Collection Management Services

Locations in Alma mean physical locations. See the following tabs for locations associated with Libraries / Collections across UVic Libraries. For information on what happened to Voyager Locations in Alma and decisions made during the migration, see the Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping tab.

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

This table reflects decisions made during the Voyager-Alma migration and is current as of June 28, 2022.

Mearns-McPherson Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Curriculum Collection Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Law Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Music and Media Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

Special Collections and University Archives Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

External Locations and Reading Rooms Voyager to Alma to Primo Location Mapping

MARC Tags:

Catalogue material designated for the Law Library in accordance with the UVic RDA Workflows for monographs or serials.  Some things to note that are particular to or are exceptions for the Law Library are as follows:

035      Retain 035 local control number (035 | | | ‡9 uviclw#####) if present, as it identifies the original Law Bib# pre-Voyager merge.

040      The old MARC Organization Code that was specific for the UVic Law Library (CaBViVL) is no longer used but may still be present in old/existing Law Bib records.

591      Change to 590  (591 was once a Local Note designated specifically for Law.  Current practice: Use 590 for any Local Notes, with appropriate wording to clarify Law copy if necessary)

Classification/Call numbers:

For shelflisting law publications entered under corporate body, including conference publications: See CSM, Law and Legal Materials, General G750

If suggested LC Class number is not already present in 050, then go to K (-KZ) Class schedules (Law) to determine what it should be.

Notes on KE/KF: Always use subclass KE (Law of Canada) as appropriate.  *Prior to KE being established, the Law Library used the “KF Modified” schedule (Law of the United States).  Current local practice is to use KE if there is ANY Canadian Law content within the resource.  KF is still used IF the resource is strictly pertaining to US Law only.  Investigate if any suggested class numbers are indicated in CIP data, as a possible lead.

Classify new editions using KE as appropriate.  If an older edition exists & it’s classified under older KF Modified call number, leave older edition as is; no need to reclassify older edition.

*Exception: If item is filling in a gap in the collection, and the rest of the collection is filed under KF, place ‘new’ item under KF to fill gap.

Notes on KI: Effective 2017-  KI classification for “Law of Indigenous peoples” (see ClassWeb Plus)

(LD/DS 2024-04-16 rev.)

*See the Law KI Reclassification Project on Connect for full background

Law Librarians may identify select titles for KI classification/reclassification that are not inherently Indigenous Law subject matter.

If reclassifying an existing title, do not re-catalogue (possible exceptions, at cataloguer's discretion)

At this time, in cases of multiple Library holdings locations, only the Law Library's copy holdings will be reclassified, and the reprocessing of call no. labels will continue to be done at Law

*IMPORTANT: Beyond the scope of this specific project, the underlying rationale and principles are also influencing the cataloguing of newly acquired Law materials with Indigenous subject matter. If you should find yourself about to catalogue material designated for the Law Library and the material has anything to do with Indigenous or First Nations content, please pause to consider if it might be a candidate for classifying in the LC KI-KIL class schedules. In cases of doubt, consult the Law Librarians at: lawref@uvic.ca

• Law Librarians may suggest a KI class number for an item at point of ordering.  Acquisitions staff will flag this information for Metadata’s attention by inserting any related correspondence.
• [There is a dedicated tray on the Law cataloguing shelf for proper routing on receipt.]
• Leave slips/correspondence in the item, for Law staff to see when books are sent to Law, so they’re fully aware of the KI request as well.
• Local practice: class resources by the Nation when possible ; if a resource applies to more than one Nation, classify according to the region (i.e. KID for Western Canada). When possible, prefer the classification number for the Nation (KID for Western Canada) over the topical classification (KIB)
  • Example:
    • KID1584 .E75 2010  Esketemc treaty negotiation progress report
• Novels, unless a Law Librarian specifically requests otherwise, are not in KI classification.

Notes on JX/JZ: JX is obsolete with law.  DO NOT USE.  (JZ has replaced it).  If any law books have JX call #, set aside and consult the Law Librarians at: lawref@uvic.ca

Conferences:

If any NEW conferences are received, consider cataloguing as a serial.  Do not re-catalogue past conferences that may have been catalogued as monographs.

Use conference date as date in call number in most instances, except when the conference is not considered to be the creator, per the Library of Congress Classification and Shelflisting Manual, Table on Conferences, Congresses, Meetings, Etc., Table G230:

https://www.loc.gov/aba/publications/FreeCSM/G230.pdf

With migration to Alma:

Ordering, receiving and processing of items for the law library will now (generally) follow the same procedure as items for the main library.

Note that items are still gutter stamped with the UVic Law gutter stamp (processed by Access staff) and  "UVIC - Priestly" barcodes may still be used.

Law Serials - General:

Click here for Law serials check-in & processing

Law Digests Schema:

Last revised: 2023-09-25 (GLJ)

Law Room A116  (includes Law Reserve)

Previously known as Law Room 171 or Reserve, Law Room A116 is located next to the Law Loan Desk and houses Law's high-use physical resources. Material located here is intended for short term loan. Law course reserve material is also located in this room, but a separate location code of "law-res" is now used and course reserve items are situated as a separate subset within the room, on reserve-labelled shelving. *Only Reserve staff assign the location of "law-res" to items.
(for information only: Alma location code: law-res*; location name: Law-Reserve Room A116; External name: Law Room A116 -- Reserve  *As of Sept.2022, only Course Reserves staff assign the location of "law-res" to items)
 

Note: With the migration to Alma and the centralization of course reserves processing via the Scholarly Communication (& Reserves, Research Repository) and Copyright office, this room is no longer considered a reserve room and all references within our Law records to items as "on reserve" will be deleted (initially on an encounter basis only).
 

