Collection Management Services

Students, faculty, staff, and the public can submit tickets to the Esource Help queue in libanswers.

There is a rotating weekly schedule for responsibility of troubleshooting tickets posted on the whiteboard in 260, with a primary person and a backup person.
 

Responsibilities of Primary:

• Keep libanswers website open and monitor esource help queue.
• Attempt to resolve incoming tickets and respond to ticket-submitter.
• If the ticket requires any of the below actions, assign the ticket to the listed staff member, and notify them.
  • Directly emailing a law vendor: Paul
  • Directly emailing a media vendor: Carol
  • Directly emailing any other vendor: Debbie
  • Updating the Database of Databases: Debbie
     
• If a ticket from a previous week resurfaces with continued issues in a new week, it becomes the responsibility of the primary person in the new week, not the past week.
   

Responsibilities of Backup:

• Staying aware of the weekly schedule of Primary.
• Monitor esource help if the Primary is not in (AWW, Vacation, long appointments, Sick).
• No need to monitor during lunch/breaks.
• No need to monitor when the Primary person is in (one monitor at a time).

Right click and drag to move around the diagram

See "Ordering - Oddities and Exceptions" tab

Incorporating the Community Zone Updates Task List into Your Workflow

The following procedure is suggested for incorporating the Community Zone Updates Task List into your workflow.

To incorporate the Community Zone Updates Task List into your workflow:

1. Access the Community Zone Updates Task List once per week.

2. Review the updates made to your Institution Zone records from the Community Zone updates.

   1. Apply the Community Zone Updates Task List filters that are useful for your particular institutional workflow. You may find it more useful to apply the filters and check the electronic collection-level changes before applying the filters and checking the portfolio-level changes.

   2. As you filter and view the entries, look for:

      • Deleted portfolios - These are portfolios that were deleted in the Community Zone and have become local portfolios. You will need to decide whether the portfolio should be deleted. This decision will most likely be determined by whether there is still access to the resource.

      • Portfolios that were added to the aggregator collection but were not automatically activated - The portfolio is not automatically activated if it was initially chosen on the collection level. You need to decide if the portfolio should be activated.

      • Portfolios where the global coverage was updated and the library has local coverage - You will need to determine if you want to remove the local coverage.

3. Dismiss the records for which you have accepted the update using Dismiss Selected or Dismiss All. Note that you need to specify a date range when using the Dismiss All option.

   The expectation is that the vast majority, if not all, of the entries will be dismissed.

• Alma builds the link using the metadata information in the CDI (central discovery index). It looks like there is something incorrect in their data so it doesn't link properly.
• We can't fix it on our end
• You will have to submit a case through the Ex Libris customer support portal
  • ProQuest & Ex Libris Support
  • Log into site
  • Platform/Service – ExLibris
  • Next
  • Select your Asset (start typing in the box below) it should be University of Victoria- CDI
  • Next
  • Proceed to fill out form
  • Be sure to include the following in your description
    • A permalink to the record/s exhibiting the issue.
    • A detailed description of the current behavior.
    • A description of the desired behavior.
    • A screenshot or screenshots which will allow us to view the issue on our side, if possible.
  • Record the case # in the LibAnswers
  • Follow up with Ex Libris Support if need be

NA Sept 2022

Database of Databases (DofD)

Activating Electronic Collections:

1. Search for electronic collection
2. Active
3. Opens wizard
   1. Leave public name blank unless a different name is desirable (ie known differently) – the collection name displays
   2. Leave Library blank give we are not restricting to IP ranges
   3. Level URL – blank because we are also suppressing collection level records
   4. Additional descriptive information – leave as is
   5. Mark bib record as suppressed: Check box to suppress collection level records
   6. Electronic Collections Proxy Enabled: YES
   7. Electronic Collection Proxy Selected: Should always be set to “Default”
   8. Full text service:
      1. Activate this e collection service: Check box
      2. Maker service available: Check box
      3. Automatically activate new portfolios: Check box if purchased all titles
   1. Active from date: until date:  leave blank
   10. Service Public Name: can leave blank
   11. Service Public Note: blank – unless necessary to add info
   50. Service Authentication note: blank unless needed
4. Submit
5. Confirmation pop up window – Confirm
6. Step 2 of Activation Wizard
   1. Leave Paremeter Name – Values blank expect for specific databases requiring this information (ie GALE and ProQuest for customer ID or locID)
      1. Patricia Pang has a list of Collections requiring this information
   2. Full text Service – Proxy Set up
      1. Proxy Enabled: click to YES

