Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Western Music History

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research on the history of music.

Where is my Article?

The database will tell you everything you need to know about an article (the citation).

Sometimes, the entire article is included in the database. Use PDF links or HTML links.

Sometimes you have to follow links from the database to the online article. Use "Get This" links! 

Sometimes, the article is only available in print, and you have to use the Library Catalogue to find out where the journal that holds the article is in the library.

Search for Music Articles

Use this box to search articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time

 

RILM / Music Index
Limit Your Results
  • Select / Deselect all
  • Music Index
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

 

More Music Databases

Journals

Selected journals to help you with your research.

Other Music Article Databases

Use these databases to find individual articles in journals

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature (articles, books) available from inside and outside the library.

Google Scholar Search

summon search

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries search engine

What is Summon?

Use Summon to search across our collections, including articles, books, scores, and recordings. Type in any search terms and click Search

How is Summon different from searching the catalogue?
Summon searches everything and so the results are numerous and can be overwhelming. It is good when you are starting a search and don’t know exactly what you are looking for.

NOTE: If you are looking for a specific item such as recording or score, for better results, search in the Library Catalogue (the Books and Media tab).

 

 

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.