LibGuides: Alma/Primo VE Training and Communications: eResources

Get started

Getting to know Alma (ExL)
This series of videos and handouts provides a brief orientation to Alma's basic functional areas (Acquisitions, User Management, Resource Management, and Fulfilment). Time investment: ~ 2 hours of videos + quiz

Schedule

See the Calendar tab for schedule of topics and Weekly Homework tab for related resources.

Date	Room	Topic	Learning Outcomes	Resources
Aug 9	210	Activate a single eBook title	be able to search the community zone and find appropriate portfolio be able to activate a portfolio that is not linked to a POL be able to activate a portfolio that is linked to a POL	https://youtu.be/vMZVAuU6-pk
Aug	210	OpenURL and Link Resolver I'd like to talk more about OpenURL and link resolver, and show an example of how to update.	know the difference between what a proxy does and what a link resolver does review how a link resolver works be able to check for a link resolver base URL on a vendor's website	https://www.youtube.com/embed/Nu24r80Lxdg

August 9th

Resources

Month	Date	Room	Topic	Learning Outcomes
March	15	Zoom	Initial meeting Goals of training Quick look at Sandbox	what is the electronic resources life cycle role of the electronic resources team
	22	no meeting	Catch-up
	29	Zoom	Electronic Resource Management Overview video discussion	history of electronic resources
April	4	no meeting	Catch-up
	12	209	What is a knowledge base pt. 1	types of ebook purchases one-time, collection reinforce Alma vocab KBART and title lists why it is important to select the correct collection in the knowledge base https://lucid.app/documents/view/48e5d4d9-b3aa-426a-8148-f3d7a1f7e2e4
	19	210	KB pt. 2	understand the 3 zones in Alma and relation to current workflow learn about vocabulary related to the Community Zone
	26	210	KB pt. 3 types of electronic journal purchases what are entitlements	know where to find our entitlement understand different journal purchase options affect access to past issues understand perpetual access vs. entitlements
May	3	209 (210 busy)	KB pt. 4 What are journal title changes and why should you care	how to find title history information when to submit a case to represent title changes understand how title and publisher changes affect how a journal looks in the knowledge base
May	10		KB pt. 5 Title Transfers What happens when a journal changes publishers?	where to find information on a journal's publisher history tips on how to identify a title change how publisher changes look in the knowledge base perpetual access options when a title changes publishers what is a dark archive
May	17	209	What is Discovery pt. 1 Primo + CDI	know the difference between knowledge base and discovery understand Abstracts and Indexes active/inactive status
	24	210	Discovery pt. 2 Linking Technologies	what is OpenURL and how does a link resolver work know what DOI and PMID are LibKey https://www.freeformatter.com/url-parser-query-string-splitter.html
	30	Acq	Ordering online continuations
	31	Acq	ordering print & online continuations
	31	210	Check-in	check-in survey https://uvic.libwizard.com/id/5a9de7a0e1c04c6dfdb875bb86ee2a93 what do you need to feel ready? roundtable
June	7		tech freeze	cancelled
	14	219	COUNTER and SUSHI	admin log in to find usage stats what are COUNTER reports what is SUSHI and where do we get credentials where to add SUSHI info in Alma
	21	209	cancelled
	28		Go Live!	P2E process where is the list of what we sent? how did we determine which were electronic portfolios and databases? and what we will have to clean up in the next few months 360 Link Resolver migration where is the list of what we sent? what do the different tabs mean? common esourcehelp problems that might come up custom coverage dates Proxy project plan?
July	5			How to tackle documentation Best Practices workflow discussion
	12
	19

Please watch or read before the date indicated and bring any questions to next session. Note vocabulary or concepts you would like more information or explanation about.

March 15

Zombies! (just kidding, it's e-resources) (40 min.)

March 22

Electronic Resource Management Overview (30 min)
Presented by Janetta Waterhouse and Rebecca Nous, University at Albany. High level overview and concepts of eResources. Includes history and evolution of ERM.
Alma First Look UVic (1 hr)
Presentation by Lisa P and Dean March 1, 2022.
File is on W Drive. Copy and paste this into your file explorer: W:\LTEC\2022-03-01 13.02.08 Lisa Petrachenko (she_her)'s Zoom Meeting

April 12

Catch-up on previous videos and watch Getting to Know Alma series

Getting to know Alma (ExL)
This series of videos and handouts provides a brief orientation to Alma's basic functional areas (Acquisitions, User Management, Resource Management, and Fulfilment). Time investment: ~ 2 hours of videos + quiz

April 19th

We watched these two together during our session. Please rewatch The Three Zones for some additional info at the end.

In addition, here are some more videos about the Community Zone that was not previously assigned and we did not watch in the session.

The Alma Community Zone - Searching Module (8 min.)
Video and transcript about the Community Zone from Harvard's Alma training guide
Introduction to the Community Zone
Documentation about Community Zone from Harvard training guide.

April 26

First half of this video (KBART) (38 min.)

