The Art Canada Institute is a non-profit research organization based at Massey College, University of Toronto. Founded in 2012, the ACI is the only national institution whose mandate is to promote the study of an inclusive multi-vocal Canadian art history to as broad an audience as possible, in both English and French, within Canada and internationally.
This database from the National Gallery in Canada provides an index to works of art listed in Canadian exhibition, auction and collection catalogues from 1823.
Article databases
Use these databases to find articles about your topic within the broader subject of Canadian art.
Includes full-text (1997-) and citations/abstracts of international, peer-selected publications—with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Cumulates citations to Art index (1929-1984). It contains records for items in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer applications and graphics, etc.
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s
Contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
Full text access to newspaper articles, columns, editorials and features, many with extensive backfiles to the 1970s. Content includes the Globe and Mail, National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times Colonist. Updated daily.
Includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years
Ask us