Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Collection Management Services

Libraries and Location Codes

Locations within Alma are only meant to stand in for actual physical locations. Each physical Location is part of a Library. At UVic there are only two Libraries with locations attached: Mearns-McPherson Library (library code = MAIN) and the Priestly Law Library (library code = LAW).

 

 

Locations in Alma mean physical locations. See the following tabs for locations associated with Libraries / Collections across UVic Libraries. For information on what happened to Voyager Locations in Alma and decisions made during the migration, see the Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping tab.

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

Alma Code Alma Name Fulfillment Unit Rubric Notes Suppress from Primo Primo Location Name
cdrom Music and Media - CD-ROM Non-Circulating     No Ask at Service Desk
curr Curriculum Collection - Stacks Circulating CURRIC   No Curriculum Collection
curr-cd Curriculum Collection - CD Circulating CURRIC   No Ask at Service Desk
curr-er Curriculum Collection - Levelled Books Circulating CURRIC   No Curriculum Collection - Levelled Books
curr-hist Curriculum Collection - Historical Textbooks Non-Circulating CURRIC   No Ask at Service Desk
curr-kit Curriculum Collection - Kits Circulating CURRIC   No Curriculum Collection - Kits
curr-over Curriculum Collection - Oversize Circulating OVERSIZE
CURRIC
  No Curriculum Collection - Oversize
curr-ref Curriculum Collection - Reference Non-Circulating CURRIC   No Curriculum Collection - Quick Reference
curr-video Curriculum Collection - Video Circulating CURRIC   No Ask at Service Desk
ext-biol Biology Reading Room Non-Circulating     No Biology Reading Room
ext-clas Classics Reading Room Non-Circulating     No Classics Reading Room
ext-coun Counselling Reading Room Non-Circulating     No Counselling Reading Room
ext-csrs Centre for Studies in Religion and Society Non-Circulating     No Centre for Studies in Religion and Society
ext-dunc Duncan Hospital Library Non-Circulating DUNCAN   Yes Duncan Hospital Library
ext-fren French Reading Room Non-Circulating FRENCH   No French Reading Room
ext-gal Gross Anatomy Lab Non-Circulating ANATOMY   No Gross Anatomy Lab
ext-germ German Reading Room Non-Circulating GERMAN   No German Reading Room
ext-hi Hispanic and Italian Reading Room Non-Circulating H&I   No Hispanic and Italian Reading Room
ext-ling Linguistics Reading Room Non-Circulating LINGUISTICS   No Linguistics Reading Room
ext-mus School of Music Reading Room Non-Circulating MUS   No School of Music Reading Room
ext-pac Pacific and Asian Studies Reading Room Non-Circulating ORIENT   No Pacific and Asian Studies Reading Room
ext-phed Physical Education Reading Room Non-Circulating PHYSED   No Physical Education Reading Room
ext-phys Physics Reading Room Non-Circulating PHYSICS   No Physics Reading Room
ext-slav Slavonics Reading Room Non-Circulating SLAV   No Slavonics Reading Room
ext-teac Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation Non-Circulating LTSI   Yes Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation
ext-thea Theatre Reading Room Non-Circulating THEATRE   No Theatre Reading Room
film Music and Media - Film Equipment/Film FILMS   No Ask at Service Desk
film-vid Music and Media - Video Equipment/Film VIDEO   No Ask at Service Desk
inre Internet Resource Non-Circulating     Yes Internet Resource
main Main Collection Circulating     No Main Collection
main-sto Basement Compact Shelving Circulating     No Compact Shelving, Lower Level
map Maps and GIS - General Collection Circulating CARTO   No Maps and GIS - General Collection
map-desk Maps and GIS - Ask at Desk Circulating CARTO   No Maps and GIS - Ask at Service Desk
map-draw Maps and GIS - Map Drawers Circulating     No Maps and GIS - Map Drawers
map-photo Maps and GIS - Airphoto Drawers Circulating     No Maps and GIS - Map Cabinet
map-sto Maps and GIS - Storage Circulating     No Maps and GIS - Ask at Service Desk
map-ver Maps and GIS - Vertical Cabinet Circulating Vertical Cabinet   No Maps and GIS - Vertical Cabinet
mf-cd Microforms Centre - Card Non-Circulating     No Compact Shelving - Lower Level
mf-cihm Microforms - CIHM Non-Circulating     No CIHM -  - Microforms, Lower Level
mf-fiche Microforms Centre - Fiche Non-Circulating Micfiche   No Microfiche - Microforms, Lower Level
mf-film Microforms Centre - Film Non-Circulating Micfilm   No Microfilm - Microforms, Lower Level
mf-print Microforms Centre - Print Non-Circulating Micro   No Print Collection - Microforms, Lower Level
mm-cass Music and Media - Cassette Circulating M&a   No Ask at Service Desk
mm-cd Music and Media - Compact Disc Circulating cd Or CD-ROM   No Ask at Service Desk
mm-con Music and Media - Console Non-Circulating     No Ask at Service Desk
mm-desk Music and Media - Desk Equipment/Film M&a Desk   No Ask at Service Desk
mm-kit Music and Media - Kit Circulating M&a   No Ask at Service Desk
mm-rec Music and Media - Vinyl Record Circulating

M&a

(if LC class number other than M, ML, MT)

  No Vinyl Record - Microforms or Ask at Service Desk
mm-reel Music and Media - Reel Circulating     No Ask at Service Desk
mm-ref Music and Media - Reference Non-Circulating M&a (Note: for M, ML or MT use Ref only)   No Music and Media - Reference
mm-repl Music and Media - Replacements Non-Circulating     Yes Music and Media - Replacements
mm-res Music and Media - Reserve Short Loan/Reserve     No Ask at Service Desk
mm-scor Music and Media - Scores Circulating     No Music and Media - Scores
mm-srec Music and Media - Small Vinyl Record Circulating     No Vinyl Record - Ask at Service Desk
mm-sto Music and Media - Storage Circulating     No Ask at Service Desk
ncip NCIP location - ILL Non-Circulating     Yes Interlibrary Loans
ref Main - Reference Non-Circulating Ref   No Reference Section, Main Floor
ref-atlas Main - Atlases Non-Circulating Atlas   No Atlases, Main Floor
ref-red Ready Reference Non-Circulating Ref   No Ready Reference
ref-sto Reference - Basement Compact Shelving Non-Circulating Ref   No Compact Shelving, Lower Level
ref-wkrm Reference Workroom Non-Circulating Ref
Workroom
  Yes Reference Workroom
res Reserve Short Loan/Reserve     No Reserve Room
self Self Check Machine Non-Circulating     No Selfcheck
tec Technical Services Non-Circulating Tec   Yes Technical Services, Room 260
UNASSIGNED Problem location from migration Non-Circulating     Yes Unavailable
unused Unused location from migration Non-Circulating     Yes Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

Alma Code Alma Name Fulfillment Unit Rubric Notes Suppress from Primo Primo Location Name
arc Archives Non-Circulating Arc   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
arc-ovc Archives - Oversize Non-Circulating

 

  No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
arc-ref Archives - Reference Non-Circulating Arc
Ref
  No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
arc-sto Archives - Storage Non-Circulating     No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
arc-sto-os Archives – Storage Oversize Non-Circulating     No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc Special Collections Non-Circulating (sc)   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-brd Special Collections - Broadsheets Non-Circulating (sc),box   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-com Special Collections - Compact Storage Non-Circulating (sc),com   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-dolm Special Collections - Dolmen Non-Circulating DOLMEN   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-law Special Collections - Law Non-Circulating Law SPB   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-ova Special Collections - Oversize 12 Non-Circulating (sc),ova   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-ovb Special Collections - Oversize 15 Non-Circulating (sc),ovb   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-ovc Special Collections - Oversize 24 Non-Circulating (sc),ovc   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-ovflw Special Collections - Overflow Non-Circulating (sc),ovflw   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-seg Special Collections - Seghers Non-Circulating Seghers   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-segova Special Collections - Seghers Oversize 12 inch Non-Circulating Seghers,ova   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-segovb Special Collections - Seghers Oversize 15 inch Non-Circulating Seghers,ovb   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-sto Special Collections - Storage Non-Circulating (sc),sto   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-sto-os Special Collections - Storage Oversize Non-Circulating (sc),sto os   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level
sc-the Special Collections - Thesis Non-Circulating (sc),the   No Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level

 

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

Alma Code Alma Name Fulfillment Unit Rubric Notes Suppress from Primo Primo Location Name
law-rm175 Law - Compact Shelving Room 175 Non-Circulating Law-CS
Rm175
  No Law - Ask at Service Desk
law-cur Law - Current Display Non-Circulating N/A Formerly temporary display wall for selection of current periodicals; no longer active Yes Law - Current Display
law-dig Law - Digests Non-Circulating

Law
Dig-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Dig-Can, Dig-Eng, Dig-Scot, etc.

No Law - Digests
law-digcs Law - Digests Compact Shelving Non-Circulating

Law-CS
Dig-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Dig-Can, Dig-Eng, Dig-Scot, etc.

