British Columbia Historic NewspapersThe BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1989.
Canadian Major Dailies (Proquest)Full text access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers, many with extensive backfiles. Database content is updated daily, following a two-day embargo period. Includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Globe and Mail, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)Canadian and international periodicals including The Globe and Mail (1985 - fulltext); Maclean's weekly magazine;
Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic
reference materials. Some material is in French.
Canadian Reference CentreProvides full text for leading Canadian magazines, newspapers and newswires. In addition, this database provides full text for leading Canadian reference books including Canadian Global Almanac, Canadian Oxford Dictionary - 2nd edition, Gage Canadian Thesaurus, and many more.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Early Victoria NewspapersProvides access to four indices tens of thousands of summarized transcripts of article first appearing in newspapers published on Vancouver Island between 1859 and 1921: British Colonist (also called the Daily Colonist) from 1858-1921; stories related to the west coast of Vancouver Island; stories related to the Boer War; stories related to buildings, builders, etc.
Nexis UniFull-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Times Colonist 2011 - 2014Cick on "Select" to Choose Times Colonist. Available in this digital pdf microfilm version from January 2013. For earlier years consult microfilm reels at Microfilm AN5 T5 Accession no.814
Vancouver Sun. Proquest Historical Newspapers. 1912- 2010As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (TM) program, the Vancouver Sun (1912-2010) has been digitized from cover to cover. This database provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Victoria Daily Times 1884 - 1940The VIctoria Daily Times was published in VIctoria from 1884, and eventually merged with it's competitors to become today's Times Colonist.