Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Western Music History

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research on the history of music.

Location of Resources in the Music Library

The Print Music Collection
M –   Music Scores (Located on the main floor)

ML – Books about Music (located on the second floor above the music library desk.)

MT – Music Theory; Music Instruction (located on the second floor about the music library desk.)

The Journal Collection
Current Periodicals are interfiled in the main music collection or may be located in basement compact shelving. Journals are collections of articles published regularly and containing the most current research.
 
Recordings / DVD’s / Reserve Items
Are available at the Music and Media Desk. Please ask for assistance.
 
The Music Reference Collection
Located next to the scores
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries that are subject specific are located here. They provide good introductory information on a topic and also may provide a list of references at the end of an entry.

Select Call Numbers

In the Reference Area

ML 12 - ML28 Directories, Almanacs

ML100 - ML109 Dictionaries and Encyclopedias


In the Main Music Collection 

ML - Literature

   ML 385-429 Biographies

   ML 410 Individual biographies of composers

   ML 460-1354 Musical instruments and Instrumental music

MT - Musical Instruction and Study

   MT 1 Theory and history of Music
   Education,

   MT 6 Music theory
      MT 6.5 Anthologies for analysis

   MT 7 Music theory, rudiments

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.