No

Law - Digests Compact Shelving
law-fwr Law - Faculty Workroom Non-Circulating Law
FWR
  No Law - Faculty Workroom
law Law - General Collection   Law   No Law - General Collection
law-docoff Law - Government Documents Librarian Non-Circulating     Yes Law - Ask at Service Desk
law-gre Law - Green Room Non-Circulating   *Should be suppressed; Law storage room, not meant for public view?

No

Law - Green Room
law-inre Law - Internet Resource Non-Circulating N/A   Yes Internet Resource
law-leg Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving Non-Circulating Law-CS
Legis
  No Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving
law-hapcir Law Loan Desk Non-Circulating N/A N/A Yes Ask at Law Service Desk
law-mfce Law - Microfiche Non-Circulating     No Law - Microfiche
law-mflm Law - Microfilm Non-Circulating     No Law - Microfilm
law-mfref Law - Microform Reference Non-Circulating     No Law - Microform Reference
law-ind Law - Periodical Indexes Non-Circulating     No Law - Periodical Indexes
law-per Law - Periodicals Non-Circulating     No Law - Periodicals
law-ref Law - Reference Non-Circulating Law
Ref
  No Law - Reference
law-refcs Law - Reference Compact Shelving Non-Circulating Law-CS
Ref
  No Law - Reference Compact Shelving
law-rep Law - Reports Non-Circulating

Law
Rep-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Rep-Can, Rep-Eng, Rep-Scot, etc.

No Law - Reports
law-repcs Law - Reports Compact Shelving Non-Circulating

Law-CS
Rep-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Rep-Can, Rep-Eng, Rep-Scot, etc.

No Law - Reports Compact Shelving
law-res Law - Reserve Short Loan/Reserve     No Law - Reserve
law-res171 Law - Reserve Room 171 Short Loan/Reserve     No Law - Reserve Room 171
law-stat Law - Statutes Non-Circulating

Law
Stats-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Stats-Can, Stats-Eng, Stats-Scot, etc.

No Law - Statutes
law-statcs Law - Statutes Compact Shelving Non-Circulating

Law-CS
Stats-[Jurisdiction]

Jurisdiction (abbreviation) as indicated in Holdings 852

i.e. Stats-Can, Stats-Eng, Stats-Scot, etc.

No Law - Statues Compact Shelving
law-vid Law - Videos Equipment/Film     No Law - Ask at Service Desk
UNASSIGNED UNASSIGNED location       Yes Unavailable
Mearns-McPherson Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping
Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
ALMAME_VAL_NOT_FOUND MAIN UNASSIGNED Problem location from migration Unavailable Yes
CS MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes

DELS

MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
MC MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
NCIPloc MAIN ncip NCIP location - ILL Interlibrary Loans Yes
SELF MAIN self Self Check Machine Selfcheck No
acq MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
acq,ser MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
admn MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
anth MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
bioc MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
busi MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
cafe MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
cart MAIN map Maps and GIS - General Collection Maps and GIS - General Collection No
cart,desk MAIN map-desk Maps and GIS - Ask at Desk Maps and GIS - Ask at Service Desk No
cart,map MAIN map-draw Maps and GIS - Map Drawers Maps and GIS - Map Drawers No
cart,photo MAIN map-photo Maps and GIS - Airphoto Drawers Maps and GIS - Map Cabinet No
cart,post MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
cart,res MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
cart,sto MAIN map-sto Maps and GIS - Storage Maps and GIS - Ask at Service Desk No
cart,ver MAIN map-ver Maps and GIS - Vertical Cabinet Maps and GIS - Vertical Cabinet No
cat MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
chem MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
cleanup MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
coag MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
data MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
econ MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
engl MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
envi MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
eres MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
geog MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
hapacq MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
hart MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
hist MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk

No

inre MAIN inre Internet Resource Internet Resource Yes
inre,eb MAIN inre Internet Resource Internet Resource Yes
inre,ss MAIN inre Internet Resource Internet Resource Yes
lang MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ma MAIN main Main Collection Main Collection No
main MAIN main Main Collection Main Collection No
main,sto MAIN main-sto Basement Compact Shelving Compact Shelving, Lower Level No
math MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
mfcd MAIN mf-cd Microforms Centre - Card Compact Shelving - Lower Level No
mfch MAIN mf-fiche Microforms Centre - Fiche Microfiche - Microforms, Lower Level No
mfch,cihm MAIN mf-cihm Microforms - CIHM CIHM -  - Microforms, Lower Level No
mflm MAIN mf-film Microforms Centre - Film Microfilm - Microforms, Lower Level No
mfpr MAIN mf-print Microforms Centre - Print Print Collection - Microforms, Lower Level No
ncat MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ncat,sto MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
per MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
per,news MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
per,wp MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
phil MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
pols MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
pres MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref MAIN ref Main - Reference Reference Section, Main Floor No
ref,atc MAIN ref-atlas Main - Atlases Atlases, Main Floor No
ref,circ MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,enc MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic1 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic2 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic3 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic4 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic5 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic6 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic7 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,ic8 MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,icb MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,mic MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
ref,red MAIN ref-red Ready Reference Ready Reference No
ref,sto MAIN ref-sto Reference - Basement Compact Shelving Compact Shelving, Lower Level No
ref,wkrm MAIN ref-wkrm Reference Workroom Reference Workroom Yes
res MAIN res Reserve Ask at Service Desk No
soc MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
tec MAIN tec Technical Services Technical Services, Room 260 Yes
tec,circ MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
Curriculum Collection Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping
Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
curr MAIN curr Curriculum Collection - Stacks Curriculum Collection No
curr,cd MAIN curr-cd Curriculum Collection - CD Ask at Service Desk No
curr,er MAIN curr-er Curriculum Collection - Levelled Books Curriculum Collection - Levelled Books No
curr,hist MAIN curr-hist Curriculum Collection - Historical Textbooks Ask at Service Desk No
curr,kit MAIN curr-kit Curriculum Collection - Kits Curriculum Collection - Kits No
curr,mep MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
curr,over MAIN curr-over Curriculum Collection - Oversize Curriculum Collection - Oversize No
curr,ref MAIN curr-ref Curriculum Collection - Reference Curriculum Collection - Quick Reference No
curr,res MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
curr,sto MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
curr,video MAIN curr-video Curriculum Collection - Video Ask at Service Desk No
Law Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping
Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
doc,off LAW law-docoff Law - Government Documents Librarian Law - Ask at Service Desk Yes
hapcirc LAW law-hapcir Law Loan Desk Ask at Law Service Desk Yes
law LAW law Law - General Collection Law - Current Display No
law,akits MAIN unused Unused location from migration Law - Digests Yes
law,cur LAW law-cur Law - Current Display Law - Digests Compact Shelving Yes
law,dig LAW law-dig Law - Digests Law - Faculty Workroom No
law,digcs LAW law-digcs Law - Digests Compact Shelving Law - Digests Compact Shelving No
law,fwr LAW law-fwr Law - Faculty Workroom Law - Faculty Workroom No
law,gre LAW law-gre Law - Green Room Law - Green Room No
law,idr MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
law,ind LAW law-ind Law - Periodical Indexes Law - Periodical Indexes No
law,inre LAW law-inre Law - Internet Resource Internet Resource Yes
law,leg LAW law-leg Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving No
law,lll MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
law,mfce LAW law-mfce Law - Microfiche Law - Microfiche No
law,mflm LAW law-mflm Law - Microfilm Law - Microfilm No
law,micr LAW law-mfref Law - Microform Reference Law - Microform Reference No
law,ncir LAW law Law - General Collection Law - General Collection No
law,per LAW law-per Law - Periodicals Law - Periodicals No
law,pic MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
law,ref LAW law-ref Law - Reference Law - Reference No
law,refcs LAW law-refcs Law - Reference Compact Shelving Law - Reference Compact Shelving No
law,rep LAW law-rep Law - Reports Law - Reports No
law,repcs LAW law-repcs Law - Reports Compact Shelving Law - Reports Compact Shelving No
law,res LAW law-res Law - Reserve Law - Reserve No
law,rm175 LAW law-rm175 Law - Compact Shelving Room 175 Law - Ask at Service Desk No
law,serv MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
law,stat LAW law-stat Law - Statutes Law - Statutes No
law,statcs LAW law-statcs Law - Statutes Compact Shelving Law - Statutes Compact Shelving No
law,vid LAW law-vid Law - Videos Law - Ask at Service Desk No
law2 LAW law Law - General Collection Law - General Collection No
lawdig2 LAW law-dig Law - Digests Law - Digests No
lawdigcs2 LAW law-digcs Law - Digests Compact Shelving Law - Digests Compact Shelving No
lawfwr2 LAW law-fwr Law - Faculty Workroom Law - Faculty Workroom No
lawgre2 LAW law-gre Law - Green Room Law - Green Room No
lawind2 LAW law-ind Law - Periodical Indexes Law - Periodical Indexes No
lawinre2 LAW law-indre Law - Internet Resource Internet Resource Yes
lawleg2 LAW law-leg Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving Law - Legislative Material,  Compact Shelving No
lawncir2 LAW law Law - General Collection Law - General Collection No
lawper2 LAW law-per Law - Periodicals Law - Periodicals No
lawref2 LAW law-ref Law - Reference Law - Reference No
lawrefcs2 LAW law-refcs Law - Reference Compact Shelving Law - Reference Compact Shelving No
lawrep2 LAW law-rep Law - Reports Law - Reports No
lawrepcs2 LAW law-repcs Law - Reports Compact Shelving Law - Reports Compact Shelving No
lawres2 LAW law-res Law - Reserve Law - Reserve No
lawrm1752 LAW law-rm175 Law - Compact Shelving Room 175 Law - Ask at Service Desk No
lawstat2 LAW law-stat Law - Statutes Law - Statutes No
lawstatcs2 LAW law-statcs Law - Statutes Compact Shelving Law - Statues Compact Shelving No
lawvid2 LAW law-vid Law - Videos Law - Ask at Service Desk No

