LibGuides: Collection Management Services: OER Advocacy

Resources

OER Advocacy Toolkit
This toolkit is a collection of help resources, designed to assist Copyright and Scholarly Communications (CSCO) @ UVic Libraries staff in their Open Educational Resources (OER) advocacy projects/initiatives. The majority of these resources were created by CSCO/UVic Libraries, or are customized to us. There are, however, lots of links to external resources as well.<br /> This toolkit is also available in Teams.

Available in Teams.

Please note that this slide deck is still a work in progress.

University of Victoria Teach Anywhere - Open Educational Resources Grant
The Open Educational Resources grant supports learning and teaching projects that focus on the adoption, adaptation or development of Open Educational Resources (OERs), with the aim of replacing existing textbooks or other types of educational resources that can be prohibitively expensive. Ideally, the completed OERs will be useable not just at UVic, but other post-secondary institutions. OER grants are offered as a partnership between UVic Libraries and the Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI).

Author Funding @ UVic webpage
Information on memberships and agreements that benefit scholars at UVic to publish open access in a number of peer-reviewed journals by paying a discounted fee for author/article processing charges (APCs).

OER by Discipline Directory by ePublishing Services, UVic Libraries
Publication Date: 2023

CC BY 4.0
This OER by Discipline Directory was adapted for the UVic context from the BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory. It lists a wide range of open educational resources organized according to the UVic faculties structure. This directory is updated as new resources are identified.

These steps outline the process of adding a resource into the Discipline Directory.

Determine what chapter the resource will go in
Use the subjects listed on the book or use your discretion to add it to the most appropriate discipline.
Determine what type of resource it is
Each chapter is organized by the type of resource (e.g. textbook, video, course, etc.). Ensure you put the resource in the right category.
Add an entry for the resource
1. Leave all text in Paragraph form (including the hyperlinked resource title),
2. Include the name of the resource (hyperlinked to the resource itself)
3. After the title, put it’s CC license in brackets. If it does not have a CC license (i.e. is in Public domain, or is freely shared under some other form of license), note this in the brackets.
4. If the resource was created in BC or Canada, insert the appropriate image before the resource title.
5. Copy and paste the resource’s abstract, summary, or introduction below the title.
Change the “Last updated” date of the chapter
Change it to the day you added the resource.
Save your changes
Scroll down the edit page to the “Status & Visibility” section and click Save.
View the chapter
To ensure your new entry looks as it should.

If you need to add a new Category (i.e. "Collections", "Courses", "Textbooks", "Videos", etc.) to a chapter, insert it as Heading 1 text
Feel free to add new chapters, but make sure they follow the look and format of all the rest