Assigning items Room A116 location: permanent or temporary?

Serials and Monographs: Assign law - general collection - as the permanent location (or assign permanent location so it matches that of existing items/editions).  Law staff will update the temporary location information as items are moved in and out of this location. It is assumed that when a new edition is received, it will be assigned the temporary location of Room A116 and the previous edition will be moved to sit with earlier issues or editions. The note "LATEST EDITION IN RmA116" will be added to both the receiving note in the POL and the shelving instruction note in |x of field 852 in the holdings record. Law staff will process the physical material to reflect the temporary location. (Best practice re: flagging items for  temporary location as RmA116 still to be confirmed.)

Possible exception: "Latest issue only retained" items are assigned room A116 as a permanent location. (To be confirmed; see supervisor as necessary.)

Loose leaf materials (integrating resources): Loose leaf materials located in room A116 should be assigned a permanent location of room A116. Include the rubric Law RmA116 in the call number when labeling binders and updates.

Note: Staff and patrons may continue to notice inconsistencies in the labeling, processing and the location of material situated in this room as records are updated and physical reprocessing is completed.

Note: As per email message from EN 3/23: current BC and Canadian federal annotated acts to be located in RmA116 temporarily then transferred to law general collection when replaced by a newer edition.

Law Reserve:  Place all newly catalogued (or shelf-ready) Rush Reserve material in the labelled tray in front of Inba's office (Rm248).  Metadata scan in as Cataloguing-Done before placing in Reserves tray.  For more information, see the Reserve tab of the Mearns-Mcpherson Library section further below.

2023-

When a new record is required for a continuing order (due to c/t, format, etc.):

Metadata:

• creates new records for new title
• updates records for old title
• moves the POL from old title to new record (POL > change bib reference; holdings of new title > associate a POL)
• Confirm both titles now appear as "ordered items" within the POL
• updates receiving notes as necessary
• advises orders@uvic.ca as an FYI

Past practice of  Acquisitions staff closing old POL and creating a new POL for the new title is no longer followed. See Metadata or Acquisitions supervisor with any questions.

Draft 11/23/sf

Monographs kept up-to-date with supplements:

Because the law is always changing, some law monographs (treatises) are kept up-to-date with regular (often cumulative) supplements. Standing orders for this type of material also include new editions as published. Always watch for new editions and update records accordingly. Each new edition typically requires a new record. These standing orders currently have a POL type of Print Journal- Subscription.

• Catalogue new edition. Create holdings and item record(s)
• Supplements: Do not create items or barcode supplements if they are superseded. See the supplement itself regarding retention. If superseded, add to supplements 867 summarized holdings statement |a Latest issue only retained (In Alma, 867  |z does not display in Primo as of 11/23.)
• "Close" the bibliographic record; update holdings of the previous edition as necessary
• Items with a circulating location (i.e. law - general collection) should have an item policy of nocirc (or book-ncir, a pre-merge law specific item policy still in used and migrated to new system)
• Within POL: change bib reference to new edition
• Update POL receiving notes as necessary (i.e. call number, location, etc.)
• Advise orders@uvic.ca that POL is now linked to new edition. Include new MMS ID
• Call number: Always consult ClassWeb to confirm and class/cutter accordingly.

See "The new Wigmore : a treatise on evidence : expert evidence" as an example.

As of 11/23, Law has a best practice of retaining previous editions and the editions' last cumulative supplement. These sit in law's general stacks.

For an example: See POL 278395-uvicdb, The new Wigmore : a treatise on evidence

See the format instructions for how to catalogue music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings.

See the processing instructions for information on physical handling.

Note that the music collection, including monographs and serials, was once located in a separate physical location called Music & Audio (and later Music & Media) within the McPherson Library. Most M-MT classed monographs and serials still have an "ma" holdings location, though they have now been integrated into the main stacks. (With Alma update: ma location changed to main location?)

Laura - music scores and sound recordings

Last revised: 2023-09-25 (GLJ)

Reserve:

In 2021, Course Reserves staff physically relocated from the Main Loan Desk to sit within Rm260 to be part of the Copyright and Scholarly Communications team under Collection Management Services.  While all Course Reserves material (including Law Reserves material) is now processed within Rm260, the physical Course Reserves collection continues to be shelved separately:

• The Main Reserves collection is located in the Main Library, situated in the Access Services area on the main floor.
• The Law Course Reserves collection is located In the Law Library, shelved as a small subset within Law Room A116, which is located next to the Law Loan Desk.  (for information only: Alma location code: law-res*; location name: Law-Reserve Room A116; External name: Law Room A116 -- Reserve  *As of Sept.2022, only Course Reserves staff assign the location of "law-res" to items)

Rush Reserve material:  Place all newly catalogued (or shelf-ready) Rush Reserve material in the labelled tray in front of Inba's office (Rm248).  Reserves staff will collect from the tray and handle the end-processing for Reserve.  This includes Law Reserve material – Reserves staff will place completed Law Reserve material in the Rush/Priority tray once they’ve handled the Law Course Reserves part of the workflow.  Access Services staff will collect all contents from the Rush/Priority tray at the same time as they collect the end-processing truck.  Access Services staff will sort through all material, handle the end-processing as needed, and they will then divert any Law Rush/Priority material to a separate Law pick-up tray for Law staff to collect during their daily pick-up rounds.