Music and Media Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
cdrom MAIN cdrom Music and Media - CD-ROM Ask at Service Desk No
film MAIN film Music and Media - Film Ask at Service Desk No
film,desk MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
film,game MAIN film Music and Media - Film Ask at Service Desk No
film,res MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
film,sto MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
film,vid MAIN film-vid Music and Media - Video Ask at Service Desk No
ma,cass MAIN mm-cass Music and Media - Cassette Ask at Service Desk No
ma,cd MAIN mm-cd Music and Media - Compact Disc Ask at Service Desk No
ma,con MAIN mm-con Music and Media - Console Ask at Service Desk No
ma,desk MAIN mm-desk Music and Media - Desk Ask at Service Desk No
ma,kit MAIN mm-kit Music and Media - Kit Ask at Service Desk No
ma,ncscor MAIN mm-scor Music and Media - Scores Music and Media - Scores No
ma,rec MAIN mm-rec Music and Media - Vinyl Record Vinyl Record - Microforms or Ask at Service Desk No
ma,reel MAIN mm-reel Music and Media - Reel Ask at Service Desk No
ma,ref MAIN mm-ref Music and Media - Reference Music and Media - Reference No
ma,repl MAIN mm-repl Music and Media - Replacements Music and Media - Replacements Yes
ma,res MAIN mm-res Music and Media - Reserve Ask at Service Desk No
ma,scor MAIN mm-scor Music and Media - Scores Music and Media - Scores No
ma,srec MAIN mm-srec Music and Media - Small Vinyl Record Vinyl Record - Ask at Service Desk No
ma,sto MAIN mm-sto Music and Media - Storage Ask at Service Desk No
Special Collections and University Archives Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping
Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
arc MAIN arc Archives Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
arc,circ MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
arc,ref MAIN arc-ref Archives - Reference Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
arc,sto MAIN arc-sto Archives - Storage Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
dolm MAIN sc-dolm Special Collections - Dolmen Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
law,spb MAIN sc-law Special Collections - Law Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
lawspb2 MAIN sc-law Special Collections - Law Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc MAIN sc Special Collections Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,box MAIN sc-brd Special Collections - Broadsheets Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,case MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,circ MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,com MAIN sc-com Special Collections - Compact Storage Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,ova MAIN sc-ova Special Collections - Oversize 12 Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,ovas MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,ovb MAIN sc-ovb Special Collections - Oversize 15 Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,ovbs MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,ovc MAIN sc-ovc Special Collections - Oversize 24 Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,ovcs MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,ovflw MAIN sc-ovflw Special Collections - Overflow Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,ref MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
sc,sto MAIN sc-sto Special Collections - Storage Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,sto-os MAIN sc-sto-os Special Collections - Storage Oversize Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,the MAIN sc-the Special Collections - Thesis Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
sc,thes MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes
seg MAIN sc-seg Special Collections - Seghers Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
seg,ova MAIN sc-segova Special Collections - Seghers Oversize 12 inch Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No
seg,ovb MAIN sc-segovb Special Collections - Seghers Oversize 15 inch Ask at Special Collections and University Archives Desk, Lower Level No

External Locations and Reading Rooms Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Voyager Location Code Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name Primo Location Name Suppress from Primo
biol MAIN ext-biol Biology Reading Room Biology Reading Room No
clas MAIN ext-clas Classics Reading Room Classics Reading Room No
coun MAIN ext-coun Counselling Reading Room Counselling Reading Room No
csrs MAIN ext-csrs Centre for Studies in Religion and Society Centre for Studies in Religion and Society No
duncan MAIN ext-dunc Duncan Hospital Library Duncan Hospital Library No
fren MAIN ext-fren French Reading Room French Reading Room No
gal MAIN ext-gal Gross Anatomy Lab Gross Anatomy Lab No
germ MAIN ext-germ German Reading Room German Reading Room No
hi MAIN ext-hi Hispanic and Italian Reading Room Hispanic and Italian Reading Room Yes
ling MAIN ext-ling Linguistics Reading Room Linguistics Reading Room No
mus MAIN ext-mus School of Music Reading Room School of Music Reading Room No
orie MAIN ext-pac Pacific and Asian Studies Reading Room Pacific and Asian Studies Reading Room No
phed MAIN ext-phed Physical Education Reading Room Physical Education Reading Room No
phys MAIN ext-phys Physics Reading Room Physics Reading Room No
slav
MAIN ext-slav Slavonics Reading Room Slavonics Reading Room No
teac MAIN ext-teac Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation No
thea MAIN ext-thea Theatre Reading Room Theatre Reading Room No
vnfc MAIN unused Unused location from migration Unavailable - Ask at Service Desk Yes

Law Library

Last revised: 2022-06-27 (GLJ)

Background:

The Diana M. Priestly Law Library is located in the Fraser Building.  The Law Library catalogue - and the technical services to support it - was once completely separate from the McPherson Library catalogue.  Following the merger of the catalogues, some Law technical services staff were reassigned and relocated to become part of the McPherson Library's technical services staff.  All order, pay, receipt, as well as cataloguing of Law material is now done by McPherson Library staff.  End-processing of Law material is still done by Law staff.

Things to note:

Two separate Bib records for the same title may still exist in the merged catalogue: one with a law location, one with a main location.  Best practice going forward: one shared Bib record with two separate Holdings records for each location.

Law summarized holdings were expressed differently than main's.  Best practice going forward: use main's practice to express holdings.

New PO's, location codes, and predictive check-in records for Law had to be created after the merger of the catalogues & technical services in Voyager, and then once again with the migration from Voyager to Alma.  Refer to the [*Add link to updated Alma Location Code & Rubric Table*] ; codes beginning with "law...".

Law has several categories of material that have their own call no. schema: Law Periodicals, Law Reports, Law Digests, Law Statutes, etc.  These categories of material are shelved in separate physical locations within the Law Library.  These locations are only assigned as requested by Law Librarians.  See supervisor if any questions.

Law integrating resources (e.g. loose-leaf) are deferred to supervisor for time being.

Law barcodes almost all their material, including serials.  Always check for item records when updating serial records located in Law.  Best practice going forward: Law staff continue to barcode items as before; main barcodes only annuals and less frequently published material.  [*Policy & Law workflow to be reviewed post-Alma migration*]

Whenever possible, best practice is to align procedures so there is consistency between the libraries.

Law Library email:  lawlib@uvic.ca

Law Librarians/Reference email: lawref@uvic.ca

Glenda / Susan

MARC Tags:

Catalogue material designated for the Law Library in accordance with the UVic RDA Workflows for monographs or serials.  Some things to note that are particular to or are exceptions for the Law Library are as follows:

035      Retain 035 local control number (035 | | | ‡9 uviclw#####) if present, as it identifies the original Law Bib# pre-Voyager merge.

040      The old MARC Organization Code that was specific for the UVic Law Library (CaBViVL) is no longer used but may still be present in old/existing Law Bib records.

591      Change to 590  (591 was once a Local Note designated specifically for Law.  Current practice: Use 590 for any Local Notes, with appropriate wording to clarify Law copy if necessary)

Classification/Call numbers:

If suggested LC Class number is not already present in 050, then go to K (-KZ) Class schedules (Law) to determine what it should be.

Notes on KE/KF: Always use subclass KE (Law of Canada) as appropriate.  *Prior to KE being established, the Law Library used the “KF Modified” schedule (Law of the United States).  Current local practice is to use KE if there is ANY Canadian Law content within the resource.  KF is still used IF the resource is strictly pertaining to US Law only.  Investigate if any suggested class numbers are indicated in CIP data, as a possible lead.

Classify new editions using KE as appropriate.  If an older edition exists & it’s classified under older KF Modified call number, leave older edition as is; no need to reclassify older edition.

*Exception: If item is filling in a gap in the collection, and the rest of the collection is filed under KF, place ‘new’ item under KF to fill gap.

Notes on KI: Effective 2017-  New KI classification for “Law of Indigenous peoples” (see Classification Web)

*See the Law KI Reclassification Project on Connect for full background

Law Librarians may identify select titles for KI classification/reclassification that are not inherently Indigenous Law subject matter.

