Collection Management Services

EJournals

- includes Databases - post-activation -> need to make sure Database of Databases are updated

Electronic Standing Orders (Monographic Series)

July 15, 2022

UVic DocStore and Misc. Links E-journal collection in Alma. PDF's sent to serials@uvic.ca and uploaded to Docstore by Metadata staff.

Background:

Suppressed DAR's for each "emailed PDF subscription" migrated  to Alma.

A local collection -  UVic DocStore and Misc. Links. - was created and activated in the CZ for these subscribed titles. All but one title. Monkey: new writing from Japan, was linked to a CZ record. The DAR for Monkey: new writing from Japan was unsuppressed.

Follow up: Create a local e-journal record for Monkey and suppress the DAR?? Or submit a case and ask that the record be added to CZ?

Activating Collections and Packages in the Community Zone

The instructions for activation of GOBI e-books has been included as part of the Ordering procedure. Please see the Ordering GOBI E-Books for the Ordering through Activation process for this material.

GOBI One Time Physical Receiving

FYI: GOBI subaccounts -09,-10, -60, and -69 are non-approval accounts that have been set up for shelf ready services. All will have been ordered and initial records (Bibs and POLs) will have been brought into Alma via API. For these subaccounts, an Update Inventory profile has been set up (one for each account) that will update the bib record with an updated OCLC record, populate the call number in the holdings record, and add a barcode to the item record. NOTE: As of January 26, 2023 these import profiles bring call numbers in from the 090 field - whatever call number (050 or 055) has been assigned to the item by GOBI and on the spine label.

1. Physical material from GOBI will be placed in Bay 1
2. In Alma, go to the Receving workbench (Acquisitions --> Receiving and Invoicing --> Receive)
3. From the Receive New Material screen, select the One Time tab
   1. This will list all resources that have been ordered and are waiting to be received
4. Search for your title
5. Once you've found the appropriate title ...
6. Is the title shelf-ready?

• Yes the title is "shelf-ready." 
  • Inspect the physical item. Is the barcode in the correct place? If not, alert Dean or Sherry: these will be reported to GOBI. If possible, remove the barcode and place it correctly.
  • Is the barcode in the item record in Alma?
    • If it isn't there, add it
    • If it is, check to make sure that the barcode on the item matches the barcode in Alma - if they don't match, update the item record in Alma with the barcode that is on the item. Once the barcode on the item and in Alma match, go to the next step.
  • Does the call number on the spine label match the call number in the holdings record in Alma?
    • If yes, then the item is not problematic - select the tickbox to the left of the item in the Receiving task list - and at the top of the screen deselect "Keep in Department" - do not tick "Shelf Ready" and click on Receive
    • If the call numbers on the item and in the holdings records do not match (or if there is no call number in the holdings record)  - select "Keep in Department" at the top of the page and choose "Shelf Ready Problems" from the drop down - place on the Shelf Ready Problems shelf
    • Has the item been ordered for the curr location in McPherson? If so and a Dewey classification number has not been added to the spine label and the Alma record (instead of LC Classification), it should be sent to the "Shelf Ready Problems" shelf - select "Keep in Department" at the top of the page and choose "Shelf Ready Problems" from the drop down
    • Take a look at the bibliographic record in Alma and teh spine label  - does it have a 055 with a call number in the PS8000s OR beginning with FC? If so, the call number label and Alma holding record will both need to reflect that Canadian call number. Add to Shelf-Ready Problems shelf if the holdings/spine label does not match the 055 with these call numbers
    • NOTE: YOU MAY NOTICE THAT A CALL NUMBER IS NOT PRESENT IN THE HOLDINGS RECORD. IF THAT IS THE CASE, THEN SEND IT TO THE "SHELF READY PROBLEMS" SHELF - select "Keep in Department" at the top of the page and choose "Shelf Ready Problems" from the drop down
• No the title is not "shelf-ready
  • If it needs to go to Metadata for Cataloguing - select "Keep in Department" at the top of the page and choose "Cataloguing" from the drop down list - Click on Receive.
  • If it needs to go to Metadata for Rush Cataloguing - select "Keep in Department" at the top of the page and choose "Rush Cataloguing" from the drop down - Click on Receive.

What do I do with the physical item?

