From the Profile menu in the top right corner you can log in, log out, and view your profile. You can also view your submission and workflow items by clicking My UVicSpace.
From the pop-out sidebar menu on the left, you can add or edit new communities, collections, and items, and perform other administrative tasks depending on your permissions.
Items can include multiple files. The files attached to an item are called bitstreams.
Items are added to Collections, which belong to Communities. In order to submit an item to a collection, you must first be added to its submitter group by a collection administrator
Each type of submission (General/faculty publication, ETD, Graduate Project) has its own workflow through which an item is submitted, reviewed, and archived.
You can see your submissions and any items in workflows that you’re a part of through My UVicSpace.
The default view is Your Submissions, which shows all the items in your workspace and those you have already submitted. From the menu on the left, you can filter the list by Status, Type, and Date and specify how you would like the items sorted and displayed.
Each submission has two tags. The Item tag is automatically applied to all items in the repository. Other tags indicate the workflow stage the item is at:
To view items in your workflows, go to Show --> Workflow tasks.
This view shows all the items that are in workflows that you belong to. From the menu on the left, you can filter the list by Status, Type, Date, and Submitter and specify how you would like the items sorted and displayed.
The Item tag is automatically applied to all items in the repository. Other tags indicate the workflow stage the item is at:
Note: If you do not have the option to add an item, you must first be added to the submitter group for at least one collection.
Note: You can change the collection the item is being submitted to using the dropdown menu at the top of the page. The submission forms for ETDs and Graduate Projects have slightly different fields than the general submission form.
Author: This field uses the ORCID lookup tool to help disambiguate author names. Enter the last name of the author, then click Search. You can also enter the first name to limit the search results.
Title (required): Enter the title using sentence case.
Alternative Title: If the item has a translated title or another alternative title, enter it here in sentence case.
Date of Issue (required): Enter the year of publication (required). The month and day can also be added if necessary.
Publisher: If the item has been published, enter the name of the publisher. For journal articles, enter the name of the journal.
Citation: Enter the citation for the item in APA format. Note that the form does not support italics or hyperlinks.
Series/Report No.: Enter the series number or report number for the item, if applicable.
Identifiers: Select the type of identifier from the dropdown then enter the identifier string. For DOIs, select URI.
Type: Select the item type from the dropdown.
Language: Select the main language of the item from the dropdown.
Keywords: Enter the subject keywords for the item, each as a separate entry. Use lowercase unless keywords contain proper nouns (check the item for capitalization)
Abstract: Enter the abstract for the item. Note: the field does not support special formatting or hyperlinks.
Sponsors: Enter any funding sources identified in the item.
Description: Enter any other descriptive information for the item, e.g., acknowledgments.
Peer Review Status: Select the appropriate option from the dropdown.
Scholarly Level: Select the appropriate option from the dropdown.
Note: You can save the form at any time by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the screen.
Note: You can attach files at any time as you’re completing the submission form.
Title: edit the filename of the uploaded file, if necessary
Description: enter a description of the file, if necessary, e.g., if you are uploading an article an an associated dataset.
Access Condition Type: Embargos and other access conditions are applied at the file/bitstream level.
If the item has a Creative Commons license, select that license by answering the questions.
Note: Only select a CC license when the item has one already or the author has chosen one.
Ensure that the selected license is correct, then click I grant the license above.
In the rare instance that the item is in the public domain, select CC0, then click I grant the license above.
Click I confirm the license above.
Note: The Non-Exclusive Distribution License must be applied to all items deposited in UVicSpace.
When the submission form is complete, click + Deposit. The item will proceed to the next step in the workflow.
When the item has been approved and deposited into UVicSpace, a notification will be sent to the submitter's email.
The CSCO actively recruits content to include in UVicSpace. There are two primary workflows for this:
Faculty may ask us to upload their publications to UVicSpace (generally by email to the ScholCom inbox), or we may approach faculty directly.
For requests from faculty,
Faculty publication uploads and ORCID profile updates are tracked with the Faculty Publications Tracking spreadsheet.
All tracking sheets and other resources are located in Teams > Scholarly Communication > Faculty Publications.
Each team member will be assigned one or more databases to work on.
All templates and master lists are located in Teams > Scholarly Communication > Files > Faculty Publications > Database Uploads.
The tracking sheets are organized by date into separate tabs. Each worksheet include the following information:
Before you start searching for publications from a particular database,
When a batch of uploads has been approved into UVicSpace,
We regularly search several databases for publications by UVic authors that can be uploaded to UVicSpace. when selecting publications,
Note: The templates are dotx (Word template) files. If you save them to C: > Documents > Custom Office Templates, they will appear as template options when you open Word.
Note: for postprints, use the date it is being uploaded into UVicSpace, not the date of publication.
lastname_firstname_journalAbbreviation_publicationYear
e.g., klimstra_marc_sensors_2023
MDPI is a database of OA journals.
To begin, head to https://www.mdpi.com/
ScienceDirect is a database of OA and subscription-access publications.
You can either find, check, and download all the articles and their corresponding citations at once, or you can download them in batches as you upload.
Note: Confirm that the author is from UVic -- e.g., the affiliation often returns articles from authors at Victoria University, Melbourne
To review or edit an item, click Claim. A few things will happen:
Note: CC licenses should only be selected when a published item already has one or when an author has selected one for an unpublished item.
