Indigenous Hub

The fonds consists of records created or received by Wilton Littlechild throughout his professional career in politics, law, and Indigenous rights activism. Records predominantly document Littlechild’s activities attending United Nations meetings and conferences, which include his role drafting and promoting the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP). Records also reflect Littlechild’s work towards affirming Indigenous Treaty rights within Canadian legal systems, his activities as a Member of Parliament, his advocacy for the WIN games and Indigenous people’s engagement in sport, and his role as a teacher of international Indigenous law.

The fonds is arranged into the following seven series: Advocacy for Indigenous Peoples’ rights in Canada; International advocacy for Indigenous Peoples’ rights; Member of Parliament; Teaching; World Indigenous Nations (WIN) Sport; Correspondence; Speeches; and Binders.

Fonds prodominately consists of material related to "The Mind of a Child" (1995)", a documentary on Lorna Wánosts’a7 Williams and Reuven Feuerstein, and related projects; as well as other projects done in involvement with Lorna Wánosts’a7 Williams including "First Nations, The Circle Unbroken" (1991-1997), and "Pride and Prejudice: The road to multiculturalism and human rights in British Columbia" (1999).

Included are film and video footage, interviews, correspondence, production and post-production documents, proposals, promotional material, photographs, and other material.

The fonds documents Aiyyana Maracle life and work as performance artist and writer, creator of and participant in arts festivals, her committee and conference work, scholarship, teaching, Six Nations land rights activism, transgender visibility and health projects, and personal activities. Records consist of textual records, graphic material, analog and digital sound and video recordings, and objects. Objects are comprised of garments, masks, accessories, animal bones and skins, and miscellaneous objects used in performance art and art installations. The fonds is arranged into ten series: performance art, visual art, writing, scholarship, conferences and committees, Six Nations activism, two-spirit and transgender material, notebooks and loose notes, personal records, and bibliographic records.

Frank Arthur Calder, OC OBC (August 3, 1915 – November 4, 2006) was a Nisga'a politician in Canada. The fonds consists of correspondence, minutes, articles, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets relating to treaty rights and aboriginal title in Canada.

The fonds consists of membership lists, project files, correspondence, minutes, publications, newsletters, photographs. Includes Beta videocassette and audio cassette recordings.

This web archive contains the “Despatches” – the official correspondence between the governors of the colonies of Vancouver Island (1849-1866) and British Columbia (1858-1871) with the British Colonial Office and associated branches. The Despatches have been transcribed, are fully searchable and indices have been prepared for all the people, including Indigenous People, all the Indigenous groups, ships and places mentioned.

This digital collection includes 362 scans of cartographic records held by the Surveyor General of BC that relate to Indian reserve land in British Columbia.

A list of guides, help pages and databases searchable by topic and type.

T​his database includes annual reports from the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors from 1864 to 1990.

We Are Here: Sharing Stories is an initiative to digitize and describe hundreds of thousands of Indigenous-related collection items in Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) holdings. This content includes textual material, photographs, artwork, maps and publications related to First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, and comes from private donors, government records and published works.

The BC Archives holds a significant number of records relating to Indigenous peoples and communities. Many are provincial or colonial government records created by settlers about First Nations, but they also have a number of records that contain first-hand Indigenous accounts, including audio recordings of songs and ceremonies, photographs of communities and people, and transcripts of interviews with Indigenous people.

Records relating to Indigenous people are held in both the BC Archives and the Royal BC Museum’s Indigenous collections. Overview of the collections can be found in this guide

MemoryBC.ca is a portal where you can access descriptions of archival materials preserved in repositories throughout the province of British Columbia

The Canadiana Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 40 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists. This project has digitized many RG 10 records. As well as other microfilm reels documenting the government’s management of Indigenous affairs from the late 1700s to the mid 1900s, exploring issues of land ownership, education, law, finances, health, and community development

The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) archives serve as the permanent repository for the records collected by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) during its 2008-2015 mandate. Established as part of the 2007 Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the NCTR is hosted by the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg.

This database allows users to access Métis related archival materials. The Database allows users to access Métis related archival information, previously only available at Library and Archives Canada (Ottawa) or on microfilm.

Maintained by the Gabriel Dumont Institute of native Studies and Applied Research. This website contains more than 11,000 documents, including oral histories, essays, learning resources, photographs, videos, and audio.

HBCA acquires and preserves archival records of HBC and other records related to HBC history, such as private records of individuals and subsidiary companies (including the North West Company). The Hudson's Bay Company Archives has digitized 1052 reels of microfilm, encompassing over 10,000 volumes of the pre-1870 records kept at almost five hundred Hudson's Bay Company posts.

Records relating to Indigenous people are held in both the BC Archives and the Royal BC Museum’s Indigenous collections. Overview of the collections can be found in this guide

Tutorial videos to help with the navigation of collections and find specific types of resources such as photographs, public events, attendance records and school records

Information about the collection, how to search and save your research, how to access the collection, and tips for researching archives and libraries