Covidence

Welcome to the Covidence Research Guide at UVic Libraries

This site brings together resources available from UVic Libraries to help connect you with relevant resources for getting started and using Covidence.

Click on the tabs on this page to uncover detailed lists of resources to help answer your questions.  Each tab is comprised of the best sources for finding what you need.

What is Covidence?

Covidence is a web-based platform that streamlines the process of conducting a comprehensive literature review.
This includes systematic reviews, scoping reviews, meta-syntheses, meta-narratives, and other types of literature reviews.

Covidence improves the efficiency and experience of creating systematic reviews by bundling citation screening, full-text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the exportation of data and references together on one platform. 

Although Covidence is a particularly useful tool within the health sciences, its structure is not exclusive. It is multi-disciplinary and can be used within any academic discipline adopting an evidence-based practice. 

Key features of Covidence are: 

• Facilitation for duplication detection, reference screening, full text review, Risk of Bias (RoB) and Data Extraction stages
• Import of citations from a range of bibliographic databases and reference managers and de-duplication of study citations (with manual override)
• Storage of full text study reports 
• Automatic population of Risk of Bias tables with text selected in full text reports
• Simple export of data into RevMan or Excel

Introduction to Covidence

See how Covidence can help you streamline your review, whether you're doing a scoping review, literature review or systematic review. Manage your workflow easily and all in one place, from abstract screening through to full-text screening and extraction. Suitable for all levels of experience and sectors, including health, education, social science and many others.

Covidence is a non-profit organization, run by and for the research community.

Learn more about Covidence:

• Join the next Covidence webinar or view the recording of the most recent session.
• The Covidence YouTube Channel has a wealth of informational videos.
• The Covidence Knowledge Base is an excellent resources with FAQ articles on various review tasks and Covidence news and updates.