Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

CSPT500 / POLI 433 Politics of Colonialism

Local history resources (and more) in support of POLI 433

Find scholarly articles

Below is a list of databases that may be useful.  The history databases index history and heritage journals, for example, while the political science database indexes political science journals from all over the world (including Canada).  Each description will tell you the focus of the database. 

Search the library catalogue

Use this search box to look for books held by UVic Libraries, or go to the Books & Media Catalogue for more search tools and options. 

Important subject headings for your topic are: 

  • Victoria (B.C.) History
  • Oak Bay (B.C.) History
  • Saanich (B.C.) History
  • Tourism British Columbia Vancouver Island
  • Tourism British Columbia Victoria
  • Historic Buildings British Columbia Victoria 
  • Victoria (B.C.) Buildings, Structures, etc. History

Cut and paste these into a keyword search, or use the Subject Keyword search for greater accuracy. 

Books specifically about British Columbia will be found at FC 3801 - FC 3850, and books about Victoria will be within that range, at FC 3846.    There may be Victoria information in other places, but if the book is mainly about Victoria, it'll be there. Use the same call numbers in the main library (McPherson 3rd Floor mezzanine) and UVic's Special Collections (lower level, McPherson Library). 

 

 

Find more research tools

The following guides list additional resources (primary, secondary, and research tools) that may be useful, depending on your research question, topic, and disciplinary focus: 

Canadian Institute for MicroReproduction/ Canadiana.org

Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproduction (CIHM)    A vast collection of Canadiana from earliest times to the 1930s, collected and reproduced on microfilm by Library and Archives Canada.   Find these titles in the Main Library catalogue.  Less than 10% are also available to view online via the catalogue or Early Canadiana Online database. Includes:  letters, diaries, books of all types, manuscripts, speeches, newspapers, magazines, broadsides, pamphlets, posters, maps, and much, much more from all parts of Canada.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.