Philosophy in Review (PIR)
An open access journal specializing in the review of books in the field of philosophy, published six times a year by the Department of Philosophy, University of Victoria. PIR covers all areas of and approaches to philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1908.
Humanities Index
Index of over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Contemporary Philosophy of Mind - a guide
A bibliography of recent work in the philosophy of mind, philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of artificial intelligence, and on consciousness in the sciences, divided by topic and subtopic. Last updated in 2005, this bibliography provides links to full-text content where possible.
ETHX on the Web
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
Ethics Update
From University of San Diego, provides resources and updates on current literature, both popular and scholarly, that relates to ethics. Primarily intended for instructors and students.
Genethics.ca
A clearing house for information on the social, ethical and policy issues associated with genetic and genomic knowledge and technology.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Abstracts
Cites articles for more than 700 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and much more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts back to 1994.
Index Islamicus
Index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
International Medieval Bibliography
Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
OAIster
(Pronounced like "oyster"). A union catalog of more than 19 million digital resources from over 1,000 organizations developed by the University of Michigan and harvested using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting). Digital resources include digitized books and articles, norn-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, datasets.
Philosopher's Index
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is an index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Journals
Selected journals to help you with your research.
Browzine Web
BrowZine is a browseable newsstand of the library's journals. Easily discovery, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.
Cairn
Collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. The primary subject areas covered by the collection are history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Makes available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
Use the 'E-journals by subject' option to browse journals relating to philosophy
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
An electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences going as far back as 1665.
POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials
POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials is a subscription based reference and publishing service offering libraries searchable access to the full text of hundreds of issues of a selection of philosophy journals and series. All available text is fully searchable and all content is displayed in PDF or HTML format. Uniquely structured around dozens of philosophy titles, POIESIS includes journals and series published by philosophical societies, departments, and university presses in several countries.
Ask us