6. 1. 2. Proxy Selected: Should be Default
7. Click Next – Step 3
   1. Activation Type: determine type but typically would be activate all
8. Click Next – Step 4
   1. Activation Summary
      1. Confirm this looks correct

8. 1. 2. Activating portfolios
      3. Activating collection Plus service
9. Click Activate
10. Test Access in Primo
    1. Click on portfolio List
    2. Click on Linking information
       1. Pop up window appears

1. 1. 2. Use the hyperlink URL
      3. Check that title matches
      4. Access is available

NOTE: some collections have an additional screen regarding CDI 

We Subscribe to Only Some Titles in this Collection
This is a misleading phrase. This does not necessarily mean how you subscribe to the collection with the vendor. This setting determines the availability statement in Primo VE. 

• YES -> CDI matches on standard identifier (ISSN/ISBN) to determine if Available or Not Available 
• NO -> The entire collection is marked as Available 

As we've discussed: when collections have content that have standard identifiers (e.g. books, journals), you may select YES. This tells CDI to perform match on standard identifier. When match is found using standard identifier, this produces accurate availability statement. 

When collections have content that does not have standard identifiers (e.g. videos, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc), you may select NO. In this case, there is no match on standard identifier to produce the availability statement; when selecting NO there is a blanket availability statement applied to all content in the collection. 

If you are not sure what is in the collection, use the defaults, which are explained in the documentation:

• If type LINK IN RECORD = NO (default setting for LINK IN RECORD type)
• If type LINKRESOLVER = YES (default setting for LINKRESOLVER type)

LP/PP/DA 9Nov22

Remove Community Zone Electronic Collection from UVic Discovery

If a Community Zone Electronic Collection (and its constituent Portfolios) has been activated but now has to be deactivated (because we no longer subscribe or want to replace with a Local Electronic Collection) do the following:

1. Search for the Electronic Collection in the Institution Zone - this should surface the Electronic Collection you want to delete (it will have the Community Zone icon but this merely means it has been activated at UVic)

2. When you've found the correct collection, click on the ellipses and click on Delete - NOTE : this will only delete our attachment to the Community Zone collection (NOT delete the Community Zone Collection for all Alma Users). W

You will then be prompted to choose how to handle bibliographic records (that will be without inventory because of deletion) that were linked to this collection. Your options are:

• Do Nothing

• Delete Bibliographic Records

• Suppress Bibliographic Records

You will want to choose "Delete Bibliographic Records" as you are interested in removing the collection entirely. 

A job will be run to delete the collection from UVic's system along with its constituent title-level records.

See the following documentation from Ex Libris:

https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Alma/Knowledge_Articles/How_to_Clean_Up_Electronic_Resources

Dean - Aug.23/2022

DRAFT - working with Emma.

Some eBook turnaway reports now come into esource unit email

When report is received, please send to reserves@uvic.ca identifying the current access level, i.e. single or 3 user

Reserves staff will look to see if title is listed for a course and will respond back either advising it is not on Course Reserves or that it is and identifying the course, number of students etc.

• If item is on Course Reserves, recommendation will be made whether to purchase another limited access eBook or print - see reserves ordering process.
• If not on course Reserves but rather thru Brightspace, automatically order 2nd copy of eBook, if it is under $100.00 USD, using INTR1E fund with the reporting code INTR1ER - Intentional duplicate eBooks triggered by ReQuest and Reserve

If you can't find a Community Zone Electronic Collection for the Collection (Database or Package) UVic Libraries is activating, there is a formal process in place to ask that Ex Libris add it. This also applies to requests to enrich existing CZ collections.

Good background on how Content is added is available from a presentation by Ex Libris. Available as a video and a PDF.