If reclassifying an existing title, do not re-catalogue (possible exceptions, at cataloguer's discretion)

At this time, in cases of multiple Library holdings locations, only the Law Library's copy holdings will be reclassified, and the reprocessing of call no. labels will continue to be done at Law

*IMPORTANT: Beyond the scope of this specific project, the underlying rationale and principles are also influencing the cataloguing of newly acquired Law materials with Indigenous subject matter. If you should find yourself about to catalogue material designated for the Law Library and the material has anything to do with Indigenous or First Nations content, please pause to consider if it might be a candidate for classifying in the LC KI-KIL class schedules. In cases of doubt, consult the Law Librarians at: lawref@uvic.ca

  • Law Librarians may suggest a KI class number for an item at point of ordering.  Acquisitions staff will flag this information for Metadata’s attention by inserting any related correspondence.
  • Leave slips/correspondence in the item, for Law staff to see when books are sent to Law, so they’re fully aware of the KI request as well.
  • Novels, unless a Law Librarian specifically requests otherwise, are not in KI classification.

Notes on JX/JZ: JX is obsolete with law.  DO NOT USE.  (JZ has replaced it).  If any law books have JX call #, set aside and consult the Law Librarians at: lawref@uvic.ca

Conferences:

If any NEW conferences are received, consider cataloguing as a serial.  Do not re-catalogue past conferences that may have been catalogued as monographs.

Use conference date as date in call number in most instances, except when the conference is not considered to be the creator, per the Library of Congress Classification and Shelflisting Manual, Table on Conferences, Congresses, Meetings, Etc., Table G230:

https://www.loc.gov/aba/publications/FreeCSM/G230.pdf

Last revised: 2022-06-27 (GLJ)

Holdings record:

New with Alma, Law Holdings records should be coded with 852 $b : Library in Alma = 'LAW' (not 'MAIN').

852 $c : Location in Alma - open form editor and select appropriate Law location code from drop-down menu.

Refer to the [*Add link to updated Alma Location Code & Rubric Table*] ; codes beginning with "law..." ; See supervisor if any questions.

Law Reserve (‘law-res’) is no longer treated as a permanent location, only a temporary location.  Confirm Holdings record 852 $c location code = ‘law’ (Watch for Holdings incorrectly coded as ‘law-res’) ; Law staff later create the item record and assign a temporary location code of ‘law-res’ as needed.  Pass along any paperwork to notify Law staff of item being designated for Law Reserve.  [*Policy & Law workflow to be reviewed post-Alma migration*]

Item record & processing[*Policy & Law workflow to be reviewed post-Alma migration*]

Do NOT barcode or create item record.  Law staff handles all their own full processing, including the creation of item record, printing & affixing Law call no. label, Law "Priestly" barcode, "UVic Law" red gutter stamp, etc.  If an item record was already created by Acquisitions, leave as is, with blank Barcode field & alert Law staff on paperwork.

Leave book jackets on the material for Law staff review.  (Law may choose to trim & affix book flap information)

Write the call no. in pencil in the upper left hand corner verso title page, and the Bib no. in the center-to-right hand corner.  If verso t.p. is too crowded, then use the pre-t.p. or inside front cover as needed.  [*Policy & Law workflow to be reviewed post-Alma migration*]

Refer to the [*Add link to updated Alma Location Code & Rubric Table*] ; codes beginning with "law...". ; See supervisor if any questions.

Here are some example Law location codes and rubrics:  (disregard double spacing)

law

Law

Call #

Year

law-ref

            Law

            Ref

            Call #

            Year

law-refcs

Law-CS

Ref

Call #

Year

law-fwr

Law

FWR

Call #

Year

law-rm175

Law-CS

Rm175

Call #

Year

Law Serials - General:

Click here for Law serials check-in & processing

 

Law Digests Schema:

Outline of Law Digests Schema

PDF located here: W:\LTEC\Cataloguing\Law Library

Print version located in Law Library:  Z695.1 L3P742

 

Law Reports Classification Schema:

Outline of Law Reports classification schema

PDF located here:  W:\LTEC\Cataloguing\Law Library

Print version located in the Law Library: Z695.1 L3P74

Mearns-McPherson Library

See the format instructions for how to catalogue music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings.

See the processing instructions for information on physical handling.

Note that the music collection, including monographs and serials, was once located in a separate physical location called Music & Audio (and later Music & Media) within the McPherson Library. Most M-MT classed monographs and serials still have an "ma" holdings location, though they have now been integrated into the main stacks. (With Alma update: ma location changed to main location?)

 

Laura - music scores and sound recordings

Location Use For
mm,cd CDs - both musical and nonmusical
mm,cass Cassettes
mm,rec LPs- 12 inch disc
mm,srec LPs - smaller than 12 inch disc
 
   

 

 

 

Reserve:

In 2021, Reserve staff physically relocated to sit within Rm260 to be part of the Copyright and Scholarly Communications team under Collection Management. While reserve material is now processed within Rm260, the physical material continues to be situated in the Access Services area on the main floor.

Rush Reserve material: Place all newly catalogued (or shelf-ready) Rush Reserve material in the labelled box on top of the short shelves in the Reserve area of Rm260 (behind the Serials mail table).  Reserve staff will collect from the tray and handle the end-processing for Reserve.

 

 

 

 

Basement Compact Shelving (BCS):

Located here are all Z classed material; some oversized material, national union catalogues, all HA741-HA743 Stats Can material; some monographic material with a temporary location of "basement compact shelving"; serial runs and other material that could not be accommodated elsewhere, etc. All material located in BCS that is not Z classed must have a blue dot affixed on or near the call number label. This blue dot acts as a rubric for material located here. 

"Z" classed material: this material is given a holdings location of "main"* (and not "main,sto"). [*to be confirmed]

A blue dot is not affixed

Items ordered for the "tec" location are meant to support the work of librarians and staff working in the Technical Services area of the library. The bulk of this tec material is physically located within the Technical Services area on shelving outside the office of Head, Metadata. On occasion, items are ordered for this location, but are then routed to a librarian or staff situated in another area of the library. Current best practice is to add a non public note to field 852 of the holdings record indicating with whom or where the item is routed or situated. Items located in "tec" should always be suppressed, labelled FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY and coded with the item type of "nocirc".

Glenda

Reference: May 2022- "Ref" as a physical and holdings/item location is currently in transition. Material with a holdings location of "Ref" is currently located in Basement Compact Shelving. This  physical "Ref" location in BCS is temporary and the records have not been updated in anyway to reflect this. Follow signage in Basement Compact Shelving to locate the physical material. Route all "Ref" material to a Metadata supervisor.

Ready Reference: As of May 2022, its physical location is situated outside of the librarian "on duty" office on the main floor in the maps and atlases area.

Its rubric is "Ref". Current practice is to affix a "Ready Ref" label to all material located in here. (A small red dot was once affixed to the call number of ready reference designated material. This "red dot" was incorporated into the label when use of the red dot ceased.)

 

Glenda/Susan

Curriculum Collection

Background:

The Curriculum Library was previously its own separate branch located in the MacLaurin Building.  The branch was later closed, and the Curriculum Collection has now been absorbed as a designated section within the Main Collection, on the 2nd floor of the Mearns-McPherson Library.  All resources designated for the Curriculum Collection are classified using the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System.

Overview:
General Information: breakdown of grades/levels (often depends on school districts/locations)

  • Grades 1-3 (Primary)
  • Grades 4-6 or 7 (Elementary)
  • Grades 6-8 or 7-9 (Middle School)
  • Grades 9-12 or 10-12 (Secondary)

 

 

Glenda to create more tabs / migrate content over from Old LibGuide -- [*Done, but needs further review - GLJ*]

 

Laura to assist

Books
(includes graphic novels, levelled readers, picture books)

  • Received and barcoded by Acquisitions staff (placement of barcodes: try whenever possible to not cover up the title). Barcode affixed to cover, not dust jacket. Keep dust jacket with the item for Cataloguing staff. Curriculum flag inserted.
  • Material moves to Cataloguing
  • Location: 
Material Location Item Type
All Curric books except levelled readers curr book
Levelled readers curr-er book
  • Dust jackets are recycled/discarded
  • Call number label affixed by cataloguer
  • Material put on truck for tattle-taping and stamping at Main Loan Desk. Curriculum material will be noticeable by both the presence of a Curriculum flag and the presence of “CURRIC” on the call number label
  • Material shelved in Curriculum section at McPherson
Quick Ref
 
  • Receive, catalogue and process as normal (except that the item will be given a blue flag indicating it’s a priority)
  • Give the resource a location of curr-ref and item type of book ; these will be adjusted at Main Loan Desk
  • Send material to Main Loan Desk for tattle taping and stamping
  • The blue priority flag will indicate that the item should be routed to the Main Loan Desk. They will stay in Reserve for 3 day loan
Last revised: 2022-06-27 (GLJ)
 
Big Books and Oversize Kits
 
  • If Big Books or kits arrive, catalogue as normal
  • The resource is given a location of curr and item type of book or kit, as appropriate
  • The rubric on the call number label should be “BIG BOOK” for books and “OVERSIZE” for kits
  • Send material to Music and Media for tattle taping and stamping.
  • The Big Books and Oversize kits will be routed to the appropriate location by stacks staff. The Big Books will the located in the Curriculum Oversize section.
  • Add ‘650 – 0 $a Big book  [*Confirm this should be 655 nowadays?*]

See 2642899 for an example  [*Update with MMS ID post-Alma*]

  • Holdings for Big Books should be

852 1/ $b MAIN $c curr $k BIG $h --- $i ---   [*Confirm this is correct position for $k?*]

  •  Verso t.p. should be  
BIG BOOK
             CURRIC
             Call #
Books with CDs/DVDs/CD-ROM
 
  • These will be grouped together (as Main material is), not separated.
  • They will be barcoded by Acquisitions (performance flag put in saying no rights necessary)
  • Catalogued as normal. Cataloguer puts “check for” flag in the item.
  • Resource is given a location of “curr” and item type of “book”
  • Processed as other Main material : “check for” sticker, sometimes will have to make a pocket
  • Other processing completed and item sent to the shelf
  • Don’t fill in 007 field for accompanying material, but if it’s already there, leave it
  • If library’s copy is supposed to have an accompanying item but we never received it, make a note as follows: (or similar – CD-ROM is example)
590 \\ $a Library’s copy lacks CD-ROM.
Kits and Realia
(real life objects: flash cards, playing cards, blocks, stackable objects, etc.)
 
