Skip to Main Content
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Collection Management Services

Information on Collection Management Services and Operations

Before you start

  1. A faculty member sends an email to scholcom@uvic.ca OR uvicspacehelp@uvic.ca requesting assistance with updating their ORCID profile.
  2. A CSCO Supervisor replies to the email with the following message:

"Hello ___,

Thanks for getting in touch with us about updating your ORCID profile.
Here are your next steps:

  1. Could you send us an updated CV, and
  2. Make a change in your ORCID account to give us access to add works to your profile. Here are the steps to take once you've logged into your ORCID account:
  • Go up to your name in the top right corner,
  • Select Trusted parties,
  • Scroll down to Trusted individuals and type scholcom@uvic.ca to allow us access to add publications to your profile.

Once you have done that, I'll have a member of my staff get to work on it. We'll let you know as soon as this project is complete."

  1. The CSCO Supervisor tags the email thread with the label of the team member who will be doing the work.
  2. Once the faculty member has made us a trusted individual (ORCID sends an auto-generated email when this happens) and given us a list of their publications/a CV, the team member can begin.

Faculty ORCID Profile Updates are tracked in Outlook and in Teams.

  1. Outlook
    The CSCO team member completing the updates will create a folder to house all communications with the faculty member. Title the folder with the faculty member's name, and if they have only requested ORCID work (i.e. not UVicSpace uploads as well), mark the folder with -O.
    e.g. Aaron Dever-O
  2. Teams
    Use the FacultyPublicationsTracking spreadsheet to record all information associated with this update. This includes:
  • Name (Last, First)
  • Contact Info
    • Faculty
    • Department
    • Email - if you have been communicating with a delegate - e.g. a Lab Member or Assistant - on behalf of the faculty member, make a note here.
  • ORCID Updates
    • ORCID iD - record the hyperlinked URL.
    • Update ORCID? (Y/N) - some faculty members only want us to upload their publications to UVicSpace, and not update their ORCID. Since this is a dual tracking spreadsheet, make note if you are performing the ORCID service for them.
    • Status (Not started/ In progress/ Complete/ On hold) - update this column as you progress through the project by selecting a status from the drop-down menu.
    • ORCID Updated (yyyy-mm-dd) - record the date you finished the update/informed the faculty member of the project's completion.
    • ORCID Added to UVicSpace? - this column may come into play with future upgrades to UVicSpace. For now, it is not relevant and therefore you should leave this section be.
    • ORCID Notes
  • Publication Uploads to UVicSpace - there are subsections within here, but since you will not need to populate them for ORCID work.
  • Assigned To
    • Assigned To (Firstname) - name of CSCO team member who is doing the work.
    • Notes - keep ORCID-specific notes in the ORCID section of the spreadsheet. Use this section for notes relating to the whole suite of services you are performing for that faculty member.

When updating a faculty member's ORCID profile, you will need a complete list of their publications to work from. Some sources of this information we have used in the past are:

  • Curriculum Vitae (CV) (preferred) - the most frequently used source and the one requested by CSCO Supervisors in their initial communications. CSCO Supervisors will ask the faculty member for their most recent CV, thus ensuring that it is up to date.
  • Professional website - these may not always be up to date.
  • Google Scholar Profile - the profile only shares publications that have been indexed by Google Scholar, so beware that it may not be complete. Only use this source if the faculty member has requested that you do so.
  • ResearchGate Account - only use this source if the faculty member has requested that you do so.

To get a faculty member's profile and begin your updates:

  1. Go to orcid.org/signin and log in as Scholarly Communications (ask a CSCO Supervisor for this information).
  2. We had to have our own ORCID profile in order to update others. This is where you are automatically brought to.
    To get to the profile of the faculty member you are working on, click Switch to another account at the top of the page.

Switch to another account on ORCID.

  1. Select the name of the faculty member you are working on from the drop-down list. This list is organized by date that we were added as a trusted individual.
  2. Click Switch to another account again to go back our Schol Com account. Please note that in order to switch from one faculty member's profile to another, you must go back to our own account and then into the second person's.

Adding Biographical Information

There is certain information that needs to be inputted in a researcher's profile before we add their works. 

To add information, click on the pencil icon within each individual section.

The information that we must add is:

  • The researcher's UVic email
  • Their ID's (Scopus, and other ID's listed in their information)
  • Country (Canada)

This information may also be changed to public. To change information to public, click on the icon that looks like an eye, and change the eye setting to "everyone". The eye icon should be green to indicate that the public can see it.

If the professor has an email attached to this account that is not UVic, select the UVic email to the primary email for the account.

Do not change the visibility setting of any other email attached to the account.

