Multidisciplinarity, interdisciplinarity, and sub-disciplines characterize medieval studies in most topical areas, while topics can expand beyond the limits of the medieval frame. This guide offers entry points to this complex scholarship..
Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is a gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location.
The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content.
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureIncludes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music LiteratureA bibliography of music articles, collections, and books published before 1967, offers researchers and music scholars nearly 20,000 records from a critical period in music research. Comprehensive coverage includes music-related articles published in conference proceedings from 1835 through 1966; articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars from 1840 to 1966; and articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians, composers and institutions dating back to the 18th century.
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full TextProvides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Coverage: 1874 - current.
Music IndexThe Music Index online coverage spans from 1970 to the present and contains surveyed data from 475 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Oxford History of Western MusicThe Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM)Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society and the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, the RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals includes exclusive content provided by internationally recognized scholars and editors.