Skip to Main Content
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

UVicSpace

Information about using the University of Victoria's institutional repository, UVicSpace

Overview

Each community and collection in UVicSpace has one or more administrators. Community and collection administrators can have various privileges, depending on how the community or collection is set up.

Community administrators can

  • create sub-communities and collections
  • add and remove users in collection submitter groups
  • add items to collections in the community
  • accept or reject items submitted by users

Collection administrators can

  • add and remove users in collection submitter groups
  • add items to the collection
  • accept or reject items submitted to a collection

If you have any questions about being an administrator or if you would like to be added as an administrator of a community or a collection, please contact uvicspacehelp@uvic.ca.

Creating sub-communities and collections

Creating a sub-community

Community administrators can create sub-communities. These sub-communities can contain one or more collections.

Note: UVicSpace uses the name community for top-level communities and sub-communities. We use sub-community here to refer to any community that has been created within a top-level community.

To create a new sub-community,

  • Log in to UVicSpace.
  • From the sidebar menu, select New --> Community.
  • Start typing the name of your community in the search box, then select it when it appears on the list.
  • Enter the sub-community's details.
    • Community logo: upload an image to use as the community's logo
    • Name (required): enter the sub-community's name
    • Introductory text: enter a brief introduction to the community. You can use basic HMTL tags to format the text
    • Short description: enter a brief description of the community that will appear under its name
    • Copyright text: enter a copyright statement that applies to all material in the community
    • News: enter any updates about the community. If this field is used, it should be kept up to date
    • Click Save.

 

Creating a collection

Community administrators and collection administrators can create collections. A collection is created within a community or sub-community and contains items.

To create a new collection,

  • Log in to UVicSpace.
  • From the sidebar menu, select New --> Collection.
  • Start typing the name of the community or sub-community for the collection in the search box, then select it when it appears on the list.
  • Enter the collection's details:
    • Collection logo: upload an image to use as the collection's logo
    • Name (required): enter the collection's name
    • Introductory text: enter a brief introduction to the collection. You can use basic HMTL tags to format the text
    • Short description: enter a brief description of the collection that will appear under its name
    • Copyright text: enter a copyright statement that applies to all items in the collection
    • News: enter any updates about the community. If this field is used, it should be kept up to date
    • License: enter a license statement that applies to all items in the collection
    • Click Save.

Adding and removing submitters

Adding a user to a Submitters group

To submit an item to a particular collection, a user must be added to that collection’s Submitters group.

To add a user to a collection's Submitters group,

  • Log in to UVicSpace.
  • From the sidebar menu, click Edit --> Collection and select the collection you are adding a submitter to.
  • Click the Assign roles tab.
  • Click the hyperlink under Submitters.

The Edit Collection screen showing the Assign Roles tab and the hyperlink under the Submitters heading.
 

  • Under Add EPeople, type the person’s name or email address into the search bar. Click the + button next to the person you want to add.
  • The user should now appear in the Current Members list.

Note: The Current Members list is not searchable. If there are more than 5 members, you can page through the list to look for members.

 

Removing a user from a Submitters group

If a user is no longer an active submitter in a collection, best practice is to remove them from the Submitters group. They can always be added back to the group if necessary.

  • Log in to UVicSpace.
  • From the sidebar menu, click Edit --> Collection and select the collection you are removing a submitter from.
  • Click the Assign roles tab.
  • Click the hyperlink under Submitters.
  • In the Current Members list, under EPeople, click the remove (trash) icon next to the person you’d like to remove.

Note: The Current Members list is not searchable. If there are more than 5 members, you can page through the list to look for members.

Accepting or rejecting items in a collection

Overview

When items are submitted to a collection, they go through a review workflow to ensure they are appropriate for the collection and for UVicSpace and to ensure that the metadata is correct and complete. Workflows can be set up in different ways, but the default workflow looks like this:

  • A user submits an item to a collection (they must be added to the Submitters group first -- see Adding and Removing Submitters to Collections)
    • Collection administrators can also submit items on behalf of users
  • The collection administrator reviews the item to determine whether it should be added to the collection and revises the metadata as needed (as a member of the Editors group)
  • A UVicSpace administrator reviews the item's metadata and revises it as necessary, then approves it into the collection (as a member of the Final Editors group)

 

Reviewing and editing items

When an item is submitted to a collection, it moves through the steps in the review workflow. If the collection has an initial review step, the item will become available for the collection administrator to review and edit.

Note: If you can see an item in your Workflow tasks list, it is available for you to review. It will not be visible to others until it has been approved and moved along to the next step in the review process.

To review an item, 

  • Log in to UVicSpace.
  • From the Profile menu, click My UVicSpace.
  • Under Show, select Workflow tasks.

Note: When you click My UVicSpace, your own submissions are shown by default. These include submissions that you have started but not yet submitted and submissions that have been archived in UVicSpace already.

  • Locate the item you want to review, then click Claim. A few things will happen:
    • The item’s tag will switch from Awaiting review to Editing in progress.
    • You will see five buttons:
      • Approve: move the item along to the next step in the review workflow
      • Reject: remove the item from the workflow and notify the submitter
      • Edit: edit the item’s metadata
      • Return to pool: return the item to the pool where it can be claimed by another team member
      • View: view the item’s metadata and download its files

A screenshot of the Workflow tasks list
 

Review the item's metadata

  • Click Edit to open the submission form. This form contains the item’s metadata as entered by the submitter as well as all the files they uploaded.
  • Open the uploaded file by scrolling down to Upload files and clicking the Download icon.
  • Review the metadata for a specific file by clicking the Edit icon.
    • Verify the filename and description, if any.
    • Verify the embargo details, if any.
      • If the file is not embargoed, the Access condition type should be open access.
      • If the item is embargoed, the Access condition type should be embargo. The Grant access from date should be the date that the item becomes available (e.g., if the embargo lasts until January 15, the Grant access from date should be January 16). Once a date is selected, a tag will appear that reads embargo until YYYY-MM-DD. Confirm that this date is correct.

A screencap showing the edit icon on the right and embargo date on the left

  • Review for the item’s other files, if necessary.
  • Click Save to return to the submission form.
  • Verify the Creative Commons license.

Note: Creative Commons licenses should only be selected when a published item already has one or when an author has selected one for an unpublished item. Do not select a Creative Commons license if the item does not have one already.

A screenshot showing the chosen CC license

Note: If a Creative Commons license is selected by mistake, save any changes first, then uncheck the I grant the license above box. The system sometimes glitches when the box is unchecked, so this will ensure that your changes are saved.

  • After you have reviewed and edited the metadata, click Save for later. This will return you to the Workflow tasks list.

 

Approve or reject the item

  • Locate the item in the Workflow tasks list and select ApproveReject, or Return to pool.

A screenshot of the Workflow tasks list showing approve and reject options
 

  • If you Approve the item, it will move to the next step in the review workflow.
  • If you Reject the item, enter the reason for rejection in the popup box and click Reject item. The reason entered in the box will be sent to the submitter and the item will return to their workspace so they can revise and resubmit. If specific changes need to be made, detail these in the box.
  • If you Return the item to the pool, it will be available for others to claim and edit.

 

Adding items

Community and Collection admins can add items to collections.

To add an item, follow the instructions in Begin your submission.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.