Last revised: 2024-02-09 (GLJ)
A) Physical - Standing Order Non Monograph:
Standing Orders for ADDED VOLUMES (A/V's) should have a POL type of Physical - Standing Order Non Monograph.
On receipt of the added volume:
Acquisitions staff will: Follow instructions in the receiving note of the POL: CREATE ITEM & BARCODE; KEEP IN DEPARTMENT; ADDED VOLUME: INSERT "MONOGRAPH - ADD" FLAG; ROUTE TO METADATA
Metadata staff will: Update bib record; update holdings; confirm item record details. The item's material type, policy, etc. should correspond to previous volumes. Watch for item policy of “no circ” and label item FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY as appropriate.
When the last* volume is received:
*This is referring to when the last published volume is received. For those publications that are issued out of sequence, wait until you are certain that the publication has ceased before closing off the Bib record.
B) One Time (purchased or gift)
Added volumes may be received as purchased or as gift material.
Purchased:
Gifts:
Last revised: 2024-01-25 (GLJ/SF)
Added copies may be received as purchased or as gift material.
NOTE: Since Alma, Added copies for the same location are added at the Item record level only.
Purchased:
Gifts:
Last revised: 2024-01-25 (GLJ/SF)
Items for added locations may be received as purchased or as gift material.
Purchased:
Gifts:
When an order is cancelled, neither an invoice nor inventory are expected. While we may "cancel" an order with a vendor, in Alma, if we have received and paid for inventory, we will close, not cancel, the PO/POL.
When an order is closed, all inventory has been received and the order is complete.
In Alma, if you cancel a POL that is the only order on that purchase order (including all migrated orders), Alma will delete the PO line’s inventory – both the holdings and the items – unless that inventory has been received or activated. If the POL has a bib and holdings record, but no items yet, cancelling the POL will delete the holdings record.
In contrast, when you close a POL, the holdings and items remain untouched.
Are you creating a new bibliographic record because of a title (or other) change?
Update the bibliographic and holdings records for the ceased title as appropriate. Create a new bibliographic record for the new title with holdings and inventory as appropriate
Advise orders@uvic.ca to close the PO/POL for the ceased title; and that a new PO/POL is required for the new title.
Draft Nov.2/22/sfm - Process to be confirmed
When a new record is required due to a change of title (but NOT a format change) Draft sf/1/24
1. Create a new bibliographic & holdings record for the new title ; Update bib and holdings for previous title
2. If purchased,:
3. Advise orders@uvic.ca of new title (bib reference) and MMS ID associated with the POL. Acquisitions will update their records as necessary
For announcements about significant forthcoming changes: i.e. title change, format change, cessation:
1. In the bibliographic record, add a field 588 regarding the forthcoming change. Include |5 CaBViV.
Example: 588 ## Beginning with v. 58 (2023) publication will change title to Australian Journal of English Education. ‡5 CaBViV
The note will be deleted when the record is later updated with issue in hand.
2. In the POL Receiving Note, add: Beginning with [enumeration (chronology)] publication will change title to [New serial title]. Route last issue of v. [ ] to Metadata Supervisor (Serials)
From CONSER Editing Guide 2016 (2020 update):
Notes containing other administrative information about the record.
CONSER may also use field 588 in records for the following:
Occasionally, a participant receives information from publishers about future changes such as changes in country of publication, resumption of suspended publications, or the fact that the serial will be discontinued. The participant may use the 588 to convey this information to other users of the record. The OCLC symbol for the institution is given at the end of the note. At the time that the inputting institution or any other CONSER participant receives the issue reflecting the change, the record is updated and the note is removed.
|
|
588 |
## |
To be issued in New York by Gordon & Breach beginning Jan. 1992. $5 DLC |
|
|
|
588 |
## |
Publication to be resumed by F&W Publications Inc. in Oct. 1999. $5 EZB |
|
Replacements may be received as purchased or as gift material.
Also consider the type of replacement:
NOTE: In all instances, Metadata cataloguer confirms bibliographic information matches item in hand & updates Bib/Holdings/Item as necessary.
From time to time, patrons will want to sign out books that do not have barcodes, and which may not exist in the database at all. In Voyager, this process was called “Circulation-on the-fly”. In Alma, it is called "Quick Cataloguing".
In the past, Access Services staff would write down the details on a green "Action Slip" which were then picked up regularly by Metadata staff.
Going forward, duplicate barcodes and green slips will not be used. Instead, the entire process will take place in Alma.
When the book is received in cataloguing, the Fulfillment note "Route to Metadata Supervisor for cat review" will need to be removed.
Please see supervisor with any questions or assistance.
Whether changing item to another holding on the same bib or; changing item to another holding on a different bib:
From within the List of Items:
Replacements - for example when it's a new edition
B.C. Historical Textbooks transferred to Special Collections - Refer to the Curriculum section of the Libguide.
General - draft Oct. 26/22 Susan
Withdrawals - Alma documentation
Items with an attached POL: The POL must be closed (or cancelled) before an item can be withdrawn and the holdings and bib records deleted.
Always check for COPPUL SPAN retention notes before deleting records:
TBD: In Physical Item Editor > "Notes" tab > Statistics Notes: How/when to use these fields for Analytics
Withdrawing a single physical item (Thesis Digitization Project)
1. Search for the item: Physical items > Barcode. Scan Barcode
2. Click title to view the MARC record. Look for field 583 containing a COPPUL SPAN retention note.
If 583 note is present, set item aside and do not withdraw; if 583 note is not present, click BACK button and proceed.
3. Confirm record information matches item in hand. Confirm location and call number.
4. Under Row Actions > Select "Edit Item" to open the Physical Item Editor.
5. CHECK FOR COPPUL SPAN RETENTION NOTES: On the "General" Tab > Inventory Information > Inventory number
If retention note is present, set item aside and do not withdraw; if retention note is not present, click CANCEL button and proceed.
6. Under Row Actions > Select "Withdraw". A "Confirmation Message" will pop up. Click CONFIRM.
7. A "Last Item of this Holdings Deleted" message will pop up. Four options will be presented. Select the second option in the list: "Delete the holdings record" > Click GO.
See "Delete Bibliographic Records" job ; Withdraw Physical Items job
including
stamps/blacking out
privacy concerns / redaction (i.e. theses)
Draft/TBD/Susan/July 2023
Introduction
Several projects to withdraw print serials based on JSTOR access and years of coverage have been carried out over the past 15-20 years. Historical documentation related to these past projects is located here: W:\LTEC\Serials\Weeding & Transfer Projects\JSTOR
As titles continue to be added to the various JSTOR collections, as of 2023, the libraries' current policy is to withdraw print serials when online access via JSTOR is confirmed, EXCEPT when the print serial has been marked for retention. Always check the bibliographic record for a 583 retention note before withdrawing serial items.
[*For future content creation*]
Dean
link to Alma documentation on Jobs and Sets
Indication rules
Dean
Ask us