LibGuides: French Language, Literature, and Culture: Find Articles

Journal Databases

CAIRN
A comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology (2001-).
Erudit
Érudit is a point of dissemination of scholarly periodicals supported by Fonds de Recherche du Québec - Société et Culture. The search engine provides access to recently published articles and digitized content from past issues.
OpenEdition Journals
OpenEdition is a comprehensive digital infrastructure for academic communication in the humanities and social sciences.

The OpenEdition journals collection includes 574 scholarly Open Access (OA) journals in French.

MLA International Bibliography
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Repère
Produced by SDM in collaboration with the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, REPÈRE is an index to articles from the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec. The electronic database corresponds to the printed indexes Periodex, published from 1980 to 1983, Point de Repere published from 1984-1993, and Repere published since 1994.
JSTOR
JSTOR preserves and archives the complete back runs of important scholarly journals. 1124 online academic journals. Date coverage varies from the 1890s to 2-5 years ago.
Project MUSE
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.

L'ILE
This database provides information on French-Canadian writers and includes biographies, bibliographies, news accounts, book reviews and photographs. News accounts are now accessible from the producst NewsCan.com -- Virtual News Library (In French).
more...less...
Site qui permet l'accés en ligne à des biographies et bibliographies de plus de 850 auteurs québécois et à quelque 170 dossiers de presse. Les bases de données de L'ILE sont régulièrement mises à jour afin d'intégrer un nombre croissant d'auteurs et d'actualiser les bibliographies et les revues de presse. Ce site permet ainsi d'obtenir des informations sur des auteurs consacrés ou reconnus et de se familiariser avec des auteurs actifs ayant publié au cours des dix dernières années.

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Search them simultaneiously for best results.

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database that is the web version of the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Humanities Index
Index of over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984
A broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.