Last revised: 2023-11-14 (GLJ)

Basement Compact Shelving (BCS):

Located here are all Z classed material; some oversized material, national union catalogues, all HA741-HA743 Stats Can material; some monographic material with a temporary location of "basement compact shelving"; serial runs and other material that could not be accommodated elsewhere, etc.

For all material located in BCS that is not classed in 'Z':
- Holdings location code = main-sto
- Affix a blue dot on or near the call number label.
  The blue dot acts as a rubric for material located in BCS that is not classed in 'Z'.

For material in 'Z' classification:
- Holdings location code = main (not main-sto)
- Do NOT affix a blue dot to Z classed material

Items ordered for the "tec" location are meant to support the work of librarians and staff working in the Technical Services area of the library. The bulk of this tec material is physically located within the Technical Services area on shelving outside the office of Head, Metadata. On occasion, items are ordered for this location, but are then routed to a librarian or staff situated in another area of the library. Current best practice is to add a non public note to field 852 of the holdings record indicating with whom or where the item is routed or situated. Items located in "tec" should always be suppressed, labelled FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY and coded with the item type of "nocirc".

Glenda

Reference: May 2022- "Ref" as a physical and holdings/item location is currently in transition. Material with a holdings location of "Ref" is currently located in Basement Compact Shelving. This  physical "Ref" location in BCS is temporary and the records have not been updated in anyway to reflect this. Follow signage in Basement Compact Shelving to locate the physical material. Route all "Ref" material to a Metadata supervisor.

Ready Reference: As of May 2022, its physical location is situated outside of the librarian "on duty" office on the main floor in the maps and atlases area.

Its rubric is "Ref". Current practice is to affix a "Ready Ref" label to all material located in here. (A small red dot was once affixed to the call number of ready reference designated material. This "red dot" was incorporated into the label when use of the red dot ceased.)

Glenda/Susan

Curriculum Collection books with accompanying material - see Items with Supplementary Material

Last revised: 2024-03-01 (GLJ)

Background:

The Curriculum Collection Quick Reference section consists of a range of shelves that currently sit at the end of the overall Curriculum collection on the 2nd floor.  This Quick Reference sub-collection once existed in its own separate area of what used to be the Curriculum Library branch, and when that closed and the material moved to McPherson, it was kept in the Reserves area behind the main loan desk.  When the Reserves area was reduced, the Curric Quick Ref material moved to where it is now.

Per discussion with subject librarian Pia Russell in Feb. 2024, this sub-collection is to remain as-is in its current location.  (There may be future consideration to possibly move this material elsewhere.)  She would also like for these items to be allowed to circulate, but on 3-day loan only.

Pre-existing Curric Quick Ref material does not have rubric of "Quick-Ref" appearing on call number label, but instead has a neon green label "Quick Reference" plus a blue label "3-day loan".  New material added to this sub-collection will not have either of these labels.  We will instead rely on the Primo display as well as the new call number rubric of "Quick-Ref".

Procedure Feb. 2024 onwards:

• Received and barcoded as normal by Acquisitions staff, with a Curriculum flag noting that it is for "Quick Ref", placed on the Curric labelled shelves for Metadata cataloguing.  Not rush per se, but give priority over other Curric material.
• Metadata catalogues as normal, following the usual Curric material procedures, with the following exceptions:
  • Ensure Holdings location code = curr-ref
    (displays in Primo as "Curriculum Collection - Quick Reference"
  • Material Type = book, but choose/ensure Item Policy = "3 day reserve item"
    (displays in Primo as "3 Days Loan")
  • Call number label affixed by cataloguer, ensuring the rubric = CURRIC Quick-Ref  [DDC call no.]
• Material scanned in as Cataloguing-Done and then placed on the end-processing truck for Access Services to collect and complete (tattle-taping and stamping).

DDC Call Numbers  Last revised: 2023-08-21 (LD)

WebDewey - use DDC 23

• Books written in English and then translated into other languages are classed with the English edition. Cutter for the translation as per the translation table found in the Library of Congress Classification and Shelflisting Manual - G150.
  • Note that not all languages are represented on this table. In these cases,  follow the instructions found on CSM G150, page 5, section 3. Languages not listed. 
    • Inuktituk - use x158
• The exception is for French language translations. These will all be classed at 440.A1 (see above for more details)

If book is catalogued for Main Stacks - use LCC instead of DDC

• PZ – children’s fiction books
• PN – books about children’s books (criticisms, etc.) 

