LibGuides: Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind
This Dictionary has a policy of blind peer review for all submissions. Advisory, editorial and review boards have been established. Intended as a free resource for all those interested in philosophy of mind.
more...less...
From University of Waterloo
Encyclopedia of Consciousness
Summarises major research and scientific thought from philosophical, psychological, and biological perspectives regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Contains mostly articles that are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identified by the author's name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or "proto articles", and have been largely adapted from public domain sources. They are identified by the inclusion of the initials IEP at the close, and will in time be replaced by original articles.
more...less...
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work.

Oxford Reference Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas. Includes a core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Encyclopedia of Philosophy out of Stanford University.

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Philosopher's Index
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

CogPrints
CogPrints is a free, full-text e-print archive of published, peer-reviewed journal postprints plus prepublication unrefereed preprints in the cognitive sciences, covering psychology, behavioral biology, computer science, linguistics, philosophy and related disciplines.

Contemporary Philosophy of Mind - a breakdown and links
Links to descriptive articles for areas in the philosophy of mind.
more...less...
Compiled by David Chalmers, Philosophy, Australian National University.
Phil Papers - Philosophy of Mind
A bibliography of work in the philosophy of mind, the philosophy of cognitive science, and the science of consciousness.
more...less...
Part of PhilPapers a comprehensive freely accessed directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.

PsycINFO Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Selected journals to help you with your research.