Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Research Data Services

Guidance, tools, and training to support faculty and students working with research data.

UVic Libraries Dataverse Collection Terms of Use

UVic Libraries manages the universities' Dataverse, and as such asks participating faculty, students, and staff to adhere to the following terms.

Please also refer to the Borealis Terms of Use, which all users must agree to before account creation. 

Last updated 2022-06-24

Acceptable Data

All data deposited into the University of Victoria's Dataverse must be non-restricted data and cannot contain any private, confidential, or other legally protected information (e.g., personal identifiable information). Dataverse can be used to share de-identified and non-confidential data only, but it is the sole responsibility of the depositors to remove, replace, or redact such information from datasets prior to deposit into Dataverse.

Dataverse accepts a wide range of data types and formats including:

- Tabular (e.g. spss, sas, csv, xls/xlsx)
- Images (e.g. png, jpg, tiff)
- Geospatial (e.g. shp, gml)
- Audiovisual (e.g. mp3, mp4)
- Text (e.g. txt)

Unacceptable Data

Dataverse does NOT accept content that contains confidential or sensitive information. Deposited files cannot contain information that could directly or indirectly identify a subject, except where the release of such identifying information has no potential for constituting an unwarranted invasion of privacy and/or breach of confidentiality.

Sub-Collection Terms

A Dataverse sub-collection is a container for datasets (research data, code, documentation, and metadata). UVic Libraries Data Curation Librarian can establish a Dataverse sub-collection on behalf of individual researchers, research groups, departments, and other non University of Victoria affiliated organizations. All sub-collections are established within the UVic Libraries Dataverse Collection. 

A data curator at the University of Victoria Libraries will review all deposited datasets into a sub-collection for alignment with the Deposit Guidelines. In the case of non-compliance, the Depositor will be asked to make necessary modifications. Once a data curator has approved the submission, the Deposited will be notified and the dataset will be published. All published datasets will receive a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to allow the dataset to be cited. 

Sub-Collection Roles

Dataverse user accounts can be granted roles that define which actions they are allowed to take on specific Dataverse collections, datasets, and/or files. Each role comes with a set of permissions, which define the specific actions that users may take.

Sub-Collection Roles

University of Victoria Libraries retain the right to act as administrators of all sub collections within the University of Victoria Dataverse; however the data curation librarian can assign roles and permissions to the users of a Dataverse sub-collection. In special situations deemed appropriate by the Data Curation Librarian, users can become co-administrators of sub-collections. 

Deaccession Policy

University of Victoria Libraries Dataverse is primarily a platform for publishing and sharing datasets. It is not appropriate for the storage of highly sensitive or confidential data. Datasets must only contain unrestricted content with no private, confidential, or other legally protected information. Published datasets are perennial: they can be deaccessioned or removed only in certain specific circumstances. Requests for deaccessioning published datasets are reviewed by Dataverse administrators with reference to this policy. In most cases, a tombstone marker with descriptive metadata about the dataset will be retained for the public record.

Datasets deposited into University of Victoria Libraries Dataverse will be retained for a minimum of ten years. After this period, datasets will be subject to regular review and University Libraries reserve the right to deaccession or remove datasets due to obsolescence, lack of use, duplication elsewhere, or for any other reason that University Libraries deem relevant. 

When a dataset is deaccessioned, we will send an email notification to the long-term contact person as defined in the descriptive metadata. In the event that the dataset is deaccessioned and the designated person is not reachable, the appropriate faculty or administrative unit will be notified.

Unlawful Access, Abuse or Misconduct

UVic Libraries reserves the right to intervene in the event of unlawful access, abuse or misconduct, and as a result of which users may be excluded access to UVic Dataverse.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.