• The Curriculum Library has a collection of old textbooks that were used in the province of British Columbia in the early 20th century. These textbooks are in the process of being digitized and added to the University of Victoria’s Internet Archive collection. A catalogue record will also be added to our Voyager database.
• The Digitization Unit scans each book and sends the file into the Internet Archive.  The title of the book and the Internet Archive URL are entered into an Excel spreadsheet.
• The book is then sent to Cataloguing.
• **Exceptions to the workflow: (May 2018) - Pia will sometimes request that existing items in our collection be changed to “Historical Texts.”  There is already an existing bibliographic record but books are not yet digitized or on the spreadsheet.  In this case, follow steps 3 – 8 of workflow, amending as needed.  Change call number as needed. If item has existing barcode on cover or in book, scratch it out. Give item new barcode on p-slip inserted in book.

• Open Excel spreadsheet at W: > LTEC > Cataloguing > Internet Archive > IA urls.xlsx
• Choose Historical Texts from the tabs along the bottom. Choose book from spreadsheet list, and open link.
• Check for a bibliographic record in Voyager and usual sources. There is no need to change the record to RDA if an existing bibliographic record already exists in Voyager. Make a copy and use this copy to catalogue Historical Text.  If none exist, create original.
• Catalogue book.

• Add notes:

• If there is a bookplate add a second 590 note. If it is a UVIC bookplate, don’t add.

• Create a holdings record:

• Holdings 008:  code “g” in 008 “method of acquisition” if item was a gift or was discarded from another library.
  • Do not code “g” in holdings of electronic digitized version of holdings record.
• Write call number on upper left of acid-free paper slip.  Rubric is CURRIC. All call numbers should include date.  Attach barcode vertically to the upper right of the slip, as pictured here:

• Create an item record.  The permanent location code in the holdings record = curr,hist which corresponds to the permanent location in the item record:

**If book is a Historical Text that has not yet been digitized, end procedure here. Attach note to indicate book is not yet digitized. Give book to Shelley to put in Gifts room on appropriate shelf.  (Nov. 18, 2018 – Pia)

**If book has been digitized and is listed on spreadsheet, continue with the following steps:

• Add barcode number to Excel spreadsheet. 
• Highlight the appropriate line on the Excel spreadsheet in yellow to indicate that the title has been done. 
• Construct a second bibliographic record for the digital e-book, following the steps below:

• Once the print book has been catalogued, any digitized BC Historical School Textbook needs a second (e-book) bibliographic record.  An appropriate OCLC record can be used, if one exists.  Otherwise, make a copy of our bibliographic record, and amend the record to indicate an e-resource as follows:

• Create a Holdings record:     

Last revised: 2022-10-18 (LD)

B.C. Historical Textbooks Transferred to Special Collections

The Education Librarian selects the B.C. Historical Textbooks that will be transferred to the Special Collections.- Overflow (sc-ovflw) location.

The selected books will be brought to Metadata to update the location and loan policy for each item.

NOTE: The "Circulation Desk Operator, Mearns-McPherson Desk" Fulfillment user role is required to update the location.

Follow these steps:

1. Change your physical location to: Mearns-McPherson Library – Mearns-McPherson Desk

2. Use: Fulfillment > Scan In Items > Change Item Information
   1. Set up Change Item Information as follows:
      1. Change Type: Permanent
      2. Item Policy: sc-ncir
      3. Location: Special Collections – Overflow
      4. Select Check Requests
   2. Scan item barcode (ensure curser is in the “Scan item barcode” field)

1. 3. Ensure that all scanned details are correct and that the changes have been applied to the correct book

3. Pencil in location (in parentheses) and call number on the upper right hand corner of the inside back cover. Go to the next plain page if the page is too dark or if it is a decorative page.

(sc),ovflw
372.8
M46
1955

4. Leave all flags in the book
5. Next book, start at step 2, Fulfillment > Scan In Items > Change Item Information,
   1. Remove existing barcode from the "Scan item barcode" field
   2. Scan in new barcode
6. Complete steps 3 and 4
7. Repeat until all locations have been updated

• *check 513.J__ for examples     
• Text comes first in holdings, then teacher’s edition is __12 then other materials after (worksheets, etc.).
• Teacher key is often ending in __14
• Student workbook often ends in __13 (check samples)

• Add a 590 indicating that the copies differ.
• 590 $a Library’s copy 2 has larger font size and thus has 119 pages.

• Treat it as a rush.

• See Bib 3248505 as an example of how the record differs. Leader ‘type of record’ changes to ‘e’ – printed cartographic material. Ensure that the 007 and 008 are appropriately encoded.

Indigenous Material

Many Curriculum books received for the collection are in Indigenous languages, in particular, Inuktitut. These books may have text in Indigenous syllabics or romanized characters, English or French to name a few. They also may be translations, have multiple languages in one book or even be published in multiple versions such as paperback, hardback and/or board book. Sometimes there is very little copy available for this material and the only information available might be found on the publisher's website. All of these characteristics combined make this material complex and challenging to catalogue.

Helpful information for cataloguing these books is available in the LibGuide. Refer to the following sections:

Formats > Monographs > Translations

General Cataloguing > Bibliographic > Classification

NOTE: Class French Indigenous titles in 440.A1

For access to virtual keyboards see: Formats > Non-English Language Material > Indigenous languages

Formats > Monographs > Subject Cataloguing

If the title is in Indigenous syllabics (for example Inuktitut), also add the Alternate Graphic Representation (field 880). Note that the Latin characters are entered into the 245 field and the syllabics are entered as the Alternate Graphic Representation.