The documentation from Ex Libris provides more details on the process and these instructions should be followed. Broadly, though, here is the process:

New Collections and Enhancement Requests

• Do a thorough check to see if the collection is already present in the Community Zone.
• If you are certain the collection is not present, let your supervisor or one of the CMS Librarians know. For the time being, they will put requests through on the idea exchange instead of everyone doing this themselves.
• The process once you are on the idea exchange (currently for librarians/supervisors):
  • Search for the collection to see if another institution has posted a request for the collection to be added
  • If the collection has not been added yet, add an Idea to the Idea Exchange Content Section
    • Specify New Provider or Existing Provider.
      • If the collection is for an Existing Provider, this will go straight to Ex Libris Content for next steps.
      • If the collection is for a New Provider, these will be added as Ideas and voted upon by the community

Errors in an Existing Collections

If the issue is that there is an error in the existing collection or portfolio, create a Support Case.

dean - july 7, 2023

Definition

CTO = context object : this shows context services offered by OpenURL link resolver

Use Case

CTO = ACCESS: use when you want to understand why a full text link is or is not appearing in the view it section; use when you are having issues accessing the full text

Bookmarklet

Make a bookmark and edit the address to:

javascript:(function(){window.s0=document.createElement('script');window.s0.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');window.s0.setAttribute('src','https://bookmarkify.it/bookmarklets/13443/raw');document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0].appendChild(window.s0);})();

Definition

PNX = raw Primo record : this shows what is indexed by Primo VE and why information appears in the results

Use Case

PNX = METADATA: use when you want to understand why something is appearing in the results (e.g. why it appeared in a certain query, why it appears under a certain facet, etc)

Bookmarklet

Make a bookmark and edit the address to:

javascript:(function(){window.s0=document.createElement('script');window.s0.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');window.s0.setAttribute('src','https://bookmarkify.it/bookmarklets/13349/raw');document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0].appendChild(window.s0);})();

• If someone is trying to access something off campus and is having difficult but it seems to be working on campus try adjusting the link to include this at the front of the link https://ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/login?url=

Ezproxy example https://ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/login?url=https://justis.vlex.com/#sources/34988

• Email Sandy Gordon sagordon@uvic.ca so he can add an ezproxy to the system

Proxy Problem Related to Zotero

Some proxy problems have been caused by a feature in the citation manager Zotero.

Zotero helps by adding the proxy to all links from a site, but sometimes that proxy is incorrect or just doesn't resolve correctly.

If you are able to access the content but the user is not, ask them to try their browser in incognito or private mode. (See: Troubleshooting - Useful Tools)

If that solves the problem, clearing the cache and cookies should fix it. (See: Troubleshooting - Useful Tools)

Here are instructions from Zotero https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/proxy_troubleshooting

Another solution is to make sure the user has the latest version of Zotero installed.

Updated IP ranges (current as of Aug 30 2023

CIDR Notation       Range Notation

------------------------------------------------------------

142.104.0.0/16      142.104.0.0 - 142.104.255.255*   (142.104.195.1-29 is also Environment Canada's range, as they have a lab on campus) 

134.87.128.0/18     134.87.128.0 - 134.87.191.255*

134.87.32.0/19      134.87.32.0 - 134.87.63.255

206.87.80.0/20      206.87.80.0 - 206.87.95.255

206.87.160.0/19     206.87.160.0 - 206.87.191.255

206.12.224.0/19     206.12.224.0 - 206.12.255.255 (currently allocated to student wireless connections) 

206.12.50.0/24      206.12.50.0 - 206.12.50.255 (VPN subnet for students)

206.12.60.0/24      206.12.60.0 - 206.12.60.255

206.87.64.0/21      206.87.64.0 - 206.87.71.255

* these are our largest and have the most traffic so if we are limited in # of IP ranges, those these two 

Our proxy IPs are 
142.104.240.194 and 142.104.32.81 so if we are limited to a single IP address, chose one of these two. 

UVic IPs can be found on this site, but only the above listed need to be given to vendors. 

https://bgp.he.net/AS16462#_prefixes 

PSI and  IPRegistry.org

We are registered with the IPRegistry

They hold our IP information so different publishers can retrieve it. Any changes to our IP ranges must be updated in the IPRegistry using our username/password. https://app.theipregistry.org/

A publisher may ask for our organization's PSI Org ID in order to process a renewal or new subscription.

