LibGuides: Newspapers and Popular Magazines: Rest of the World

Worldwide Newspapers Online

Access World News Access World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
China Daily Chinese and English language newspaper.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal Makes available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
Eureka.CC Newscan (Eureka) offers full-text access to more than 8,000 general and specialized news sources covering a variety of fields, including politics, economy, current world issues, environment, health, and arts and culture. Includes newspapers as well as transcripts of television and radio news programs including The National, Saturday Report, Canada AM and CTV News Of special note, this product includes the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television.
Currently limited to 2 (two) concurrent users.

Europeana Newspapers A group of 17 European partner institutions have joined forces in the “Europeana Newspapers” project and will, over the next 3 years, provide more than 18 million newspaper pages to the EUROPEANA service.
Foreign Language News and Newspapers Compiled by MIT Libraries. Includes links to current Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish Language newspapers.

Nexis Uni Full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
People's Daily (Renmin Ribao) The most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For over 60 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.
Shen Bao ( 申報 ) Shen Bao was a newspaper published in Shanghai, China from April 30, 1872 until May 27, 1949. In the past, the name of the newspaper was also transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao. Shen Bao is short for Shenjiang xinbao, the original name of the newspaper; Shenjiang is an old name for the Huangpu River, which runs through Shanghai. Shen Bao became very popular soon after its launch and played an important role in forming public opinion in China.
Pravda Digital Archive (1912 - 2020) Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics. PLEASE NOTE: Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years. East View Information Services has acquired issues to complete this archive from a variety of sources, and represents the best known copy available. However, a few select issues are still missing, as has been noted on the appropriate archive pages.