Skip to Main Content
Popular Magazines Available Online
Back issues of many popular magazines are now available online - here are some of our favourites:
19th Century UK Periodicals
Fully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original colour work has been specially captured for this programme.
Daily Mail Historical Archive
An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London), 1896-2004.
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
Google magazines - browse by title
Hundreds of magazines. Some titles contain only one issue, some contain full runs of decades or more. Click on the title you want, then choose "browse all issues' to see what's available.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The full facsimile run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. 1842 - 2003.
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive (1924 - 1950)
Complete online facsimile edition of every issue of the weekly, general-interest magazine, Liberty. With a circulation of over three million, it charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America. Its prominence and willingness to pay for the best attracted original contributions from some of the greatest artists, writers, celebrities, and statesmen of the age.
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.
Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things – from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster – all caught in a single moment in time.
Popular Mechanics 1905-2005
Popular Mechanics inspires, instructs and influences readers to help them master the modern world. Google Books created this online archive to celebrate the magazine's 100th birthday.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
The Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 includes the complete run of the weekly magazine "Punch," as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.
Smithsonian Collections Online
Gale and the Smithsonian Institution have partnered to give libraries a unique opportunity to provide students, faculty, and researchers the chance to look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections.
Collections currently available:
World's Fairs and Expositions
Trade Liteature and the Merchandising of Industry
Smithsonian Magazine 1970-2010
Air & Space Magazine 1986-present
Sunday Times Digital Archive
As an online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Sunday Times (London), The Sunday Times Digital Archive is an essential resource for teachers, students and researchers interested in history, politics, social and cultural history, law, genealogy and criminology.
Victorian Popular Culture
Comprised of four separate collections : 1. Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic 2. Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks 3. Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment 4. Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. It describes popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930 and shows how interconnected these worlds were.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Women's Magazine Archive I
Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Topics covered in these collections include family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more; this material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics, and marketing/media history.
The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color, ensuring that the original print artefacts are faithfully reproduced and that valuable non-article items, such as advertisements, are included. Detailed article-level indexing, with document feature flags, enables efficient searching and navigation of this content.
Collection 1 titles:
Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
Parents (1926 to 2005)
Redbook (1903 to 2005)
Popular Magazines held in Print
Articles from popular magazines
Articles from popular magazines can be found in these databases:
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Alternative Press Index
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Canadian Reference Centre
Provides full text for leading Canadian magazines, newspapers and newswires. In addition, this database provides full text for leading Canadian reference books including Canadian Global Almanac, Canadian Oxford Dictionary - 2nd edition, Gage Canadian Thesaurus, and many more.
Index to Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.
Popular Magazines (Microforms)
Selected popular magazines held at McPherson Library:
(Boston, Massachusetts) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 A8 Library has 1857- 1932, and as "Atlantic", library has 1932-1971.
(New York) Basement Compact Shelving AP2 C73. Library has 1886 - 1915.
(Chicago) Microforms (fiche). AP2 E2. Library has 1965 - 2000.
(Chicago) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 E845. Library has 1948 onwards.
(New York) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 H3. Library has 1850 onwards.
(Chicago) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 L54. Library has 1936-1972.
(Toronto) Third Floor Mezzanine AP5 M2. Library has 1946-1991. OR Microfoms (film) Accession No. 396. Library has 1911-1971, 1975, 1985-1986, 1988 onwards.
(New York) Third Floor Mezzanine AP 101 M25. Library has 1969 - 1983.
(New York) Third Floor HQ1101 M55. Library has 1972 - 1989, 1990-2001.
Ms did not publish advertisements in these years, but a regular feature in each issue was a section where they reprinted ads that could be considered objectionable, for the reader to reflect upon.
(New York) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 N2. Library has 1939-1975, continues on Microfilm (film) Accession # 869.
(Washington, D.C.) Third Floor Mezzanine G1 N3. Library has 1965 - present. Basement Compact Shelving G1 N3 Library has 1888-1964.
(New York) Third Floor Mezzanine A2 N58. Library has 1945 onwards.
(Dayton, Ohio) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 N6 Library has 1939-1980 or Microfilms (fiche) Accession #859f Library has 1945 onwards.
(Chicago). Microforms (film) Accession No. 1107. Library has 1953 - 1970.
(New York) Second Floor A1 S7. Library has 1854 - present.
(Chicago) Third Floor GV 561 S7. Library has 1954 onwards.
(New York) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 T37 Library has 1939 onwards. Or, Microforms (fiche) AP 2 T37. Library has 1923-1973.
(Ann Arbor, Michigan) Third Floor Mezzanine AP2 V3. Library has 1914 - 1936.
(New York) Second Floor TT500 V7. Library has incomplete holdings from 1911 onwards.