UVicSpace Guidelines

Search all of UVicSpace

Click the search icon in the top right corner.

Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase.

Browse communities and collections

UVicSpace is organized into communities and collections. Communities contain one or more collections. Collections contain individual items, e.g., articles, videos, and posters.

To view the List of Communities page, go to Browse → Communities & Collections.

To link to a community or collection, use the permanent URI listed under its title (begins with https://dspace.library.uvic.ca/handle/...).

Browse within a community or collection

You can browse any community or collection by Author, Title, Submit Date, Department, and Subject. You can also browse theses and dissertations by Supervisor.

Search within a community or collection

1. Enter your search term into the main search bar in the top right corner and click Enter.
2. Click All of UVicSpace 

3. Start entering the name of the community or collection.
4. Select the community or collection when it appears in the list.

Filter and sort your search results

Use the filters on the left to refine your search results by Author, Subject, or Date.

To apply filters to the entire community or collection, clear the search bar and click the search icon.

Use the Settings options to sort search results and to change how many results are displayed per page.

The Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) collection contains ETDs from all departments. To see ETDs from a specific department, use the Browse menu.

1. Go to the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) collection.
2. Click Browse → By Department.
3. Enter the department name in the search bar.
4. Click the department name.

You can bookmark or copy and share the link to these search results.

The Faculty and Staff Publications collection includes works from all departments and from research centres, groups, and labs. To see publications from a specific department or research group, use the Browse menu.

Find publications from a specific department

1. Go to the Faculty and Staff Publications collection.
2. Click Browse → By Department.
3. Enter the department name in the search bar.
4. Click the department name.

You can bookmark or copy and share the link to these search results.

Find publications from a specific research group

You can also use the Browse menu to see publications from a specific research centre, group, or lab. Some research centres also have their own collection. These are listed on the Research Centres, Groups, Labs and Institutes page.

1. Go to the Faculty and Staff Publications collection.
2. Click Browse → By Subject.
3. Enter the research centre, group, or lab name in the search bar.
4. Click the name.

You can bookmark or copy and share the link to these search results.