Use a virtual keyboard to enter the syllabics by copying and pasting the syllabics from the virtual keyboard into the bibliographic field. It may also be necessary to use a syllabics converter to convert the syllabics into Latin characters.

• Enter 245 with the Latin characters
• Click on the 245 field, go to: Editing Actions > Add Alternate Graphic Representation > Latin
• Enter syllabics into linked field using the same indicators and subfields as for the 245.

245 10 $a Allanngguaq / $c titiraqtuq Suulumuuni Ava ; titiqtugaqtuq Hui Lim.
       10 $a ᐊᓪᓚᖖᒍᐊᕐᒃ / $c ᑎᑎᕋᕐᒃ ᓲᓗᒨᓂ ᐊᕙ ; ᑎᑎᕋᕐᒃᑐᒐᕐᒃᑐᕐᒃ ᕼᐅᐃ ᓕᒻ.

Examples

How to tie a book with cotton twill tape:

• Use only one piece of twill tape
• Tie the bow on the fore-edge or on the top edge of the book. This will ensure that the book is as flat as possible and that the bow will not cause any damage to the books sitting beside it on the shelf. 

Special Collections Cataloguing Resources

Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition)

Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts (AMREMM)

Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Manuscripts)

RBMS Controlled Vocabulary

The following are resources that may aid in the assigning of the RBMS terms:

• AbeBooks’ Glossary of book terms
• ArchBook : architectures of the book
• The Anatomy of a Book : I. Format in the Hand-Press Period. Written by Terry Belanger and directed by Peter Herdrich. 1991. https://youtu.be/Efxddk09p0g 
• The Making of a Renaissance Book. 1969. https://youtu.be/ZHprwjOJIn8 
• RBMS Web Resources for the Rare Materials Cataloger
• Glossary of Early Modern Popular Print Genres

Binding Terms:

• Guide to understanding bindings / Abebooks.com
• Roberts, Matt T. Bookbinding and the conservation of books : a dictionary of descriptive terminology.
• British Library Database of bindings
• Bookbinding 101. https://www.youtube.com/user/BookbindersChronicle/videos 

Paper Terms:

• Povey, K., and I.J.C. Foster. “Turned Chain-Lines.” The Library, ser. 5, vol. 5, issue 3 (December 1950): 184–200.
• Stevenson, Allan. “Watermarks are Twins.” Studies in Bibliography, 4 (1951–52): 57–91.
• Stevenson, Allan. “Chain-Indentations in Paper as Evidence.” Studies in Bibliography, 6 (1954): 181–195.
• Stevenson, Allan. “Paper as Bibliographical Evidence.” The Library, ser. 5, vol. 17, issue 3 (September 1962): 197–212.

Provenance Evidence:

• Stoddard, Roger. “Looking at Marks in Books.” Gazette of the Grolier Club, 51 (2000): 27–47.

Printing and Publishing:

• The Art of Making a Book (hand press): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T17aCX2iBBY 
• Making books (1947) (machine press): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBztGX-2i1M 
• Tanselle, G. Thomas. “The Concept of Format.” Studies in Bibliography, 53 (2000): 67–116. 
• Blake, Erin. (2021, September 24) A briefing on brevigraphs, those strange shapes in early printed texts.

DCRMR: Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition)

Use DCRMR in addition to RDA for the following categories of Special Collections material:

• Books published/printed earlier than 1910

• ​Incunabula (produced prior to 1501)

• Rare and/or limited edition books

• One of a kind books (i.e. artists’ books)

• Books with unusual and/or special characteristics (i.e. author’s autograph, bookplate)

• Books identified by Associate Director of Special Collections

If records are full-level DCRMR records, cataloguing source will include both rda and dcrmr, LDR/17 will be left blank and LDR/18 will be coded i.

040 // $a CaBViV $b eng $e rda $e dcrmr $c CaBViV
LDR/17 = [blank] (full level)
LDR/18 = i (ISBD punctuation)

Older records in the catalogue might have the cataloguing source of $e dcrmb. Do not use this code as it is for the older version of DCRM: DCRM (Books).

DCRMR Full-Level Bibliographic Description

Last revised: 2023-05-31 (LD)

0.1 - Data provenance

0.1.21.1 Base the description on the item in hand.

0.1.22.1 If describing an examplar of a manifestation known to be imperfect (e.g., lacking pages), and details of a perfect (or more perfect) copy can be determined, base the description on the perfect copy. Do not use square brackets ... Cite the source ... Make an item-level note (use field 590) describing the imperfection of the item in hand if considered important.

0.4 - Transcription (including punctuation, capitalization, etc.)

0.4.05.1 DCRMR follows the option in RDA Toolkit: Transcription Guidelines to provide its own transcription standard. Transcribe information in the form and order in which it is presented in the resource ...

Last revised: 2023-02-10 (LD)

RBMS Controlled Vocabulary

Background

The RBMS Controlled Vocabulary for Rare Material Cataloging (RBMS CVRMC) is maintained by the Controlled Vocabularies Editorial Group (CVEG), a committee of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Libraries Association (ALA). RBMS CVRMC is a standardized vocabulary for the description of rare books by form, genre, and/or other physical characteristics including binding, paper, printing and publishing evidence, provenance evidence, and type evidence. These characteristics are of particular interest to some researchers and will aid in the discoverability of the unique and special aspects of the Special Collections rare book collection. 

