Journal Article & Database Searching - Gender Studies - A Welcome to the Library for Gender Studies Students - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Searching journals

If you have a research topic and do not have a specific journal you want to limit your search to, then searching through a journal database is the most effective strategy. UVic subscribes to over 600 databases and rather than searching each individually start by using Library Search, the libraries' single search engine. Library Search is an intuitive and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Victoria Libraries collections. It searches through our collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. Learn more about Library Search here. Library Search is the libraries' 'search everything' box on the library home page. You can also search it below. Remember to set some filters once you get an initial list of results.

Best Bets

Alternative Press Index A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, Indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Independent Voices Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries.

Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.

LGBT Life with Full Text
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life, full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and dozens of full text monographs.

Race Relations Abstracts Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Feminist collections: a quarterly of women's studies resources
Includes book reviews, lists of "E-sources on Women and Gender"
more...less...
Academic Search Elite Ebsco
Feminist periodicals: a current listing of contents
Reprints on a quarterly basis the table of contents pages of over 150 magazines and journals, from academic journals special interest periodicals on women.

Latest issue Spring 2011. Downloads as a pdf.
more...less...
wisconsin
Gender and Work Database
Created by Canadian academics. The gwd is suitable for researchers with varying levels of expertise and with different needs, ranging from primary analysis and testing of research questions to secondary analysis. In other words, the database can be used to obtain "basic" information on a topic or to examine a variety of complex social relations.
PAIS International with Archive
Public Affairs Information Servicecontains references from journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more, from over 120 countries throughout the world (1915-)
Women's Studies International 1972-
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to present.
Women and the Law (Hein Online)

Other Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the 16th century to present.
Canadian Public Policy Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
This database indexes both core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences.
gender Inn
gender Inn is a searchable database providing access to over 8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature. gender Inn is continually updated. All records are carefully indexed using a search index
RAND Abstracts
RAND is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis. Their areas of expertise include: child policy, civil and criminal justice, education, environment and energy, health, international policy, labor markets, methodology, national security, population and regional studies, science and technology, social welfare and transportation.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes about 1800 journals published world-wide in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage from the 1950s to present.
International Institute of Social History: ViVa Women's History
Viva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish, are selected from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. All bibliographic descriptions are stored in the ViVa database. It now contains more than 11,000 records describing articles from 1975 onwards. It is online and freely accessible.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Women in Politics has been developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The database is regularly up-dated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. It covers titles representing international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives.

Urban Studies Abstracts Urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.

Journal Collections

Selected journals and ejournal collections to help you with your research.

Gender Forum
Gender Forum is an online, peer reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues. As an electronic journal, gender forum offers a free-of-charge platform for the discussion of gender-related topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, the law, religion and philosophy.

JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.

Springer Link

ScienceDirect Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Help Videos on Searching for Articles in UVic Libraries

Below are a series of help videos created by UVic Libraries on how to search for and locate articles. Use Ulrich's Periodicals Index to find out if the journal you are consulting is peer-reviewed.

UVic Libraries Help Videos

UVic Libraries has created numerous instructional videos for students particularly on the topic of search strategies and scholarly resources. You can also consult the UVic Libraries youtube channel.

Gender Studies - A Welcome to the Library for Gender Studies Students

Find articles at UVic

Google Scholar Search

Ulrich's Periodical Directory