May 3

What’s In a (Journal) Name?
An article from Scholarly Kitchen about journal title changes. The comments further describe how the changes affect acquisition and cataloguing of the titles.

May 10

2nd part of this video (Transfers) (20 min.)

Knowledge Bases: The Heart of Resource Management (33 min.)
A helpful explanation of knowledge bases. Goes over organization of metadata and KBARTs.

May 17

Transforming Discovery - Data Intelligence and the Central Discovery Index (CDI) (1 min.)

Liibrary Perspectives (2 min.)

May 25th

Lisa's Slides from Linking Technologies Presentation
Presented May 25, 2022

May 31

What is an API? I will play a short section during training. The Real Time Ordering section may be useful as well if you are interested in watching it

June 15

Overview of COUNTER
JSTOR SUSHI and COUNTER5 Overview
Alma - Managing COUNTER-Compliant Usage Data
Alma - SUSHI-Certified Vendors
A list of which vendors provide SUSHI protocol.

Feedback

Required User Roles in Alma

If your Alma account doesn't have a function required, go into User Details and scroll down to your User Roles to make sure you have the correct role.

Order and Activation Process

Electronic Inventory Operator
Electronic Inventory Operator Extended (works with above and adds ability to delete operations)
~~Repository Manager~~
*Purchasing Operator or Purchasing Manager (require to create and edit POs and POLs)

Additional Roles

*Trial Manager or Trial Operator
*Invoice Operator

Licenses

*License Manager
*License Viewer
~~Selector~~ Rialto
*Purchasing Operator
*Purchasing Manager

Contact your team lead or supervisor if a required is missing.

* included in Acq profile

Alma Essentials

Only watch these after completing the Getting to Know Alma Series

These videos are required viewing for Electronic Resources Training. They provide an overview of structure and function.

Electronic Resources in Alma - Terminology and Inventory Model (5 min.)
Electronic Resources in Alma - The Three Zones (6 min.)
Please note we do not use the Network Zone at UVic.
Purchasing Electronic Resources (10 min.)
Purchasing will be covered in more detail in the Acquisitions Alma training.
Activating Electronic Resources (7 min.)
Starting and Managing Trials (5 min.)
Electronic Resources Conceptual Background
This is an out-of-date ExL video from Alma Essentials but may be useful to reiterate concepts.

Electronic resources management workflow videos

These videos are required viewing for Electronic Resources Training. They contain detailed examples and workflow steps.

• Searching for Electronic Resources in the Community Zone (6 min)
In this session, you’ll learn how to use Alma’s advanced search to find electronic collections, portfolios and databases in the Community Zone. We’ll also discuss how to add local electronic inventory if you cannot find the electronic resources you need in the Community Zone.
• Ordering One-Time Electronic Resources in the Community Zone (6 min)
In this training session you’ll learn how manually create a Purchase Order (or PO) Line and complete the necessary fields for ordering a One-Time electronic resource in Alma.
• Ordering Subscription Electronic Resources in the Community Zone (7 min)
In this training session you’ll learn how manually create a Purchase Order (or PO) Line and complete the necessary fields for ordering a subscription electronic resource in Alma.
• Ordering Databases in the Community Zone (6 min)
In this training session you’ll learn how manually create a PO Line and order a Database. You’ll also understand what fields in the Database record must be enabled and configured to insure access to the Database.
• Activating Electronic Portfolios from the Community Zone (3 min)
This training will discuss activating an Electronic Portfolio via steps that are handled from the Electronic Resources Activation Task list.
• Activating Electronic Collections from the Community Zone (9 min)
This training will discuss the steps in the Electronic Activation Wizard which are used to activate electronic collections.
• Starting and Managing Trials in Alma (6 min)
• Contributing Local Records to the Community Zone (4 min)

Recommended webinars

Electronic Resource Management Overview (30 min.)
Presented by Janetta Waterhouse and Rebecca Nous, University at Albany. High level overview and concepts of eResources. Includes history and evolution of ERM.
Managing E-Resources: The Basics (59 min.)
Find, order, and activate electronic resources. Presented by ExLibris.
Knowledge Bases: The Heart of Resource Management (33 min.)
A helpful explanation of knowledge bases. Goes over organization of metadata and KBARTs.

Links and Information

SUNY Alma Electronic Resources Management
A guide from SUNY
CUNY Alma Training: E-Resources
eResources Training Module
Video overview from Harvard
SUNY Electronic Resource Management Short Course
Excellent series that explains eResources in Alma

Electronic Resource Management Workflow Flowchart
by Kimberly Parker, Nathan D. M. Robertson, Ivy Anderson, Adam Chandler, Sharon E. Farb, Timothy Jewell, and Angela Riggio, Appendix B of the 2004 Electronic Resource Management report of the Digital Library Federation ERM Initiative

The flowchart highlights functions and processes that are necessary for the acquisition and ongoing management of electronic products. While there are some similarities between the acquisition and management processes for traditional physical library materials and those for electronic products, there are many issues and complexities unique to electronic products.

CDI management in Alma and interoperability with Primo
From Harvard Wiki. List of what Alma options look like in Primo.