1. If the material is Shelf-Ready and by-passes the Metadata Unit - place on the shelf/truck for Access Services to pick up
2. If the material is NOT shelf ready - place it on the appropriate shelf for Cataloguing, the Shelf-Ready Problem Shelf, or the Rush Cataloguing Shelf in Metadata
3. At this point - the Item will have an appropriate Status in Alma (and Primo) - either In Transit if moving directly to Access Services or Technical Services if passing on to Metadata.
4. NOTE: only records with Items can be assigned Work Order Statuses
5. If you did not receive the item and select "Keep in Department" and want to change the status manually go to Fulfillment --> Scan In Items. Select "Cataloguing" (or other category) from the drop down and scan in the barcode

DRAFT

• Go to Acquisitions -> Receiving
• Find your item by searching by POL or title on the One Time tab
• Once you find your item and are confident that the physical material in hand matches what was ordered
  • Tick the box next to the title
  • On the top of the screen select "Keep in Department" and "Cataloguing" from the drop down
  • Click on the Receive button
• Barcode????
• The material is now received and will have a process type of Cataloguing
• Send item to MetaData
• Next step: Invoicing

Receive a Special Collections One Time Physical Purchase

Note: If this is an Auction item please give to Supervisor

• Go to Acquisitions -> Receiving
• Find your item by searching by POL or title on the One Time tab
• Once you find your item and are confident that the physical material in hand matches what was ordered
  • Tick the box next to the title
  • On the top of the screen select "Keep in Department" and "Cataloguing" from the drop down
  • Click on the Receive button
• The material is now received and will have a process type of Cataloguing
• Double check the following:
  • Ensure the location is the appropriate SC location
  • Ensure there is a 561 in the bibliographic record
  • Do NOT add a barcode (Note: Never affix barcodes or labels to SCUA material)
• Write the POL on the flag
• Place the item in the SCUA locked cabinet located across from Karen Nelson's workstation
• Next step: Invoicing

When receiving "ref" material, whether for the main stacks or "ref" location, current best practice is to barcode the item in hand and add a FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY label to the item. The item policy should be noted as "nocirc".  The section on Ordering Law Material provides background and order details

GOBI Import Profiles

Import profiles have been set up in Alma to retrieve files from GOBI's ftp server and add information to GOBI.

GOBI API Orders

As of January 26th, 2023 all ordering is done via GOBI API (material will no longer be sent automatically via GOBI Approval Plans).It should be noted that this process is spelled out in the technical specifications and does not require an Import Profile into Alma.

When you order in GOBI via API, a brief bibliographic record, holding, item, and purchase order line will be automatically created in Alma.

GOBI Update Inventory Profiles

Update Inventory Profiles replace the initial brief bibliographic record brought into Alma via API, overlays the holdings with shelf-ready call number assigned by GOBI, and adds a barcode to the item record.

The only option for matching with Update Inventory profiles is the POL No.

As of January 26, 2023, whatever call number has been assigned by GOBI (050 or 055) will be placed in the 090 of the incoming record and that will be the source of the call number in the import profile.

On "Receive New Material" page:

On "Continuous" tab, with item in hand, search and select title:

• Click POL number  to bring up Purchase Order Line Details > Summary tab
• Confirm bibliographic information matches item in hand (title, series, volume numbering, edition, creator, etc.). Click "Description tab" or view the bibliographic record as necessary.
• Confirm summary holdings are open and the POL type = "Print Journal - Subscription"
• In "Ordered Items" box: Read and act on "Receiving note". 
• If BARCODE note is present: Click back button to return to the "Receive New Material" search result: Select the title in hand from the list. Click the ellipses to view the row actions list > Select "Receive"  to bring up "Receive New Items" page:

1. "Keep in Department" : Do not tick unless routing to cataloguing is necessary* e.g. ANALYZED SERIAL
2. "Received date": update/add as necessary
3. In "New items details" box: Update Enumeration and Chronology fields as appropriate.
4. Click "Generate" button (to update "Description" field)
5. Confirm  "Description" field updated and details match item in hand
6. Click "Receive and Set Barcodes" button > "Set Barcodes" box will pop up
7. Affix barcode to item, then in "Set Barcodes" box > Scan in barcode > click Submit
8. Find item in "Received Items" list. (Use "Sort routine" as necessary.) Click row action ellipses > "Edit inventory item" to open "Physical Item Editor"
9. Update item record fields as necessary (i.e. Copy ID; Material type = "Issue" for serials; Item policy = "book" if item circulates or nocirc if FOR USE IN LIBRARY ONLY; or ensure data for new item matches data of migrated items ) > Save
10. Via the Purchase Order Line Details page > "Summary" Tab > "Ordered Items" box > click ellipses > "View Items". View "List of Items" to ensure data entered is consistent with other items.

*NOTE: When  "Keep in department" is not ticked, no process type is applied and the item will will have a status of "Item in place".

