Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

UVic Library Search Help

Tips for using the Library Search interface at the University of Victoria Libraries.

Welcome!

Library Search is a tool you can use to find resources to support your learning, teaching, and research. Use this guide to help you navigate the new system and use the Ask Us feature for help overcoming search challenges as they come up.

You can click here to view the video introduction to Library Search.

To learn more advanced research strategies tailored to your specific needs, please contact the library or book a consultation with a librarian.

screenshot of library homepage

What is Library Search?

Library Search provides access to library collections in print and digital formats including books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, newspaper articles, and more. You can also discover materials that are not available at UVic but that you can request for free through interlibrary loan.

When to use Library Search?

Use Library Search when you want to find:

  • Background information 
  • Several articles to get started
  • An exact book or article by title
  • Various formats (e.g. books and newspapers)
  • Sources on an interdisciplinary topic 
  • Local and/or unique resources

If you find it difficult to narrow your results, consider using a subject-specific database or see what is recommended in one of our many Research Guides

Sign In

To improve your search experience and gain access to advanced features, always begin by clicking the Sign In button pictured below. 

Points to the sign in link, located at the top right of the screen

Once you have signed in to Library Search you can:

  • Update your profile to be sure you will receive important library notifications
  • Check due dates, place holds, review item requests, and pay fines
  • Renew your borrowed items 
  • View your search history
  • Access saved search results and citations
  • Create alerts to keep up to date on new publications

Please note: Library Search times out after 30 minutes of inactivity, automatically signing you out and resetting itself to the default search page.

Remote Full Text Access

Remote access to UVic Libraries' digital collections is only available to current students, faculty, and University staff. Access to e-books, full text articles, databases, and other digital tools require users to log in via University of Victoria's web sign in service. If you forget this before you start your session, you will be directed to log in as soon as required.

Print Collection Access

Gain access to print materials through directly through Library Search. You can also use Library Search to track the status of your requests.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.