Use of the RBMS Controlled Vocabulary

The RBMS Controlled Vocabulary will be applied for the following types of Special Collections printed materials:
-    Books published/printed earlier than 1910
-    Rare and/or limited edition books
-    One of a kind books (i.e. artists’ books)
-    Books with unusual and/or special characteristics (i.e. author’s autograph, bookplate)
-    Books identified by Associate Director of Special Collections

NOTE: Apply terms as appropriate and only if readily ascertainable.

• Hierarchical view of the vocabulary is available. See: https://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/rbmscv.html
• All terms are 655 #7
• All terms use source code ‡2 rbmscv
• Also add ‡2 CaBViV if the term is applicable only to our copy
• Do not subdivide terms
• Examples:
  • 655 #7 ‡a Books of hours. ‡2 rbmscv
  • 655 #7 ‡a Emblem books. ‡2 rbmscv
  • 655 #7 ‡a Gilt edges. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a British marbled papers. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a Miniature books. ‡2 rbmscv 
  • 655 #7 ‡a Privately published books. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a Autographs. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a Bookplates. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a Old Style types. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV
  • 655 #7 ‡a Black letter types. ‡2 rbmscv ‡5 CaBViV

Examples:

Field 561 - Gifts, Purchased or Transferred Note

All Special Collections records must have a 561 gifts, purchased or transferred note 

***Always use the "Enhance the Record" function to add a 561 field; do not simply copy & paste from the examples below, as the latter will result in improper character encoding and therefore improper display of characters & text in Primo***

Note: For University Archives gifts, use field 590.

Gifts Note:  

561 1# $a Gift of [xxx xxx], 20xx. $5 CaBViV

• In Alma: Editing Actions > Enhance the Record > Choose Normalization Type: aUVic - Add 561 Note > Ok
  • Update note with donor information and year
  • 561  1# $a Gift of Gordon Fulton, 2021. $5 CaBViV
• If the gift is anonymous:
  • 561 1# $a Gift of anonymous donor, 2020. $5 CaBViV   
• If two items on a record need to be distinguished, add $3 Special Collections copy:
  • 561 1# $3 Special Collections copy: $a Gift of Robert Youds, 2019. $5 CaBViV 

Purchased Note:

561 1# $a Purchased from [xxxx] on the [xxxx] Fund, 20xx. $5 CaBViV  

• Acquisitions will add the 561 into the provisional acquisitions record 
  • In Alma: Editing Actions > Enhance the Record > Choose Normalization Type: aUVic - Add 561 Purchased Note for SC > Ok
  • Update note with vendor information and year
  • 561 1# $a Purchased from Cambridge Rare Books on the Special Collections Fund, 2022. $5 CaBViV
• If necessary, use $3 to indicate which copy/volume the 561 applies to.
  • 561 1# $3 Special Collections Storage: vol. 34; $a Purchased from World of Rare Books on the Special Collections Fund, 2019. $5 CaBViV

For Standing orders: See the bibliographic record of the DAR. Here you will find a field 561 with appropriate gift note.

• Access the DAR via the POL number (Search > Order lines > PO Line)
• Click on the title to view the MARC bibliographic record DAR
• Copy/paste the entire 561 field into the record for the title in hand

Transferred Note:

• Add field 561 for items transferred from the Main collection:
  • 561 1# $a Transferred from general collection, 2020. $5 CaBViV   

Purchases for Special Collections and University Archives

1. Single Item

• Acquisitions will add the 561 to the records for SC purchased items 
• The item record will be linked to the POL
  • Do not include the PO # in the holdings 852 $x (this was an old Voyager practice)
• Acquisitions will include the POL # on the flag
• Acquisitions will not barcode the item

2. Multiple Items Received on a Dummy Acquisitions Record (DAR)

• Acquisitions will create a DAR when a collection of items are ordered from one vendor
• Acquisitions will not create individual records for each item
• Instead, Metadata will create the records for each item
• Metadata will add the 561 found in the DAR to each bibliographic record
• Metadata will add the POL for the DAR to each item record
• Metadata will add the "Receiving date" to each item record
  • Do not include the PO # in the holdings 852 $x (this was an old Voyager practice)

For more information about DARs, refer to the Receipt - DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDs section

Example: Hotam Press Collection, POL-637, MMS ID: 9957676335007291

How to Search in Alma by POL Number

• Do not search for the PO #
• Alma POLs always start with POL-[number]
  • Example: POL-637
• POLs that have migrated from Voyager have the suffix "uvicdb"
  • Example: 647-uvicdb

Item Records and Barcodes

• As of October. 24, 2022, SCUA books will have items records and barcodes added via acid-free Identa strips
  • Only newly purchased and recently catalogued gift items will be barcoded

    • This includes monographs, annuals and serials issued less frequently than annual

  • Items already in the collection will not be retrospectively barcoded, except in the case of multiple copies in the same location on one Holdings record (see below)
  • Cataloguers will place Identa strips inside each book
    • One side will have the barcode
    • The other side will have the call number
    • 
  • Duplicate copies in the same location will have only one Holdings record.
    • Item records will be numbered [Copy ID] 1, 2, etc.
    • The cataloguer will create an item record for the existing copy in the collection and will send SCUA the barcoded identa strip 
    • It is no longer necessary to add $t to the 852
• Refer also to Items Field Guide - SCUA
• Follow Items - Scan In Items
• Follow "Items Ready for Pick Up" procedure found below