  • Material received in Acquisitions (barcoding decisions made on a case by case basis)
  • Catalogued as they are currently
  • Location of “curr-kit” and item type of “kit” to be used
  • Due to the unpredictable nature of these, we will determine on case by case basis how material is to be barcoded, tattle taped, stamped, call number printed, etc.
  • Generally speaking, the processor will print out all necessary labels and send to the Music & Media desk for final processing
  • Music & Media will decide how it should be housed based on its judgement
  • samples of kits– 2289524, 2289527
CDs/DVDs /Videos
 
  • Received and barcoded by Acquisitions and treated exactly like other Music & Media material.
  • For DVDs, we need to know the performance rights associated with the object. This is investigated in Acquisitions and treated like other Music & Media resources
  • Material goes to cataloguer with primary responsibility for Curric Collection cataloguing   [*Policy/workflow review: perhaps should go to visual resources cataloguer first?*]
  • Catalogue as normally would : use Dewey and use Curric. locations
FORMAT LOCATION ITEM TYPE
CD curr-cd cd
DVD curr-video video
Videocassettes curr-video video
  • Cataloguer adds performance rights notes to the bibliographic record
  • After it is catalogued, pass it on to music or visual resources cataloguer to ensure the special format aspect has been catalogued correctly
  • It will be processed similar to other Music & Media material (including spine labels and performance rights labels)
Serials designated for the Curriculum Collection are treated like other serials in McPherson.  The cataloguing is done by Serials staff, although they may wish to consult with the Curriculum Collection cataloguer or Metadata supervisor with regard to assigning a call number using the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System.
MARC Fields
008/22 Target Audience

a - Preschool. intended for preschool children, approximate ages 0-5 years
b -  Primary, intended for children, approximate ages 6-8 years; Kindergarten through third grade
c - Pre-adolescent, intended for young people, approximate ages 9-13 years; elementary and junior high (grades 4 through 8)
d - Adolescent, intended for young people, approximate ages 14-17 year; secondary (senior high or grades 9 through 12)
e - Adult
j - Juvenile, intended for use by children and young people, approximate ages 0-15.  Used when one does not want to more specifically code for the juvenile target audience

If an accurate Target Audience encoding is already present, leave as is

Do not add to teacher’s guides

082

Dewey Decimal Classification Number

082  04 $a 510 $2 23

Only include base DDC number

Add $2 to indicate Dewey edition number 

385 Audience Characteristics

385 00 $m Educational level group: $n edu $a Fourth grade students $2 lcdgt

Do not add 385.

Do not delete from copy.

505 Formatted Contents Note

Do not add 505 if there is a 520 summary note containing most of the information.

Do not delete from copy. 

520 Summary

As per LC-PCC PS 7.10, summarization of content is a CORE element for LC for fiction intended for children.

520 ## $a When Eugenides' bragging lands him in prison, Gen's only hope for freedom lies in joining a quest to steal a legendary object.

521 Intended Audience

Information about the intended audience and/or intellectual level of the material is given in a note in the 521 field (target audience note) provided this information is available from the work itself.

First Indicator values:
blank - audience (generates display constant "Audience:")
0 - reading grade level
1 - interest age level
2 - interest grade level

521 1# $a Ages 7 and up.

521 2# Grade level: 1.7.

586 Awards Note

Add 586 field for information on awards associated with item. Field is repeated for each occurrence of an award.

586 ## $a Newbery Honor Book, 1980.
586 ## $a Caldecott Honor Book, 1979.
586 ## $a John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children, 1951.
650 Subject Headings

Do not use second indicator 1 (LC subject headings for children's literature).

Instead, check if heading is valid in LCSH. 

If equivalent is found, switch second indicator to 0 (Library of Congress Subject Headings)

655 Genre Headings

Add the following genre heading for books geared to encourage reading, specifically reluctant readers:

655 #0 $a High interest-low vocabulary books.

856 Electronic Location and Access

Retain 856s for lesson plans and for resources that supplement the item.

Do not retain 856s for table of contents, summaries, etc.

Last revised: 2022-06-27 (GLJ)

 

Holdings Records

New with Alma, Curric Holdings records should be coded with 852 $b : Library in Alma = 'MAIN'.

852 $c : Location in Alma - open form editor and select appropriate Curric location code from drop-down menu.

Refer to the [*Add link to updated Alma Location Code & Rubric Table*] ; codes beginning with "curr..." ; See supervisor if any questions.

  • Construct the 852 in the holdings record using Curric locations and notes indicated in the overview above:
852 1/  $b MAIN $c [curr location code] $h __ $i ___
 
  • see the Call Number section below for more information on classification/shelflisting decision

DDC Call Numbers

Common Subject Areas and Dewey Call Number
292 Classical religion (Greek and Roman religion)

324.971 or 971

Canadian politics
372.4 Phonics (elementary) (primary and elementary readers)
372.6 Literature related, teaching through drama
394.2 Christmas, celebrations … (factual the holiday itself. Stories go to 823)   
398.2 Folk tales, fairy tales and modernized versions of folk tales and fairy tales (adaptations and retelling of tales in comic book/graphic form go in 823)
423 Dictionaries, thesaurus
423.2 Alphabet books (823 if there is a story with it)
428.6 Secondary readers
428.62 Remedial readers/hi-lo materials for both adult and secondary
438 German
440-448.6
French call numbers - evaluate on a case by case basis (updated LD 2022-02-11)
  • In the past, the French books were classed in a separate section
  • On a case by case basis, determine if the item should be classed correctly or classed in the previously determined separate section.
  • French translations of English books should be classed with the English version and cuttered for translation.
468 Spanish
468.6 Spanish fiction and poetry
513.2 Counting books (elementary) (823 if book tells a story)
634.9 Forests, rainforests, rainforest ecology, etc. (NOTE: continue placing them here for now, even though not technically always correct – ie: rainforest ecology should be 577.34 - ignore that for now – Pia consulted – May 2015)
709.24 Bios of artists (painters, etc., Emily Carr for example)
792 …

Performing drama, activities

792.07 Education, research in drama
822 Plays
821 Poetry
823
English fiction, picture books, graphic novels
If the graphic novel is an adaptation of another’s work, , class under the adaptor’s name. Example: bib 4026194
823.008 Collections of short stories by multiple authors *(including aboriginal collections)
Biographies (individual, but not authors or poets) go under context (ex. Hitler goes into German history).
  • Individual biographies (authors, poets) – place with author number with Z as second cutter
  • Example:  Sendak, Maurice 823/S43Z__
Translations
  • Books written in English and translated into other languages are classed with the English edition. Cutter for the translation.

For Main Stacks

PZ – is for children’s books that children would read

PN – books about children’s books (criticisms, etc.) 