After you have reviewed and edited the metadata, click Save for later. This will return you to the Workflow tasks list.
Sometimes it is necessary to switch out files after an ETD has been archived in UVicSpace. Usually, the new file will be sent to you via email by one of the GARO clerks. If it is sent by the student, check with GARO (garo@uvic.ca) or FGS before making the switch.
There are two collections referenced in these procedures:
NOTE: ETDs will always have a withholding form designating the withhold start and end dates. A copy is available in the ETD email --> EDT! --> Withholding Issues --> ETD Withholds Embargoed or ETD Withholds Restricted subfolders.
NOTE: Only a UVicSpace Administrator is able to perform these tasks.
Since 2006, the ETDs in UVicSpace have been mapped to their home department theses collections. Only UVicSpace administrators can map items to other collections. Use the following procedures to map ETDs:
If you make a mistake when mapping an ETD, follow these steps to correct it:
|
ETDs must always remain part of the ETD collection under the Faculty of Graduate Studies in addition to any other collections they are mapped to.
|
To submit an item to a particular collection, a user must be added to that collection’s Submitters group.
If a user is no longer an active submitter in a collection, best practice is to remove them from the Submitters group. They can always be added back to the group if necessary.
All UVic theses and dissertations are archived in UVicSpace in the collection ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations).
This guide reflects the policies of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) and Graduate Admissions and Records Office (GARO), revised May 2011 and updated April 1, 2013.
ETD Withholds/Embargoes
ETDs are open access, but students can apply for a one-year embargo by submitting a signed Withholding Form to the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS). The withholding period may be renewed for an additional year. For more information, see Withholding your thesis or dissertation.
FGS forwards students’ signed Withholding Forms to etd@uvic.ca for reference.
FGS also forwards approved applications for renewals to etd@uvic.ca so that we can extend the renewal period manually in UVicSpace.
The submission workflow for ETDs is outlined below. Graduate Admissions and Records (GARO) and the Metadata team (CATS) review and approve ETDs, and direct any issues to the CSCO.
Sometimes it is necessary to switch out files after an ETD has been archived in UVicSpace. Usually, the new file will be sent to you via email by one of the GARO clerks. If it is sent by the student, check with garo@uvic.ca or FGS before making the switch.
ETD embargoes are recorded during the submission process, so they should lift automatically on the date specified. This process is for double-checking that ETDs have been released as expected.
Note: Before lifting an embargo, double check the ETD's withhold expiry date and that no renewal notice was received from FGS.
Note: In UVicSpace, embargo periods are not recorded explicitly. Rather, applying an embargo creates a READ policy that states when the file becomes openly available (that is, available to the user group Anonymous). Deleting the start date from this READ policy makes it active immediately.
Renewals must be processed as soon as the renewal notice is received in etd@uvic.ca to ensure that the embargo is not lifted automatically as scheduled. Unlike initial embargoes, renewals are processed manually.
Renewal notices from FGS have the subject line Thesis/Dissertation Withholding RENEWAL Approved – Student Name (or something similar).
Note: Changing the date in the dc.description.embargo field does not affect when the embargo is lifted. It is just a record of the date in the item’s metadata.
Note: Adding 2 days to the renewal expiry date is necessary due to a glitch in the system. For example, if the renewal expiry date is 2025-02-21, enter 2025-02-23 as the Start Date.
Note: The system calculates the start date for the READ policy as 1 day before the date entered in the Edit resource policy window. In this example, the renewal expiry date is 2025-02-21, so the file should become available on 2025-02-22. In order to generate a calculated start date for the READ policy of 2025-02-22, we need to enter the start date as 2025-02-23. The calculated start date on the Authorizations page is the date that the file will become available to all users.
Note: If a renewal notice is received after the embargo has expired, you will need to add the date in steps 5 and 6 above rather than edit it.
ETDs are deposited into the ETD collection, then mapped to their home department’s thesis collection. The CATS team is responsible for mapping ETDs, and they track this using the CATS webapp.
If you make a mistake when mapping an ETD, follow these steps to correct it:
Note: ETDs must always remain part of the ETD collection under the Faculty of Graduate Studies in addition to any other collections they are mapped to.
To prevent the submitter group in the ETD collection from getting too large, best practice is to regularly delete submitters whose thesis has been archived. Caroline (or Inba) will do this at the beginning of each month by reviewing the ETD collection submitter group against the list of theses in the CATS app.
Note: This will remove users from the ETD collection submitter group, but their user accounts will still be active.
We no longer use the Restricted ETDs collection in UVicSpace.
UVicSpace sometimes doesn't recognize that variant author names belong to the same person (e.g., Lee Turner, L. Turner, Lee N. Turner). For cases when we want to be able to link to all of an author's works from one page (e.g., when featuring them in a blog post), we need to combine their records under one name.
If an author's publications appear under several variants of their name (e.g., Turner, Lee; Turner, L.; Turner, Lee N.)
If an author's publications appear under the same name, but separated in the Browse by Author listing
By default, UVicSpace orders items in a collection according to the date they were accessioned (usually the same date they were made available). In some cases, we want items to appear in a different order, e.g., by publication date. To do this, change the accession date in the item's metadata.
Note: Dates have the format YYYY-MM-DD[T]HH:MM:SS (Year-Month-Day[T]Hour:Minute:Second), and are recorded in UTC (Coordinated Universal Time)
Ask us