Processing

• Pencil in location (in parentheses) and call number on the upper right hand corner of the inside back cover

(sc)
PR
5299
.S7
J35
1899

• Go to the next plain page if the page is too dark or if it is a decorative page
• If uncertain about where to write the call number, write on paper slip and leave in the item
• For small items, pamphlets, etc. which cannot stand alone or might be lost or damaged, write the call number where possible.  Put the item in the appropriate sized archival envelope and print the call number.  Affix the call number label to the upper left corner of the envelope.
• Tie damaged items with cotton tape

Locations

• See also the SCUA Locations in Alma section
• With regard to potentially oversized material, SC’s locations cannot always be consistently applied; SCUA staff make the final decision, and have the capability to amend holdings data as required.
• As a general rule, apply this rubric table:

Items Ready for Pick Up

• SCUA pick up shelves are located in the first bay of the SC backlog in room 260
• NOTE: Only those items that have completed a final step of being scanned in a 2nd time by designated Metadata staff to remove the "Transit for Reshelving" status should be placed on the SCUA pick up shelves.
  • i.e. cataloguer Scan in as "Done - Yes", then place on metal shelf in Maggie's cubicle; Maggie (or designated back-up) completes final step of Scan in to clear the item for reshelving, and then places on SCUA pick up shelves
• If item is fragile or cannot stand up, lay the item flat on the pick up shelf
• Items that are rare, extremely fragile or of high value will be stored in the locked SCUA filing cabinet (middle shelf) until pick up. 
  • i.e. cataloguer Scan in as "Done - Yes", wait while Maggie (or back-up) immediately completes final Scan in step, then cataloguer places item inside the locked SCUA cabinet
• There is a supply of reusable plastic pam boxes and file folders located at the bottom of SCUA pick up bay that may be helpful when transporting smaller/thinner items

Last revised: 2022-10-24 (LD)

ESTC (ENGLISH SHORT TITLE CATALOGUE)

The British Library's English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a union catalogue recording holdings for more than 2,000 libraries world-wide. It covers monograph and serial letterpress items that are:

• published between 1473 and 1800
• mainly, but not exclusively, in English
• published mainly in the British Isles and North America
• from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries

When cataloging a book published before 1801, search for the item in the ESTC database.

Compare the pagination, publisher, publication date, notes, etc. in order to determine if the item in hand matches the ESTC record.

If a matching record is found, add the ESTC Citation number to the bibliographic record in the 510 field.

• 510 4_ ‡a ESTC, ‡c T62594

Do not include leading zeros in the ESTC number. Example: record ESTC R019768 as: 510 4_ ‡a ESTC, ‡c R19768

Add a pink ESTC flag to the item to indicate to SC that there is an ESTC number in the record. Do not write the ESTC number on the flag.

SC will add UVic holdings to ESTC.

SC will let Metadata know if the ESTC number in the bibliographic record needs to be updated.

Example:

Manuscripts

AMREMM (Descriptive cataloging of ancient, medieval, Renaissance, and early modern manuscripts)  - Used primarily for describing manuscripts of pre-modern, scriptorium era. There is also a copy located in: TEC Z695.5 P37 2003. 

DCRM(MSS) - Provides guidelines and instructions for the description of individual textual manuscripts. The term "manuscript" includes unpublished textual items.

• Manuscripts are unique items, and though facsimile reprints of manuscripts are sometimes available, can necessitate original cataloging.
• Acquisitions often provides a printed auction description of the item; and the auction site may still be available online for copy and paste of such details. 
• Be sure to include alternative titles and spellings of same, and sufficient subject headings to provide multiple access points.
• Manuscripts are similar to books in general but may require a different method of entering information in the 300 field (especially if using the AMREMM standard). 
• Manuscripts require a more extensive description.  Make sure all names, places etc. are traced and that there are sufficient subject headings to provide multiple access points. 
• Add a 650 Manuscripts [etc] – Specimens and a 655 Specimens.
• Early manuscripts often have archaic abbreviations (also called brevigraphs). For more information refer to this article: A briefing on brevigraphs, those strange shapes in early printed texts (posted September 14, 2021, author Erin Blake, Folger Shakespeare Library)

Examples:

UVic Fragmentarium Collection

"Fragmentarium enables libraries, collectors, researchers and students to publish images of medieval manuscript fragments, allowing them to catalogue, describe, transcribe, assemble and re-use them." -- fragmentarium.ms/

Students enrolled in Dr. Adrienne Williams Boyarin's ENGL 503 "Introduction to Manuscript Studies and Archival Methods" course each work on a project to add manuscript fragments found in Special Collections to the UVic Fragmentarium collection. Some of the manuscript fragments are based on descriptions found in Vault; while others describe manuscript fragments that have been used as part of the binding in books that are located in the physical collection. In the latter cases, the link to Fragmentarium is included in the bibliographic record. As well, the following fields are added to the Alma record:

563 // |a Bound in manuscript fragments. |5 CaBViV

655 /7 |a Manuscript waste. |2 rbmscv |5 CaBViV

856 42  |3 [Title in Fragmentarium] |u [URL]

