Collection Management Services

Books Accompanied by Discs

If the book has a disc in a pocket inside the book, add the existence of the disc to the bibliographic record as follows:

• Add + $e to the 300 field:
  • Example: 300 // $a 225 pages : $b illustrations ; $c 26 cm + $e 1 CD-ROM (4 3/4 in.)
• Add 500 note if necessary:
  • Example: 500: Includes CD-ROM in back pocket entitled: Cats I've loved.
• If the disc requires a pocket to be added to the book, place the book in Maggie's "Need's processing" tray located in the 260 mending area
• Add appropriate  "Check for ..." sticker to front of book; below the barcode

If the book is accompanied by a disc that is housed in a separate jewel case as follows:

• Add + $e to the 300 field:
  • Example: 300 // $a 225 pages : $b illustrations ; $c 26 cm + $e 1 CD-ROM (4 3/4 in.)
• Add 500 note if necessary:
  • Example: 500: Accompanied by CD-ROM: Cats I've loved.
• Add 867 to Holdings
  • 867 31 $8 0 $a CD supplement: Cats I've loved.
• Add an item record for the supplementary material

Receipt of print serials (general):

1. Open packaged serial. Always keep package with serial until item has been received and processed.

2. Search for item in Alma. Confirm bibliographic information matches item in hand. Watch for title changes, etc.

3. Read and follow any Receiving notes. Processing notes are always noted in upper case. See the comprehensive list of standardized processing notes currently located here: Standard Receiving (Processing) Notes  Original Voyager list may be found on the W-drive > LTEC > Serials > PROCESSING NOTES 2019

4. If BARCODE* note is present: Create item record and add barcode, enumeration/chronology, item type, item policy, copy ID to item record. (For details, see “Serials” section of  “Receipt of Continuous (Physical) Material” under Acquisitions and Electronic Resources > Receiving and Activation.) If ANALYZED note is also present: tick "keep in department" and route to Metadata.

5. Watch for serial S/O's: match item in hand with invoice before receiving.

6. Affix call number label as appropriate (hand printed label - black ink only for items located in the McPherson - affixed in upper right corner for most periodicals; machine printed label on lower spine or lower left corner for most other serials.)

7. Property stamp or gutter stamp as appropriate

8. Route for pick up by Stack Maintenance staff

9. For items not found in Alma:  See "Unsolicited Folder"  on the W-drive > LTEC > Serials 

10. Route any questions, record update requests, etc. to Metadata supervisor (serials) or serials@uvic.ca

*Current serial BARCODE policy: Create items for material that is published annually or less frequently. Unless directed, DO NOT create item records for periodical material. For holdings, always see summary holdings expressed in field 866, second indicator zero. Periodicals may be barcoded for ILL as necessary (item policy = no circ; label material FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY)

Current receipt of Special Collections and University Archives print serials

1. Open packaged serial. Always keep package with serial until item has been received and processed.

2. Search for item in Alma. Confirm bibliographic information matches item in hand. Watch for title changes, etc.

3. Read and follow any processing notes. Processing notes are always noted in upper case. A comprehensive list of standardized processing notes can be found on the W-drive > LTEC > Serials > PROCESSING NOTES 2019

4. Watch for serial S/O's: Match item in hand with invoice before receiving.

5. For annuals or serials issued less frequently than annual, follow the procedure located in the SCUA Item Records and Barcodes section.

6. For all other serials, follow this procedure:

• As of April 19th, 2023, the Serials Services Processing Form 1 will not be used
• In pencil only, print the call number on the item as follows:
  • Journals, magazines, digests: call number is penciled inside back cover; upper right corner
  • Newsletters, newspapers: call number is penciled on front cover; upper right corner

(sc),ova
E
25
.H3

• Do not use paper clips or elastics to keep issues together
• Do not property stamp or gutter stamp
• Instead, use a file folder or a pam box to keep issues together
  • A supply of file folders and empty pam boxes can be found at the bottom of the SCUA pick up shelves
  • Label file folder as "New title" if the serial is new for SCUA
• Place items ready for pick up on the SCUA pick up shelves
  • If item(s) are valuable and/or fragile, place on the middle shelf of the SCUA locked cabinet that is located opposite Karen Nelson's workstation

Route any questions, record update requests, etc. to Metadata supervisor (serials) or serials@uvic.ca

Last revised: 2024-06-26 (GLJ)

The Music and Media Unit is responsible for the processing of most Music and Media material.  This includes: soft bound scores, CDs, DVDs, Curric Collection kits, and other various Music and Media material.

Hard bound scores without parts (i.e. do not require the creation of pockets, etc.) are simply placed on the truck for regular end-processing by Access Services.

For soft bound scores, print call number in pencil on title page verso.

For sound recordings, include accession number on post-it note or paper with call number visible inserted in container.

Upon completion of cataloguing, Scan-in as Cataloging-Done and place any material requiring Music and Media processing into the labelled tray next to the Rush/Priority tray for books (by Pillar D-9).  Access Services staff will collect any items for Music and Media processing at the same time as they collect the Rush/Priority tray and end-processing truck.  If an item is too large for the tray, then simply place it directly onto the end-processing truck.  Access Services staff will do all the sorting for further processing.

Email  libmedia@uvic.ca  for any processing-related or general M&M questions.

For monographs, annuals and serials issued less frequently than annual, refer to the SCUA Item Records, Processing and Locations section

For serials, refer to the SCUA Serials Processing Information section

How to tie a book with cotton twill tape:

• Use only one piece of twill tape
• Tie the bow on the fore-edge or on the top edge of the book. This will ensure that the book is as flat as possible and that the bow will not cause any damage to the books sitting beside it on the shelf.