•  Print call number in black pen on label; or print label using Zebra machine as appropriate; affix call number label to item as appropriate
• Law serials: Stamp with property stamp ONLY as appropriate (i.e. periodical material). DO NOT GUTTER STAMP. Place promptly on truck for processing and transfer to law library
• Main serials: Process with property stamp or gutter stamp as appropriate and place on shelf for stack maintenance pick up

Route any questions to Metadata supervisor (Serials)

To edit [or view] holdings in MDE via POL Details page:

• Click "Edit" [if not already in edit mode]. In "Ordered Items" box, click ellipses. Select edit. [Edit > Save and Release]
• Click the MDE icon to return to the POL Details page
• Click "Back" to return to the  "Receive New Material" page

Notes:

• Call number format for continuations to be updated at a future date
• In POL Details > "Vendor Information" Box: to be updated at a future date
• Shelving instructions for Law staff will be added to holdings field 852 |x

Loose Leaf - Introduction

These items must be filed in order received and according to filing instructions noted on each loose leaf issue. Careful attention to filing instructions must be followed. Staff responsible for filing this material must advise orders@uvic.ca when an issue is skipped or missing. Skipped or missing issues must be claimed.

Status: Recurring Renewal or;

PO line type: Print Journal - Subscription or;

PO line owner: Mearns-McPherson Library

PO sent / Physical Continous

Loose Leaf - Procedure

On the Continous Tab, search for the title.

Click on the POL number to view the POL Details. Click on the "Description" tab. Confirm the title in hand matches the bibliographic record  (Alternatively, click on the hyperlinked title to view the bibliographic record.) Watch for changes of title, author, editor, etc. Route any cataloguing questions to Metadata supervisor.

Return to the "Summary" tab. Read and follow any "Receiving note" instructions.

Note call number on item, add property stamp and route as appropriate.

Item records are created only for the binders that hold the loose leaf. Item records are not created for each loose leaf release or issue. Filing staff must advise Acquisitions at orders@uvic.ca if issues are missing and require claiming.

POL type = Standing Order - non monograph

Added volumes (A/V) (multi-volume set): A bibliographic record with holdings exists within the repository for the item in hand. The record is NOT suppressed. A/V's must be routed to cataloguing where the bibliographic record and summarized holding (as necessary) are updated to include the latest volume.

 Receive > Receive New Material > Continuous Tab

• Search for title
• Click ellipses > Receive
• See Receiving Note, then proceed as follows:
• Tick Keep in Department; Update Received Date as necessary
• In "New items details" box: Add Enumeration > Click "Generate" button
• Click "Receive and Set Barcodes" button
• A "Set Barcodes" box will pop up: Scan in barcode > Submit
• Received Items List > Find item > Ellipses > Edit Inventory item > Add Copy ID > Confirm other details > SAVE
• Flag as A/V and route to Metadata

Notes: Update POL type to Physical Standing Order - Non monograph???; Dean toggled on this option October 20022

Law Continuations - General Notes:

• Law POL's for monographic sets may need to be updated from Print Journal - Subscription to Standing Order - non monographic
• Monographic sets kept up to date with replacement or reissue volumes, supplements, etc. : BARCODE bound volumes: withdraw (delete) item record of replaced volumes
• Rep-Jur: Should not appear on call number (but currently does when scanned via Spine-O-matic). Update needed. jur=jurisdiction of law report
• Receiving notes for Acquisitions staff are located in the POL; Shelving instructions for law staff are located in holdings field 852, subfield |x
• Receiving notes/Shelving instruction notes need to be updated
• For continuations: neither the call number nor the MMS ID need to be written on verso t.p. (barcode/call number label now affixed before item is sent to law)
• Update call number format for law continuations? Have done a few as test
• Continue to add material type and item policy for law material? How to know what to select from drop down menus? "Duplicate" function will autofill material type: leave as is; No longer necessary to select item policy from drop down as location determines circulation.
• Scan in continuation items to indicate in transit for reshelving/shelving? Yes

Formatting Law "Receiving note":

• Note call number on the first line: Law Rep-Can A8 C7526
• For titles with multiple parts (and parts replaced): Note each part in lower case followed by receiving note in UPPERCASE. (e.g. Bound volumes: CREATE ITEM AND BARCODE. For an example, see: British Columbia Law Reports). Separate parts with a line break; Separate notes within each part with a semi colon.

Holdings:

• Add "Shelving Notes" for law staff in field 852, subfield |x
• Delete field 583 if notes are outdated (i.e. notes pre merge with main)

Reserves: TBD 11/22

• Current edition on Reserve: Item has a temporary location of law-res 171; item policy = 2 hour reserve
• Post migration cleanup: If second law-res holdings location was created:

See DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORDS for details on receiving material ordered on a DAR.

SCUA material received on DARs: Do not create brief bib records, holdings or items. Do not barcode or label or stamp. But do:

1. Ensure 561 Provenance note is present in DAR

A normalization rule has been added to the Metadata Editor (MDE): UVic Add 561 Purchased Note for SC. Note that field 561 notes are not added to material purchased for arc locations.