Do not add, remove, or edit information in the following sections of a researcher's account:

  • Keywords
  • Names
  • Biography
  • Employment
  • Education and qualifications
  • Professional activities
  • Funding

Works (Adding Publications) - General Guidelines

Types of publications we add:

We only add works that have tangible outputs. Therefore, we add:

  • Journal articles
  • Book chapters
  • Books
  • Book reviews
  • Reports
  • Patents
  • Artistic works (i.e. exhibition catalogues, performances, paintings, etc.)

Types of publications we do not add:

  • Conference proceedings, presentations, and papers
  • Guest editor work on special editions of journal, or any other type of editorial work
  • Media appearances/interviews, or other types of grey literature

Check with a CSCO Supervisor if you are unsure whether you should add a work or not.

Metadata guidelines:

  • Work type
    • Use "Artistic performance" for Fine Arts outputs that are not traditional journal articles/book chapters
      • Some other categories may also work at your discretion (e.g. physical object)
  • Consult Cleaning & Checking Records for more information

Other guidelines:

  • Combine the preprint and/or postprint record of a published journal article with the version of record, making the final version the preferred source

Adding Publications with Search & Link

Using Search & link is the preferred method of adding publications to researchers' ORCID profiles.

To access, select the + Add button on the top of the section titled Works.

Select Search & link from the drop down menu. This will prompt a pop-up titled Link Works which contains all available databases to search for the researchers' publications to then link to their page.

Select the database that you believe would best suit your search. 

Ex. Select MLA International Bibliography if they primarily publish in the humanities.

Note

The three ways of search & link (+ Crossref/DataCite) listed here are not the only options and you are free to utilize the other methods if you choose.

After selecting Scopus - Elsevier you will be redirected to a page prompting you to select a Scopus profile to link to the ORCID account.

1. Select the profile(s) that match the researcher of the ORCID profile you are working on.

Make sure to pay attention to:

  • The subject area
  • Affiliation

...and that these match the information about the researcher.

2. Select the preferred name for the profile.

3. Review publications.

Scopus will automatically select all publications in the account to link to the ORCID profile. Go through the publications and make sure only the ones that are missing from the profile are selected. *be sure to select ones where the title is formatted correctly*.

To deselect publications click on the 'X' in the red circle.

4. Review profile.

Take this step as a chance to review that the information that is displayed by Scopus matches the information given by the researcher (i.e. what is in their CV). If it does not, go back and deselect the publication.

5. Send author ID

In the box prompting an email, input the researcher's UVic email. If Scopus asks if you would like to update the Scopus ID, select No.

6. Send publications 

After selecting MLA International Bibliography, you will be redirected to a screen that prompts you to authorize MLA International Bibliography's access to the ORCID account. 

1. Select Authorize Access

2. Search MLA by the researcher's name.

Use this field to add every known variant of the researchers name in published works. For example, if they have included their middle initials in some works but not others, this is a great way to ensure you are covering all bases.

3. Select the Find works icon to begin your search. 

This will redirect you to the results page.

4. Select the icon Add to ORCID for all the works you want to pull over. 

Works that have been added will display an Added to ORCID button.

5. Select Done once all relevant works have been added. 

The researcher's works from MLA should now be populated into their ORCID account. 

After selecting Crossref Metadata Search you will be redirected to a search bar.

1. Input into the search either:

  • The researcher's full name
  • The title of their work
  • The DOI of known works from the researcher

2. Select the work(s) you would like to add to the researcher's ORCID account by clicking add to ORCID

It will then confirm that you are sure that you would like to add this work into the ORCID profile. Select Yes

The researcher's works should then be populated into their ORCID account. 

Crossref has a second, separate system that interacts with ORCID. This is an auto-update system activated by invitation from your ORCID inbox. When a publisher submits a researcher's work (with their ORCID iD associated) to Crossref, Crossref will send a notification to the researcher's ORCID inbox asking for authorization to add that work to their profile. If authorization is granted, going forward Crossref will automatically add all new works registered with them to the researcher's profile.

  1. Go to the faculty member's inbox by clicking their name (their profile) in the top right corner of the screen, and selecting Inbox.
  2. Check for a notification from Crossref with the Subject Add your published work(s) to your ORCID record. 
    • If you are working on a profile that has just recently been created, there will be no such email. You thus will not be able to authorize Crossref auto-updates for the person.
  3. Click Grant permissions.

Adding Publications with other methods

After you have pulled in as many works as possible using Search & link, add the rest of the works using one of the other options.

Note

Feel free to use the Add PubMed ID feature if you would like, though it is not explained in this guide.

Utilize this option if the published work has a DOI.

