LibGuides: Alma/Primo VE Training and Communications: Presentations and Training Resources

Library updates & presentations

Library Presentations

UVic Alma Training Workshop - April 4-8, 2022
This page contains full recordings of our workshop week presented by an ExLibris trainer to the UVic implementation and training team. Sessions are split into topics for Technical Services, Fulfillment, and Primo. Requires netlink login to view.

Alma First Look - March 2022
This is the slide deck from the presentation Lisa Petrachenko and Dean Seeman delivered to all staff on March 1, 2022. It includes a first look at our instance of Alma at 15:19 of the recording.

March 1, 2022 presentation - full recording
Full recording of the presentation by Lisa Petrachenko and Dean Seeman to all staff including the first look of UVic's instance of the Alma production site.

February 2022 Libraries Council Alma/Primo VE presentation
This is a copy of the PPT presentation that L Petrachenko delivered to Lib Council in February 2022. It includes an outline of timelines, training and communication resouces.
Updating Public Facing Instruction Materials - Overview
This is a copy of the PPT presentation that L Goddard delivered to Lib Council in Jan 2022. It includes an outline of timeframes and responsibilities for updating public-facing discovery documentation including the library website, videos, Libguides, Libanswers, and more.

All UVic Libraries staff are encouraged to complete the Getting to know Alma (GTKA) training series.

More in-depth training by functional areas will be communicated and assigned by the functional area team leads.

The Getting to know Alma training series below provides a good orientation to Alma comprising:

Getting to know Alma (ExL)
This series of videos and handouts provides a brief orientation to Alma's basic functional areas (Acquisitions, User Management, Resource Management, and Fulfilment). Time investment: ~ 2 hours of videos + quiz
Alma Essentials (ExL)
A modular course that provides a more in-depth overview of Alma, with videos and handouts for each functional area. Hands-on exercises are included. Designed so that users can work through the functional areas related to specific job responsibilities and interests.
Time investment: ~5 hours of videos
Introduction to Primo (ExL)
A video series that provides a brief introduction to Primo VE, discovery, Primo Central Index (PCI), and more.
Time investment: 34 minutes of videos