Our PSI registry information is available in the following document:

E-Resources Information - IP PSI Base URL etc.docx - link to connect not working

More information available here https://www.psiregistry.org/

When new IP ranges are added, please also supply to:

Harrassowitz via FOKUS (ask Manager or Supervisor to do this)
 

Instructions for UVic VPN can be found here: https://www.uvic.ca/systems/support/internettelephone/remoteaccess/index.php

VPN is not necessary to access library resources, and students using VPN will still need to log in using the proxy server.

Resolver Information

Vendors will need to be notified of UVic LIbraries' Base URL and other related information available here:

Link resolver information will need to be updated at the Vendor admin site. This should be done during setup at initial purchase but should also be verified annually. 

Base URL:  

https://search.library.uvic.ca/openurl/01VIC_INST/01VIC_INST:01UVIC? 

 Image URL 

- 

Link Text 

Where can I get this? 

Online Only Migrated Order Records

Background: Migrated online only purchase orders are attached to DAR's in the institution zone. 

Our goal in Alma is to associate the ongoing order for the online version with the title from the Community Zone (when available) rather than the Dummy Acquisitions Record from Voyager. This is most important for open, ongoing orders and less important for closed, one-time orders.

Make note of the POL number and MSS ID you need to relink (active order) and then the MMS ID of the preferred CZ bib record. Record it on Notepad or similar device external to Alma. Other option is to have 2 instances of ALMA open.

1. Search for the portfolio that corresponds with the order using your preferred search method. If you're not sure which portfolio is associated with the order, ask an eResource staff member or if vendor is Harrassowitz check FOKUS

2. Edit the portfolio, either by clicking View then Edit, or just Edit

3. Click on the Acquisitions tab, copy and paste the POL number in the PO Line box. NOTE: If the order has a status of Open, it will appear. If it is Closed (e.g. for an e-book), you will need to click through to an expanded search and deselect the Active filter, so All orders (from this material supplier) will be searched.

4. Select the order by clicking on it

5. Save the portfolio

Change the Bib Reference for the Migrated Order

This does not happen automatically; there are often multiple portfolios for a given title, or multiple orders for a title, so they must be linked manually.

1. Search for the migrated order using the order number.

2. Click on the PO Line number and click on EDIT

3. Select Change bib reference from the row action item list

4. You will be prompted with a question, Click Confirm when prompted.

5. Alma executes a title/ISSN search. Select the CZ version (confirm with MSS ID) from the results screen (it may be the only option) or edit the search if necessary. 

6. Save

The acquisitions profile does not have permissions to delete portfolios so for now note the MMS ID and POL in the Excel spreadsheet that is in the eResource Training Teams

These instructions were borrowed heavily from the Harvard Wiki

Sometimes a book is too new to appear in the CZ. If you know which collection the title will eventually appear in, you can make a local portfolio for that book in the correct CZ collection and link it when the CZ portfolio is available.

1. Catalogue the title in the institution and create a local portfolio in the electronic collection

[need to verify do we use provisional record instructions here]

IMPORTANT: add the ISBN of ISSN because that will be used later to link the record to a CZ record

2. Find the CZ electronic collection you want and click "Edit Service"

a. Click the Portfolios tab

b. choose Add Local Portfolio

c. check Use Existing title and choose the title just catalogued

d. under General Information, check Part of an electronic collection for the portfolio type and make sure the listed collection is the one you want

The local portfolio is now in the electronic collection

3. Order the resource

a. create an order (POL)

b. activate the resource

The title is now discoverable in Primo

This is used when the CZ portfolio is available and can replace the local portfolio.

1. Edit service of Electronic Collections

a. go to Portfolios tab

b. click Link Local Portfolios to Community

c. make sure Use the community bibliographic records is checked to Yes

d.click Link on top right corner

e. confirm job will run

When our coverage for a online resource is different than the default coverage supplied by the CZ record, we need to modify this information so it displays correct coverage in Primo

In Alma, search within the Institution Zone, using 'All Titles-Keywords' or 'All Titles-Titles' search parameters, to find the portfolio that needs to be modified.

Find the Portfolio that needs to be updated and click on 'Edit Portfolio' which will open up the 'Electronic Portfolio Editor.'