B.C. Historical Textbooks (Curriculum Collection)
[Last revised:  July 29, 2019 - MW/GLJ]
  • The Curriculum Library has a collection of old textbooks that were used in the province of British Columbia in the early 20th century. These textbooks are in the process of being digitized and added to the University of Victoria’s Internet Archive collection. A catalogue record will also be added to our Voyager database.
  • The Digitization Unit scans each book and sends the file into the Internet Archive.  The title of the book and the Internet Archive URL are entered into an Excel spreadsheet.
  • The book is then sent to Cataloguing.
  • **Exceptions to the workflow: (May 2018) - Pia will sometimes request that existing items in our collection be changed to “Historical Texts.”  There is already an existing bibliographic record but books are not yet digitized or on the spreadsheet.  In this case, follow steps 3 – 8 of workflow, amending as needed.  Change call number as needed. If item has existing barcode on cover or in book, scratch it out. Give item new barcode on p-slip inserted in book.
Workflow (cataloguing scanned book)
  • Open Excel spreadsheet at W: > LTEC > Cataloguing > Internet Archive > IA urls.xlsx
  • Choose Historical Texts from the tabs along the bottom. Choose book from spreadsheet list, and open link.
  • Check for a bibliographic record in Voyager and usual sources. There is no need to change the record to RDA if an existing bibliographic record already exists in Voyager. Make a copy and use this copy to catalogue Historical Text.  If none exist, create original.
  • Catalogue book.
*reminder note: Older texts often say, for example, on verso of title page, a variation of the following: “Entered according to Act of the Parliament of Canada, in the year one thousand eight hundred and eighty-seven, by THE COPP, CLARK COMPANY, LIMITED, Toronto, Ontario, in the Office of the Minister of Agriculture.” This statement is the copyright date. They will often have a different date on the title page (for example, 1890) – this is the publication date (1890), and the date which is entered on the holdings record.
  • Add notes:
590   ‡a  BC Historical School Textbooks.
  • If there is a bookplate add a second 590 note. If it is a UVIC bookplate, don’t add.
590   ‡a  Bookplate: Provincial Library & Archives, Victoria, B.C. 
  • Create a holdings record:
852 ‡b curr,hist ‡h … ‡i … (include date)
  • Holdings 008:  code “g” in 008 “method of acquisition” if item was a gift or was discarded from another library.
    • Do not code “g” in holdings of electronic digitized version of holdings record.
  • Write call number on upper left of acid-free paper slip.  Rubric is CURRIC. All call numbers should include date.  Attach barcode vertically to the upper right of the slip, as pictured here:
Image
  • Create an item record.  The permanent location code in the holdings record = curr,hist which corresponds to the permanent location in the item record:
Perm. Loc. = Curric, historical
Item type = nocirc
 

**If book is a Historical Text that has not yet been digitized, end procedure here. Attach note to indicate book is not yet digitized. Give book to Shelley to put in Gifts room on appropriate shelf.  (Nov. 18, 2018 – Pia)

 

**If book has been digitized and is listed on spreadsheet, continue with the following steps:

  • Add barcode number to Excel spreadsheet. 
  • Highlight the appropriate line on the Excel spreadsheet in yellow to indicate that the title has been done. 
  • Construct a second bibliographic record for the digital e-book, following the steps below:
 
Cataloguing the digital e-book 
  • Once the print book has been catalogued, any digitized BC Historical School Textbook needs a second (e-book) bibliographic record.  An appropriate OCLC record can be used, if one exists.  Otherwise, make a copy of our bibliographic record, and amend the record to indicate an e-resource as follows:
LDR Cataloging form =  i: ISBD punctuation included
006 Computer File 
           Form of Item = o: Online
           Type of File = d: Document
007 Electronic Resource 
           Specific Material Designation = r: Remote
           Color = m: Mixed
           Dimension = n: Not applicable
           Sound on Medium = _ : No sound (silent)
           Image Bit Depth = ---: Unknown
           All other 007 fields can be coded as the last element on the dropdown list:
                                           : No attempt to code
008 Form of item = o: Online
035 Remove 035 fields
040
Add ‡b eng and ‡e rda (if not present already)
           If an electronic version from OCLC is brought in to Voyager, leave 040 as is.
           If copying from existing print version in Voyager, replace 040 with ‡a CaBViV ‡b eng and ‡e rda ‡c CaBViV
300 ‡a 1 online resource (158 pages) : ‡b illustrations (do not add dimensions)
336 ‡a text ‡2 rdacontent
337 ‡a computer ‡2 rdamedia
338 ‡a online resource ‡2 rdacarrier
590 Add, as appropriate:
     590  ‡a  BC Historical School Textbooks.  (add to every electronic historical text bibliographic record)
     590  ‡a  Bookplate: Provincial Library & Archives, Victoria, B.C.  (only if appropriate)
     590  ‡a  Contributed to the Internet Archive by the University of Victoria Libraries.  (Only add to digital record)
6XX *Take out FAST fields, as they normally wouldn’t be kept in an original record.*
856

Add the URL (from the spreadsheet) to an 856 field.  Test link to be certain it directs to the correct item on Internet Archive.

856  4 0  ‡u (copy and paste URL from spreadsheet)

  • Create a Holdings record:     
852  8  ‡b inre ‡h ELECTRONIC 
Do not code 008 “g” 

Last revised: 2022-10-18 (LD)

B.C. Historical Textbooks Transferred to Special Collections

The Education Librarian selects the B.C. Historical Textbooks that will be transferred to the Special Collections.- Overflow (sc-ovflw) location.

The selected books will be brought to Metadata to update the location and loan policy for each item.

NOTE: The "Circulation Desk Operator, Mearns-McPherson Desk" Fulfillment user role is required to update the location.

Follow these steps:

  1. Change your physical location to: Mearns-McPherson Library – Mearns-McPherson Desk

  1. Use: Fulfillment > Scan In Items > Change Item Information
    1. Set up Change Item Information as follows:
      1. Change Type: Permanent
      2. Item Policy: sc-ncir
      3. Location: Special Collections – Overflow
      4. Select Check Requests
    2. Scan item barcode (ensure curser is in the “Scan item barcode” field)

    1. Ensure that all scanned details are correct and that the changes have been applied to the correct book

 

  1. Pencil in location (in parentheses) and call number on the upper right hand corner of the inside back coverGo to the next plain page if the page is too dark or if it is a decorative page.
(sc),ovflw
372.8
M46
1955
  1. Leave all flags in the book
  2. Next book, start at step 2, Fulfillment > Scan In Items > Change Item Information,
    1. Remove existing barcode from the "Scan item barcode" field
    2. Scan in new barcode
  3. Complete steps 3 and 4
  4. Repeat until all locations have been updated

 

Reading series and teacher’s guides
 
Checklist for Readings Series for Curriculum Library
  • If the reading series is designated “Levelled Readers” then the location code is curr,er
  • See examples bib: 2622168 and auth: 491199
  • Check 372.4 for various general reading series
  • 008/22 - Code "j" (Juvenile) for readers (do not code "j" for teacher's guides)
  • Add 520 if available.
  • Add a 521 for grade level.
  • When the book clearly states it has activities for teachers to do (teaching their class), add “650  - 0 $a  Activity programs in education.” AND 650 _0 $a Creative activities and seat work. (these should always be applied in tandem)
Call Numbers - Reading Series
  • For large reading series where there is one author for many books, double Cutter:

Example: 428.62 / F47M26  (F47 for Ferris, M26 for Mailbox)

  • If need to catalogue by numbers (as in double cutter) use A__ (see bib 2852912 for reference).  Can also go lower than A2 if fits better (like A15, A16, A17, etc.)
  • “12” applied at end of call number (ex. 372.4/R43512) indicates accompanying material to set, as in teacher’s information texts
  • “.07” applied at end of call number generally means material is educational
Textbooks, Teacher’s Editions, Workbooks
  • *check 513.J__ for examples     
  • Text comes first in holdings, then teacher’s edition is __12 then other materials after (worksheets, etc.).
  • Teacher key is often ending in __14
  • Student workbook often ends in __13 (check samples)
English Fiction, Picture books
  • All English fiction is classified in 823. Double cutter the number with the author first, title second.
  • Include 520 (telling what story is about)
  • Include 650 (subject headings)
  • Add “juvenile fiction” or “juvenile literature” to subject headings unless the item is obviously for adult readers.
Are you cataloguing multiple copies on the same bibliographic record when the pagings are different?
  • Add a 590 indicating that the copies differ.
  • 590 $a Library’s copy 2 has larger font size and thus has 119 pages.
Is the material related to Indigenous Education?
  • Treat it as a rush.
Is the item an atlas?
  • See Bib 3248505 as an example of how the record differs. Leader ‘type of record’ changes to ‘e’ – printed cartographic material. Ensure that the 007 and 008 are appropriately encoded.
 

 

[ Legacy policy: Is the item you’re cataloguing a binder that has been split up into its constituent pieces?
  • Add the following note:
  • 590 //  $a Library's copies have been disassembled and rebound as separate units. 
  • Any material not listed as a “chapter” in the contents becomes chapter 0.’
  • See examples 1812380 and 2496284.]

Special Collections and University Archives

Laura to bring content over old LibGuide and culled/updated

Special Collections Cataloguing Resources

Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition)

Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts (AMREMM)

Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Manuscripts)

RBMS Controlled Vocabularies

The following are resources that may aid in the assigning of the RBMS terms:

Paper Terms:

Provenance Evidence:

Printing and Publishing:

Purchases for Special Collections and University Archives

  1. Single Item
  • Acquisitions will add the 561 to the records for SC purchased items 
  • The item record will be linked to the POL
    • Do not include the PO # in the holdings 852 $x (this was an old Voyager practice)
  • Acquisitions will include the POL # on the flag
  • Acquisitions will not barcode the item
  1. Multiple Items Received on a Dummy Acquisitions Record (DAR)
  • Acquisitions will create a DAR when a collection of items are ordered from one vendor
  • Acquisitions will not create individual records for each item
  • Instead, Metadata will create the records for each item
  • Metadata will add the 561 found in the DAR to each bibliographic record
  • Metadata will add the POL for the DAR to each item record
    • Do not include the PO # in the holdings 852 $x (this was an old Voyager practice)
  • For more information about DARs, refer to the Receipt - DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDs section
  • Example: Hotam Press Collection, POL-647, MMS ID: 9957676335007291

Field 561 - Gifts, Purchased or Transferred Note

All Special Collections records must have a 561 gifts, purchased or transferred note 

Note: For University Archives gifts, use field 590.

