LibGuides: Newspapers and Popular Magazines: Find and use newspapers at UVic Libraries

Find and use Newspapers at UVic Libraries

Find and use newspapers! Whether for current news or historical primary sources, newspapers are an incredible resource. The guide is not exhaustive; there are other resources and approaches available. Always keep in mind course requirements as set by your instructor.

Click on any of the tabs on the left to find what you need - directories to find the title you want, a list of available newspapers by geographic region, and a list of popular magazines available here.

Need help? Visit the librarians at the Library Help Desk via email, text, phone, or chat. Or email Tina Bebbington, History Librarian.

Don't see what you need? You can request newspapers or news articles from Interlibrary Loans, or see what's available at Center for Research Libraries - we're a member, and can get Interlibrary loans from that organization.

Here's a quick list of our most frequently used online newspapers:

Access World News Access World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
British Colonist 1858-1980 A full text archive of the oldest newspaper in British Columbia. Since its inception in 1858 it has been known variously as the British Colonist, the Daily Colonist and other variants, and is still published today as the Victoria Times Colonist. It is an important primary source for the history of British Columbia and Vancouver Island.
Canadian Newsstream 1970s to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and regional British Columbia and Yukon titles.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail Note: this was a Toronto Only newspaper until the 1980s. when regional editions were added. Our Online and Microform holdings are the Greater Toronto Edition.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2011) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2011
1951-2009. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1889 - 1997
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-1997) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1877 - 1998
ProQuest Digital Microfilm ProQuest's Digital Microfilm provides online access to the following newspapers from 2011 to 3 months ago: National Post Montreal Gazette Vancouver Sun Times Colonist And the following from 2008 to 3 months ago: New York Times Wall Street Journal Washington Post Like traditional microfilm, there is no search function.

Victoria Daily Times 1884 - 1940 The VIctoria Daily Times was published in VIctoria from 1884, and eventually merged with it's competitors to become today's Times Colonist.

Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Subject Guide

Ask Us

Find and use Newspapers at UVic Libraries