On the portfolio’s ‘Coverage’ tab:

• Under Local Date information, Add Date Information to add the date range that UVic has access to
• If the coverage is Rolling - under the Local Embargo/Rolling Year section choose the appropriate values
• At the top of the tab, under "Which coverage statemement will be applied?" - select "Only local"

Confirm your change within Primo. This should display our local coverage instead of the "global coverage" present in the CZ record.

To make a local collection 

1. Create a local collection through Resources > Create Inventory > Add Local Electronic Collection

2. Public name: Choose something descriptive but not confusing to those outside the library as this will display in Primo

• Collection type: Aggregator package
• Service type: Full Text
• Access type: Perpetual
• if the publisher exists in Counter Platform it can be added but this is optional
• Save and Continue

Electronic Service Editor

• Activation tab > Service activation status: change to Available
• Linking tab > Service is free? Not Free
• Linking tab > Proxy enabled Yes Proxy selected Default (currently:EzProxy) *Remember only doing it on the Collection level is not enough; Service overrides other levels*
• Save

Electronic Collection Editor

• change the info as above
• Save

If you want to search by locally loaded collection, look at the Index Labels and what field it is called. Then you can do an advanced search for the collection

For example where (c.search.index_names.local_field_960 contains keywords "Eighteenth Century Collections Online") will bring up our locally loaded ECCO records.

Ingenta is a hosting platform. Journals may move to a different hosting service, resulting in a Page Not Found error.

Check with Harrassowitz where access should be and our entitlements

If there was a publisher change, update the existing publisher info with this standardized PO note:

P: old publisher (old publisher URL) from the start of 20XX / Until the end of 20XX, this journal was published by new publisher (new publisher URL);

Make sure to use the same wording for the publisher so the phrase can be searched.

Find the portfolio in CZ and activate, changing the entitlements as necessary

Delete the old portfolio, including the bibliographic details when prompted

We have purchased all of the ebook archives, extended backfiles, and all collections. 

Canadian Electronic Library (CEL) hosted some government documents, policy documents, ebooks, Irwin Law collection. Their platform was called desLibris.

Info from ExLibris Knowledge Article:

Canadian Electronic Library was sold (see https://my.canadianelectroniclibrary.ca/news), and titles are now available to libraries on the new Canada Commons platform.  The desLibris platform was closed on June 30, 2022.

The developers of Canada Commons are planning to set up metadata deliveries to linking and discovery services, but they're not ready to do that yet. Each desLibris URL now redirects to the same title on Canada Commons.  

Please note:

 - Canada Commons only offers subscription access, but libraries that previously purchased perpetual access licenses to CEL books can still access those titles on Canada Commons.

 - The Ulysses Travel Guides collection was merged with the main subscription books collection in January 2022.  (The subscribers to the Ulysses collection also subscribe to the main collection, so this did not cause a problem for anyone.)

 - The Irwin Law collection has been discontinued because CEL no longer have distribution rights for those titles.

Why is this Irwin Law title not working / not in the catalogue?

The links to Irwin Law collection through desLibris no longer work, and are not on the Canada Commons site. Search the vLex site or look for the title in the KBART

Also Irwin Law Collection in Alma may be missing some titles that we have access to, mainly titles in Irwin Law Archive. The search in vLex might not find the book. Look for the title in the KBART

PP Oct 2022

The site to download a KBART file for the Irwin Law eLibrary (Current and Archive):  

https://explore.vlex.com/#/by-product/en/NORTH_AMERICA/CA/WBIRLA/4_01 
 
You can use the download function in the top right so select both the Irwin Law and Archive collections and it will download a KBART file for you.

Use this to check for an Irwin Law title not yet in Alma.

Proquest Academic Complete is a subscription, with titles removed from the collection every June and December. A list of titles being removed is sent to Acquisitions, along with usage data, a few weeks prior to removal for an opportunity to purchase and own the titles perpetually. 

• Acquisitions, reviews the usage data,
  • searching the titles for alternate access
  • checks in with Reserves 
• List is then sent back to ProQuest 

Alma does not use a separate collection for Proquest Academic Complete so the best way to tell if a book is owned or subscription is to look in the Acquisitions tab of the portfolio for the Purchase Model.