Gifts Note:  

561 1# $a Gift of [xxx xxx], 20xx. $5 CaBViV

  • In Alma: Editing Actions > Enhance the Record > Choose Normalization Type: aUVic - Add 561 Note > Ok
    • Update note with donor information and year
    • 561  1# $a Gift of Gordon Fulton, 2021. $5 CaBViV
  • If the gift is anonymous:
    • 561 1# $a Gift of anonymous donor, 2020. $5 CaBViV   
  • If two items on a record need to be distinguished, add $3 Special Collections copy:
    • 561 1# $3 Special Collections copy: $a Gift of Robert Youds, 2019. $5 CaBViV 

Purchased Note:

561 1# $a Purchased from [xxxx] on the [xxxx] Fund, 20xx. $5 CaBViV  

  • Acquisitions will add the 561 into the provisional acquisitions record 
    • In Alma: Editing Actions > Enhance the Record > Choose Normalization Type: aUVic - Add 561 Purchased Note for SC > Ok
    • Update note with vendor information and year
    • 561 1# $a Purchased from Cambridge Rare Books on the Special Collections Fund, 2022. $5 CaBViV
  • If necessary, use $3 to indicate which copy/volume the 561 applies to.
    • 561 1# $3 Special Collections Storage: vol. 34; $a Purchased from World of Rare Books on the Special Collections Fund, 2019. $5 CaBViV
  • For Standing orders, refer to the green PO flag for the tick box with “Cataloguer add 561; DAR [#####]”.
    • Access the indicated DAR record and copy/paste the entire 561 field into the record for the title in hand

Transferred Note:

  • Add field 561 for items transferred from the Main collection:
    • 561 1# $a Transferred from general collection, 2020. $5 CaBViV   

 

Item Records and Barcodes

  • As of October. 24, 2022, SCUA books will have items records and barcodes added
    • Only purchased and recently catalogued gift items will be barcoded
    • Items already in the collection will not be retrospectively barcoded
    • Cataloguers will place Identa strips inside each book
      • One side will have the barcode
      • The other side will have the call number
    • Duplicate copies in the same location will have only one holdings.
      • Items will be numbered c.1, 2, etc.
      • The cataloguer will create an item record for the existing copy in the collection and will send SCUA the barcoded identa strip 
      • It is no longer necessary to add $t to the 852
  • Refer also to Items Field Guide - SCUA
  • Follow Items - Scan In Items

 

Processing

  • Pencil in location (in parentheses) and call number on the upper right hand corner of the inside back cover
(sc)
PR5299
.S7
J35
1899
  • Go to the next plain page if the page is too dark or if it is a decorative page
  • If uncertain about where to write the call number, write on paper slip and leave in the item
  • For small items, pamphlets, etc. which cannot stand alone or might be lost or damaged, write the call number where possible.  Put the item in the appropriate sized archival envelope and print the call number.  Affix the call number label to the upper left corner of the envelope.
  • Tie damaged items with cotton tape

Locations

  • See also the SCUA Locations in Alma section
  • With regard to potentially oversized material, SC’s locations cannot always be consistently applied; SCUA staff make the final decision, and have the capability to amend holdings data as required.
  • As a general rule, apply this rubric table:
sc Max. Height: 32 cm Max. Depth: 22 cm Rubric: (sc)
sc-ova Max. Height: 39 cm Max. Depth: 30 cm Rubric: (sc),ova
sc-ovb Max. Height: 51 cm Max. Depth: 38 cm Rubric: (sc),ovb
sc-ovc Great than 63 x 57 cm   Rubric: (sc),ovc

Items Ready for Pick Up

  • SCUA pick up shelves are located in the first bay of the SC backlog in room 260
  • If item is fragile or cannot stand up, lay the item flat on the pick up shelf
  • Items that are rare, extremely fragile or of high value will be stored in the SCUA filing cabinet (middle shelf) until pick up

Last revised: 2022-10-24 (LD)

ESTC (ENGLISH SHORT TITLE CATALOGUE)

The British Library's English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a union catalogue recording holdings for more than 2,000 libraries world-wide. It covers monograph and serial letterpress items that are:

  • published between 1473 and 1800
  • mainly, but not exclusively, in English
  • published mainly in the British Isles and North America
  • from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries

When cataloging a book published before 1801, search for the item in the ESTC database.

Compare the pagination, publisher, publication date, notes, etc. in order to determine if the item in hand matches the ESTC record.

If a matching record is found, add the ESTC Citation number to the bibliographic record in the 510 field.

  • 510 4_ ‡a ESTC, ‡c T62594

Do not include leading zeros in the ESTC number. Example: record ESTC R019768 as: 510 4_ ‡a ESTC, ‡c R19768

Add a pink ESTC flag to the item to indicate to SC that there is an ESTC number in the record. Do not write the ESTC number on the flag.

SC will add UVic holdings to ESTC.

SC will let Metadata know if the ESTC number in the bibliographic record needs to be updated.

Example:

RBMS Controlled Vocabularies

Metadata will add, when appropriate, RBMS (Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries) Controlled Vocabularies to bibliographic records for rare and unique printed materials in Special Collections.

Background

The RBMS vocabularies are developed and controlled by the RBMS Bibliographic Standards Committee and provide a standardized vocabulary for the description of rare books by form, genre, and/or other physical characteristics including binding, paper, printing and publishing evidence, provenance evidence, and type evidence. These characteristics are of particular interest to some researchers and will aid in the discoverability of the unique and special aspects of the Special Collections rare book collection. 
The Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books) standards recommend the addition of RBMS terms for full-level records. In addition, many libraries, such as the American Antiquarian Society, the Folger Shakespeare Library, and the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University, are already incorporating the RBMS vocabularies into their descriptive cataloguing of special collections. 
As per the June 10, 2020 meeting minutes for the RBMS Controlled Vocabularies Editorial Group, work is underway to publish these vocabularies as part of the Library of Congress Linked Data Service (id.loc.gov). The PCC also has this listed as Strategic Direction 5.2 for 2018-2021: “Institute a process for endorsing vocabularies for PC
C use, developing best practices and documentation … [with] specialist communities (ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section …)”

Use of RBMS Controlled Vocabularies

The RBMS Controlled Vocabularies will be used for the following types of Special Collections printed materials:
-    Books published/printed earlier than 1910
-    Rare and/or limited edition books
-    One of a kind books (i.e. artists’ books)
-    Books with unusual and/or special characteristics (i.e. author’s autograph, bookplate)
-    Books identified by Associate Director of Special Collections

Apply terms as appropriate and only if readily ascertainable.

  • Do not subdivide terms.

RBMS Controlled Vocabularies

RBMS Thesaurus
Source Code $2
Parenthetical Qualifier
Geographic Subdivision
Chronological Subdivision
Website
Add $5 CaBViV
Example(s)
Genre Terms
rbgenr
[none]
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
No

655 #7 ‡a Books of hours. ‡2 rbgenr 

655 #7 ‡a Emblem books. ‡2 rbgenr 

Binding Terms
rbbin
(Binding)
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
Yes

655 #7 ‡a Gilt edges (Binding) ‡2 rbbin ‡5 CaBViV

655 #7 ‡a Armorial bindings (Binding) ‡z France ‡y 18th century. ‡2 rbbin ‡5 CaBViV

Paper Terms
rbpap
(Paper)
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
Yes

655 #7 ‡a Vellum (Paper) ‡2 rbpap ‡5 CaBViV

655 #7 ‡a British marbled papers (Paper) ‡2 rbpap ‡5 CaBViV

Printing & Publishing Evidence
rbpri
rbpub
 
(Printing)
(Publishing)
 
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
Yes

655 #7 ‡a Miniature books (Printing) ‡2 rbpri ‡5 CaBViV

655 #7 ‡a Privately published books (Publishing) ‡2 rbpub ‡5 CaBViV

Provenance Evidence
rbprov
(Provenance)
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
Yes

655 #7 ‡a Autographs (Provenance) ‡2 rbprov ‡5 CaBViV

655 #7 ‡a Bookplates (Provenance) ‡2 rbprov ‡5 CaBViV

Type Evidence
rbtyp
(Type evidence)
Do not subdivide
Do not subdivide
Introduction
Thesaurus
 
Yes

655 #7 ‡a Old Style types (Type evidence) ‡2 rbtyp ‡5 CaBViV

655 #7 ‡a Black letter types (Type evidence) ‡2 rbtyp ‡5 CaBViV

 

Examples:

Manuscripts

AMREMM (Descriptive cataloging of ancient, medieval, Renaissance, and early modern manuscripts)  - Used primarily for describing manuscripts of pre-modern, scriptorium era. There is also a copy located in: TEC Z695.5 P37 2003

DCRM(MSS) - Provides guidelines and instructions for the description of individual textual manuscripts. The term "manuscript" includes unpublished textual items.

