Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Research Data Services

Guidance, tools, and training to support faculty and students working with research data.

University of Victoria Dataverse Collection 

Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository, is a bilingual, multi-disciplinary, secure, Canadian research data repository, supported by academic libraries and research institutions across Canada. Borealis supports discovery, management, sharing, and preservation of Canadian research data.

The UVic Dataverse Collection is a proud member of Borealis. The platform is free for UVic-affiliated researchers to support the storage, sharing, citation and re-use of your research data. 

For any questions or support with Dataverse, contact researchdata@uvic.ca.


Dataverse Repository

The University of Victoria Dataverse Collection is suitable for all disciplines and accepts a wide range of data types and formats including:

  • Tabular (e.g. spss, sas, csv, xls/xlsx)
  • Images (e.g. png, jpg, tiff)
  • Geospatial (e.g. shp, gml)
  • Audiovisual (e.g. mp3, mp4)
  • Text (e.g. txt, docx)
  • Code (e.g. python, R, spss, stata, sas)

While many file formats can be deposited in Dataverse repositories, it is recommended that file be in sustainable, non-proprietary formats that promote long-term access and reuse For more information, see UK Data Service Recommended formats

All deposited files are held in a secure environment on Canadian servers, and depositors can choose to make content available publicly, to specific individuals, or to keep it locked.


Why use Dataverse?

  • Discoverability. Dataverse improves the discovery of your research by creating a permanent digital object identifier (DOI) that can be used to discover and share your data. 

  • Citability. Upon deposit, a data citation is created which can be used to cite and link your data to other academic output.

  • Customization. Enables such things as creating customized terms of use for your research data and tracking data usage through downloadable metrics and customized guest books

  • Secure data management. Dataverse supports the creation of terms of use and restrictions if you want to limit the use of or access to data. It also provides a backup copy for safekeeping.​

  • Effective sharing. Dataverse is a convenient way to disseminate your data, and can facilitate your research team’s collaboration within a secure space.​

  • Track changes. Dataverse provides file version control for managing changes to a project without overwriting any part of that project, an especially useful feature when working on a team.​

  • Long-term access and preservation. Persistent identification and normalization of your data ensures reliable access and prevention from data obsolescence.

  • Organization and compatibility. Create your own personal web data archive that conforms to international data standards to maximize system compatibility and searchability.​

  • Increase research visibility. Increase scholarly recognition for your work beyond your research publications.​

  • Meet grant requirements. Many funding agencies now require that researchers deposit data which is collected as part of their research project into an archive.


Adapted from: Scholars Portal. (n.d.). Scholars Portal Dataversehttps://learn.scholarsportal.info/all-guides/dataverse/#Why-use-Dataverse and Scholars Portal. (n.d.). Dataverse 101 - Module 1https://learn.scholarsportal.info/modules/portage/dataverse-101-module-1/


When not to use Dataverse?

There are a few instances when the University of Victoria Dataverse will not be suitable for use:

  • Large data. Dataverse may not be suitable for large data. It has an individual file upload limit of 3 gigabytes, and a zip file can currently contain a maximum of 1000 files. An alternative option is the Federated Research Data Repository (FRDR) a national data repository that does not limit file sizes.
     
  • Sensitive data. Dataverse does NOT accept content that contains confidential or sensitive information. Dataverse can be used to share de-identified and non-confidential data only, but it is the sole responsibility of the depositors to remove, replace, or redact such information from datasets prior to deposit into Dataverse. All data deposited into the University of Victoria's Dataverse must be non-restricted data and cannot contain any private, confidential, or other legally protected information (e.g., personal identifiable information). 

  • Streaming audiovisual files. Files in Dataverse generally need to be downloaded to be viewed, and Dataverse does not support streaming; audiovisual files must be downloaded to be viewed. 
     
  • Dataverse is not a subject or domain specific repository. Funders or publishers may require you to house your data in a subject or domain repository. Discover a repository suited to your discipline at https://www.re3data.org/


Adapted from: University of Winnipeg. (n.d.). Winnipeg Dataversehttps://library.uwinnipeg.ca/research/dissemination/dataverse/index.html#dataverse and Brandon University. (n.d.) When not to use Dataverse https://libguides.brandonu.ca/c.php?g=722307&p=5179271 

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.