UVic Libraries offer several ways for students, faculty, and staff members to stream video. This guide will walk you through the ways to find and access these materials.
Click here to see the video guide to streaming videos through UVic Libraries.
Screening videos in the classroom through UVic Libraries' video databases and collections is permissible under the Canadian Copyright Act. Click here for more information about films and copyright in the classroom.
Streaming videos in UVic Libraries' collections are easily found using Library Search.
Start by searching for the title of the video you are interested in from the library homepage.
From your results page, look under the 'Refine your search' menu to the left side of the page. Under 'Content type,' select 'Videos.' You may need to click 'Show more' to reveal this option.
Your search results will now only show videos in UVic Libraries' collections. This may include videos in DVD, VHS, or streaming formats.
If you prefer to view streaming materials only, click 'Full Text Online' under 'Availability'. Your results will now display only videos which you may stream from off-campus.
Clicking 'Available Online' underneath the title you are interested in will lead to the item's full record page.
From here, clicking the link under 'Full text availability' will lead to the item. Note that the example provided below is an 8-part documentary series, with a separate link to each episode. Most items will only show one link!
UVic Libraries subscribes to several databases which make available a variety of video titles to stream. Titles are typically licensed for a limited time, and as such the content may vary. Search within each database to find the titles you are interested in.
Titles offered by the subscription services listed here are subject to change.
Ask us