To add this note to a DAR:

• Open the bib record in the MDE

• Under Editing Actions > "Enhance the Record" > UVic Add 561 Purchased Note for SC

• Update the 561 field with relevant information for item in hand > SAVE

See also Metadata Unit > Libraries and Locations > Special Collections and University Archives > Field 561 - Gifts, Purchased or Transferred Note

2. Flag material for SC. Note POL on appropriate slip/flag

3. Place inside Metadata's locked cabinet

Metadata: Refer to the Metadata Special Collections - Purchases section

Draft/Susan/Last updated Dec.20

Print Series (POL Type = Print Book Standing order) ordered on a DUMMY ACQUISITIONS RECORD (DAR).

Each title within the series is catalogued separately. (May or may not be classed together.) POL's are associated at the item level (not the holdings level).

Items with a POL type of Print Book - Standing Order are not received via "Receive New Material".

In the persistent search bar: Search for the title of the item in hand. Is it an A/V? (If yes, insert A/V flag), then:

1. In the persistent bar: Search for DAR via series title, PO, or POL or other

2. Click "Orders"  to view orders > Open POL Details. Review and confirm receiving information.

3. Copy POL number

4. Go to "Add Physical Item" via Quick Cataloguing (Resources > Create Inventory > Add Physical Item)

• Choose Holdings Type > New
• Citation Type > Book
• Click "Choose" button

5. FIll-in Quick Cataloguing form:

Resource Information:

• Title: Fill in this mandatory field (Transcribe from title page)
• Series title and volume (if present on item)
• Suppress from Discovery: UNTICK (if ticked)

 Item information:

• Location: Fill in this mandatory field: select from drop down. If item has a SCUA location: DO NOT AFFIX BARCODE TO ITEM. See SCUA section in LibGuide
• Barcode: Affix barcode to item; add barcode number to item record

6. Select "Items". Click ellipses > Edit > Physical Item Editor (Notice some fields auto populate). Fill in the following fields:

• PO Line: enter POL number
• Material type: update as appropriate (e.g. Book or Compact Disc)
• Receiving date:
• Process type: Technical Services
• Copy ID
• Click SAVE button

7. Search for DAR > Click "Orders"  to view POL > Open POL and confirm item created is listed, Confirm:

• Barcode
• Availability = Received

8. *Flag (with green slip) and route to appropriate shelf in Metadata (Law standing orders to law shelf)

9. Cataloguer will collect material from mono series shelf, find brief bibliographic "Quick Cataloging" record and update bibliographic, holdings and item records, etc. as appropriate

Questions:

Discoverable in Primo? YES

Is a green Acq PO Fund slip still necessary? Continue to insert, but no need to fill it out

Draft notes/SF/10/23

For POL type, consult Acquisitions supervisor as necessary. In most instances, memberships that included a print resource migrated as POL type Print Journal - Subscription.

In Voyager, best practice was to add a 500 field to the DAR bibliographic record for each resource received on the membership. Resources received on the DAR may be print or electronic, a monograph -  or part of a monographic series - or a serial or a mix of formats and titles.

Monograph series: Local notes were once added to series authority records in Voyager. These authority records have been captured and saved and available to consult as necessary. See librarian or supervisor. The local notes will be transferred to the "Receiving note" as necessary and on encounter basis.

Monographs (includes mono series): "Quick catalogue" (aka "Add Physical Item") > Resource Information: title ; Item information: Location, BARCODE. Save > then add/associate the POL to the item/holdings as appropriate. (NOTE: "an item can be linked to a one time PO line and a holdings can be linked to a continuous PO line"). Route to appropriate shelf in Metadata

Serials: Receive as usual

Ephemera: see "Unsolicited folder" on W-drive

Current list of 'All publications' standing orders:

Above/Ground Press
Barbarian Press
Continuing Legal Education Society of British Columbia
ECU Press
Ekstasis Editions 
Flask Publications
Frog Hollow Press 
Greenboathouse Press 
Jackpine Press
Leaf Press
Mother Tongue (except UABC)
Rebel Mountain Press
Unheralded artists of BC. (via Mother Tongue)

 

In the holdings record:

• Field 008, Method of acquisition is recorded as g- Gift
• Current receipt is noted via the open holdings in the summarized holding statement and the "Receipt, acquisition, or access status" 4 = Currently received. Current receipt of each issue is no longer recorded
• Close holdings and update field 008 when issues are no longer received

In the holdings record:

• Field 008, Method of acquisition is recorded as d - Deposit
• Current receipt is noted via the open holdings in the summarized holding statement and the "Receipt, acquisition, or access status" 4 = Currently received. Current receipt of each issue is no longer recorded
• Close holdings and update field 008 when issues are no longer received