Skip to main content
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

UVicSpace

Information about using UVic's Learning & Research Repository - UVicSpace

Introduction to ETD submission

After you have defended your thesis and made your corrections, email your Graduate Clerk or garo@uvic.ca and ask for permission to submit your PDF to UVicSpace.

These instructions show step by step how to submit the final PDF of your Electronic Thesis or Dissertation (ETD) to UVicSpace.

Before you begin, prepare the following:

  • your thesis abstract as text you can copy and paste into the submission form.
  • your final, complete PDF file with a file name that conforms to the following file naming convention: LastName_FirstName_Degree_CopyrightYear.pdf eg. Smith_John_MA_2010.pdf. If you have multiple files, you should create a PDF e-portfolio See information on how to make a PDF.

Step 1: Begin the submission process

  • On the UVicSpace homepage under MyAccount , click the Login link and use your UVicSpace login email and password you already created earlier.
  • Under My Account, Click Submissions.
  • On the Submission page, click Start a New Submission.

    Tip: You can stop and save your work at any time by clicking the "cancel/save" button at the bottom of the page. The data you have already entered will be stored until you return to the submission; you will be reminded on your "My Account/Submissions" page that you have a submission in process. If somehow you accidentally exit from the submission process, you can always resume from your "My Account" submission page. You can also cancel a submission at any point.

  • Select the collection you were given permission to submit to from the drop down box. It will be either the ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations) collection OR ETD (Restricted Theses UVic campus only) collection. There will normally only by one collection displayed, the one you have permission to submit to.
  • Click Next.

 

  • Describe your item. Tick the appropriate box for multiple titles if this applies to your thesis. Otherwise leave blank. DO NOT check the box if your thesis or any part of it has been previously published before. If it has, you will enter this information in the Bibliographic Citation field later in the submission process.

Step 2: Add your thesis information

Enter information about your ETD in the appropriate boxes or choose options from the drop-down menus. Accents or symbols can be used in any of the fields if the keyboard you are using supports them or by cutting and pasting them.

Only enter information in the Withhold Date or Expiry Date field if you have a signed Withholding Form. Otherwise start at the Author field.

Withhold Date

If you are submitting to the ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations) collection:
and you have a signed withholding form with an EXPIRY date, enter that date in the format: yyyy-mm-dd. If it is an Indefinite withhold, enter the word: forever

Expiry Date

If you are submitting to the ETD (Restricted Theses UVic campus only) collection:
Enter the EXPIRY date from your signed withholding form in the format: yyyy-mm-dd.


Authors
In the first box, enter your last name. In the second box, enter your first name and middle initial or full middle name. Use upper- and lowercase as in common usage.


Title
Capitalize only the first letter of the first word of the title and proper names found within the title. The title should NOT be all in caps, nor have every word in the title begin with a capital letter.

Degree
Select your degree from the drop-down box.


Language
Select the language of the ETD from the drop-down box.

Keywords
Enter keywords describing your thesis, being as specific as possible. Use important words from the title, chapter headings, your abstract, etc. If non-English keywords are used, consider adding English equivalents as well. Add only one keyword or keyword phrase per box; click Add for additional boxes. There is no limit to the number of boxes you can add.


Abstract
Copy and paste your abstract into the box to ensure no typos. The maximum number of words is 500.


Bibliographic citation
If part or all of your thesis has been previously published or publicly distributed, whether in print or electronically, enter a standard citation for each instance of previous release (add more boxes if necessary-one citation per box). Include the year of issue and publisher, if known. DO NOT put the bibliography from your thesis here. If this is not applicable, leave it blank.

Eg. Li, Jon (2002). Weeds. Wild Manitoba 4(7): 13-16.

Li, Jon (2003). Fields of weeds. http://www.mbgov.ca/grass/wild.shtml


Department
Choose the specific Department/Faculty, Program or School name that matches your program from the drop-down list. If "Interdisciplinary Graduate Program" is appropriate, choose that from the drop-down list.


Supervisor(s)
Enter your supervisor's name in the same style as the author's name. Add a second box if necessary. Do not list all the committee members.

Rights
Select "Available to the World Wide Web" from the drop-down list.

Scholarly Level

Select "Graduate" from the drop-down list.


Copyright date
Enter the year for the copyright date of the thesis, as shown on the title page, e.g., 2014


Type
Select "Thesis" from the drop-down box. This will include dissertations.


Click Next.


ProQuest Subject Code(s) (This page is OPTIONAL)

If you have decided to submit your thesis to the PQDT database, you will be sending it to ProQuest.

Go to the form at
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/obj/s4/f2/s4-300.1-e.pdf and select and enter at least one, and up to three, codes (4 digit code) that apply to the topic of your ETD.


Email
Enter an email address if you want ProQuest to contact you.

Step 3: Upload your ETD file and approve licenses

Before uploading your PDF file, please ensure there are NO SIGNATURES on any of the pages. Either white them out before scanning the page, remove them digitally or eliminate the page entirely, e.g., the ethics approval page, copyright permission pages, etc. See information on how to make a PDF. If you have multiple files, please create a single PDF using the e-portfolio software. See information on how to make an e-portfolio.


Upload a file
Click the Browse button to find the PDF version of your thesis or dissertation. Select the file name and click Open in the browse box. Be sure your file name is in the following convention: LastName_FirstName_Degree_CopyrightYear.pdf
EG. Smith_John_MSc_2011.pdf

Click Next.


Review submission
Review your submission carefully and make any necessary changes. When you are satisfied that it is correct, click Next.

Please note: careful review is important given that submission is final; normally no revisions will be permitted once the thesis has been submitted!


Creative Commons license
Create an optional Creative Commons license for your thesis. Creative Commons licenses allow you to specify certain uses for your copyrighted work. It is suggested that you Select a Creative Commons license from the dropdown License Type box and answer No to the two questions. This will generate the most commonly chosen license, the Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported.

Creative Commons licenses are optional if you prefer not to have one, click "Next" at the bottom of the screen.

Click Next.

UVic non-exclusive Distribution License
You must agree to the UVic non-exclusive distribution license in order to submit your ETD by clicking "I Grant the License." This required license allows us to distribute your work online and to migrate it to new formats in the future if necessary.

Click Complete submission.


Submission complete
You will receive an email that your thesis has been successfully submitted. Before it is searchable in UVicSpace, it must first be approved by GARO staff, then archived by UVicSpace staff. You will receive another email when it has been approved. Within 1-2 days it will be archived and searchable in UVicSpace.

Thank you for submitting your thesis or dissertation to UVicSpace!

ETD Corrections

Occasionally, the GARO clerk checking the formatting of your PDF may reject your submission and note changes that you should make to the PDF(your thesis or dissertation).  When this happens, you can create a new PDF by editing your word processing document and saving it again.  Then you need to go back into your UVicSpace submission and replace the PDF.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log into UVicSpace
  2. Click on Submissions
  3. When you are on the Submissions page, click on the title of your thesis/dissertation under Unfinished Submissions
  4. Click Resume
  5. Click Next until you are at the Upload Files page
  6. Under Files Uploaded, click the check box next to the current (incorrect) PDF and click Remove Selected Files
  7. Click Browse, and follow the instructions to upload the corrected PDF you have ready on your desktop
  8. Continue clicking Next until you have granted the license and completed your submission.