Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersPrimary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Access World NewsAccess World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5 (1684-1912)EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
More information and title lists can be found here https://www.ebscohost.com/archives/aas-historical-periodicals-collection
America's Historic NewspapersSearchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876.
Chronicling AmericaFrom the Library of Congress, the website has expanded the newspapers available from the site and now provides free access to more than a million pages of historic newspapers from 11 states, published between 1880-1922
Eureka.CCNewscan (Eureka) offers full-text access to more than 8,000 general and specialized news sources covering a variety of fields, including politics, economy, current world issues, environment, health, and arts and culture. Includes newspapers as well as transcripts of television and radio news programs including The National, Saturday Report, Canada AM and CTV News Of special note, this product includes the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television.
Currently limited to 2 (two) concurrent users.
Foreign Language News and NewspapersCompiled by MIT Libraries. Includes links to current Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish Language newspapers.
Historical Newspapers in Washington StateWashington State Library makes its rare, historical resources more accessible to students, teachers and citizens. Currently contains issues of the Columbian, Pioneer and Democrat, Spokane Falls Review, Walla Walla Statesman and Washington Pioneer
Nexis UniFull-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Los Angeles Times ArchiveFirst few articles are free; $4 each thereafter. UVic Libraries holds much of the LA Times on Microfilm so you need not pay.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2011)This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2011
1951-2009. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2002)ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1889 - 1997
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-1997)This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1877 - 1998
103 digitized issues of the "first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States". Published weekly in New York City from 1827-1829 (from the Wisconsin Historical Society)
Ask us