Gender Studies - A Welcome to the Library for Gender Studies Students

This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of feminist approaches to questions of violence, justice, and peace. The volume argues that critical feminist thinking is necessary to analyse core peace and conflict issues and is fundamental to thinking about solutions to global problems and promoting peaceful conflict transformation. Contributions to the volume consider questions at the intersection of feminism, gender, peace, justice, and violence through interdisciplinary perspectives. The handbook engages with multiple feminisms, diverse policy concerns, and works with diverse theoretical and methodological contributions. The volume covers the gendered nature of five major themes: * Methodologies and genealogies (including theories, concepts, histories, methodologies) * Politics, power, and violence (including the ways in which violence is created, maintained, and reproduced, and the gendered dynamics of its instantiations) * Institutional and societal interventions to promote peace (including those by national, regional, and international organisations, and civil society or informal groups/bodies) * Bodies, sexualities, and health (including sexual health, biopolitics, sexual orientation) * Global inequalities (including climate change, aid, global political economy). This handbook will be of great interest to students of peace and conflict studies, security studies, feminist studies, gender studies, international relations, and politics. Chapter 9 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license. 

This handbook provides a comprehensive analysis of contemporary gender and feminist geographies in an international and multi-disciplinary context. It features 48 new contributions from both experienced and emerging scholars, artists and activists who critically review and appraise current spatial politics. Each chapter advances the future development of feminist geography and gender studies, as well as empirical evidence of changing relationships between gender, power, place and space. Following an introduction by the Editors, the handbook presents original work organized into four parts which engage with relevant issues including violence, resistance, agency and desire: Establishing feminist geographies Placing feminist geographies Engaging feminist geographies Doing feminist geographies The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Feminist Geographies will be an essential reference work for scholars interested in feminist geography, gender studies and geographical thought.