Skip to Main Content
Find books and articles at UVic Libraries
Databases - Best Bets
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Guide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
International Medieval Bibliography
Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Searches the Web of Science Core Collection.
JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
An Economic and Social History of Later Medieval Europe, 1000-1500 by 
Ask us
