Skip to Main Content
Other local history sources
British Columbia Archives
UVic students are welcome to visit the BC Archives and make use of their collections and services. Register in advance and arrive with a list of what you'd like to view.
City of Victoria Archives
The City of Victoria Archives is a valuable resource for researchers, students, and anyone who wishes to find out more about the rich history of this city. Note their hours of operation before you go.
Library and Archives Canada
Canada's National Library and Archives - many digital collections to search within, research tips, music files and more.
Maritime Museum of British Columbia
They have an extensive library and archives collection that you can access for your research, offering a variety of research services including scans, prints, and reproductions of everything from our smallest photographs to our largest ships’ plans. If you are investigating maritime history, shipping, transportation or shipbuilding, this is a must!
MemoryBC
MemoryBC.ca is a portal where you can access descriptions of archival materials preserved in repositories throughout the province. Search here if you don't know where the archives related to your topic are held!
Multicultural Canada (SFU)
The Multicultural Canada digitization project grew from the conviction that the cultural groups that make up our country have little-known stories that need to be researched and told. Through newspapers, interviews, photographs, print and material culture, people tell us who they are. Yet research into Canada’s multi-ethnic communities has been hampered by the relative lack of availability of non-English language materials and other artefacts originating from minority groups.
Saanich Archives
Oak Bay Archives collects, preserves and provides access to Oak Bay's historical records. They are located on the lower level of the Oak Bay Municipal Hall and welcome visitors during our open hours on Tuesday mornings and Thursday afternoons. Volunteers are available to assist with inquiries.
UVic Libraries Digital Collections
Material digitized from UVic Libraries' collections - local maps, family histories, photographs, military records, and much more.
Vancouver Public Library's Local History Collections
There's a lot of Victoria in these Vancouver Public Library collections - especially in the historic photographs collection, city directories, and BC Index.
Ask us