Example: 856 42 |3 Missal - fragment |u https://fragmentarium.ms/searchresult/overview/F-couj

susan to help

Transgender Archives

If indicated on the gift flag, add: 996 // $a Transgender Archives collection. $5 CaBViV

Retrievals from Special Collections

• Send details of retrieval to scua1@uvic.ca
• scua1@uvic.ca will be monitored by SCUA staff who are on back-up/retrievals
• You will receive an email from scua1@uvic.ca when your request is ready for pick up in the Reading Room
• When picking up a request, you will be asked to sign or initial a pre-filled yellow slip (printed material) or a pre-filled white permission to borrow form (archival materials)
• Return the item to the Reading Room when you are finished with it
• If the request is urgent, call local 8257

Refer to the Curriculum section of the Libguide.

Follow the procedure found in the Bound With Titles section of the LibGuide

Specific instructions for Special Collections bound withs:

• 563 Binding information: only add this note to the host bibliographic record
• 561 Gift Note: add to host bibliographic record and to all constituent unit bibliographic records
• 655 Genre Heading: add to host bibliographic record and to all constituent unit bibliographic records
  • 655 /7 $a Sammelbands. $2 rbmscv $5 CaBViV

Note the difference between these two RBMS Controlled Vocabulary terms:

• Sammelbands 

  • Use for bound volumes made up of separately produced works bound together for an owner.

  • For volumes made up of previously published pamphlets, reissued, usually with a collective title page, use Nonce collections.

  • 655 /7 $a Sammelbands. $2 rbmscv $5 CaBViV

• Nonce collections

  • Use for volumes made up of previously published pamphlets reissued, usually with a collective title page.

  • For volumes bound together for an owner, use Sammelbands.

  • 655 /7 $a Nonce collections. $2 rbmscv $5 CaBViV

Field 590 - Gift Note

Add field 590 if indicated on the gift flag.

• Example: 590 // $a Gift of Allan Antliff for anarchist studies.
  

Field 590 is not added to UA purchased items.

UVic Publications

In the past, all UVic publications were classified in LE3 Vxxx. This often created long cutter numbers, particularly with the second cutter, since they were cuttered by main entry (which was usually University of Victoria …).

Around 2002, the policy was changed so that publications are now being classified in the subject area rather than in LE3 (i.e. Centre on Aging bulletin classified in the “Aging” classification range) -- from Document written by SJ/2012, Classification & Cuttering of Serials. 

(Policy confirmed October 2016 via email exchange with Jane Morrison, Associate University Archivist.)

UVic Public Lecture Series - Visual Recordings Last revised: 2023-12-20 (GLJ)

Public lectures are delivered periodically at UVic covering a range of general interest topics. With the permission of the lecturer, UVic Television Services records each lecture. One copy is burned to a DVD and sent to Metadata in batches.  If there is more than one format, we get a hard copy (disc) of each format. When the videos arrive in Metadata, they are arranged by date and given the next accession number for that year. Each years number sequence begins at no. 001.

Video files are also uploaded into UVicSpace > UVic Lectures

Discs are sent to University Archives:

• A brief record for each DVD title is made
• No subject headings are assigned
• Classed as a set with the appropriate call number as shown in the table below

Lansdowne Lectures Bibliographic Record

• Create record using template: UVic Lansdowne Lectures
• Update the following MARC fields

Holdings Record

Create holdings using template: UVic Video - MAIN/arc-sto 

• Include the year and number
  • The number should have 3 digits, (e.g. no. 001)
• Note that up to March 2019, two formats of the recording were received: DVD and MP4
  • For DVDs, a lowercase "d" was added to the end of the number
  • For MP4s, the suffix MP$ was added
• After March 2019, only one copy has been received and it can be difficult to determine what format it is.
  • As of December 14, 2023, do NOT append a lowercase "d" or "MP4" to the number, (e.g. no. 001). Even if the disc may indicate what format it is (e.g. "MP4"), do not change any part of the Bib description.
• All copies go to location arc-sto
• Example: 852 0/ $b MAIN $c arc-sto $h AS42 $i V5L3 2020 no. 004 

If necessary, add an 866:

• Include an 866 if there are accompanying notes:
  • Example: 866 /0 $8 0 $a video; notes.

Item Record

• Add item record
  • Material type: DVD
  • Item policy: sc-ncir  (applies to arc location as well)
  • Scan in barcode

Processing Procedures

• Attach barcode to the top centre of the envelope
• Print the call number label and place it on the upper right corner of the envelope
• Scan in item as "done"
• Place on metal shelf  in Maggie's cubicle
• Maggie (or designated back-up) completes final scan-in step and then places item on University Archives pick up shelf

Retrievals from University Archives

• Send details of retrieval to scua1@uvic.ca
• scua1@uvic.ca will be monitored by SCUA staff who are on back-up/retrievals
• You will receive an email from scua1@uvic.ca when your request is ready for pick up in the Reading Room
• When picking up a request, you will be asked to sign or initial a pre-filled yellow slip (printed material) or a pre-filled white permission to borrow form (archival materials)
• Return the item to the Reading Room when you are finished with it
• If the request is urgent, call local 8257

Glenda and Dean to fill this out