1. Select the Add DOI option from the dropdown menu.

2. Paste the DOI or full URL into the search bar and select Retrieve work details from DOI.

This will direct you to a form with information that ORCID pulled in about the title. 

3. Fill in necessary information

Ensure that information like the Work type, Work title, Journal title, publication date, citation type, citation, and contributors are filled in and correctly formatted. 

4. Select add this work to your ORCID record.

The work should be added into the ORCID account. If it is not present, try refreshing the page.

This method requires you to have access to the researcher's work to some degree. This is in order to:

1. Download BibTex citation from the source. 

Recommended sources to get BibTex citations from:

  • ResearchGate
  • Google Scholar
  • UVic Library Search

After downloading the BibTex citation, on the ORCID profile, select the Add BibTeX option from the drop-down menu.

2. Select 'Choose BibTeX file to import' and choose the BibTeX of the work.

This will prompt a list to appear with the works linked to the BibTeX citation.

3. Select the correct work(s). 

ORCID will then populate the list with the newly added works. 

4. Edit the work's citation so that all of the information is correct and up to standard.

Note: The citation style may stay as BibTeX, as that is how it was imported. 

1. Select +Add and then Add Manually from the drop down menu. 

This will prompt a form to fill out with all information about the work.

2. Input all known information about the work into the correlating fields. 

Be sure to add any identifier that you have access to into the Work Identifiers Section. 

Ex. ISSN, DOI, ISBN. 

3. Select 'Save Changes'.

The work should be populated into ORCID from there. 

After Adding Publications

When Works are added into ORCID profiles, sometimes the information can be incorrect or formatted incorrectly. It is our job to ensure that the works are formatted accordingly. Here are some particular problem areas we've encountered:

Titles of Book Reviews

When ORCID populates reviews into the 'Works' section, it sometimes brings over a title that includes too much information. For example, it would bring over information about the book, the publisher, and the price of the book and input that into the title field. 

To remedy this, change the title of the work to "Review of title of reviewed work by Reviewed work author".

HTML

Delete any HTML that was added into the title when being pulled into ORCID.

Capitalization

All titles of works should follow sentence casing. 

Language

When a title is originally printed in another language, add the translated to English title in the field by selecting "show translated title" and filling out the necessary information.

Citations

All citations, except for when it is pulled in from BibTeX, should be APA.

Note: If a citation has been imported with information from a source that you are unable to edit, (e.g. Scopus) and it is formatted incorrectly, you will need to import that work's information from another source OR add it manually, and then combine works. 

If there are two or more of the same work, you will need to combine these files so that they share the same item spot. 

To do this you will need to:

1. Check the boxes of the identical works

2. Select the Actions drop-down menu, located on the top of the Works section

3. Select combine works.

This will prompt the system to confirm you would like to combine the works. Select combine selected works.

When two or more works have been combined, you will also need to select which work is the preferred source, meaning that it will be the public facing version of the citation. 

To change over the preferred source, select the text labeled Preferred source (of __).

This will prompt an extended list of the other citations of the same work. Select Make preferred source on the version you would like as the public-facing citation.

When you are finished

You will need to contact the faculty member and let them know that you have finished updating their ORCID profile. If they have not already asked you to do so, this email is also when you will ask them if they would like us to upload any publications to UVicSpace on their behalf.

Here's a modifiable email template you can send to them:

"Hello ______,

My name is _______. I am a member of UVic Libraries' Copyright and Scholarly Communications team assisting with ORCID.

I am getting back in touch to let you know that I have finished updating your ORCID profile with the relevant journal articles, books, book chapters [if you made the decision to add other types of publications, include them here]. This project is now complete. Please let me know if you have any questions, comments or concerns about this work.

We also provide a mediated deposit service for our institutional repository, UVicSpace. Is this something that you would be interested in? If yes, I would be happy to review your CV again to identify and upload any publications from the last two years on your behalf.

Thank you very much,

[Your name and email signature]"

Tips:

  • General practice has been to address the faculty member as "Dr. ___" (if they in fact have a PhD) in your first email to them. After that, you can address them by how they signed their return emails.
  • If you are working on the profile of a faculty member who has taken advantage of our service before, read the existing email threads in their folder.
  • If the faculty member asks you a question about ORCID profile updating, make sure you address it in your email. Examples of such questions are:
    • "ORCID does not seem to have a good way of automatically pulling in publications from my discipline. Do you know of a good way to do so?"
    • "I have published under several names and I want to make that clear on my ORCID profile. How do I do that?"

If at this point the faculty member returns to you saying they want their publications added to UVicSpace, go ahead and start on this project. Follow the Submitting items workflow of the UVicSpace Procedures guide.

If they do not want their publications in UVicSpace, the project is complete.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.