; Maggie (or designated back-up) completes final step of Scan in to clear the item for reshelving, and then places the folder(s) on top of cabinet behind Serials processing table for SC pickup
• When cataloguing and scan in is complete, send email to scua1@uvic.ca
  • SC will pick up catalogued maps and drop off uncatalogued maps
  • SC will also provide a supply empty folders

RDA Workflow - Cataloguing Atlases

• Workflow is located in the Original RDA Toolkit

RDA Toolkit > Tools > Workflows > Local Workflows > UVic Cartographic Workflow 1.1

Classification for Atlases

In addition to the G schedule, refer to: Special instructions and tables of subdivisions for cartographic materials

UVic WORKFLOW FOR STREAMING VIDEO
September 2018, rev. June 2019/kjn, rev. March 2024/AG
(Based on local practice per DS +  Pan-Canadian Working Group on Cataloguing with RDA Workflow: Streamed video RDA MARC)

Generally, catalogue individually purchased/obtained (not bulk-loaded) streaming video files according to the instructions provided in the DVD workflow, but with the following differences:

1.    Leader, 006, 007
The online aspect is primary; the secondary aspect will be the video characteristics, so:
The LDR/06 should be g for projected medium
006 will usually be: m (this code is provided by system) o (for online) c (for representational file) - Note that the Pan-Canadian Working Group notes do not specify use of 006, so some UVic records will not include them.
Construct two 007s:
1.    First 007 (to correspond with 337 media type):
•    Select Electronic Resource. 007/01. Specific Material Designation will be "r" for remote: fill out the rest of the 007 as appropriate: color (or not); dimension = n; sound = a; balance of entries will usually be no attempt to code or unknown or other, or not applicable
2.    Second 007 (to correspond with 338 carrier type):
•    select Video recording. 007/01 Specific Material Designation will be "z" for other; fill out the rest of the 007 as appropriate… again, as above, a lot of “other”.
008/23 (Form of Item) should be "o" for online

2. Publishing Information
If basing an original record on a DVD or other format bib, don’t carry incorrect publication data forward in the 264: add a 264 for publisher, and a 710 for distributor - the vendor platform provider of the streaming version.
It can be difficult to determine the publisher and date of a streaming video’s creation. If the publisher cannot be determined, use the distributor (usually the streaming platform like Films on Demand or McIntyre Media) and change the second indicator to 2 for distributor.
If the film is held on UVic’s streaming video page, it is acceptable to use the original publisher of the film, whether it is for the DVD or other form of release in square brackets, or use [publisher not identified].
For the date, you often will not have a definitive date on the creation of the streaming video for videos hosted by UVic. It is acceptable to use a date from another resource like the DVD, but I assume that the streaming video was created in the year UVic posted it, so I use the current year with a question mark e.g. [2024?]
Example:
264 #2 $a [United States?] : $b [publisher not identified], $c [2024?]

3. Add the following:
•    300__$a1 online resource (1 streaming video file (1 hr., 15 min.)) : $b sound, color
•    336 __ ǂa two-dimensional moving image ǂ2 rdacontent
•    337 __ ǂa computer ǂ2 rdamedia
•    338 __ ǂa online resource ǂ2 rdacarrier
•    344__$a digital $2 rda (note: no $b optical)
•    346__ $b NTSC                  (if applicable – often not known )
•    347__$a streaming video file $2rda
•    380__ $a Motion pictures.$2lcgft (or whatever is appropriate...e.g. Documentary films, Television programs)

4. Create a 540 as usual for the rights and permissions as provided by Acquisitions. The usual – but NOT invariable - form for streaming video is Home use; Performance rights included. See also under Holdings, below, for information on rights statements.
6. Create 588 Source of Description note: 588__Description based on online resource; title from title screen (Films on Demand, viewed 18 January 2019). For UVic: (UVic, viewed 3 March 2024).
7. A portfolio should have already been created with the URL for the resource.
8. Streaming Video Series
For series with multiple streaming videos that you think should be on one record, move all portfolios to the main record. Add the individual titles or part numbers in the Public Notes field with the License information so it displays in Primo.
See: MMS 9957794229707291

mention relabelling project

Please refer to the Cataloguing Video Games documentation.

852 8_ = Other Scheme

852 $b = MAIN

852 $c = film

852 $h = Game

852 $i = Accession number [currently at "6" - 2022-06-27]

Example: 852    8_ $b MAIN $c film $h Game $i 6

When ordering CJK material, refer to CMS LibGuide > Acquisitions and Electronic Resources > Ordering - Oddities and Exceptions > CJK

In all cases we will attempt to transcribe indigenous languages as they appear on the item. For the most part we will rely on virtual keyboards. Not all Indigenous language keyboards are available in a single place so each language will need to be investigated separately. See the table below for languages and source of virtual keyboard. This will be added to over time.

Last revised: 2024-11-21 (LD)