  • Manuscripts are unique items, and though facsimile reprints of manuscripts are sometimes available, can necessitate original cataloging.
  • Acquisitions often provides a printed auction description of the item; and the auction site may still be available online for copy and paste of such details. 
  • Be sure to include alternative titles and spellings of same, and sufficient subject headings to provide multiple access points.
  • Manuscripts are similar to books in general but may require a different method of entering information in the 300 field (especially if using the AMREMM standard). 
  • Manuscripts require a more extensive description.  Make sure all names, places etc. are traced and that there are sufficient subject headings to provide multiple access points. 
  • Add a 650 Manuscripts [etc] – Specimens and a 655 Specimens.

Examples:

​INCUNABULA (produced prior to 1501) & PRE-1800 MATERIAL

  • Use DCRM(B) - Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books)
  • Title pages often contain more information than modern ones do. A name is often accompanied by titles, other works, places, etc. There may be dedications, or an imprimatur (a license for publication granted by an ecclesiastical or secular authority).
  • Enter the entire title page in the appropriate 245, 250 and 264 fields, including addresses.  However, if the full title would make the 245 too unwieldy, some parts, such as contents so often included with other title information, can be eliminated and recorded in a note.
  • The imprint often includes the addresses of the publishers, printers etc.  During this time period, the printer was often the publisher and the bookseller, the terms being somewhat flexible and often interchangeable.
  • Items may lack an imprint date, or include one in an archaic form. (French publications from 1793-1805 often used the Republican calendar, with the new year beginning on September 22, 1792, and the names of the months and days were changed. Differences between the Julian and Gregorian calendars can be misleading: until 1751 the legal year in England began on March 25; this can be reflected on the title page as “February 15 1700/1701”. A code-like chronogram may be used, and must be interpreted. 
  • For works published in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800, (usually in English) check the English Short Title Catalogue. Refer to ESTC section.

susan to help

susan to help

UVic Archives material – in the past, all UVic publications were classified in LE3 Vxxx. This often created long cutter numbers, particularly with the second cutter, since they were cuttered by main entry (which was usually University of Victoria …). Since around 2002, the policy was changed so that publications are now being classified in the subject area rather than in LE3 (i.e. Centre on Aging bulletin classified in the “Aging” classification range) -- from Document written by SJ/2012, Classification & Cuttering of Serials. (Policy confirmed October 2016 via email exchange with Jane Morrison, Associate University Archivist.)

 

[Add link to Serials holdings section]

Retrievals from Special Collections and University Archives

  • Send details of retrieval to scua1@uvic.ca
  • scua1@uvic.ca will be monitored by SCUA staff who are on back-up/retrievals
  • You will receive an email from scua1@uvic.ca when your request is ready for pick up in the Reading Room
  • When picking up a request, you will be asked to sign or initial a pre-filled yellow slip (printed material) or a pre-filled white permission to borrow form (archival materials)
  • Return the item to the Reading Room when you are finished with it
  • If the request is urgent, call local 8257

Refer to the Curriculum section of the Libguide.

External Locations and Reading Rooms

Karen D. to assist bringing over content from old LibGuide except VNFC

[Done as of Apr 25/22 KD]

Procedure created: 2016-08-11
  • For each book identified as CSRS “Found in Translation Collection” material:
  • Add a 590 field: 590 |a Found in Translation Collection.
  • There are no bookplates for the Found in Translation Collection
  • Retain dust jackets
  • Location code in the Holdings record = csrs
  • Write call number on inside back cover (or on page previous if there is decoration or dark color paper on inside back cover). Rubric = CSRS
  • Create TWO call number labels (Location code to be included in the rubric: CSRS)
  • Affix one call number label to the book, as usual.
  • Affix the other call number label to the upper left corner of a half-size piece of blank paper.
  • Create an item record, and add a barcode. Affix the barcode to the same piece of paper as the call number label.
  • Slip the piece of paper in the book.
  • If the resource is a video recording, write the rights on the slip of paper.

Send books to the Centre for Studies in Religion and Society

Attn: Centre for Studies in Religion and Society,
Administrative Coordinator
Last revised: 2019-06-11 (GLJ)
We sometimes receive gift material for the CLASSICS reading room, and occasionally, they will send some new titles (which they purchase themselves) to add to their own collection.
Check each title against the catalogue to identify those titles that we already have in the library database:
  1. Any duplicate titles (same edition) will be added locations.
  2. Unique titles will be flagged for CLASSICS and be searched and catalogued as normal.
  • Location code in holdings record: clas
  • NO barcode
  • NO item record
  • Rubric on verso of t.p. and on call number label: CLASSICS
  • Dust jackets are discarded/recycled (confirmed via M.Nugent email June 10/19)
  • Call number label* affixed in the usual place(s)
  • Gutter stamp “U of V”
  • NO tattle tape
  • In general, NO binding (there may be the odd exception).
  • Call number label creation:
Change the label printer font size to 12
(The word “CLASSICS” will not fit on the label at our usual, 14 size)
Don’t forget to change the label printer font size back to 14 afterwards!
Since there won’t be a barcode to scan in the label printer window, keep the Holdings record up in the Cataloguing module, go to the label printer window, and click on the “Get # from cat client instead” button (upper right corner of label printer window). The printer software will find the Holdings record, and take the call number from there.

Once processed, place item(s) in a bubble envelope and mail to:

Greek and Roman Studies (CLASSICS)
c/o Secretary, Clearihue B409

Last revised: 2018-11-21 (GLJ)

The material in the Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI) [formerly: Learning and Teaching Centre (LTC)] might also be referred to as the Judson Collection (named after an early staff member).

On Jan. 6, 2012, LTC brought over approx. 9 shelves of books. This formed the bulk of the collection at the time, but occasionally, they will send some new titles (which they purchase themselves) to add to their collection.

NOTE: In 2017, the name officially changed to Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI) from Learning and Teaching Centre (LTC)

  • Check each title against the catalogue to identify those titles that we already have in the library database:
  • Any duplicate titles (same edition) will be added locations.
  • Unique titles will be flagged for LTSI and be searched and catalogued as normal.
  • Location code in holdings record: teac
  • NO barcode
  • NO item record
  • Rubric on verso of t.p. and on call number label: LTSI
    • (note that the rubric was formerly LTC)
  • Dust jackets are discarded/recycled
  • Call number label affixed in the usual place(s)
  • Gutter stamp “LTSI”  (instead of “U of V”)
  • (LTSI stamps kept on processing table along with others)
  • NO tattletape
  • In general, NO binding (there may be the odd exception).
  • LTSI creates their own charge cards and pockets for their own lending purposes.

Once processed, place item(s) in a bubble envelope and mail to:

LTSI
Harry Hickman Bldg.
Last revised: 2019-10-07 (GLJ)
These books are part of a collection located at the Cowichan District Hospital Library in Duncan, BC.  These resources support the Duncan (Cowichan Valley) Integrated Clinical Clerkship (ICC) Program and should NOT display in our Libraries’ OPAC.  The location code: duncan (location name: Duncan Hospital Library) does not appear as a limit in OPAC.
Acquisitions staff will insert a green “Duncan Hospital Library” flag and place the item on the “Rush” shelf across from Dean’s office.  Unless specifically noted, they are not deemed to be true “Rush” items, but rather to be treated as higher priority.
 

Cataloguing

  • Catalogue as any other book. 
  • Add note to Bib:  590 _ _ |a Expanded Medical Program.
  • If added copy/location, then use:  590 _ _ |a Duncan copy: Expanded Medical Program
  • Location code in Holdings record:  duncan
  • If the book is unique (i.e., there is no other copy), then suppress both the Bib record and the Holdings record.  If the book is an added location, then suppress only the “duncan” Holdings record.
  • DO NOT BARCODE. (no item record)
  • Rubric on verso title page and call no. label:  DUNCAN
DUNCAN
RG107.5
U4D68
2012
  • NOTE re. Call number label creation:  Since there won’t be a barcode to scan in the label printer window, keep the Holdings record up in the Cataloguing module, go to the label printer window, and click on the “Get # from cat client instead” button (upper right corner of label printer window). The printer software will find the Holdings record, and take the call number from there.  Note, however, that the “duncan” Holdings record will need to be temporarily unsuppressed in order for this function to work.  Remember to suppress the “duncan” Holdings record again, afterward.

Processing (to be completed by Cataloguer)

  • These books receive minimal processing as follows:
    • Gutter stamp with the usual UVic “U of V” stamp
    • Affix call number label to the spine
    • NO tattle tape is required as the Hospital does not have a sensor system
    • NO barcode is required as the Hospital does not sign out the material and does not have access to the Library database
  • Leave completed, processed items on the processing table with their green “Duncan Hospital Library” flags and notify Kathy Mercer (kmercer@uvic.ca local 8254).  Kathy will arrange for pick-up and delivery to the Duncan (Cowichan) Hospital, as well as notify the subject selector that the material has been delivered. (Kathy will remove the green flags for re-use, but likes for them to remain in the books while awaiting pick-up, as visual confirmation

Glenda and Dean to fill this out

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.